Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Wandavision. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Wandavision. Show all posts

Thursday, 19 September 2024

My SPOILER FILLED First Impressions Of The Agatha All Along TV Series


The Marvel Cinematic Universe has been seeing alot of ups and downs recently with the TV side of things not really taking off all that well either. With the only two decent TV shows being What If and Wandavision and well the spin off of Wandavision has now jus5t aired it's first two episodes and well then since I was fan of Wandavision back when that show was first airing you all just knew that I simply had to check this show out the very first chance that I got and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED first impressions of the show that's had more name changes then we've all had hot diners with the show in question being called simply just "Agatha All Along" enjoy.

The plot of these first two episodes is three years after the events of Wandavision Agatha Harkness finds herself free of the spell that Wanda put her under but without her powers she embarks on a quest to get her powers back. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good with the plot doing a good job of not only setting up what Agatha has to go through in the show but also catching us up on what the character ha been up to in the years since we last saw her in Wandavision however with all of that being said tho the plot of these first two episodes does also bit to generic with it being made painfully obvious what Agatha's arc is going to be for the rest of the show which does make the rest of the show feel a bit more predictable then what it might actually end up being and while there are some twists and reveals in the first episode that do make you want to watch the second episode there's nothing in that second episode to make you want to come back and watch further episodes of this show with the plot of this show also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in these episodes is Kathryn Hahn as Agnes O'Connor / Agatha Harkness and Joe Locke as Teen. Also starring in these episodes is  Debra Jo Rupp as Sharon Davies , Aubrey Plaza as Rio Vida , Emma Caulfield Ford as Dottie Jones / Sarah Proctor , David Payton as Herb Feltman / John Collins , David Lengel as Phil Jones / Harold Proctor , Asif Ali as Norm Gentilucci / Abilash Tandon , Amos Glick as Dennis Webber , Sasheer Zamata as Jennifer Kale , Ali Ahn as Alice Wu-Gulliver , Okwui Okpokwasili as Vertigo , Chau Naumova as Coyote , Bethany Curry as Crow , Athena Perample as Fox , Alicia Vela-Bailey as Owl , Britta Grant as Rat and Marina Mazepa as Snake.

Now then int6erms of what  personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad. With all pf the actors that you expect a good performance from really delivering a good performance but at the same time tho the acting in these first two episodes really could have been alot better then what it actually was with alot of the new actors just not turning as good of a performance that we the audience know that they can deliver due to them delivering a good performance in other projects and yet here for one or another they just don't turn in that good of performance with them being really wooden at best which is something that really does bring down the overall quality of the acting that's in these episodes with the acting that's in these first two episodes not really being helped by the fact that the scripts for these first episodes aren't that good as neither of them give these episodes actors a whole lot to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first lace which s something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in these first two episodes.


For once it's hard to tell who is actually doing the CGI for either one of these episodes as there are no effects companies listed anywhere online.  Now the interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad as while there isn't alot of CGI to be found in both of these episodes what little CGI there is is used really well with it mainly being used to extend sets and remove wires and to that degree the CGI that's to be found in both of these episodes does look really good as that's what CGI should be used for extending what was already there on the day f filming and not be used to create something else entirely but at the same time given that this is show about witches these first episode could have used some of there effects budget to show us what these witches can do before they agree to go on this quest with Agatha but at the same time it was most likely decided not to use CGI  that much in these early episodes to save up on the effects budget so that they can have bigger and better effects when it comes to the second half of this show but at the some time you can still have small amounts of CGI in these early episodes and not have it effect your effects budget all that much you just have to be very smart about what becomes a CGI effects and what doesn't and that's really all there is to it.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!



For those wondering the first episodes does have reveal that the dead that we see at the start of the episode is fact Wanda Maximoff who of course we are believed to have died at the end of Doctor Strange In The Multiverse Of Madness. However if you watch an earlier scene you'll notice that Agatha winks to the camera when she says that the person might not be dead and since we never get to see Elizabeth Olsen's face in the episode it does make you wonder if she'll cameo at the end of the show to reveal that she's actually still alive which would be an interesting way to bring the character back to life as it goes back to that age old rule of if we don't see the body on screen then did the character actually die and since we never saw Wanda's body at the end of Doctor Strange In The Multiverse Of Madness then it is possible that she could be brought back and still be alive and it does make sense that this be the show be the ne to reference that movie as that movie is essentially the follow up to Wandavision only from Wanda's point of view where as this show is from Agatha's point of view despite them both being a sequel to Wandavision and heck it's even pretty much a guarantee that Teen is actually one of Wanda's kids as every single time he does go to mention who is parents are something covers his mouth so we the audience and even the characters can't hear him clearly something which does also come into play during the shows second episode as well.

