Search This Blog

Showing posts with label X-Men: The Animated Series. Show all posts
Showing posts with label X-Men: The Animated Series. Show all posts

Wednesday, 24 September 2025

X-Men '97 "To Me My X-Men" Review


When people think of great X-Men shows and great superhero animated shows in general they usually think of X-Men: The Animated Series. Yet what alot of people seem to have forgotten is that show actually got a sequel show with the first episode of the show being one that i'm going to be talking to you al about today and so then join me as I review the episode that re-introduced the classic X-Men to new generation of the fans with the episode in question being called simply just "To Me My X-Men" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when newly upgraded sentinels start attacking the X-Men have to find out who is giving them these upgrades and why. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good with the plot of this episode being very close in terms of tone to the typical plot of X-Men: The Animated Series with it being clear as day that the makers of this episode had a clear love and passion for the original show as all of the things that this episode does from a plot point of view makes sense not only for the characters but also interms of the characters as well with the only real negative about this episode is the fact that this episodes plot and the plot of the original series are striking similar to one another even down to the fact that they take on the exact same foe which is something that does make this episode feel pointless to watch as you watch the first episode of the original show and still get the same experience from it as there's really nothing in this episodes plot that makes it stand out from the plot of the first episode of the original show outside of the cliff hanger ending for this episode but that's really it with the episodes plot on the whole being a really good plot and is one that does feel more in line with X-Men: The Animated Series then anything from any of the more modern Marvel animated TV shows with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Ray Chase as Scott Summers / Cyclops and Jennifer Hale as Jean Grey and A Computer. Also starring in this episode is Alison Sealy-Smith as Ororo Munroe / Storm , Cal Dodd as James Howlett / Wolverine , J.P. Karliak as Kevin Sydney / Morph and Mullet , Lenore Zann as Anna-Marie Raven / Rogue , George Buza as Dr. Henry "Hank" McCoy / Beast , A.J. LoCascio as Remy LeBeau / Gambit , Holly Chou as Jubilation Lee / Jubilee , Isaac Robinson-Smith as Lucas Bishop / Bishop , Matthew Waterson as Erik Lehnsherr / Magneto , Ross Marquand as Charles Xavier / Professor X , Gui Agustini as Roberto Da Costa / Sunspot , Catherine Disher as Valerie Cooper , Lawrence Bayne as Carl Denti / X-Cutioner , Todd Haberkorn as Henry Gyrich , Gavin Hammon as Bolivar Trask and Eric Bauza as Mastermold , Sentinels and A News Anchor.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With this being something that does make alot of sense as alot of this episodes actor are reprising their roles from the original show and much like how Kevin Conroy is THE voice of Batman to many alot of the original series actors that returned for this show are THE voices of these characters and therefor it will always be great to hear them saying new line as these truly iconic character and the actors that thy got to replace certain actors like Holly Chou do a good job of getting close to the original voice as is humanly possible without just outright copying what the original actor did with the character in the first place and while yes there are alot of really good performance to be found in this episode there are also some really bad ones as well like the fact that we have Ross Marquand as Charles Xavier in this show and he just doesn't live up to wat the original actor did with the role this is despite the fact that Ross Marquand himself is a really good actor he's proven that time and time again but he needs to be given the right role and Charles Xavier just isn't the perfect fit for hm as an actor with the acting that's in this episode also really being helped by the fact that this episodes script is just so good that all this episodes actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the really greats that are currently over at Studio Mir. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good with this episode and the rest of the show having what can best be described as being an anime look to it which is something that does make sense given just who is animating the episode with the episodes animation also looking really stunning withy it having a look that is both modern and sleek and yet also old and more in line with the look of the classic show as well with this being something that really does work really well for this episode as this is an episode that has the toughest job to do by having to convince the old fans to come back and watch the episode whilst also trying to win over new fans and by giving it this look that whilst it does look like the old show but only more modernized does make alot of sense with alot of the characters not only having these really fluid movements to them but also getting alot of really cool shots that do nothing more then show of the episodes animation with even the backgrounds in this episode looking really good and really well detailed so much so that it does feel like at times that you can just reach out and grab any of the backgrounds in this episode with the episodes animation looking like a work of art in all of the best senses.


