Search This Blog

Showing posts with label pokemon. Show all posts
Showing posts with label pokemon. Show all posts

Sunday, 10 October 2021

Pokémon The Movie: Secrets Of The Jungle Film Dubbed Film Review

 


Pokemon fans we have yet another new Pokemon movie with us and since I grew up watching Pokemon when it was first airing because yes i'm really that old. I thought that I would take a look at the franchises newest / latest movie and so join me as I give you my review of the dubbed version of the latest Pokemon film with the film in question being called simply just "Pokémon The Movie: Secrets Of The Jungle" enjoy.

The plot of this film is Ask and his friend / Pokemon partner Pikachu encounter a strange young boy who believes that he is a infact a Pokemon and it's up to this newly formed trio to save the jungle which is under attack from a scientist who wants something that is hidden deep within the actual jungle itself. Now then as for what I personally thought / felt about the plot of this film in all honesty I in all honesty thought / feel that the plot of this very film was the one of this films weakest aspects since the plot of this film is so thin and is so weak that it might as well as not even be there at all in my opinion anyways / at least.  


Starring in this dubbed version of this very freaking film is Sarah Natochenny as Ash Ketchum and as Delia Ketchum and Ikue Otani as Pikachu. Also starring in this dubbed version of this very freaking film is Michele Knotz as Jessie , James Carter Cathcart as James and as Meowth , Erica Schroeder as Wobbuffet , Rodger Parsons as The Narrator , Edward Bosco as Zarude , Kimlinh Tran as Koko , Billy Kametz as Dr. Zed and Michelle Ruff as Sharon.

Now then as for / in terms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film in all honesty I in all honesty thought / feel that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was a very mixed ag of affairs for me personally. Since even tho there are indeed some decent performances in this film there are some performances which are just bad like for example Edward Bosco gives some weird line reading in this film and it's those exact same line readings that bring down the overall quality of the acting that's in this film in my opinion anyways / at least. 


Doing the animation for this film is regular Pokemon animation company OLM who have provided the animation for everything that's related to the Pokemon anime and in terms of what I personally thought / felt about the animation that's featured / presented to us in this very film. In all honesty I in all honesty thought / felt that the animation that's featured / presented to us in this very film was really good with this film making some great use of both CGI and traditional 2D hand drawn animation in my opinion anyways / at least.


Now then instead of going the full 3D CGI route that the previous Pokemon film went this film returns to the franchises routes. Which I in all honesty feel is the best approach for this franchise since there are so many anime now that are being produced by using 3D CGI animation and it's just nice to see an anime product go back to using the animation style that brought it to the table / dance in the first place in my opinion anyways / at least.

Now then this the first Pokemon film that came out recently to not be a remake of either a preexisting Pokemon episode or a preexisting Pokemon movie. Since the last few movies have for some strange reason all been remakes which is just a pointless thing to do since all of those remakes all do is serve to remind you that you could be watching the originals which are always much more freaking better in my opinion anyways / at least.


So now then the other weakest aspect of this film for me personally is the films main villain since we aren't really given any reason as to why this person is evil. As such they just across as being evil for the sake of being evil and that doesn't make them a compelling character if anything takes away from there character because of the fact that we know nothing about this character and which even tho this film indeed a kids film and thus meant to be seen and hopefully possibly even enjoyed and loved by little kids there is no excuse for having a weak villain since even kids films deserve better and that's because kids themselves deserve alot better then this film in my opinion anyways / at least.

So now then this film has / had a grand total running time of exactly one hour and thirty nine minutes and fifteen seconds. Which if i'm being honest this long running time is a bit on the long side for this film and this is where the films issues really do shine through because first of all there's not enough there interms of either plot of story to cover that / this long of a running time and secondly the villain isn't a strong enough character to carry this film on his back and as such I really do feel that this story and villain would have been better suited being in a Pokemon special rather then a Pokemon movie in my opinion anyways / at least.


Now then according to IMDB this film is being listed as an action film at least according to IMDB anyways and that means that I have to talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film and well in all honesty I in all honesty think / feel that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film. Was oddly not that good and I say that because the ideas behind this films action scenes / action sequences are indeed very cool and unique but this film doesn't rally take full advantage of it's jungle setting and that lets that's in this very freaking film down at least in my opinion it freaking does anyways / at least.