Much like how Wandavision in it's early episodes especially served as a sendup to classic sitcoms of the past. This show especially in it's first episode serves as a sendup of cop shows in this case it was Yellowjackets however where as Wandavision only had the basic set up and plot of sitcom and really nothing more then that this show does take it a step further then that by having the actual characters be listed in the fake opening credits which was such a smart idea and was the best joke in both of these episodes as it's something that you don't even expect to be a thing as it wasn't a thing in Wandavision and heck even the fiction show that Agatha is starring in is meant to be based off of a dutch show that is basically called Wandavision which was a cute little joke but at the same time it really wasn't needed either and that's the same thing with alot of the jokes in both of these two episodes with alot of them being cute but not really laugh out loud funny with this being the case with alot of the stuff in episode where alot of their jokes just make the characters look either dumb or like there the bad guy and that's really it and while yes episode two is better then the first episode in alot of ways episode one tops episode two by having some painfully jokes in it which do make episode one the more fun episode to watch.


Episode two does top the first episode one in the way that we do get to see alot of fun interactions not only with Agatha and Teen but also between the coven members as well. As Agatha and Teen have to try and convince each member of the coven to join them whilst Agatha was secretly planning to just get them to hit her so that she can steal there power something which teen may or may not know about and with the coven members interacting we do get to see some fun interactions with all of them as alot of them haven't really met each other before now but at the same time tho those interactions don't give any member of the coven a chance to get across what there personality is like which isn't a problem for Debra Jo Rupp and Kathryn Hahn both of whom are of course reprising their roles from Wandavision and as a result of that s the fact that there characters personalities was already set up in that show but it does become a problem with the newer characters as there's nothing interesting about the characters personalities that lend themselves to some really interesting interactions with certain characters and while yes we do geta lot of quips from the coven members they mean nothing if you don't have personality and interesting interactions to back them up and heck the only member of the coven who does get some sort of personality apart from Agatha and Sharon Davies is Teen who does come across as being a bit of spunky type of a character and that;s really it and it's not enough to make either him or the rest of the coven members interesting characters.

Now then episode one has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly thirty nine minuets and forty nine seconds whereas episode two has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly forty one minuets and twenty five seconds. With both of the episodes running time being some soldi running times for both of the episodes but at the same time episodes two could have been a tad bit shorter and episode one could have been a tad longer as episode one does have alot of things to set up where as episodes two doesn't have that problem and thus doesn't need to have a longer time in order to tell it's story as it very easily could have told it's story in a much more tighter thirty to thirty five minuets running time which would allow for the plot of the episode to be alot more focused then what it actually is and while episode one does have the opposite problem it has the problem of being two short as it has so many characters to introduce and as well as the plot of the show to introduce and still tell a really good story and it really can't do that with it's current running time and as a result of that is the fact that alot of episode does come across as feeling rushed as it has to hit certain plot points very quickly all of which could have been avoided if episode one had a much more longer running time but I will admit that both of these episode really do have some really good pacing to them tho.


So now then as this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad. As while we do get only one action scene across both episodes which is something that does make sense as we are only a few episodes into this show it is still a good action scene and while it doesn't really show us what Agatha can do in a fight it doesn't really need to do that as she doesn't have her powers and so of course she won't be able to fight as well as she does when she does have her powers as she's more used to fighting with her powers something that we see in the final ever episode of Wandavision but at the same time we don't really gey to see what Teen brings to the team either as he spends alot of the action just stood there doing nothing instead of trying to do something to help the one person that he really wants to go down the witches road ad as a result of that is the fact that it would have made sense for him to help Agatha out in her fight against Rio and it would have given us the audience a chance to see just what it is that he brings to the team as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall this show does have all of the potential in the world to be a decent follow up show to Wandavision but at the same time given that it's only eight episodes long it does need to start getting to all of the good stuff from a plot point of view ad have no filler scenes like we have in both of these episodes and it is something that does make these episodes seem alot more boring then what they actually are in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in these first two episodes in this very post and since this is only my first impressions I won't be giving this show a rating however if this post does decently well and if you guys want me to check out another episode then I will do it and that post would then be a review of that episode and that episode only and not a review of the show as a whole.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post from the official Disney fandom wiki page , the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to really use to get the images from these very episodes that I really used in this very post being the really great the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page simply just because of the fact that really due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are in this post really are all really from these very episodes and are really of course up and really on the really great the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page are really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Monday, 16 September 2024