To help with recapturing the fans of the original shows the makers of this show did the best thing possible and that's reuse the original shows theme song. Which yes granted might be seen as being a small thing but in saying that tho alot of the old fans myself included really do love that old theme song and any on screen continuation of that show needed to have that theme song playing to make it genuinely feel like this is the next episode and it's something like that that does make this show feel like it was made for fans of the original animated series by fans of the original animated series and alot of that does come down to the fact that the writer of this episode Beau DeMayo as truly an awful person as he may be does seem like a genuine fan of the X-Men and it's that love and that passion for not only the original show but it's characters as well that does shine through in this episode as all of the characters are no only acting in character but also feel in character as well and the fact that they managed to get the original theme song for this show does say that the makers of this show are truly fans of the original show as that is something that only fans would want and while yes granted the version used in this episode is a remixed version of the original theme song it's still that original theme that we all know and love with this shows version of the classic theme song being more then enough to get us hyped up for the episode ahead something which wouldn't have been possible if they used a different theme song as those of us that grew up with the original show really wouldn't know that this was meant to be a continuation of the original show without hearing that classic theme song playing at the start of the episode.

While there are alot of positives to be fond not only in this show as a whole but in this episode as well sadly tho this episodes does have a few not so bright spots in it as well. Chief amongst which is the fact that Sunspot in this episode really isn't given much in the way of a personality other then being this shows version of Jubilee and that's really it with the character just being bland and forgettable with the other really negative thing being the fact that they have Charles Xavier killed OFF screen which yes granted might seem like a minor nitpick but given the fact hat both this show and the original show use alot of drama in all of their stories this is something that really should have been shown to us on screen as he is a main character and it would be a great way to not only get old fans hooked but also shock the new fans as well as then it would mean that any character could get killed off and while yes they do explain a way his death in later episodes of this show for alot of these early episodes he is meant to be dead and so it would have been nice for that drama factor to see Charles's death from the point of view of the X-Men only to then show us what actually happened in later episodes of the show as then we'd get to not only see but also experience these characters that alot of us grew up watching watch someone who they were all close to now suddenly no longer be there for them instead of just having it told to us how they all felt which is something that we got in this episode and while that is something that does kind of work for this episode it would have worked all the more if we got to see Charles's death on screen.


Let's just take a second to talk about Magneto as it really doesn't make any sense for Charles to leave him anything let alone everything in his will. As the two of them spend the best part of the entire original series being arch enemies who only teamed up very rarely and while yes they were friends in the past since they have die so much to each other after the fact it really doesn't make any kind of sense for Magneto to get anything in Charles's will with it making sense that the X-Men would choose not to trust him as they really haven't a reason to trust the man who has tried to kill them on several occasions in the past and while this does play in the main plot of this season it's also one that doesn't make a whole lot of sense as surely Charles would be more then likely to trust one of his own X-Men like for example either Cyclops or Wolverine then he would to trust the person who has tried to take the over world at several points in time and heck in the makers of this episode really wanted to make sure that giving Magneto all of this power was something that could work and be perfect for his character then they they should have  given us a reason for the characters to trust him and make that moment at the end of the episode still feel shocking as it should have been but also feel right for his character as you very easily could have had him show yup in the episodes third act fight to help the X-Men out whilst being mysterious about why he's actually helping them which would give them a reason to kind of trust him and would also feel true to his character but just having him appear at the end of the episode is a solid cliffhanger but it doesn't do his character any kind of justice whatsoever.

Now then this episode has /  had a exact grad total running time of exactly thirty minuets and thirty seconds. Which to be fair to this episode is pretty much the exact grand total running tome for the rest of this show as alot of this shows episodes have pretty similar running times to them anyway with this episodes having just the right amount of plot there to really cover that amount of running time in the first place but in saying that tho this episode also doesn't use it's running time all that wisely either as the plot of this episode as good as it is really isn't that well developed with the episode just rushing from one big set piece to the next without really taking the time to set up the plot of the episode and to let the episodes plot become fully developed with this being something that the original series not only knew to do but also did really well as well despite having much more shorter running times and yet here in this episode also of the time it does feel like that the characters are just doing random things for the sake of doing it and when there is a plot in there it' the same plot from the first episode of the original X-Men: The Animated Series with the episodes characters not really getting much in terms of character development which is something that does kind of make sense as this is only the first episode of the show afterall but at the same time tho none of the characters that are returning from the original show get much interms of development either as we the audience aren't really given a reason to care for nay of the characters in this episode and while the original characters do come slightly betting in this regard this is mainly due to the fact that they were in the original show with them not really getting anything interms of this episode but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action episode that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. Which is something that's kind of to be expected as all of the action in the original show was also really good and therefor it makes sense that the action in this episode would be just as good with alot of the main characters really getting a chance to show us just what it is that they can do and what it is that they ring to the team in any given action scene and while alot of the characters like for example Sunspot don't get a chance to show us just what it is that they bring to the team those that do like Storm for example really do make it count with the best action scene in the whole entire episode being the third act fight where alot of the X-Men take on these newly built and newly upgraded Sentinels with us getting a chance t see all of the X-Men's powers which is something that will always be cool to see with even getting just alot of really cool moments in that scene like Beast destroying the head of Sentinel just so he can use it's body as kind of like a giant puppet to take on and take down another Sentinel and while that scene is the best action scene in the whole episode the episode on the whole is filled to the brim with alot of really good looking scenes that look good because of the fact that this episodes tremendous animation really does help them all to come alive in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Overall not on this episode but this show as a whole is must watch for fans of the classic X-Men: The Animated Series as just by going off of this episode alone it does more then enough justice to both the original show and it's characters whilst also just being it's own thing which does prove that Marvel really does still know how to make good if not even great content when they really want to in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. ow the i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly an 8 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the im ages that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Disney fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great the official Disney fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Disney fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 15 May 2024

