Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Wrestling. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Wrestling. Show all posts

Wednesday, 16 July 2025

WWE Evolution 2025 Review


Women's wrestling has come along way in the past few decades as before you were lucky to get a women's match on a single wrestling show and even then it was nearly always the match that people were interested in the least where as now the women are not only regularly main eventing episode shows but also bigger shows like Wrestlemania as well. Well the WWE have only just remembered that they had an all women's PPV air about eight years ago as they've just aired another edition of it and so then join me as I review the show that is shockingly alot more better then what it really had any right to be with the show in question being called simply just "Evolution" enjoy.

Out of all of the stories involving the women that this show has going into it the biggest one isn't the main event storyline as it's instead the feud between Naomi and Jade Cargill. Which is a bit of a negative thing going into this show as while that story is good and heck it's the best story going into the show it's also really the only storyline that the show has as well as alot of these matches were thrown together weeks before the show itself and therefor no storylines could be built up while yes there was the mini story with Roxanne Perez and Raquel Rodriguez that plot is all but done with by the time that this show even starts with the lack of any real storylines really effecting this show and while yes the feud between Becky , Bayley and Lyra has been going since the Raw after Wrestlemania this year it's also one that really hasn't been kicked into a high gear with none of the shows storylines getting any kind of advancement which is something that can make this show seem more like a glorified house show as all of the shows stories either get wrapped up or possibly on hold for now or are all but wrapped up or nothing actually changes in them to the point where you want to see more from those stories and see how that can advance which is odd as the WWE also sired a show that is a glorified house show just the day before that this show was due to air and that show had more of a build towards it then what this show had.


The stage for this show is pretty much the bogstandard small arena stage for alot of WWE shows as all it is is just a set of small looking LED screens and that's really it. Which is fine if your in an arena that doesn't have enough room for a large set and it is something that the WWE themselves have used before in there TV shows so in this regard it does make sense to use this set again for this show as Evolution isn't a big PLE for them but at the same time tho it would have been nice if this show did have it's own unique looking set as then that would have made the show stand out from all of the other wrestling shows that were on this past weekend and heck they even could have filled out with female wrestlers from the past to honor them as well but they instead chose to go with a bland and boring set design that doesn't really add anything to the theme of this show as this is a show that's meant to be all about the women of the WWE and yet they choose to give them a bland and boring set that would look right at home on either Raw or Smackdown as there you have the excuse of that there just using it to save money on a weekly show which is fair enough but there they really could have tapped into that TKO money to come up with something that would not only honor the women wrestlers and how far women's wrestling as a whole has come but also look good and look like the kind of PLE set that the company used to do back in the Attitude Era where all of there PLE sets actually looked like the theme of the show that they were being used for as this set does look quite bland with it looking like the kind of set that you'd make as a throwaway set in a WWE video game and not something that you'd expect the company to make for real.

To be fair to this show and it's set the reason why they might have used the smaller set might be due to the fact that the arena that there hoisting the show in might not be big enough to hold an entire set. Which if so is fair enough as not all arena's are big arena's but at the same time they must have known due to the fact that the first Evolution PPV was a huge success and the fact that people have been asking for more of these shows for years now that they would be getting alot of people to see this show and therefor getting a much more bigger arena which would not only hold more people thus causing them to tell more tickets and more merchandise would be what's best for business in the long run as by holding the show the in a smaller arena you are yes still making money but it's not as much more money as you could have been making if the show was held in a much more bigger arena with the shows set being something that also could have used a bit of an upgrade as while having a small stripped back set is great for TV as you have to make the show on a weekly basis for a PLE they really could have gone all out and while there's no dead space in regards to the shows set that's more due to the fact that the arena really does cover up alot of the set and not due to the set design itself which as was just mentioned does look like something that you'd create in a WWE video game very quickly as there not really alot of thought but into this shows set design but given that the arena that this show takes place might not be able to support a huge set that is something that might make alot of sense tho as after all they are forced to work with something that wasn't really built for them and therefor have to make the best with what little that they have to work with in the first place. 


As much of a good show that this show was there was stuff in it that was more of a set up for Clash In Paris. While them setting up that show is a good idea it does also make those moments in this show feel pointless as we didn't need to see the twenty women battle royal and nor did we need the stipulation for the Jade Vs Naomi be that the winner of that match gets to face the winner of the Trish vs Tiffany match as both of those things could have been decided on TV but for whatever reason the WWE felt that they were needed to be done on this show but all that does is make this show feel like that they were just trying to cram in as many of the female roster as they possibly could have done and while the overall quality of the show isn't affected by this as it's still a really good show in it's own right there really did need to be someone backstage telling Triple H or Stephanie McMahon no as it did feel like that they were trying to put on alot of pointless things in this show and heck we didn't even need somebody hosting the show as the hosts not only don't do anything in the show in general other then having Stephanie interview the winner of the battle royal for some reason with that segment also being one that could have been cut from the show as all that does is take up match time that would have been better suited going to another match but on the flip of that is the fact that while the battle royal was a pointless thing to add into this show the match itself was overall pretty fun and really fun to watch as well with there being quite alot of moments in that match that did make it worth watching with those moments sadly being things that would get cut if the match aired on an episode of either Raw or Smackdown and not a PLE.