Wandavision "Breaking The Fourth Wall" Review


We are now just a few short days from the release of the latest MCU Disney+ TV series Agatha All Along. As such it was only about right that I review something from the show from which the character of Agatha Harkness first makes her debut and well with a certain song that also bares the name of Agatha All Along also debuting in this very episode it only made sense that this be the episode that I do a review for and so then join me as I review that introduced the world to a surprisingly catchy song with the episode in question being called simply just "Breaking The Fourth Wall" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is with her grip on Westview slipping Wanda goes to extremes to make sure everything stays just the way that she wants it to all the while something truly evil emerges from Westview something which threatens to change everything forever. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty (I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad with the plot of this episode doing a really good job of building up the overall plot of the show as a whole whilst also throwing in some twists and turns that make the plot of this episode feel new and different whilst also being the kind of plot that you'd expect to see in a show like this one as well with this being helped by the fact that the plot of this episode really does feel like the kind of plot that you'd expect to see in shows like Modern Family and the American version of The Office albeit with a Marvel twist that oddly makes sense for these characters which also makes the plot feel more refreshing , new and different then as well with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff , Paul Bettany as Vision and Teyonah Parris as Monica Rambeau. Also starring in this episode is Evan Peters as Ralph Bohner , Randall Park as Jimmy Woo , Debra Jo Rupp as Sharon Davis , Kat Dennings as Darcy Lewis , Kathryn Hahn as Agatha Harkness /Agnes , Julian Hilliard as Billy Maximoff , Jett Klyne as Tommy Maximoff , Josh Stamberg as Director Tyler Hayward , Emma Caulfield Ford as Sarah Proctor , Jolene Purdy as Isabel Matsueda , David Payton as John Collins , David Lengel as Harold Proctor , Asif Ali as Abilash Tandon , Alan Heckner as Agent Monti , Rachael Thompson as Major Aly Goodner , Selena Anduze as Agent Rodriguez and Amos Glick as Dennis The Delivery Man.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. Which really isn't all that new as the acting for this show is genuinely really good and heck the acting in this episode even got praise for being as good as it is with alot of that being down to the fact that some of this episodes actors are reprising their roles from other Marvel Cinematic Universe movies as well as the fact that alot of this episodes actors are a bunch of really good actors in there own right with it being clear as day that this episodes director Matt Shakman really does know how to get a good performances out of his actors which is something that does help to raise up the overall quality of this episodes acting and make it alot more better then what it really had any right to be with the acting that's in this episode really being helped by the fact that this episodes script is just so good that all this episodes cast have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance really will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


Doing the CGI for this episode is Monsters Aliens Robots Zombies and the legends and the greats that are currently over at capital T. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good as they use CGI in the way that it was meant to be used that is to extend and enhance what was already there on the day in this case making the Circus look alot bigger then what it was and while yes they do use it in order to create The Hex that's keeping them in Westview that's a case of that they had to to use CGI there as there's no way that you could do an effect like that in live action and to be fair it is an effect that does look good for most part as this is a TV show and as such the effects budget does have to be spread out alot more then what it would have to be in a feature length film and as a result of that is the fact that we do get some effects that don't look that good with the scene where Wanda lifts Monica in the air using her powers looking a little bit to fake and while it is something that would be a passable effect ten years ago it's also an effect that doesn't look as good as it perhaps should have done.


As alot of you know this is the episode that introduced the world to the song "Agatha All Along with the song itself being written by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez. The song itself is still surprising catchy with the song echoing sitcoms of the past most notably The Munsters something that is featured in the songs guitar and theme tune as well as the text that appears on the segment where this song appears which does make sense as a character like Agatha does seem like somebody who would've watched The Munsters at some point in her live but at the same time the song isn't all that good either as it's a song that hasn't been built up at all and isn't written all that well either as it doesn't have that many lyrics to it and as a result of that s the fact that it comes across like a TV jingle that you'd hear over an advert and not like the TV show theme song that it's pretending to be and heck it doesn't really go all that far into the fact that it is basically a TV show intro theme song which is something that it really could have done both in the visuals and in the actual song like it would have been funny if the episode had listed who was starring in this version of Agatha All Along and they even could have listed Agatha Harkness as being the creator of the show and the song it self could have had a bit more of punch to it this is despite the fact that the song is as to be expected from these writers still a really well written song that's performed really well by Agatha Harkness actor Kathryn Hahn.

