Search This Blog

Wednesday, 25 March 2026

Daredevil: Born Again "The Northern Star" SPOILER FILLED Review

 

It is a very rare thing for a show set in the Marvel Cinematic Universe to be given a season 2 as all of them end after there first season. Which is something that does make this show kind of special as it was greenlit with a two season order with each season being really around nine or eight episodes each and will second season has just started and since I loved the first season it really only made sense that I check out this episode and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED review of the episode that sees Matt get a new suit with the episode in question being called simply just "The Northern Star" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is sometime after the events of the last season New York is still truly under Fisk's thumb and Matt has to try and find any kind of evidence that can be linked to Fisk in order to help to bring him down. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With the episodes plot doing a good job of not only catching us up with where the characters are now but also in carrying on the plot for the first season with that plot still being as gripping as it was back in season one yet just based off of this episode it does look like that this season won't add anything to the shows overall plot which is something that does somewhat make sense as this shows plot was devised mostly with that two season order in mind and yet the plot of this episode still does feel like it's own unique thing as you don't really have to have watched the previous season to get the plot of this episode. Yet the thing that does let down this episodes plot is the fact that it's not the strongest plot to start the season out with and with any TV show you always want to start with your best foot forward with this episodes plot feeling very weak and like it was thought up very quickly as alot of what was said in this episode does appear to be nothing all that major with the plot of this episode being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least


Starring in this episode is Charlie Cox as Matt Murdock / Daredevil and Vincent D'Onofrio as Wilson Fisk. Also starring in this episode is Deborah Ann Woll as Karen Page , Margarita Levieva as Heather Glenn , Matthew Lillard as Mr. Charles , Tony Dalton as Jack Duquesne , Michael Gandolfini as Daniel Blake , Nikki M. James as Kirsten McDuffie , Arty Froushan as Buck Cashman , Genneya Walton as BB Urich , Zabryna Guevara as Sheila Rivera , Clark Johnson as Cherry , Ayelet Zurer as Vanessa Fisk , Hamish Allan-Headley as Connor Powell , Ty Jones as Steverud , John Benjamin Hickey as Benjamin Hochberg , Thomas Cokenias as Achilleo Kyriaco , Yorgos Karamihos as Christofi Savva , Annie Parisse as Ariana , Lenny Platt as Juan Gomez and Michael Anthony Cruz as Longshoreman.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With all of this shows main actors giving us some really good performances which given just whom is starring in this episode is something that was quite frankly to be expected where te acting does somewhat start to faulter is with it's guest actors as alot of them either overact in every scene that there in or show next to no emotion in scenes that do require emotion with the best example of this being in the episodes opening where a ships captain and his possibly second in command are talking while Daredevil is attacking there ship and yet they both don't show any kind of urgency as they play it off as being just another day at the office for them when this is something that would require alot of emotion. With the best actor in this episode being Matthew Lillard as Mr. Charles as not only does Matthew Lillard prove once again why he's a good actor and why he's having some really good few years acting wise but he does come across as being a less cocky version of Fisk himself with him and Vincent D'Onofrio really having some really good chemistry together which is something that does make all of there scenes together all the mor fun to watch. With the acting that's in this episode really being helped by the fact that this episodes script is just so good that all this episodes actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.
 

Doing the CGI for this episode is Ingenuity Studios and the legends and the greats that are currently over at RISE Visual Effects Studios. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With this episode mainly using CGI in the way that it should be used as it's only used to extend sets and that's really it so no need to to fear there is no CGI smoke in this episode with the episode very much like the show on the whole preferring to us practical effects over CGI effects with the episodes practical effects working really well and blending it well with the episodes CGI. The episode does even manage to gave some fairly convincing looking water effects which is impressive on it's own as water is one of the most difficult things to get right on a feature film budget let alone on a streaming show budget and while they don't quite get it right here given that the scene that it appears in as at night it is forgivable even taking into account that this is a Disney show while there are some kind of bad looking green screen effects done on certain characters it's not really all that distracting it's just something that you will notice and that's really it but to be fair to this episode tho this show isn't an effects heavy show it never was in the first season and it looks like that's going to be true for this season as well and therefor for them to have good looking effects that blend in really well with what filmed for real is still something that's truly special to be hold.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!




To be blunt Fisk in this episode doesn't really have that much on an impact on the episode as a whole as the only thing that he does is tell his task force officers to track down the two people on the ship and have a meeting with Mr. Charles. Which fair enough is still a solid enough way to use the character but when you bare in mind that season one of this show used the character so well by showing him being this manipulative person who is really willing to do whatever it takes to achieve his goals it makes what they do with him in this episode feel less impactful as they could have shown him and his wife filming fake videos to release to the public which is something that does get shown quite alot in this episode and they could have shown him getting mad when he finds out that one of his boats was attacked just something that would let us the audience know that Daredevil is starting to get to him and that he's starting to loose it. Yet at the same time tho the fact that they don't do any of that does make you wonder what he's really thinking as we all know from both the Netflix show and this shows first season that Wilson Fisk is a character who is always thinking two or three moves ahead of everyone else and therefor when he discovers that one of his boats was attacked he would already be thinking of ways to hurt or persons responsible for the attack in the first place and heck it could even be argued that this character is more scary when we don't see him react to it as we know just how evil that this character really is in the first place and while it is of course far two early to work out just what his grand scheme is for New York we know that it is something that is going to be scary just due to the fact that he is a creepy and scary character.