One of the things that is both a blessing and a curse for this show is seeing just how many people that the WWE managed to get to cameo in this show. With them cutting to the live crowd quite alot of times during this show to show off just how many famous faces where there alot of which do make sense as alot of them where famous female wrestlers or women who worked or the WWE which does make alot sense as the show is all about honoring the female wrestlers of the WWE as does showing Mark Henry given that he worked for them but for some odd reason they also show us rappers as well which fair enough is something that they do all the time but at the same time tho it does feel weird seeing them at this show as nine times out of ten alot of them won't even know who these wrestlers are and are just there to help to shift one of there own pieces of merchandise and that's it and while it was nice to see alot of these famous again as alot of them do remind you of how good that those people were at wrestling they do it so often that it starts to loose it's impact and starts to become more distracting as all it does is take you out of the action of the show alot of the time for no good reason other then to show you that a rapper you haven't heard off is also watching the same show as you and that they are going on tour with another rapper that you haven't heard off either and that's really and heck it would have been nice if they had some people played apart in the early NXT days show up as those women where just as important if not more so then when they got drafted to Raw and Smackdown as there's no Paige and no Emma and while it does make sense that there was no Mercedes Varnado as she is with AEW they still could have given tickets to people like Gail Kim or Victoria for example as they to did there part in showing just how good women's wrestling could be.

To give this show some credit it is alot of fun to watch with alot of the matches being given the right amount of time. With even the battle royal match having a pretty funny moment where Maxxine just shouts at Natalya to do the worm which was a funny moment with all of this show matches being alot of fun to watch with part of what helped to make these matches so good in the first place was the fact that the crowd was super into alot of the matches altho it did seem like that the Naomi Vs Jade match did where them out so much that they just couldn't get into the Tiffany Vs Trish match which is an issue that's very quickly solved just by flipping the match order to have the twenty woman battle royal take place before that match instead of after it and the battle royal act as the break match for the audience but other then that the match order for this show was pretty solid with the crowd being super into everything that all of the competitors did and that was something that really did shine through as it made this reviewer super into alot of the matches as well which does go to show you that if the crowd are really into it and if the noise isn't being piped through then those at home will get into it as well which does make the product all the more fun to watch and given that the WWE held THREE shows in Atlanta that weekend as they also have Saturday Night's Main Event and NXT: The Great American Bash it's a wonder that this crowd was able to to move due to how hot these Atlanta crowds seem to be as they were into this show big time so much that it wouldn't be all that surprising if WWE chose to run more shows there in the future.


To be frank there is only one upside for the women's battle royal at least from the point of view f the casual fans. With that being that they now get to see women that they might not have heard off and thus want to see more of them with the likes of Lash Legend and Kelani Jordan for example being a good example of this as NXT isn't that well known of a brand or it's not on the same level of awareness as both Raw and Smackdown are for example with both of those women and many more for that matter getting a good show in in the battle royal match which is something that could in turn get the more causal watcher interested in seeing more of their matches which if done correctly could lead to a spike in viewership for NXT with both of those women really sowing just what it is that they can do in the ring while they do get hidden by alot of the other wrestlers as is all ways going to be the case in matches like that what little of them that we can actually see does make them look good so much so that it wouldn't be a stretch to see either of them on the main roster and while it's kind of a cliche for someone from the WWE to say that they have the best women's wrestlers in the world as that's more down to what it is that your looking for and not an actual fact alot of the women in this battle royal including Stephanie Vaquer do have all the potential in the world to make it big as pro wrestlers should the company continue to use them in the right way and given just how well that the company has been using it's women wrestlers over the last few years it's safe to say that we will be seeing alot more of the women that took part in this match and who knows hopefully they'll get more fans out of it due to the fact that alot of them really got there time to shine in this match be it because of there skill or because of the fact that they were just really entertaining to watch this match does feature women wrestlers for everybody.

Now then this show has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly three hours and twenty six minuets and forty nine seconds. Which again to be fair to this show is ore in line with the running times from alot of the PPV's from the attitude era and it really doesn't feel like it was that long at all but at the same time tho this is still quite along running time for a show to have let alone one that does feel like a glorified house show alot of the time as while some of what happens does get brought up on both Raw and NXT alot of it is just there for the sake of being there and while the Triple H era has had some really long run times not only for it's weekly shows but also it's PLE's not every show needs to have an Avengers: Endgame type of running time epically if your not going to use that running time all that wisely either by developing any of the plots on the show as all that does is rob your audience of a reason to be invested in the characters and while it could be argued that the weekly shows are also there to develop the storylines that is something that only works when the show that there building towards has some actually good plots in it in the first place something which this show is very sorely missing as the only story for Tiffany Stratton Vs Trish Stratus is the fact that Tiffany literally chose Trish to be her opponent for this show and that's it which would have been fine if there fight happened on an episode of Smackdown as then it could lead to a bigger story but here it felt out of place as alot of the shows other matches which nine times out of ten also had some pretty bad builds to them they still had something about them that made you care for the story that was being told but I really will admit that this show really does have some really pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a wrestling show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good. With there being alot of really good matches in this show which is something that does make alot of sense as alot of the wrestlers that are on this show are a bunch of really good wrestlers in there own right ad while it's super hard to say what the best wrestling match is in the card it's not that hard to say what the worst one is and that's quite easily Naomi Vs Jade Cargill as there was alot more focus on using the weapons then what there was in giving us a good match and while having alot of weapons being used does make sense given the fact that there feud has reason that point where they have to use them in this case it is something that does take away from the actual wrestling aspect of the match as none times out of ten we don't see them use any wrestling moves with there also being alot of waiting around while they get ready to do the next big stunt with the best wrestling match in a show that's filled to the brim of a really good matches being either the opening triple threat match between Becky Lynch , Bayley and Lyra Valkyria or the main event match between Rhea Ripley and Iyo Sky as both matches where just so cool to see with there being plenty of good action in both of them as well all of which does keep you on your toes trying to work out what's going to happen next with alot of this shows matches are also really good as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Overall both this show and the first Evolution PPV are proof enough that the WWE should run more of these shows as it's something that the fans want more of as it means that we get alot of good matches out of it with this show being a really good and fun show to watch with this show being a good example of just how good a WWE PLE really can be as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that re in this very show in this very review ad as such that really does mean that this very show really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly an 8 out of 10 from me.