X-Men '97 TV Series SPOILER FILLED Review


I think that it's fair to say that both Marvel and Disney have had a terrible year last year with alot of there films and TV shows either flopping badly or being at best very divisive. Well there was one show released near the middle of this year that has proven that with the right creative team that actually knows and are fans of the source material that both Marvel and Disney can indeed put out some worthwhile content and so then join me as I give you mt SPOILER FILLED review of the show that was so much better then what it really had any right to be with the show in question being called simply just "X-Men '97" enjoy.

The plot of this show is one year after the supposed death of there leader Professor Charles Xavier the X-Men find themselves in a new fight one which sees them come into contact with an old enemy. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good with the plot of this show being so good that at times it really does feel like the plot of the movie but only it was done as a TV show and while the above synopsis might not be the best representation of the shows plot it is the best way to describe the plot of the show without going to much into spoilers as the plot of the show really does takes so many twists and turns that nine times of ten you really don't see coming with the plot of the show also being really entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this show is Ray Chase as Scott Summers / Cyclops and Cal Dodd as James Howlett / Wolverine. Also starring in this show is Lenore Zann as Anna-Marie Raven / Rogue , Alison Sealy-Smith as Ororo Munroe / Storm , George Buza as Dr. Henry "Hank" McCoy / Beast , A.J. LoCascio as Remy LeBeau / Gambit , Holly Chou as Jubilation Lee / Jubilee , Jennifer Hale as Jean Grey and Madelyne Pryor / Goblin Queen , Matthew Waterson as Erik Lehnsherr / Magneto , Gui Agustini as Roberto Da Costa / Sunspot , Christopher Britton as Nathaniel Essex / Mister Sinister , Adrian Hough as Kurt Wagner / Nightcrawler , J.P. Karliak as Kevin Sydney / Morph , Ross Marquand as Charles Xavier / Professor X , Gil Birmingham as Daniel Lone Eagle / Forge , Eric Bauza as Sentinel , Ron Rubin as President Robert Edward Kelly , Catherine Disher as Val Cooper , Chris Potter as Nathan Summers / Cable , Lawrence Bayne as Carl Denti / X-Cutioner , Alyson Court as Abcissa , Theo James as Bastion , Martha Marion as Emma Frost and Moira MacTaggert , Todd Haberkorn as Sebastian Shaw , Gavin Hammon as Bolivar Trask , Courtney Taylor as Callisto , David Errigo Jr. as Mojo and Gladiator , Abby Trott as Spiral , Josh Keaton as Steve Rogers / Captain America and Mike McGill as Thaddeus Ross.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good. With all of this shows cast members turning in some really good performances which really isn't all that surprising as alot of this shows cast are reprising their roles either from the original show or from other X-Men TV shows and would therefor thus now what kind of performance would best suit there character in any given situation and the shows new actors more then hold there own when it comes to acting against alot of the returning cast members with Holly Chou being a very suitable replacement for the great Alyson Court as Jubilation Lee / Jubilee and Matthew Waterson making for a great replacement for David Hemblen as Erik Lehnsherr / Magneto with the acting in this show really being helped by the fact that the scripts for this show are just so good that all this shows cast have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this show.