Something that was to be expected from this show is the fact that this episodes sends up certain era of sitcoms in this case it's shows like the American version of The Office and Modern Family. Which is something that does date this episode as even when this show was being aired those kinds of shows were on the out and the world of sitcom was returning to being filmed infront of a live studio audience but at the same time it is still fun to see this episode send up aspects of those shows like the fact that Wanda does have a chat with the fictional director something which both disturbs her and serves as a key plot point in the episode as it lets us the audience now that somethings going on right now even if it is being one is a rather subtle way but at the same time it is something that does take away from the episode as well as those kinds of shows really do find away to spotlight everybody and give all of the characters something funny to say or do something which this episode really doesn't do and heck it's only Wanda and Vision that talks to the camera when it would have been funnier if we got to see more of the cast take to the camera as well which is something that really would have played really well into the sitcom aspect of this show whilst also not really taking away from the drama aspect of this show either.


Out of all of the characters that are in this episode it's Monica that gets alot less screen time then what she really could have gotten. As her breaking back into Westview is a key part of the shows finale and yet it's not given alot of attention instead she just arrives at an of sight army base and suddenly knows how to get back in after basically crashing a car and that's really it none of which is built up really well and all of which is something that could have been built up if she was given alot more screen time to fully develop that plot line but in doing so that would have taken from the main plot line and Vision's subplot of getting back to Wanda as well both of which are key plot lines and as a result of that is the fact that it does make it hard to fully judge which plot lone should either have been removed all together or cut down in order to give the other plot lines the time that they needed to fully breathe and develop more with this not really being helped by the fact that what little of Monica we do get in this episode really doesn't tell us all that much about her as a character which does make sense given how late into the show this episode is but at the same time since there very clearly trying to set up as a main character for future movies going forward then alot more effort should have gone into showing us what her personality is like in all of her scenes including her scenes in this episode as that would have made her a more developed character and that's something that can't be done with the fact that this episode really doesn't show her all that much.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly thirty four minuets and forty one seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstandard running time for this shoe and while this episode really does have more then enough there in terms of plot to really cover that amount of running time that running time is also the episodes biggest problem as it does mean that plot lines really do have to be rushed at an almost unnatural pace as the episode has to rush along to the next plot point instead of just letting plot points come across organically which does leave you with questions like couldn't Vision just fly back to Wanda at the start of the episode of when he and Darcy where stuck at the traffic light since Vision himself even noted that he knew that this was Wanda's doing and yet those gaps in logic are things that could have been covered over with if the episode took the time that it so desperately needed in order to reach to those plot points more organically instead of just rushing to them without explaining anything at best all of which does make the episode come across as being rushed at times when this is the point in a shows run when they should be slowing down a little bit just so they can explain more about what's going and heck even the sitcoms that this show is sending up do more often then not take there time in telling there stories and thus reach there plot points more organically this is despite them having a twenty two minuet running time but I will admit that this episode really does have some really bad pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is still a comedy as this point in time that really does mean that I have to actually talk about thew actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. As the episode does have some really funny moments in it which given that this episode does have Kat Dennings in it does make alot of sense as does the fact that she and and Vision that get alot of the episodes best jokes just because of the fact that it's so funny seeing these two characters that wouldn't normally spend time together now instead being forced to spend time together all the while Wanda is sending thing after thing to stop them from reaching her which is a funny idea and while Wanda herself doesn't get that many funny moments in the episode the few that she does get very early on in the episode do come across as being quite funny even if they are jokes that this version of the character really wouldn't make it's just a shame that the makers of this episode only give Kathryn Hahn only one joke in the whole entire which is still a funny joke but at the same time they could have given her a few more jokes like maybe her jokes get darker and darker the more the episode goes on just to sort of hint that things aren't quite what they seem with Agnes but the joke that she does get about being bitten by a kid was a really funny joke in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall while this was still a really fun filled episode it's also one that's not as good as it really could have been either with the episode really falling under the weight of it's self enforced really short running time but at the same time this episode really does show that the makers of this show really do know how to set up things that become important later on in the shows run in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now the i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a really grand old score of exactly an 8 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all pf the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Disney fandom wiki page and the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being better quality then what'd think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Sunday, 1 August 2021

Wandavision "Filmed Before A Live Studio Audience" Review

 