Now then as where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very show that I used in this very review being the really great the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very show with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Friday, 28 February 2025

WWF Raw April 24th 2000 Review


With the WWE having made a huge splash on Netflix and the fact that it's been a good while since I last took a look at a classic episode of the truly historic Monday Night Raw. It only seemed about right that I take a look at another episode of the show and well let's just say that i've chosen an episode that would have made fourteen year old boys VERY happy and so then join me as I review the episode of the show that would have made teenage boys and adult men happy with the show in question being called simply just "Raw" enjoy.

The main plot of this episode is the feud between Triple H , Chris Jericho , The Rock and Chris Benoit as that's the feud that gets alot of focus on in this episode. With this plot being advanced in ways that does feel natural as while they do constantly bring up the fact that Steve Austin is returning at the then upcoming PPV but at the same time tho it's not something that does play into the plot of this episode as it's something that's saved for Backlash and yet at the same time this episodes feud really doesn't need Steve Austin in it as all four men alone are more then talented enough to carry the plot alone and while both The Rock and Jericho are in feuds with at least either Benoit or Triple H in the case of Jericho he just so happens to be feuding with both men which is something that does add an interesting angle to the plot of this episode as it means that Jericho would have to be looking over his shoulder the whole night because either Benoit or Triple H could attack him at any point something that does happen after the shows first segment but also anyone who is friends with either of the dup could attack Jericho as well and it wouldn't feel out of place either and while the main advancement for this plot would indeed come at Backlash here it was a feud that was balanced rather well with all of the other segments of the show as well with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


The Raw set from this era of the show is perhaps one of the most really iconic sets that the show ever had. As it's the big titantron in the middle with the two smaller trons either side all of which do serve to make this set look like a truly chaotic but stunning set as well as it's one that doesn't really have any wasted space to it as every single inch of this shows set is used up and isn't really creating any dead space and it's something that really does make you wonder why this set hasn't been used in any of the the recent WWE 2K video games as when you think of the attitude era chances are this is the Raw set that you think of as it's something that really is just that iconic and while yes Raw has had some better sets both before and after this one it's this one that alot of people will be thinking off when they think back on the sets of Raw from the attitude era and it's also a set that would look good in video game format as well and yet it's a set that keeps on getting overlooked for some strange reason for some strange reason with this shows set being perfect for the where the company was at this point in time with this show as Raw was beating Nitro in the ratings week in and week out and the WWF was on the verge of winning the Monday Night Wars and this is a set that does represent just how confident that the WWF was feeling at this point in time and as well as being true to the show by being chaotic as Raw was a place where anything can and did happen as well.

If there's anything that this set gets wrong it's the fact that it's not all that interesting to look at alot of the time. Where as even if you compare this set to the set used for Smackdown the Smackdown set is alot more interesting to look at as while yes that set does have alot of dead space due to the caps inbetween the circles it's the fact that it's circular that makes it interesting where as with this set it looks like alot of the PPV sets only with nothing added to it and at the very least with the PPV sets they at least have things on the stage that make each set stand out out and feel unique where as with this set there's none of that because of the fact that it's weekly TV show and a not a PPV set but at the same time tho the WWF really could have done something to make this shows set feel unique in it's own right as this is the show that they were using to compete against WCW and as a result of the fact that they should have put some effort into making sure that there set both look and feel different from anything that WCW was using at this same point in time as this is a set that does look like alot of the sets that they were using and straight up copying WCW when they were on there way out is not something that looks good on anyone even more so for the WWF as alot of the show from this same time period shows that they can and have created sets and shows that are ten times better then anything that WCW was doing at this same point in time even on there best day and yet here the WWF is just straight up copying a WCW set.


If there's one thing that this episode gets wrong it's it's story telling as given by the fact that Triple H was straight about injure Shane's mother last week on Raw. It makes no sense for Shane to then apologize to him this week as by all rights the two of them should be ready to hurt each other and yet for one reason or another they just straight up forgive each other which is something that does scream like the fact that this storyline was changed at the last minuet as that aspect of the storyline just doesn't make sense and it's something that would have made alot more sense if Shane was only acting like he was going to hurt Hunter instead of straight forgive him as at least then you could have the reveal at the end of the episode that Shane and Hunter are actually on the same page by having Shane act like he's going to hit Hunter only for him to to turn around and hit either The Rock or Jericho something that would have made alot more sense and it would have resulted in both Hunter and Shane getting alot of heel heat in the process but because of the fact that they don't do that it then makes this storyline come across as feeling like something that was changed at the last minuet when this is something that should have been locked down as it's the biggest storyline that's currently going on in the company at this point in time as well and by not locking it all down and possibly making changes to it's storyline it makes it feel like that Vince was making last minuet changes to the episodes script when that's not something that needed to happen with this episode in particular.