Much like how in the first episode of the previous season where they killed of Foggy Nelson here in this episode they hint at the fact that Cherry might be dead. Due to the fact that at the end of the episode when members of the task force come to interrogate him they give him a beating which his heart can't handle and starts to suffer a heart attack right there as Matt as Daredevil is trying to fight them off. With it being that very incident that made this review got from a SPOILER FREE review to a SPOILER FILLED review as while Cherry isn't as beloved of a character as Foggy was he was still a core member of Matt's inner circle of friends and having the episode eve hint at him dying was something that will be shocking thing to see but it is one that could have been handled more better due to the fact that they have it be the episodes cliff hanger which don't get wrong is a great cliff hanger to have as it makes you want to watch episode two of this show. On the flip side of that tho is the fact that it's pretty obvious that there not going to kill him off as then they would risk repeating everything that they did in the first season with Foggy's death and even then his death only worked due to the fact that the character appeared on the Netflix show and therefor the fans of that show already have that connection to his character where as here with Cherry he's a newly introduced character and therefor having him be killed of in a way that granted is still quite shocking to see just wouldn't have the same effect as when Foggy was killed of. However tho having Cherry be the one to possibly die would be a great way to rise the stakes a little bit as it would still tell us the audience that if this character can die then maybe Matt himself can die.


Also in that ending scene we do get a hint that Bullseye is going to be playing a big part in either the rest of the season or the next episode. As we see a knife come into Cherry's apartment and take out all of the task force agents which if so is going to make for an interesting next few episodes as it was him that killed of Foggy so having him and Matt sort of form a team even tho that both don't like each other is something that will make it interesting to see if they both can get along for the greater good and heck even the tease of him coming back in the next episode is a solid way to end the episode as now we the audience get to make theories on if he's going to be working with Matt or not or if he's saving Matt so that he can take him down himself. All of which are things that would work well for his character as while I never saw that much of the Netflix show based on his few appearances in the previous season of this show he does seem like the kind of character who would want to save the man that did try to kill him just so that he could be the one to deliver the killing blow himself but of course there could be another reason as to why he was teased at the end of this episode all of which do make this show fun to watch as there are so many theories that we all could come up with and the best part of all is that until any of them are confirmed by the show itself they could all be true and yet knowing the makers of this show there going to do the one thing that none of us would have thought of what it ends up being. While yes it would have worked just as well if they did show us the character even if it's just quickly very early on in the episode the fact that they didn't do that makes his possible return at the end of the episode all the more exciting.

Now then this film has / had an exact gran total running time of exactly fifty minuets and forty two seconds. Which to be fair to this episode is pretty much the bogstandard running time for this shows episodes to have in the first place with this episode having just about the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time in the first place. Yet this episode really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as the episode doesn't take the time to fully develop it's plot with the plot of the episode feeling like it's playing second fiddle to everything else that's going on in the episode and yet when you compare it to the plot of the first episode of the previous season that episodes plot was as well developed as it was going to be given the fact that it was the first episode of a new show and yet here in this episode it felt like the makers of this show forgot how to make a good first episode as everything just felt very by the numbers with very little of what the episodes plot does do feeling earned. With the same thing being true for the episodes characters as well altho here you could make the argument that all of them don't really need there character development as alot of the older characters would of course have had the Netflix show and the first season of this show to get there character development which is fair enough and for the new characters you could make the case that they are going to be getting there character development in future episodes of this season but either way it still would have been nice if we got to find something literally anything about this episodes new characters as we find out nothing about Mr. Charles outside of possibly where was born and we get to find out nothing about Ariana this is despite the fact that she's technically a major character in this episode but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I gave to actually talk about the action action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With the episode having all of the really good action that you have come to expect from this show not only from the previous season but also from the Netflix show as well with the episodes action looking as impressive as you'd want it to be given the fact that it's Daredevil and to the episodes credit it doesn't shy away from showing the hero getting beaten up something which they very easily could have done but the fact that they didn't do that does oddly make Matt Murdock seem more human. With the best action scene un the whole entire episode being the episodes opening scene as we get to see Matt as daredevil take on several guys basically at once in the cargo area of a ship with him flipping them into boxes and knocking them all out in really creative ways all which does make that action really fun to watch as much like how the action in the opening of James Bond film gets you excited for the rest of the film it could be argued that that's what that opening action scene does. The episode does even somewhat contrast that by having a more smaller action scene at the end of the episode where daredevil now has to take about four task force agents in Cherry's home with Daredevil winning the fight until he hears Cherry's heart and realizes what's going on which does give those agents the moment that they need to go in for the kill with them only being stopped by Bullseye's knife attacking and killing all four of them with the rest of the action in this episode being really good in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall for an episode that was barely promoted as there's only really been one trailer and three posters released for this new season this episode is still a really good as it does a good job of setting up the rest of the season whilst doing the one thing that all good first episodes should do and that's make you want to watch episode two as that's just how good that this episode really is in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well a all of the bad thigs that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does ern itself a grand old score of exactly a 7.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys an girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very post being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Tuesday, 24 March 2026

Hannah Montana 20th Anniversary Special Review


Back in the day when a TV show was getting it's cast back together for a reunion special it would usually be a one off TV movie. Well now the trend seems to be to get one or all of the actors together and have them either be interviewed or ask each other questions about there expirences on the show or movie in question which is something that barely works as while it worked for the Harry Potter special it failed for the Friends special with sadly this special really taking more of a cue from the Friends special then the Harry Potter one and so then join me as I review the special that will make alot of us feel really old with the special in question being called simply just "Hannah Montana 20th Anniversary Special" enjoy.