Marvel fans it's been quite a long time since I last talked about Wandavision and well I thought that it was about time that I talked about this show some more simply because this show was that good in my opinion anyways / at least and now while I indeed talked about this episode when I did my first impressions of Wandavision. This is my actual review of the episode and so you can expect an actual rating at the end of this particular / very review and so join me as I review the debuting episode of Wandavision with the episode in question being called simply just "Filmed Before A Live Studio Audience" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is newlywedded couple Wanda Maximoff and Vision can't remember what is so special about the day that is marked of with a teeny tiny little heart on their calendar and with that hilarity ensues. You guys have no idea how hard it was for me just to write that little summery for this episode because it's so hard to describe what the actual plot of this episode actually is but that might be the point of the show as a whole tho and if i'm being honest the whole boss coming to dinner plot is huge sitcom trope plot line and it's perfect for this show and this plot line was a decent enough plot line to set up this show even if the plot line could be a little bit thinly drawn out at times tho in my opinion anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff , Paul Bettany as Vision and the sitcom comedy legend that is Debra Jo Rupp as Mrs. Hart. Also starring in this episode is Fred Melamed as Arthur Hart , Kathryn Hahn as Agnes , Asif Ali as Norm , David Lengel as Phil Jones , Ithamar Enriquez as Commercial Man , Victoria Blade as Commercial Woman and Amos Glick as Dennis The Mailman.

Now then as for what I personally thought / felt about the acting that's featured / presented to us in this very / particular episode in all honesty I honestly thought that the acting that's featured / presented to us in this very / particular episode was really good. This is because alot of the actors and actresses that we see in this episode are genuinely really good actors and actresses and even tho looking back you can see certain clues to certain plot points being woven into the performances it's wonderful to see these great actors and actresses weave in these little hints at future plot points and have it be done with just a look which was something I personally rather enjoyed seeing in this very / particular episode.




Now then as alot of who watched Wandavision all the way through the first time as it was being released then you'll know that this show takes alot from alot of classic sitcoms with this episode in particular borrowing stuff from The Dick Van Dyke Show. Now then I honestly do like that both this episode and this show would go out of their way to incorporate several different things that we've seen in various different sitcoms all through out the years as it shows that this makers of this particular / very episode and that the makers of this particular / very TV show have a deep love and a deep understanding of sitcoms and what it is exactly that makes sitcoms so great and so fun to watch.   


I have to fully admit that I think that Marvel is rushing themselves by pumping out / turning out and releasing so many new shows. There's no harm in taking your time in releasing new TV shows just because one TV show has ended doesn't mean that you have to release another one the next / following week which is kind if what Marvel have been doing since about a week or two after Wandavision ended they started releasing The Falcon And The Winter Solider and a week or two after The Falcon And The Solider finished they / Marvel starting releasing episodes of Loki and it was getting to the point where it was becoming to much to soon and honestly because of how fast that these shows were being released I in all honesty haven't seen that much of either Loki or The Falcon And The Winter Solider.

Now then if someone was to say to me that they didn't lie this episode then I would completely understand their point of view. This is simply because the entire concept for / behind this show is kind of strange since you have these comic book characters one of whom you've already seen die and now they are living together in a sitcom type of world / environment that is a pretty strange concept for anyone to wrap their heads around but I will very fully admit that if you love / like the sitcom genre then you'll appreciate all of the tropes and clichés that get touched upon in this very / particular episode in my opinion anyways / at least.


One of the things that I really didn't like about this episode is that it really didn't go as far as it perhaps could or perhaps should have done with it's parody of pretty much all if not alot of 1950's sitcoms. Like they should have had the intro theme / music for this episode be done a big old old school band and there shouldn't have been any hints at Vision and Wanda getting it on shall we say simply because there wasn't any of those kinds of hints in any 1950's American sitcom.

This very / particular episode has a grand total running time of exactly twenty six minuets and thirty three seconds which I honestly felt that that running time was a bit on the long side. Simply because this episode doesn't really have enough there in terms of plot to cover that amount of running and so if anything this episode should have been at the very have been twenty two minuets long in my opinion anyways / at least.



Now then this particular episode is meant to be a comedy and so that means that I have to talk about the actual jokes that are featured / presented to us in this very / particular / actual episode and in my opinion anyways / at least the jokes that are featured / presented to us in this very / particular / actual episode aren't that bad. The issue is however that the jokes that are in this episode aren't that good either which is a shame because when a joke lands it really does work well.


Overall this was a really good first episode to a really great TV series / TV show but this very / particular episode does indeed have it's fair share of problems tho and it's those issues that keep this very / particular episode from being perfect in my opinion anyways / at least. Now i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very / particular episode in this very review and as such this very / particular episode gets a score of an 8 out of 10 from this fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Now then as for where I got all of the images that I used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official CBS fandom wiki page , Wikipedia and from the official Marvel Cinematic fandom wiki page. With my personal favourite website to use to get the actual images that are from this very / particular episode that I actually used in this very review being the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page simply because alot of if not all of the images that are currently up featured and on the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page are all fairly high in quality and as well as being fairly high definition.

