Alot more recently the WWE have been trying to get the fans to bring signs to there live shows and TV tapings. Which is a good thing as it's in those signs that we get to the see the fand passion for certain superstars be it for who they hate or who they love and yet by not doing that it makes the fans feel like that they don't don't have any passion for the show that they've come out to watch and yet if you watch shows from around this time period every single fan that you see in attendance has a a homemade sign and it's something tat does add to the overall experience as while it doesn't make the show any better what it does do is make it look like the fans are genuinely having a good time watching this show and when you see what the card is for this show that's not hard to see a reason as o why the fans would be excited and yet despite the fact that the match card of today's WWE show is still really good in it's right and despite the fact that the fans do still have there chants which they use to great effect your not going to beat seeing a crown with a bunch of homemade signs as it just adds that extra special something that alot of shows today are missing as for some really strange reason the fans just aren't bringing in there homemade signs when that's a good way to show just how creative you are as a wrestling fan which makes today's fan just seem like a boring crowd of wrestling fans when if you look at the fans of the product from the attitude era you'll see that it's the opposite that's true as they got to make some really creative and fun to see signs.

If you have just watched one of the latest videos from the Youtuber WrestlingBios then you'll know full well why alot of fourteen year old boys and older men would like this particular episode of the show. As since it would impossible for me to post quite literally any pictures from any of the segments featuring this particular person from this episode let's just say that they involve Trish Stratus and tables in quite literally all of her segments which is something that do explain and it is something that does make sense when you take into account that this is during her T and A days and it involve Bubba Ray Dudley and while those segments where great back then they have aged like milk and really wouldn't be something that the company would even dream of airing today and thankfully so as women's wrestling has come along way since the year 2000 and having segments with Trish wearing next to something spread out on a table just wouldn't sit right with quite literally anyone let alone making multiple segments with the same set up and having them all air in the one episode as while they do help to tell one story with those characters it's also something that the company really could have found a way of telling from a different point of view but given where not only we as a society where at the time and what the companies target demographic was at this point in time it does make sense that they would have her wearing next to nothing whilst being spread out on a table.


Just to be frank Edge & Christian where totally awsome in this episode as they straight up said that not only where they going to do a run in on the Road Dogg in this episode which they did but they also said when they were going to do it. Both of which was extremely funny as it felt like they were tipping there hats to wrestling terminology without being outright forward with it like they were in WCW which made all the more funnier as the WWF at this point in time had moved fully away from breaking the fourth wall and yet to see one there top tag teams pretty much do exactly that felt not only right but also well within either of there characters to do exactly that and because of it we got a truly entertaining sequence with the two of them just saying what they were planning on doing and when it was going to happen and not only that they also pulled double duty by having a match up against The Dudley Boys later on in the episode which if you know those two teams was also going to be good with both teams brining there A game when they really didn't have to as nobody would have blamed them for not putting on that good of a match for a weekly TV show and while yes there match up wasn't PPV quality as given the shot match time that was never going to happen we still got to see two of the all time greatest tag teams work together and really show us the audience why they both still the one of the best tag teams in not only WWE history but pro wrestling history as well.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and thirty three minuets and forty two seconds. With this pretty much being the exact running time for this show for many years and to e this episode really does have the right amount of the plot there to fully cover that amount of running and while the episode doesn't really use it's running time all that wisely as we don't really get any plot advancements in any meaningful way this is something that really does make sense as not only are there other episodes of this show where those advancements could have happen but due to the WWF having multiple shows all going at the exact same time then it does make sense that alot of those advancements could have happened on one of those shows something which we do see happen as it's straight up mentioned on this episode that Steve Blackman turned on his partner Al Snow on an episode of Sunday Night Heat this is despite the fact that the two are pretty much mainstays of Monday Night Raw at this point in time and yet even with that in mind and the fact that this show was the go home show for Backlash 2000  it still would have been nice if we did get some meaningful plot advancement even if it's from a minor feud as that would still be something and it would have given much of the companies mid card at the time something to do rather then just sit at home doing nothing for a week but I really will admit that this episode episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a wrestling show that really does mean that I gave to actually talk about the actual wrestling that's actually fesatured / presenten to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. Which is something that's not really all that new for the company at this point as they were very easily outclassing WCW when it comes to there wrestling with almost every match up on this episodes card being really good and solid matches that whilst they wouldn't have made good PPV matches given the match time that they have in this episode they still make for some decently entertaining match up with the best match on the entire card being Chris Jericho and The Rock Vs Triple H and Chris Benoit as all you have to do is look at the talent of all four men to see why this was a good match as all four men even for a TV show match up still manage to bring there A game and make there match look good which is something that does make alot of sense as there match was the main event of the show and thats the slot where you want to best match to be and that's exactly what this match up was and while The Dudley Boys Vs Edge & Christian was a really good match up as is to be expected from either team it was to short and felt secondary due to the antics of Trish and T And A which is something that stopped it from being a really good match up in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall while the show might be doing better on Netflix the one thing that the show has lost is the one thing that the show had and that's a smaller running time and the ability to still tell of the stories that they need to to tell within that running time and that is something that episode gets across really well and while this might not be the best episode of the show it's one that alot of fourteen year old boys and adult men well surely remember in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about al of the good and as well as all of the bad thigs that are n this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 7 out f 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page and Google Images. ith my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the wonderful the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on freaking the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page are all fairly freaking high in freaking quality and as well as being very fairly freaking high in definition.