This special much like all of the most recent specials doesn't really have a plot to it with this being something that make alot of sense as it's just Miley being interviewed and that's it. Which I guess is fine if that's your thing but some thing that's gone on for this long you do expect there to be something bigger and something more grand for the special yet that's not something we get as all we get is something that feels like a carbon copy of what they did in the Friends special even down to having someone who had nothing to do with the original show serve kind of like a host for the special with this format being one that doesn't work as it doesn't give the fans what they want to see as they want to see those characters again even if it's for the last time. However tho to this specials credit it does kind of give the fans what they want with that being something that will be discussed later on in the review with the interviewing segments not really being all that bad altho they do bring the special down as we don't get to find out any backstage secrets from the show itself as it's all very surface level stuff which again is fine but it would have been more rewarding for the fans that where with the show since day one to find out some of those backstage secrets as that is something that would make the special feel exactly that special however it is understandable why they didn't do that as this is a big property for Disney and therefor might not have wanted to have to much stuff revealed about the show especially as it might have tainted the show legacy but it still would have been nice if we got to hear some backstage secrets tho in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this special is one this specials executive producers Miley Cyrus and one of this special executive producers Alex Cooper. Also starring in this special is Billy Ray Cyrus , Noah Cyrus , Tish Cyrus , Selena Gomez , Chappell Roan and Jamal Sims. There is one thing wrong with whom is starring in this special and that's the face that so few of the original stars of this show are in this special with alot of them appearing only archive footage which for alot of them is fine as they do have alot of things going on but there are some of them who aren't as busy and very easily could have come down for the day to do this special as without them all we get is a bunch 0of nobodies essentially who are either fans of the show or did a few episodes of the show and that's really it with the few exceptions of course being Miley , Billy Ray and oddly enough Noah Cyrus as she played alot of the little girls seen on the show. While having celebrity guests on a reunion special is something that does work as it does show the impact of the show itself it's not why the fans of this special are tuning in to watch it as they want to see the actors from the show talking abut there time on the show and there expirence in working on the show as due to the fact that alot of the original shows actors are busy in there own right and therefor we were never going to get a reunion episode in the traditional sense there still should have been some effort to get as much of the original cast back for this special as the fans of the show aren't going to care about the celebrities that loved the show rather they are instead going to care about what the original actors loved or hated about making the show. As that is something will mean alot more to them then knowing what some famous singer thought of the show and yet it's the one thing that this special doesn't give us the chance to find out.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual interviews that are actually in this special well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual interviews that are actually in this special was in all honesty not that bad. With alot of the people being interviewed not rally tripping over each other or asking the same questions which is something that they very easily could have done given just how small the list of people that are in this special is and yet at the same time it does make that the interviews in this special were as good as they were as host Alex Cooper is a podcaster and therefor she would of course no how to interview people. While she does only interview Miley Cyrus in this special Miley herself handles alot more of the interviews and she is passable at the job which is fair enough as she doesn't get to interview people with the best person being interviewed in this special being none other then Miley Cyrus herself with this being something that does make sense as she is the main tar of the special and gets all of the specials screen time with her giving us some good insight into what she was like at that time when she's being interviewed by Alex but it's when she's being interviewed by the other guest stars that she does kind of faulter as much like herself those people that are asking her these questions don't usually get the chance to do so all that often. While we do get some fun questions asked like what the audition process was like for her it would have been more interesting if she was asked something like how did she keep herself grounded when the show was taking off as it would have been very easy for anyone let alone a then twelve year old kid to get swept up in it all.


There was just something missing from this special that held it back from being as good as it could have been. As the special does feel alot more like a tribute to Miley Cyrus then it does Hannah Montana which is something that could be seen as being fair enough as not only was she the star of that show but also the most well known person coming out of the show as well however it still would have been nice to see some of the actors from the show or even the film appear in this special as they are all apart of the shows history and to just focus on one persons history with the show and character does do a slight disservice to the show as a whole. Yet the special isn't held back by this as we do get alot of insight from Miley be it her just walking through the whole set or her being asked questions as she does give give alot of good insight into what life was like for her when she was making the show and this is also a big issue for the special as the show isn't about her it's about the show Hannah Montana and therefor there should have been interviews from if not he other actors then why not get the original creators and producers in for this special as they would have great insight into the show given the fact that they helped to create it in the first place they had Gary Marsh who was big at Disney Channel at the time and yet they only have him read the email that he wrote to the other producers convincing them to take a chance on Miley as she has that "It" factor and while that's great that's really the only bit of look that we get from the behind the scenes of the show and it's not enough. Given the fact that this special takes the interview approach then why not interview people who had a helping hand in making the show in the first place as they are just as important to the show legacy and it's history then what Miley Cyrus herself is.