Saturday, 6 March 2021

Wandavision SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Review

 


Ladies and gentlemen it's been a really long time since i've sat down and reviewed a full series of a TV show so long infact that I cannot tell you what the last TV show I reviewed. However with a certain TV show that took the internet and the Disney+ servers by storm you just know that I had produce a review of this certain show and yes there will be spoilers so you have been warned and so join me as I review the 2021 Marvel and Disney that is airing / streaming on Disney+ with the show itself being called simply "Wandavision" enjoy.

Now I really do wish that I could tell you what the plot of this show is but the show is so strange and so bizarre that it makes it hard to tell what the plot of the show even is. Which I guess adds to the re-watch ability and I guess that's of the many reasons as to why people kept on tuning in to watch this show just so they could figure what the plot of the show even is and while it's great to keep your audience guessing as to what's going you also need to have a story which from what I can tell is the one thing that this show doesn't have which is a shame because this show is so good and this show is well written in my opinion but it would have helped the show quite alot if the show was telling a story instead of having a bunch random things happen for no reason for the majority of the show and then have the final three episodes packed full of story but that's just what I think tho.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



Starring in this show / series is Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff / Scarlet Witch and Paul Bettany as Vision / Spectral Vision. Also starring in this show / series is Teyonah Parris as Monica Rambeau / Geraldine , Randall Park as Jimmy Woo , Evan Peters as Ralph Bohner/ Pietro Maximoff , Debra Jo Rupp as Sharon Davis/ Mrs. Hart , Fred Melamed as Todd Davis/ Arthur Hart , Kat Dennings as Darcy Lewis , Julian Hilliard as Billy Maximoff , Jett Klyne as Tommy Maximoff Josh Stamberg as Director Tyler Hayward and Kathryn Hahn as Agatha Harkness / Agnes.

The acting in the show is one of the many things that this show got praise and it's not hard to see why at all. Since the acting in this show is so freaking good with all of the actors in this show delivering good performances and heck I wouldn't be surprised if alot of the actors that appear in this show get nominated for Emmy awards because that's how good the acting in this show truly freaking is in my opinion and yes I might be talking about the acting of Elizabeth Olsen and possibly Paul Bettany and Kathryn Hahn again later on in this review but we'll see tho we'll see.


The CGI in this show was provided / done by Capital T , Monsters Aliens Robots Zombies , RISE Visual Effects Studios and Rodeo FX. There's rather shockingly not that much CGI in this episode in fact there's only a small handful of episodes in which there is some sort of CGI present which is a shame because the CGI effects that are in this show are honestly really good and while the CGI effects in this show aren't movie quality for a TV show that's on a TV show budget the CGI effects in this show turned out alot better then they really should have done in my opinion. 


There was really no way in hell that I could talk about this show and not talk about the big reveal of Agatha Harkness / Agnes being the closest thing to a main villain in this show because in my opinion the reveal itself was so well done. It helps that the makers of this show of this show also gave Agatha Harkness / Agnes the best and most catchy song in this entire show it helps that Agatha's song was written by the writers of Let It Go those writers being Kristen Anderson-Lopez and her husband and her writing partner Robert Lopez and I have to say with the song "Agatha All Along" Kristen Anderson-Lopez and her husband and her writing partner Robert Lopez have created another ear worm of a song and I should know because i've had "Agatha All Along" stuck in my head for weeks and everytime I think it's gone for good it comes right back and even stronger then before.

I'm  not going to lie I really loved Agatha Harkness / Agnes in this show since the character goes from being super sweet and pretty funny to being cold , calculated and pretty scary all in the space of one single episode. I honestly feel that the character of Agatha Harkness / Agnes was so well written in this series and that makes her reveal even more shocking because up until the end of episode seven Agatha / Agnes is written as this kind and caring character but from the end of episode onwards you see that she's actually a pretty and calculating person who is willing to kill her own mother just to get whatever it is that she wants and I feel that actress Kathryn Hahn pulls of playing both Agatha Harkness and Agnes really well since she makes both characters completely different from each other so much so that I wouldn't blame anyone if they re-watched the show and they still believed that Agnes was innocent because that's how good Kathryn Hahn is at playing both of these characters in my humble and honest opinion.