Sunday, 3 November 2024

WWF Invasion PPV Review


It's been quite a while since I last reviewed anything to do with the world of wrestling and well it was about time that I do something about that. With the WWE having TNA stars appear on weekly WWE TV it only made sense that the main focus of this review be the first and to date only time when two wrestling companies went to war with each other on PPV and so then join me as I review the show that sees Team WCW and Team ECW take on Team WWF with the show in question being called simply just "WWF Invasion" enjoy.

The biggest story both before and coming out of this show is the whole invasion storyline with WCW and ECW invading the WWF. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in al honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt hat the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad as while yes the invasion storyline is one that's wildly hated by wrestling fans due to how mismanaged it was interms of this show it is a storyline that is advanced somewhat well as while yes the only big advancement of the story we get is during the shows main event it was still a really shocking thing to see happen and it was something that does add some stakes to the storyline even if it did feel like that they were trying to add star power to a failing storyline when all they add to do was wait for guys like Sting , Goldberg and Kevin Nash to become available as then we could have had a true war with these two companies instead of having various wrestlers switch sides which is something that did dilute the idea of having them switch sides as there was no consequences either side for that happening but it still doesn't change the fact that the plot of this show was advanced in a way that was really shocking with the plot of this show also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


The set for this show was a really impressive looking set even tho it was just basically one big TV screen in the middle flanked by two smaller TV screens on both the left and right hand side of the bigger middle TV screen. However what was something that set this set apart from alot of the others during the this time period was the fact that not only do we have a bunch of pillars holding up all three screen but we also have two separate tunnels one of for each member of either Team WCW and Team ECW and the other one for Team WWF which was something that looked great as it made sense that they the three companies would have separate entry ways as if they didn't then they'd be fighting before they even made there way to the ring where as here it means that both sets of wrestlers get to enter the arena and do there thing and it also makes in the way that WCW and ECW are seen as being the heels in this's storyline and as a result of that is the fact that the feels would of course not go through the same tunnel as the faces as they'd want all of the attention to themselves and that is something that wouldn't be the case if there was only one tunnel and it's something that alot of wrestling companies sadly don't do anymore when it's something that they could do when the storyline permits them to do so as it would make a whole lot of sense and work really well for there shows as well with the set looking really good in this show and working really well for this show as well.

Thankfully there is no dead space when it comes to this shows set with all of this shows set filling up the entire entry way. Which is something that that all sets should do with the only really bug bear with this shows set being that it feels alot like a stereotypical WWF set and doesn't really incorporate elements from either WCW or ECW for that matter which is something that really could have done given the the fact that the poster for this show has both the owners of WCW and WWF matched up together and it's something that wold have gone really well with the PPV's theme as well as this show is all about WCW and ECW invading the WWF and yet none of that reflected in the set for this show which is something that does take away from how good this shows set really could gave been as it could have been alot more better if they did work in elements from all three companies to create one set that represents all three companies instead of creating something that feels like a stereotypical looking WWF PPV set and while yes all of the sets from around this time period are really unique looking sets if the show did have aa set that combined something from all three companies then they could have created something that was rather unique and that had the possibility to look really good as well but on the flip side of that is the fact that it also could have looked really bad as well and as a result of that is the fact that having one good looking set does make sense instead having a set that combines something from all three combines.


While not alot of wrestling love this whole invasion and for good reasons as it was something that was really mismanaged. As WCW was missing alot of it's heavy hitters that could have made the whole thing work alot more then what it does as the likes of Jeff Jarret , Sting , Kevin Nash and more were all waiting got there contracts to end and yet if the WWE had made them a very tempting offer and brought them all in for this storyline that it would have made the whole thing truly feel like a war but as things stand the whole just doesn't work and as a result of that is the fact that the WWE had to keep on having people switch brands more often then not for little to no reason all to try and make The Alliance seem like a bigger threat when having more of there popular stars from WCW would have done that perfectly heck even having Buff Bagwell join the group would have done and this is made even worse by the fact that they DID have Buff Bagwell compete on Raw but then they never brought him back after that when having him appear in this story line would have added some star power to Team WCW as even tho Team ECW had all of their heavy hitters join them early on and remain with them really until the storyline ended at Survivor Series ECW was just not that big of company to begin with therefor it would have fallen to WCW to bring in some of their top talent and really have them use their star power to make this group worth watching to make this storyline alot more interesting then what it really ended up being like. 


For some strange reason the WWF thought that having a pointless match between two referees was not only needed but also PPV worthy. When in actuality it really wasn't as this is a match that would have been better of served if it was on either Raw or Smackdown or on the Sunday Night Heat before this PPV aired and yet the WWF thought that this match was worth putting on PPV when it's not a PPV worthy match this is a match that really shouldn't have been a thing as we don;y need to see how the referees are feeling about this invasion and while yes it does go along way to show us that the invasion isn't just effecting the wrestlers but is infact effecting everyone that still doesn't excuse the fact that this match didn't need to be on the show if they were looking at this match as being a toilet break match then we have to wonder why it was the second match on the card when having be at the vert least the fourth or even fifth match on thew card really would have filled that role more better as nobody would be queuing to use the toilet after the first first match which not only makes this match a pointless match up as well but it also makes it one that's oddly placed in the shows card as well as there are better places where this match could have gone and yet they didn't go with the more obvious places and heck you even could have had this match switch places with the Torrie and Stacy vs Trish and Lita and it still would have made alot of sense from a placement point of view.