Whilst it might seem like that i'm hating on this special i'm really not it's just that there was so much promise for this special to be as good as what The Muppet Show 2026 was. With that special doing something that this special should have done by having it be the next episode of the show and while there are contributing factors as to why that was never going to be the case with this special as alot of the original shows actors are on other successful shows now going the same route as Friends: The Reunion which is an odd choice as while the makers of that special couldn't have known just how bad that that special was going to be thanks to it's approach the makers of this special would have known that and yet they still went ahead and did it that way. This is something that will always boggle my mind as the whole point of a reunion is get the original actors back together with us the audience not wanting to see the actors being interviewed by someone who claims to be a fan but is only there because of the fact that there being payed to be there as that is something that will never sit right with the fan and yet it's something that the makers of this special went and did but to this specials credit it does try to mix it up by having Miley herself conduct alot of the interviews which was a nice thing as then we the audience get to hear what it was like for other people and not just this one person and while that does make this already tired formular feel slightly new again it is a trend that does need to stop. As we want a proper reunion special for any TV show to have the actors be in character and having another adventure and while this formular does somewhat work it's not one that works for sitcoms.

Incase you were wondering why Miley was saying last year that there was going to be something planned for the twentieth anniversary this year this special does actually address that. As she apparently remembered some advice that she got from Dolly Parton where she said if you want something to happen announce it first and then they can't say no which was a really good idea as Miley did spend alot of the last year just saying that there was going to be something big for this year without actually taking a single meeting with Disney before hand this is something that des also explain why in alot of those interviews where she did say that that she never gave away any kind of details as to what the big surprise would have been as she herself had no idea of if this special would even get to be a thing in the first place. This is something that is kind of bold move to make as while she is a big named star there was still no guarantee that Disney would even pick up the phone and call her to ask about doing a special in the first place which is something that does lead you to wonder what plan b would have been if this special never got made in the first place would it have been a watch along of the first episode or would it have been something completely different as she very easily could have done a special concert and just sung sings from the show and movie and had a few guest stars from both appear on stage with her and it would have worked just fine and yet in doing that it would have excluded those that couldn't get tickets to the event. While a proper reunion episode would have been vert much preferred the fact that we got this special at all is still something to behold as Disney didn't have to do anything for this anniversary and yet they went ahead and produced a whole new special for it. 


Out of this and The Muppet Show 2026 it's clear which one got the bigger marketing budget as while you couldn't escape The Muppet Show 2026 here with this special we got one teaser and then last week we got the trailer and that was it. As there was nothing else released to help to promote this special at all no clips from the special no first looks nothing we just got the teaser , the trailer and the poster therefor it wouldn't be surprising if there are some of you out there who perhaps didn't know that this special was a thing in the first place as Disney have done nothing to let you know that it was being released when they should have put alot of thought and effort into marketing the special. Maybe they thought that the brand name and the fact that it's got Miley Cyrus in it would have been enough to promote the special which would be understandable but it's also not enough as not alot of people would have seen the trailer or would have seen the poster and therefor wouldn't have known that the special was a thing in the first place and whole they did get Miley on Disney Channel recently and do a Disney Channel Wand they don't mention this special at all during that ident she just mentions Hannah Montana and that's it. Whilst this is something that would be understandable if the special was also airing on TV as then you could say that there are adverts for the special being shown on TV all the time it's not as it's bein shown on Disney+ and yet they've done nothing to let you no that this special was ever a thing in the first place therefor it wouldn't be all that surprising if not alot of people saw this special as they just wouldn't know that it's a thing in the first place where as we saw what kind of numbers that The Muppet Show 2026 was getting for Disney+ and alot of that does come down to the fact that they did a fantastic job in marketing that special.

Now then this special has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly fifty eight minuets and forty seven seconds. Which was a decent enough time for this special as the special doesn't really have alot of ground to cover thanks to what type of reunion show that this one is but at the same time tho this special could have been done with being a bit shorter as it does start to feel repetitive alot of the time as the special does have a very strict formular with them doing an interview with Miley and then she does one with a guest somewhere around the set and then maybe we'll get a song from a newly recorded concert which is something that does get a bit boring. However if the special did try and do something new like giving us these pieces of back ground information like what gave the creators of the show the idea for the show in the first place and what was like for people when the show really took of just things like that as that would have broken the special formular up a bit and heck they even could have had a series of where are they now scenes where we catch up with actors from the show to see not only where they are now but also find out what it is that they've been up to since the show went of the air. Just something would have done as that would have made the special feel more exactly that special and less like something that whilst it does have alot of care put into it also feels like it was made at the last minuet and while the special could have been a little bit shorter the fact that it is as along as it is does give us the audience a chance to live in that world and feel like whatever age we all where when episode one first started airing but I really will admit that this special really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a musical that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual songs that are actually featured / presented to us in this very special well then in all honesty I i all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual songs that are actually featured / presented to us in this very special was in all honesty really good. While the special only has four song in the whole special with the first three being songs from the show and the fourth being one just for this special the three songs from the show are still really good in the songs with the three from the show and film being in no particualr order "This Is the Life" , "Best Of Both Worlds" and "The Climb" all three of which are really good songs in there own right with the same thig even being true for the specials fourth song which is hard to find the name for. With the best song in the whole entire special being "Best Of Both Worlds" as it is one of the songs that we all really associate with Hannah Montana and therefor it would have felt weird not having that song in this special with Miley still being able to sing that song just just as good as she did back in 2006. With the really only thing that does let the song being more of nitpick then anything anything else as she sings the song first which is something that does make sense as it was the shows opening theme song but at the same time it would have been more of a fun way to say goodbye to this special if it was the final song that she did in the concert with the concert stuff being the closest that the special gets to being a Hannah Montana special with the rest of the specials songs being just as good in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall while The Muppet Show 2026 is the best special released thus far this year it's the Harry Potter reunion special that's the better special given the talk show like format that both that special and this special are quite clearly going for as while this special is a good special in it's own right there's just so much holding it back from being as good as it could have been in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very special in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very special really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6.5 out 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the mages that I personally used in this very review from IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very post being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Monday, 16 March 2026