One of the negative things about this series apart from the fact that there's no plot to the show whatsoever is the fact that Vision rebelling against Wanda and her control over him is forgotten about a few episodes later. I don't know why the makers of this show chose to include this subplot since it goes nowhere which is a shame because it would have added an extra dimension to this character since we've seen Vision getting angry before and so to see that he did angry in this series is both a good and a bad it's a good thing because like I said it adds an extra dimension to this character but it's a bad thing because the makers of this show do nothing with it hell we don't even see Vision and Wanda resolve there difference and as such seeing Vision suddenly arrive to help Wanda out in episode 9 doesn't really work since up until that point we the audience have been led to believe that both Wanda and Vision are about to fight and as such there should have been a scene in either episode eight or episode nine where both Wanda and Vision resolve there differences , doing this would then make Vision coming to Wanda's aid make alot more sense since both Wanda and Vision would have resolved there differences and thus would have become alleys / friends / lovers once again but that's just what I personally think about that subplot tho.

I have to talk about Wanda's suit because hot damn does that suit look good and hot damn does actress Elizabeth Olsen look good and fine as all heck in that suit. I have to admit that during the final battle with Agatha during episode nine and when the suit was starting appear on Wanda I was just say there yelling "Show the suit , show the suit" several times and my god does that suit look yes it's not Wanda / Scarlet Witch's traditional suit but it's as close to that more traditional suit that we're ever going to get under Disney and like I said this Wanda /. Scarlet Witch suit looks really freaking good in my opinion.


All of the early to mid episodes of this show all serve as homages to various different sitcoms / TV show comedies. Which I personally really liked since i'm a fan of sitcoms and of TV show show comedies and heck I even got what the fact that they were spoofing The Munsters theme song and intro when "Agatha All Along" started playing but with that being said I understand where people are coming from when they write this show of as being nothing more then a comedy since based of the shows early episodes that's how it would very much seem to be however at the same time if those same people stuck with the show they'd find that it's more of a  action tragedy instead of a straight up comedy but that's just what I think anyways.

Now then boys and girls since this is a superhero show that means that there's action to be found in this superhero TV show and that means that I have discuss the action that's in the actual show itself and if i'm being honest even tho there really isn't that much action in the show. The action that we do get is really good with perhaps my personal favourite action scene in this entire show is the one between Vision and Spectral Vision just because it just doesn't boil to for can hit for the hardest or who can make the other one stay down it also comes down to can outwit who as well which to me makes the fight between Vision and Spectral Vision really interesting just because it's not somethin that I don't I don't think that we've seen in any of the Marvel Cinematic Universe films or shows before now and that makes the fight between Vision and Spectral Vision stand out just because like I said it's something that we might not have seen before but that's just what I think anyways.


To me this is show is more of an action tragedy then a straight forward comedy since alot of the episodes includes the episodes unique adverts / commercials deal with something to do with Wanda's. Heck even episode eight is entirely dedicated to telling Wanda's past and seeing her past play out is utterly heartbreaking even seeing how she reacts when we find out that Vision had bought Wanda some land in Westview with the sole purpose for them both to build a home and a life together is utterly heartbreaking and this is where Elizabeth Olsen's acting really shines in my opinion since we can see everything that Wanda is feeling and i'm going to be honest I was very close to crying during both episode eight as well as in episode nine just due to how good Elizabeth Olsen was in those emotional moments.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall this was a great first show for Marvel Studios and I think giving side characters TV shows is a great way to tell those characters stories. That being said this isn't a perfect show since i've listed both the good and the bad things that I found while watching all nine episodes of this show and as such this show gets an 8.5 out of 10 from me , as for where I got the images that I used in this review well I got the images that I used in this review from either Google Images or the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page with my preferred website to get images from this show being the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page just due to how high definition as well as how how quality the images on the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page are.









  









 

Friday, 15 January 2021

My SPOILER FREE First Impressions Of Wandavision!!!!!

 


Ladies and gentlemen this is the first time in over a decade that we haven't had one single entry into the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Well that has now all changed since the show that many of us have been waiting for has finally debuted it's first two episodes and so you just know that I had to give you my first impressions of this rather odd show and so here are my SPOILER FREE first impressions of "Wandavision" enjoy.

I really wish I could tell you what the plot of this show is however I honestly have no idea what the hell the plot of the show even is. Which honestly I see as being a good thing since now we get to theorise what the plot is about and with the show obviously having some form of mystery element in it we now get a better chance to work out what that mystery since we the audience have no idea what's going on just like the characters but that's just what what I think tho and who knows maybe episode three (which is out next week) that might give us a better idea of what the actual main plot of this new show actually is.