Overall this film was just a huge let down in every single way possible in my opinion anyways / at least so much so that I can't really tell who will actually like this movie since there's nothing in here that's for die hard Pokemon fans and kids won't find this movie interesting or even entertaining enough to keep on being engaged with this film in my opinion anyways / at least Now i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very in this very review and as such that means that this film earns itself a grand old score of exactly a 6.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Pokemon fandom wiki page , Wikipedia and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images that I actually and personally used in this very film being the official Pokemon fandom wiki page just simply due to the fact that nearly all of the images that are up , and on and featured on the official Pokemon fandom wiki page are all fairly freaking high in quality and as well as being fairly high definition in my opinion anyways / at least.













 







Monday, 29 May 2017

Why Anime Is Not Just For Kids


Good morning anime fans i really didn't intend on making a post this early in the morning but tho i want to finally put in my two sense about one single phrase and it's one that if your an anime fan such as myself you hear at least once a week and that phrase is "Anime Is For Kids" or at least some form of those words.


Now i would like to point out that not all anime is for adults because there are shows that are made just for kids some examples include Pokemon and Digimon i know that there is more but to mainstream people those are the two that matter most. That's because both of those shows especially Pokemon have become worldwide hits and so to mainstream people who perhaps don't know about Death Note or the Hellsing series all anime is just like Pokemon or Digimon I.E. just for kids. 

I will however say that both shows in the past few years have tried to mature a little in Pokemon XYZ ASh got his first kiss it's a small thing yes but it also shows that the series was at that point trying to mature and in the newest Digimon film series we catch up with the original Gang years later thus moving on from the kids show formula now i don't know if the writing for Digimon has mautred or not but i can say for Pokemon it has a little bit.


What the mainstream people have to realise is not all anime if for kids just go into your local DVD shop and look at the anime isle you'll see plenty of stuff for adults as well you don't have to watch any of it just look at the cover and the age rating that alone should tell you not all anime if for kids i've put up a picture of the recent Hellsing anime because that's honestly the most mature anime i've seen recently and was the anime that got me back into anime. 

If the mainstream audience were to see an anime like Hellsing it won't stop them from saying that all anime if for kids in fact most of them will not want to talk about it but i think it will help a little another anime that i think might help with this is the anime Death Note but that's one were i can see people looking at the cover and think it's for kids so with that one they may need to watch an episode or two but what both these shows and the next show i want to talk about have in common is the fact there not afraid to take risks and to tell a more mature story.


The other series i wanted to talk about was Attack On Titan if you think this show is for kids then wait until the end of the first episode in which spoiler alert the main heroes mother gets eaten alive and i'm sure you see some blood come out of her as well. If that episode alone doesn't convince you that anime is kids only then your in denial because this show has done something that the other two couldn't do and that's become popular with some mainstream people even the great Death note didn't do that so i think that Attack On Titan helped convince people that anime is not just for kids and it also got more people into anime which is a good thing overall.

As i mentioned early on not all anime is for adults but tho you cannot right of an entire medium just based on what's popular that like comparing The Fast and The Furious movies to Lawrence Of Arabia you just can't do that you have to treat them all separately in order to judge them all fairly and it's the same thing with music you can't compare Justin Bieber to Mozart they are two different people working in two different genre's so comparing them would be useless and pointless. The same thing can also be said for anime it's pointless to compare a kids anime to something like Ghost In The Shell because they have two different target audiences so what's the point in it.


I know people will kill me for not bringing up Elfen Lied but the fact is i cannot talk that much about the show as i've only seen a few clips here and there but based on what i have seen it's a very adult anime at least in terms of what it shows so that's really all i can say about that show and the same goes for deadman wonderland. 

Not all shows however have to be filled with blood and guts to called an adult anime look at shows like HighSchool Of The Dead or High School DXD they are full to the brim with fanservice and yet to the mainstream audience they are on the same level as Pokemon or Digimon to me that's not a fair comparison to make and again if the mainstream audience would look at the age rating on the DVD or Blu-Ray they would know that.


The bottom line tho is that as long as shows like Pokemon stick in the mind of mainstream audiences other more mature shows will just be classed in their minds as only for kids and we anime lovers will always be stuck with that phrase but there is something we can do however we can try and get them to watch shows like Death Note and like Elfen Lied or Hellsing in the vain hope it will change their minds.