What was something that both did and didn't work for this show was the copious amounts of pointless backstage segments. As alot of them just hit home the exact point which is that both of thee companies hate each other and are trying to get there respective wrestlers pumped up for there respective matches and that's really it which does make them seem pointless and aimless as really you only need one or two backstage segments to hit that point home and not have it be quite literally every single backstage segment which just makes them comes across as being really repetitive when you really cold have used some of those backstage to develop some of the characters in this storyline and to further develop the storyline in a way that feels natural and not have Steve Austin big turn at the end of the show come out nowhere as you could have shown him acting odd during the show like he's not willing to talk to people or he says something that hints that he's not on the level instead of having it just happen just for the sake of it but for some reason the WWF was really obsessed with really hitting home that both sides are trying to pump up both of there wrestlers which is something that really didn't need to do as that is something that we the audience would already know is going on anyways and it would have given more of the storylines main characters a chance to get across what it is that there respective personalities are even meant to be in the first place as well instead of just leaving them as personalitiless characters which is something that only serves to harm not only the story line but the character in question as well with this really being something that could have been fixed if this show devoted some of it's backstage segments to developing either it's characters or really the storyline as a whole.


In what is a rather shocking move is the fact that there's only one title match during the whole entire show. With that being the Hardcore Championship which is odd as the shows does have several champions competing on the show and almost all of which could have had some really good championship matches given who they were competing against with a good example of that being Billy Kidman vs X-Pac as both of them are the cruiserweight champion for there respective companies and having them compete in a double title match would noy only have made sense but given how well that they worked together in the match itself it also would have been a really good match but to the shows credit having only the one title match on the card really did make the match stand out and because of that both Rob Van and Jeff Hardy really did go above and beyond what was expected of them to deliver a really good and exciting match something that while it wouldn't have been diluted by having more championship matches if anything it would have made stand out all the more if they were bad matches but it is something that would have made the storyline as a whole all the more impactful even more so if The Alliance won all of those matches as it would then make the WWF seem more like the underdogs in the story and it would make all the more gravitating when they do when the storyline at Survivor Series as well but having the one championship match on the card means that we have get to have one really good championship match instead of having several bad to OK ones.

Now then this show has / had an exact grand total running tine of exactly two hours and forty minuets and thirteen seconds. Which is both a solid and not a solid running time for this show as the show does have more then alot there interms of plot to really require that amount of running time at the same time tho there are some matches that could have done with being alot shorter then what it was like for example the Hardcore Championship between Rob Van Dam and Jeff Hardy is a match that didn't need to run well over twelve minuets long as that match could have done it's job in about seven minuets and the same thing also goes for the opening tag team match as well and even the six man tag between Big Show , Albert and Billy Gunn vs Chris Kanyon , Hugh Morrus and Shawn Stasiak is match that could have been moved to Sunday Night Heat as it has no bearing on the main storyline which makes that match feel more like a filler match where s if it was on Sunday Night Heat then it could at the very least have been something that was built up on episodes of that show instead of only being added to the show at the very last minute all of which would have gone quite a long way into making this show alot more shorter and with that shorter running time the show could then have devoted more time to the matches that really needed it like for example Billy Kidman vs X-Pac but I really will admit that this show really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a wrestling show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good. With there being alot of really good wrestling matches in this show which was something that was to be expected given who is competing in this show but at the same time there was was a few really bad wrestling matches with it being a tie for the worst match on the show as it was between Earl Hebner vs Nick Patrick and Torrie and Stacy vs Trish and Lita but what made the all referees match bad was the fact that ti was two untrained people trying to have a wrestling match where as with the all women's tag team match they at the very least put both Torrie and Stacy in the ring with two people who could wrestle even if Trish still wasn't that good yet at this point in time with the all referee match being something that you could very easily just by making it a tag team match with each referee being paired with someone from there respective roster that could wrestle where as it would be a bit more of a challenge to fix the women's tag team match just because of the fact that the women of WCW weren't rally all that known for being great wrestlers most of the time with the best wrestling match being the ten men tag team match between The Alliance vs Team WWF with that match just being a nonstop thrill ride from start to finish that was a really exciting match to watch in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this wasn't a bad show but the same time it wasn't necessarily a good show either with this show being a very middle of the road show that despite advancing the company wide storyline in a great an interesting still good have a much more better show then what it ultimately ended in being as in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good ans as well as all of the bad things that are in this very show in this very review and s such that really does mean that this show really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the wonderful the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on freaking the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page are all fairly freaking high in freaking quality and as well as being very fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 20 June 2024

WCW Thunder November 15th 2000 Review


It's been a long time since a wrestling was last reviewed on here but it's been even longer since a WCW show was last reviewed on here. With the last WCW show that was covered on here was almost three years ago and well then I thought that it was about time to put that to an end as after years of trying to find I finally found the episode of WCW Thunder that I personally attended the taping of and so then join me as I review the episode of the show that marks the only time that WCW came over to England with the show in question being called simply just "WCW Thunder" enjoy.