Starring in these episodes are of course Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff / Scarlet Witch and Paul Bettany as Vision. Also starring in these episodes are Debra Jo Rupp as Mrs. Heart , Fred Melamed as Arthur Heart , Kathryn Hahn as Agnes , Asif Ali as Norm , David Lengel as Phil Jones , ex Buffy The Vampire star Emma Caulfield as Dottie ,  Jolene Purdy as Beverly , Amos Glick as Dennis the Mailman and David Payton as Herb.

In all honesty I really enjoyed the acting in these first two episodes I thought that all of the characters in these first two episodes have really good comedic timing. I really cannot think of a single bad performer in these first two episodes because all of the actors honestly got a laugh out of me which for a show that's meant to be set in a sitcom / comedy world makes alot of sense and it will be interesting to see how these new actors do when the show gets more dramatic.


Now I cannot comment on what I thought of the CGI in these episodes simply because there wasn't any CGI in these episodes. However I can comment in the opening to episode two and since this isn't a spoiler (since it doesn't effect the plot of either the first or second episode) however the intro for episode is oddly enough an homage to the classic 1964 TV series comedy "Bewitched" which as someone who enjoys watching "Bewitched" from time to time I honestly loved the fact that the intro to episode to of "Wandavision" (this show) pays homage Bewitched.

Honestly this is the easiest first impression that i've had to write simply because there's literally nothing that you can spoil in these first two episodes. With that being said I can see people being out of by this show due to how odd the show is and the fact that so far at least it doesn't seem to have any kind of a plot but I do think that this show is rather refreshing due to how odd the show is and I can see it gaining some fans due to how odd the show is as well.


Now i'm trying to word this without giving away anything from the first two episodes but some characters that have featured in the marketing for this show are so far yet to appear in the show. Now I did read a review Yahoo which did spoil which of these characters appears first but i'm not going to tell you who that character that appears first is and what episode that they appear in but given what it says on IMDB this character might not be a major character in the shows storyline but I could be wrong tho only time will tell.



Again without giving anything away there is something I thought was really freaking cool that happened at the start of the first episode. I'm not going to say what that something but for me at least it was a really cool addition and it helped to get me in the mood for the first episode. I loved what they did at the start of the first episode just because it was a nice little touch and it's something that they didn't have to do it's just a shame that they didn't continue with that little touch at the start of the second episode.

Now just like with The Mandalorian each of these episodes it seems is going to have a different running time with episode ones running time being twenty six minuets and thirty three seconds and episode twos running time being thirty three minuets and forty one seconds. Honestly i'm not sure how I feel about the episodes being quite short since on the one hand having a short running time does fit the sitcom / comedy angle that there going with at least for these early episode but on the flip side of that due to the episodes having shorter running (again episode ones running time being twenty six minuets and thirty three seconds and episode twos running being thirty three minuets and forty one seconds) it does mean that the stories that are being told in those episodes are being rushed as such I wouldn't mind if these episodes were say forty five minuets to fifty minuets to sixty minuets long simply because it would allow the stories to be fleshed out a little bit more and it would give us more of a chance to get to know these newer characters.


Now then even tho this is an action show the focus in these first two episodes at least is comedy which again given that both Wanda Maximoff / Scarlet Witch (Elizabeth Olsen) and Vision (Paul Bettany) are either stuck in a sitcom comedy like dream or Wanda is doing something which is making her think of this sitcom / comedy world it oddly makes sense that the focus o these early episodes would be the comedy. That being said I found the comedy in these first two episodes to be honestly really good with alot of the jokes getting a big laugh out of me that being said tho not all of the comedy in these first two episodes worked for me personally but all comedy is subjective and so just because I didn't find a joke funny doesn't mean that you guys won't find the same joke funny and it works the other way around as well since you guys might find a joke in these early episodes to be unfunny where as I might find the same joke in these early episodes to be funny.


Overall so far this does seem to be a really good show and I do think that so far it is living up to the hype that the show built up in it's marketing but only time will tell if it really does live up to the hype that the show managed to build up in it's marketing. Since this show just started today (hence this first impressions post and not a full on review of the series or either of the episodes that the show has released) and there's only two episodes so far i'm not going to give this show a rating just because the show might get better or worse as the show progresses  and it wouldn't be right for me to judge an entire show based on the first two episodes but I will say you should check this show out if your a die hard Marvel fan or a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. As for where I got the images that I used in this review I got them from the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page which I do highly recommend if you want to use any images from anything to do with the Marvel Cinematic Universe since alot of images on the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page are really high definition as well as high quality.