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers "For Whom The Bell Trolls" Review


People say that Power Rangers was a goofy show especially in it's early years and for the most part they are right. As the show did have it's more goofy episodes however what alot of people seem to forget that this show was based off of Kyōryū Sentai Zyuranger also had it's fair share of goofy episodes with the episode of Power Rangers that i'm going to be talking to you all about today being a good example of just how goofy Kyōryū Sentai Zyuranger was alot of the time and so then join me as I review the episode that has a dreadful ending with the episode in question being called simply just "For Whom The Bell Trolls" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when Trini falls asleep and her favorite doll is kidnapped and turned evil by Rita it's up to the rangers to the giant doll and rescue Billy and Trini who have been captured by the doll before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. Plot wise this episode was about as good as it was ever going to be given that the original sentai episode that this episode is based off of also had a really goofy premise to it and to this episodes credit they do there best to make what was a really silly plot in the original now be a bit less silly and bit less goofy and yet in doing that the plot does also loose alot of it's charm as this is an episode that should have been more silly ad should have been more goofy just to show the fact that Rita is willing to do anything to defeat these teenagers. The plot of this episode does also have more then a few things in it that don't make sense one of which will be getting discussed later on in the review but the other one is that for some reason it's Trini and Billy that go looking for her doll it makes sense for why Trini was looking for it as it's her doll afterall but why is Billy going as from a storyline point of view that doesn't make sense as yes those two are each others best friends but surely Billy would have his own thing to do and while that is a small issue it is one that does show that relying on previously shot footage can also cause things to not make sense and heck the plot of the episode isn't that's that well thought out but given the ending of the episode that is something that can be slightly over looked with the plot of the episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Austin St. John as Jason Lee Scott , Thuy Trang as Trini Kwan and Walter Jones as Zack Taylor. Also starring in this episode is Amy Jo Johnson as Kimberly Ann Hart , David Yost as Billy Cranston , Paul Schrier as Farkas "Bulk" Bulkmeier , Jason Narvy as Eugene "Skull" Skullovitch , Royce Herron as Ms. Appleby , David Fielding as the voice of Zordon , Richard Steven Horvitz as the voice of Alpha 5 , Barbara Goodson as the voice of Rita Repulsa , Kerrigan Mahan as the voice of Goldar , Robert Axelrod as the voice of Finster , Melanie Neat as Squatt , Michael J. Sorich as the voice of Squatt , Dave Mallow as the voice of Baboo and Tom Wyner as the voice of Mr. Ticklesneezer.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. The acting in this episode is about what you would expect from early Power Rangers seasons as yes the actors are nearly all over the top in their performances especially those that are playing the rangers themselves but that's something does add to the charm of the show and this episode as this episode is a bit more lighthearted and therefor having these more over the top performances is something that does work well withing the context of the episode that doesn't make it good tho. Yet you can still see that the actors playing the rangers are now trying to turn in good performances with this being something that does make sense as they are getting to grips with there characters and while the acting from the ranger actors is getting better the acting from the newly introduced characters like Royce Herron as Ms. Appleby is about on par with how bad the acting was from all of the shows actors back in episode one of the show. With the best actor in this episode being Thuy Trang as Trini Kwan as this is her spotlight episode and she does make the most of it by showing us that Trini is more then the technical translator for Billy as Thuy does get to show of her more caring almost motherly side to her with that being something that does sine through in her performance with the acting that's in this episode nor really being helped by the fact that the script for this episode is just so bad as t gives none of this episodes actors all that much to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place with this being something that does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


As with any episode of Power Rangers there is going to be some changes made from the original episode. With this episode not really being any different as in the original episode the character that we know as as Mr. Ticklesneezer isn't a doll that's brought to life for no good reason rather he's hapless dwarf that doesn't really know any better and is threatened by Rita into working for her with Mr. Ticklesneezer being a kind hearted sole who likes to make things with him capturing things so that he can make his models of them more accurate. This change alone makes the character more kind hearted in nature as he's being forced into doing these evil things whereas in this episode it comes across as him still being this kind hearted person as he does give back everything that he stole when the rangers ask him to it but he also comes across as being a bit less dumb as he knows that Rita is evil and yet he still chooses to work for her which makes no sense in terms of how this version of this character is being shown as surely if your a kind hearted person then you'd want to avoid working for someone that you know for sure is evil. With alot of the other changes in this episode being more smaller things like there is a kid character that does team up with Mr. Ticklesneezer who is almost completely gone from the episode with it being him that takes the bike due to Ticklesneezer allowing him to use his bottle and all of the other objects taken cause such a panic that it makes the news where as here there's zero news coverage which is fine as it's a small change and doesn't really effect the plot of the episode infact it could be argued that none of the changes made to the original episode effect it's plot.