There really isn't a plot running through this show which is the first thing that's wrong with the show as all it does is make this show feel alot less special and not really worth watching. As while the show does have some small stories running through it none of them are important and none of them add anything to any of the storylines that were going on in WCW at this point in time which is a huge issue as this show should have been WCW's answer to Smackdown and it should have been treated as such and yet it's being treated as a show that's lesser then the already bad Nitro which at this point in time was going down the drain anyways and it's because of shows like this that have no stories to the episodes as it doesn't give your audience to continue to watch the show and as a result of that is the fact that all this episode does is feel alot more like a filler episode of the show when it should be continuing the build to Mayhem in a more meaningful way instead of just mentioning some of the matches that are happening on that show which would have the add on effect of making that show not really worth watching either in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


The set for this show is really just one giant screen and that's really it and as a result of that is the fact that it makes the show looks cheap. Which does make sense as the company that owned WCW really didn't like professional wrestling and so would keep on slashing at there budget and give it to other parts of there company and this is something that really does shine through in the shows set as it's not really all that impressive with it also being the exact same set that was being used for Nitro at this point in time as well this is made even worse when you take into account that both of those shows just a few shorts years ago had some very unique sets that set each of the shows apart from each other and by giving the shows the exact same visually boring and dull set all it does is make both of the shows feel the same as well with the only thing different about them is what name of the show appears on the titantron and that's really it and it's not really enough either heck if they wanted to make each set feel different then they really could have done by making this one the default Thunder set and then having a more bigger set for there main show.

Set wise there's not really all that much to this set with the set having alot of dead space on both of it's sides. Which very easily could have been filled up with anything just to make it feel alot more complete as as things stand the set just looks rather incomplete and unfinished like they wanted to do more to the set but for some strange reason they just didn't do it and as a result of that is the fact that the set for this show really does suffer because of it as it looks visually dull and boring and it looks like the kind of set that you'd expect to see at a live show and not at a TV taping for what is basically your second biggest show compare with WWE who with Smackdown gave us a unique looking set that looked just as good if not better then the set that they were using for Raw at the time where as with set due to the fact that WCW was basically being made on a hope and prayer at this point in time and different have as big of a budget it makes the set for this show just look rather cheap looking and unfinished at best.


For a show that's being taped in England you certainly wouldn't know it as apart from having English flags on the show graphics and the country being named twice there's nothing on this show that tells you that it's coming from England. Which does make this show feel alot less special as usually when a big wrestling does a show in the UK they go all out with letting you know that it's in England be it by including things that are in England on the set and having the union jack flag be apart of the set in some way shape or form and they usually go all out by making it a top notch show and that's just something that this show really doesn't do with them just using the same set with nothing added to it whatsoever which oddly makes the show feel alot less special then what it really should have been but at the same time this is also something that does work well enough in the shows favor as it's treated as just another episode of the show and not a special episode of the show either with the episode coming across as just another bad WCW show with them not even trying to fix all of the companies issues that are in the company at this point in time.


One thing that was really annoying during this episode was the fact that alot if not all of the matches either ended with or had run ins in them. Having a run in happen during is match is fine for like one or two matches but when it happens all of the time in alot of the matches during the same episode it start to gets boring and predictable real fast as you can see how each match will end before it even happens and this sadly a running thing during the Vince Russo era of WCW and it's something that should have been stopped as it does more harm to his product then it does good and while yes alot of the run ins in this episode do make some sort of sense from a storyline point of view alot of them are just there just for the sake having a run in when having a clean finish either way would help the show out in the long run and would also help the company out as well but this is what happens when you give someone unlimited power and not have someone there to tell him no with that sadly being a very common thing with alot of things during the Vince Russo era of WCW.

To give this episode it was a really well put together show with alot of the surprises being genuinely quite surprising. However tho a few decent things don't make up for all of the bad things that are in this very episode as there really just so much wrong not only with WCW during this time period but this episode as a whole as the episode really does feel like that it was thrown together at the last minuet with alot of the things that are in this episode not adding to anything and are there just for the sake of being there where as if this show was well put together alot of the things that are in this episode would either be setting up things for Nitro , setting up things for Mayhem or paying of things from Nitro and not just do it's own thing which has the add on effect of making this show feel like a house show that just so happend to be produced for TV and not something that you could only see on TV with Kronik showing up up during a match for no reason other then to cost The Filthy Animals the match and that's really all there was to it.


Again to try and say something positive about this episode it doesn't really have that many pointless backstage segments. With all of the segments in this episode serving some kind of purpose be it setting up matches for the episode or be it hyping up matches for the episode they do at least have some kind of purpose and aren't just there for the sake of being which they very easily could have been and it would have been very easy for them to do so as all they'd have to do is just feature wrestlers that aren't going to be on the episode and that's really it but nope they don't do that as alot of the backstage segments do have some kind of point to them which while it doesn't make them worth watching and it doesn't improve the episode in anyway shape or form what it does do is show that whoever the producers where for those segments at least knew what they were doing and at least knew that they had to get some of the audience to watch the other shows and they do that by trying to create some good segments that could have the possibility to lead to future storylines should they choose to go down that route with them that is.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and thirty two minuets and seventeen seconds. Which is a tad bit on the long side for this episode as this episode really isn't telling any kind of stories and it isn't really advancing any kind of stories and as result of that id the fact that this episode really could have come in at around an hour maybe even less then that and you really wouldn't have to loose all that much as not that many of the matches are important matches and none of the backstage segments are furthering storylines and as a result of that is the fact that there's no reason for this episode to be as long as it was and as a result of that is the fact that it just feels like that this episode was only that long because of the fact that all of the other episodes of Thunder are around that same running time as well and not because of the fact that the episode really needed to be that long as it really didn't need to be that long as there really was no reason for this episode to be as long as it was but I will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a wrestling show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. As there are some decent matches in this episode but at the same time tho given who is appearing in this episode the wrestling in this episode isn't as good as it really good have with the best match being Sting Vs Scott Steiner and even then it's not due to the quality of the match it self as it's more due to the fact that both Sting and Scott Steiner have had some decent matches in the past and seeing them wrestle each other does seem like idea but then we get to matches like the six way match for a cruiserweight championship match which should be good but because they don;t explain the rules of the match just comes across as being confusing in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this is an episode that despite being so close to my heart because of the fact that it was first TV taping that I went to really hasn't aged all that well and is a really good example of just how bad of a shape that WCW really was in at the time thanks to various groups of people in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does ern itself a grand old score of exactly a 6 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all pf the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I person ally used in this very review from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the wonderful the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on freaking the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page are all fairly freaking high in freaking quality and as well as being very fairly freaking high in definition.

Sunday, 14 November 2021

WCW Monday Night Nitro November 8th 1999 Review

 


Wrestling fans you've seen me review WWE / WWF PPVs and episodes of both Raw and Smackdown heck you've even seen me review Impact Wrestling PPV's and an episode of AEW: Dynamite. Well now your going to see me review something that i've never even considered doing until right freaking now and so join me as I review what the first and I think only episode of that i've freaking seen with the episode in question being the November 8th 1999 episode of freaking WCW Monday Night Nitro enjoy.

Now then I really cannot tell you what the main storylines were or even are going into this show simply because i've never even seen an episode of Nitro before now. However tho I can say that this particular episode reeks of Vince Russo booking and that really does effect the overall stories that that are being told in this very freaking episode simply none of the stories that are being told in this particular episode don't make that much sense in my opinion anyways / at least.


The stage that was being used by WCW at this time is a very minimalistic set and even tho it's a set that I technically grew up with it's also a pretty freaking bad looking set / stage as well. Since there is so much freaking dead space both being and as well as all around this set that could have been filled up with either bigger or possibly even more video screens or they could have built so much more stuff just to freaking fill out all of the dead space that this set has and those improvements that I mentioned would have gone a very long way to help making this set seem all the more better in my freaking opinion anyways / at least.

Like I said this was the first and actually only episode of WCW Monday Night Nitro that 've ever actually seen. Since when thus episode was first being broadcast over here in the UK England I actually asked my dad to tape the episode because it was on on a school night and because of the fact that this in the nineties we only ever had one TV and so I do actually have some very fond freaking memories of watching this episode but sadly tho those nostalgic memories don't make this episode any freaking good in my opinion anyways / at least.


Now then I will very fully freaking admit that I straight up didn't know that this episode had a new intro simply because i'm so used to watching the old 1995 WCW Monday Night Nitro intro which is on all of the current WWE games. Which is in all honesty a good thing since this intro for WCW Monday Night Nitro was just bland and boring and uninteresting since it doesn't get you hyped to watch the show which is what a good wrestling show intro should in my opinion anyways / at least.


Now then like the rest of wrestling fans I to have heard the rumours of have bad Sid Vicious is when it comes to delivering his in ring promos and well I can confirm that those rumours are in fact true. This is since his opening promo which opens up this very show is so freaking that it's actually freaking laughable just exactly how bad this promo really freaking is and it makes me wonder why WCW didn't insist on giving this guy promo lessons because of the fact that he quite clearly needs promo lessons in my opinions anyways / at least.

Now then for some strange and rather unknown reason this episodes dedicates an awful lot / amount of screen time to the Kimberly Page vs David Flair feud which just really isn't needed. Since you can still get across all of the right information that you ned in order to advance that story in one or even two backstage segments / skits but here this one feud takes up multiple segments that ultimately end up just going absolutely nowhere in my freaking opinion anyways / at least.


So now then the good thing about forgetting all about this episode is that I forgot just so how funny Kevin Nash as Scott Halls manager and well i'm being honest those backstage segments were what saved this show / episode for me. Since yeah both Kevin Nash and Scott Hall are a really freaking entertaining duo and to see them do some comedy only highlighted just exactly how entertaining those two were as a duo in my opinion anyways / at least.

Now then this particular / very episode of WCW Monday Night Nitro has / had a grand old running time of exactly two hours and thirteen minuets and nineteen seconds. With alot of this episodes running time being dedicated to backstage segments that go nowhere in terms of this episode heck we even get technically two whole Nitro Girls segments both of which go absolutely and could have been cut out of this entire episode and nothing of importance to this show would have been lost in my opinions anyways / at least. 


So now then since this is a wrestling show after all that means that I have to actually talk about the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very freaking episode and well in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / feel / felt that the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very freaking episode was at best OK. Which is of no fault to wrestlers it's more due to the booking since every single match has some sort of outside interference and no match lasts longer then six freaking minuets long which for a weekly two hour plus wrestling is not a good thing at all in my opinion anyways / at least. 



Overall this show was a particularly underwhelming show which is a show because who's actually competing and who's actually featured on this show it had all of the right ingredients to be a good show but because of the Vince Russo style of booking this show just can't as good as it perhaps could have been or even be as good as it perhaps should been in my opinions anyways / at least. Now i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very freaking show in this very freaking review and as such this particular show earns / gets itself a grand old score of exactly a 5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page and from Google Images. With my personally favourite website to use to get images from this episode being the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page this is simply because the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page actually has alot of images from this episode and plus all of the of the images that are currently up and featured and on the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page are all fairly freaking high in freaking quality and as well as being fairly freaking high definition.