This episode does the worst thing that any TV show could have done for it's ending by revealing that the entire episode was just a dream that Trini was having. Much like how Dallas ended it's ninth season this ending makes no sense as it would mean that Trini would have to know exactly what Rita's palace looks like in order for her to dream about and she would have to know what alot of her minions would sound like amongst other things whereas in the original episode that ended it with Ticklesneezer walking off into the distance and vowing to maybe come back one day and yet here in this episode they do away with that sweet and perfectly acceptable ending all for no reason. Heck they could have had the whole thing be real and have it be explained that the doll has now returned to it's doll form which yes granted isn't that good of an ending either but it's also alot more better then the ending then what we ended up with as that ending just doesn't work with it feeling like that the makers of this episode really didn't know how to end the episode with them instead choosing the laziest ending that they could have done and called it a day. This is a show where the main villainess of this season is a witch you could literally come up with anything and make it work and yet they instead chose to go with the option that even fans of Dallas hated when they did it this wouldn't be a bad thing if this was the middle of the episode and it was going to be revealed that Trini was caught in some sort of trap but no it's the actual ending and it's one that just doesn't work both for this episode and for the show as a whole as the show is usually pretty good with giving us endings that are satisfactory and while this episode does get a pass for it being apart of the first batch episodes it is something that the makers of this episode should have thought more about.

To be fair to this episode this episode does do the best that it could have done given just how goofy that the original episode was. With the episode being turned from something that just a comedy with a small bit of action in it into something that is more story focused and action focused with there only being the typical early Power Rangers comedy at the start and end of the episode which is something that dies make this episode feel more serious then what it should have been as by all rights given the premise of even this episode this is one that should have been alot of more goofy and should have been alot more fun and while it does make sense that the makers of this would tone done the goofiness of the original episode. As this is meant to be a more serious show it still would have been quite fun to see the original episode as it was meant to be seen only with the Power Rangers actors in it as you very easily could have had this episode be placed right before the Green With Evil arc and have this episode be sort of a calm before the storm type of episode which is something that this show does do quite well. While it does make sense that it wasn't done for this episode as they were still trying to work out just what this show could be it is something that does leave this episode in a bit of an odd place as for example we have scenes with Rita complaining about how she never got to play with dolls due to having to learn spells which is a goofy scene but then the episode follows that up by having more serious moments like having Billy and Trini be trapped in what is possibly Trini's car which does give the episode more of an odd tone where both the silly aspects of the episode clash with it's more serious nature.


Power Rangers is usually very good with hiding the fact that it's actually using Japanese footage outside of the fact that you do see Japanese signs and people. However in this episode that forgot to edit out the character of Toshio as even tho he plays a big role in the original episode in this version of the episode tho the makers of the episode do have to cut him out as it would mean having to dub not only him but also his mother and school teacher and also give him a part in the plot which would have been a bit much for the episode to do therefor he is mostly edited out of the episode with him only appearing in one unedited scene near the end of the Megazord battle with this being something that very easily could have been edited around as well as they could have cut to stock footage on the Megazords face for a brief shot or to inside of the cockpit with some stock footage yet for whatever reason the makers of this episode left the character in the episode granted they might not have noticed him at the time of editing or just thought that since the shot doesn't last for very long in the first place that people might not catch it either one is fair enough as we wouldn't have been able to slow down the episode back in the nineties but it's something that once you see it you really can't unsee it with the fact that it's in the episode at all making the editors of this episode seem lazy as they would have had enough stock footage of the Megazords face that they could have cut to do to make the scene work and yet they didn't do it. With this being something that does make it obvious that this is a Japanese show and while the fans back in the nineties such as myself wouldn't have noticed this it is still something that does make the episode unintentionally hilarious as we now have a random giant boy in the scene for quite literally no reason what so ever.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty minuets and sixteen seconds. With this episodes running time pretty much being the bogstandard running time for the rest of the show as well and to be fair to this episode this episode really does have the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time this is of course is despite the fact that the episode really doesn't use its running time all that wisely. As the episode doesn't really take the time to fully its plot which is something that you did kind of expect from this show as the main focus of this show has never been and will never be its plot rather it will always be its action which is fair enough and to be fair to this episode this is the kind of episode that really doesn't require having a deep and well thought plot inorder for it to work and given the fact that so much of the plot of this episode does originally involve a character that is mostly cut out of the episode it does result in an episode that does have a plot that feels really underbaked with the same thing also being true for the episodes character development as well as none of the episodes characters get character development of any kind which again is fair as you could make the case that the characters would get there development in the next set of episodes. However tho it still would have been nice for the makers of this episode to at the vert least lay the groundwork for some of the characters character development even if it's just something small like Bulk and Skull being confronted by Mr. Ticklesneezer and choosing not be afraid of him only for them to run away when Goldar shows up which would have been small but it would have something but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action how that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With the episodes action being really well done with this of course being due to the fact that it was filmed for another show entirely but even so this episodes action was really well done and while it would have been slightly if the makers of this episode did add in an unmorphed fight with either the Putties or Squatt for example before then morphing to take on both the putties and Goldar just having them jump right to the morphed fight worked just as well. With the best action scene in this entire episode being the grounded fight with the rangers taking on the Putties and Goldar with the scene having the added drama of Kim trying to capture and then uncork Ticklesneezers bottle all before the train comes and runs them over which is something that might be small but it does add in that extra level of threat that wouldn't have been there otherwise and while the Megazord fight is good it's a fight that's not as good as it could have been due to the fact that due to the lack of Megazord fight footage that there is for this episode the makers of this episode couldn't have the fight last all that long which does result in the fight being over just as should have been getting going with it being made clear as day that the makers of this episode did put alot more thought and effort into giving us some really good action as that is where this episode does shine best with the rest of the episodes action being really good in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall while this episode isn't the best of the early Power Rangers episodes out there it's also not the worst one either with this episode more then proving that this show isn't fully to blame for being goofy as the original show was just as goofy with this episode being a really fun filled episode to watch in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Amazon . Co . Uk and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very post being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Sunday, 15 March 2026

Thomas & Friends TV Series "The Flying Kipper" Review


When we think of Thomas & Friends we don't usually think of episodes that feature the character of Henry. As why would we the show isn't named after him yet he has been apart some of the more darker and more thrilling storylines in the show such as the episode that i'm going to be talking to you all about today and so then join me as I review the episode that sees Henry gain a new shape with the episode in question being called simply just "The Flying Kipper" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when Henry gets told he is pull a train full of fish he is all excited as it could mean one day pulling The Express that is until there is a major accident on the line. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With the episodes plot being one that does conclude a somewhat arc as Henry does gain a new shape that means that he will no longer be needing his special coal as the episodes plot does explain this is in a way that does make alot of sense with this being something that makes these early series Thomas episodes stand out as they treated it's target kid audience with respect as they take the time to explain things to them about not only how trains work but also why these changes are taking place in the first place with this being something that is all over this episodes plot and while yes granted this episodes plot could have been alot more stronger then what it was as there are times where it was hard to tell just what the amin plot of the episode was meant to be alot of the time but when the episode does focus on it's plot that's when we get to see just how strong of an episode that this episode really is as while the plot is simple as is often the case with these Thomas episodes it's also one that is fun to watch with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Sir Ringo Starr as The Narrator with him doing a really good of telling this story. With this being something that couldn't have been easy to do due to the fact that he does have spout alot of technical things in this episode about why the train is called "The Flying Kipper" and what it's main purpose is and he has to do all of that whilst also making it easy for little kids to understand. As we do often forget that Thomas & Friends is first and foremost a kids show with the main target audience essentially being toddlers and there not going to understand things that are told in a really complicated way with that meaning that without dumbing the episode down the makers of this episode had to explain things in a way that kids would understand with both them and Sir Ringo doing a really good job of doing that as by keeping the episode as close to the book that's its based off of it does mean that the episode can be somethin that doesn't talk down to kids and nor does it talk up to them either as it talks them on the same level as it would do any adult watching the show with this being something that Sir Ringo Starr has to get across using only his voice and while the visuals will of course help in this matter it's his voice that's got to get your attention and has got to keep your attention. With him once again proving why he has a good voice for this show as his voice is silky smooth with him having the kind of voice that you could very easily picture yourself falling asleep to as it has an almost dream like quality to it as his voice is just that relaxing to listen to and while that might be odds with what happens later on in the episode it is still something that should be discussed due to the fact that he wasn't that well known for his voice when this episode was first being made.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. The fact that this episodes acting is as good as it is isn't really something that's all that surprising due to the fact that alot of the acting in these early Thomas episodes is generally really good and while people will often argue about which dub is better the American or the UK given the fact that this show was made with UK kids in mind it does make sense that the UK dub would be the better one in this case as the makers of the show went out of there way to not only cast a big name in Sir Ringo Starr but also cast someone who has a great voice that perfectly matches the tone of this first season of the show and while he would get replaced in series 3 by the much more better Michael Angelis Sir Ringo gave the makers of this show a good starting off point with the best actor in this episode of course being Sir Ringo Starr as while he doesn't give any of the characters any unique voices as he wouldn't start doing that until series 2 he is really charming in this episode with it being clear as day that he is having a blast in making this show with the acting that's in this very episode really being helped by the fact that the script for this episode is just so good that all this episodes actor has to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will out of him naturally which s something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


Henry in this episode is perhaps done as well as he could have been done in this first series of the show as a whole. As while the CGI series would turn the character into someone who is nearly always worried about something here in the model era he was someone that was on par with Gordon with the amount of big jobs that he would do with there only being one episode in this entire first series where he was worried about something with the episode being "The Sad Story Of Henry" and even then he was punished or how over the top he was acting. With him in this episode kind of being worried about what The Fat Controller will say to him but here it's more understandable due to the fact that he's just been in a major accident which unbeknownst to Henry wasn't his fault with the character being just as lovable as he is in the rest of the show with the only thing that does kind of let him down in this episode being the fact that we don't get to see him interacting with any of the other engines in this episode as there's no scene at the start or the end of the episode. Where we get to see Henry talking to let's say Gordon for example this is of course due to the fact that the episode mainly takes place at night with there only being the one scene at the end of the episode that takes place in the day light and that is a shame as it would have given us a chance to explore some of Henry's personality a bit more like maybe he's really excited about pulling The Flying Kipper or maybe he doesn't want to do it at first but gets talked into it by his driver both 0f those things are things that would have added something to Henry's character and while the episode isn't harmed by not including these things they are things that if they were added would hade made this already really good episode be all the more better because of it. 


For those of you that perhaps don't know this is the episode where Henry gets the shape that would stay with him for the rest of the show. With there not really being differences that I personally can ever see but what we do know from the episodes dialog is that he now has a larger smoke box which does mean that he won't be needing the coal that they spent the entire last episode building up which now makes the entire last episode pointless in the grand scheme of things as they don't do anything with the special coal idea and disregard it the very first chance that they get. Granted this is something that could have also have been true in the book that that both this episode , the previous episode and the next episode which if that is the case then fair enough as it means that there being true to the books but at the same time tho given the fact the show does make small changes to the books it makes you wonder why they didn't do the same thing here as they spent the whole of the last episode building up the fact that Henry needs this special coal in order to run properly and yet here in this episode after Henry has his accident they get rid of it. The episode does explain why Henry needed a new shape as he got into a pretty nasty accident with a break van and some trucks which caused him to derail which was a smart thing to do as even tho that crash was again in the book that this episodes takes it story from it goes along way in showing that Rev. W. Awdry did treat his audience with respect as yes his stories involved talking trains but there stories were all based in some form of reality albeit a very loose one which does mean that the episodes in these first few series did have episodes where they treated there audience with respect by explaining things like why a character now looking different in a way that does make sense in the context of how this world works.

This episode is based of the based of the story of the same name from the book Henry The Green Engine. After glancing at the books page on the Thomas wiki it doesn't appear as if there was alot changed in this adaptation of the story altho given just how short the wiki page entry is for that story there very well could have been changes made to the story either way this does seem like a really good story to adapt as while there's not really all that much there interms of plot in this story there is alot of atmosphere something which the episodes take as full advantage of as it possibly could have done as the episode does feature alot of snow and some light fog all of which are enough to make us the audience somewhat aware that this isn't a normal episode of the show. With it even acting as foreshadowing as well as now we know that there's snow in play it does mean that the odds of Henry getting into an accident are quite high. This episode even has something that alot of the first series episodes also have and it's something that is very sadly missing from the rest of these model seasons and that's the fact that this episode does have alot of attention to detail as while we don't get to see all that much happening in the foreground if you look in the background forever of certain we do get to see workmen just going about there day to day lives helping to load up The Flying Kipper and getting it ready for Henry to pull which was a nice little touch and was something that the makers of this episode really doesn't have to include as we would have been able to piece together from all of the sounds that we here during that part of the episode what the workmen are doing and yet the makers of this episode went ahead and included it anyway.    


As this episode does feature a pretty big crash it does make sense to talk about it as the crash is both the best and worst thing about the episode. It's the worst thing in that the episode does drop video quality when showing the crash thus pretty much confirming that either they did a reshoot of the crash on a different camera or the makers of the episode used a camera that would have allowed them to make the crash look more cinematic either one isn't the issue as the issue is the drop in noticeable drop in picture quality with the crash becoming so fuzzy that it's hard to see what's just happened which is something that does take us the audience out of the episode when at that point in the episode they should have been keeping us in. Yet it's also the best thing about the episode as it's the very thing that the episode and Henry's arc for this season had been building towards with the crash itself looking just as good as it could have been with all of the models looking very very highly detailed and while yes it would have been nice if they used the same cameras that they used to film the rest of the episode as then we'd be able to see the action unfolding the fact that they try for this more cinematic looking moment does show us the audience that the makers of this show were more then ready to give us the slightly more high octene action that we would get in later series of this show with it being clear as day that they learned alot from this episode and then applied it to those other action packed episodes and while we are barely able to see alot of the crash in this episode what we do get to see is something that does look really good.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running tie of exactly five minuets and thirty three seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstanderd running time for this show during the early model era episodes of the show with the episode even having just about the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time as while this episode doesn't really need a long running time in order to do it's plot justice it still would have been nice if this episode was slightly longer due to the fact that it is paying of a character arc. Yet the episode really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely due to the fact that the episode really doesn't fully develop it's plot which granted is something that would have been hard to do given the fact that it's a little over five minuet and thirty seconds long but if the Paddington show could have more fully developed plots in a very similar time frame then this episode could have done the same as we don't even get to find out why it has to be Henry that has to pull The Flying Kipper in the first place he just gets told it by his driver at the start of the episode and that's it and while the episode also doesn't fully develop it's characters this is something that is kind of excusable due to the fact that it both could be argued that Henry got his character development in other episodes and therefor it wasn't needed all that much in this episode and the fact that this episode is closing of his character arc for this series. However it still would have been nice if we did get to see some character development even if it's just something small like Henry learning that it doesn't matter what your job is on the railway as along as you do it well which yes is a generic thing but it's something that would have worked for his character but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now the as this is a comedy that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty i in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. While the episode doesn't have alot of jokes in it with this being more due to the episodes more serious tone yet at the same time that doesn't mean that the episode is devoid of humor as the episode does sneak in some jokes here and there like for example The Narrator says that Gordon is jealous of Henry when he gets to pull the express which is not only a funny line but does also serve as good foreshadowing for the next episode. With the best joke in the whole entire episode being when a member of the other engines crew says that he won't leave the break van due to the fact that the coco that he's drinking is really good with this being where the book and episode does somewhat diverge as in the book they openly show the same member of the crew yelling at Henry for spilling his drink after he's crashed which is something that would have been a really funny addition to have in this episode but it is also something that would taken away from the more serious nature of the episode this is despite the fat that the joke itself is one that does work really well as it's a joke that's just silly enough for it to be funny without taking away from the more serious nature of the episode and if the episode did add in that extra bit then it would have made the episode be a bit more cartoonish in a sense. Therefor having just the one side of the joke is one that does work all the more better due to the fact that it is something that we could see the railway staff doing alot of the time with the joke itself being really good in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall whilst it's hard to say on if this episode is a fan favorite episode or not what can be said is that this episode is a good example of just good a Henry led episode of the show could be as it has all of the charm that you expect from this show with good does of kind hearted humor and lots of action all of which are things that combine to make a really fun episode of this show in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad this that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 7 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Amazon . Co . Uk and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very post being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.