Doing the animation for this show is Happy Tiger Animation and the legends and the greats that are currently over at Studio Mir. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about e actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featu4ered / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty phenomenal with the animation in this show taking inspiration from anime by having a very anime aesthetic to it but done in a way that the animation in this show can also look like that it was made in the nineties as well with this shows animation looking alot better then other animated shows out there right now as despite this show being pretty much a more mature take on the X-Men characters it has animation quality that is up with Avatar: The Last Airbender interms of it's quality which is something that you don't see not only in adult animation but in animation as a whole as alot of animated shows are there just to be product fodder for whatever network is releasing them and because of that the animation does indeed suffer yet with this show the animation is just top level and is a good example of just how good animation really could be and as well as the fact that not all animation has to be just for little kids.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!  



It's safe to assume the best episode of this show it's easily the shows fifth episode "Remember It" as it's an episode that takes the show in a completely different direction. As until that point it seemed like that the show was going to be about Magneto trying to do good and earn the teams trust and yet by the end of the episode we find out that actually the show is about mutants just trying to survive and that sometimes they can have a very bad day with this episode being a good example as it's something that effects not only this episode but the remaining five episodes of the show which is such a smart move as something like this would've most likely been the focus of one episode and then never mentioned again in the original show only being brought up every once in a while and yet because of what happens in this episode it effects episodes seven , eight , nine and ten with it only being brought up at the very end of episode six which is such a smart move as it now allows us to see what alot of the mutants of the world thought about this truly dreadful attack that saw thousand if not hundreds of thousands of mutants die.

One of the things that this show kind of became known for was for it's cameo's from characters in the wider Marvel Animated Universe. With this final episode being no different as we get to see Iron Man , Captain America , Cloak & Dagger , Peter Parker and Mary Jane Watson among others and while these cameos are fun to watch it was getting to the point where it was becoming distracting as all they ended up doing was pulling you out of the episode instead of keeping you invested in the final episode of the shows first season while the cameos are fun to see they should've been done a bit more sparingly just to make them feel alot more special or just have them appear in the important episodes of the show as that would make the world feel alot more bigger then what it actually is instead of taking time away from the shows main characters  which has the add on effect of making it shocking when they reveal that Magneto is actually evil again something which was never hinted it and thus comes out of nowhere when it happens in the shows eighth episode and heck the character doesn't even have a plan with him wanting to end the world just for the sake of ending the world all because of the fact that he believes that it was humans that launched the attack on Genosha.


Something else that feels like wasted potential is the fact that in episode seven the show shows us a much more darker side of Rogue. With the show making it seem like that she's going to be somewhat of a villain with her even leaving the team in episode nine to join up with Magneto and yet the show just straight up drops it in episode ten with the team now fully trusting Rogue again even tho just a few minuets ago she tried to kill them and as a result of that is the fact that we end up with what could have been a good idea feel wasted as the very idea of seeing Rogue be a bad guy even if it was just for a few short episodes of season two would have made sense from a storyline perspective given everything that she goes through in this first batch of episodes and yet the show drops that idea and that plot line of her trying to cope with the death of Gambit for no reason when that is a plot line that really should have been resolved by the end of this final episode as it would have brought closure to that characters character arc.

Now then the episodes of this show have / had an exact grad total running time of roughly twenty seven minutes with this final episode having the longest running time of the whole entire series with this episode being forty minuets and three seconds. With the final episode really deserving that long running time as it really does have more then enough there interms of plot to really cover that large amount of running time and it really did need to have that large of amount running time as it had so much story to wrap up and it wouldn't be able to do that if the episode was thirty minuets long and with the extended running time it allows the makers of the episode do alot more emotional stuff which is what they do with Scott , Jean and Cable as both Scott and Jean say what they think is going to be there final goodbye to there son as they think that there going to die and that is a moment that would have most likely been cut out of the episode if the episode had a much more short running time but I will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good. With the action in the show really benefitting from the shows animation as the animation in the show makes the action in the show just leap of the screen with the episodes animation rather rightfully getting alot of the shows best animation and as a result of that is the fact that the we get a bunch of action that all look really good with them also having some really cool moments in alot of if not all of the shows action scenes and it's during those action scenes were we get to see just what it is that each members of the team get to bring to the team with even Jubilee getting her time to shine as well in alot of the shows action scenes something which very rarely if ever happend in the original series and yet it happens in this one and it looks so good along with alot of the shows many action scenes in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!! 


Overall this show is so much better then what it really had any right to be as it's a good example of how to do a sequel series that is both really respectful to the original series and those characters and yet at the same time introduce this incarnation of the characters to an audience that perhaps wouldn't have watched the show growing up in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very show in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very show really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 9.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Disney fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from these very episodes that I used in this very review being the great the official Disney fandom wiki page simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from these very episodes and are really of course on the official Disney fandom wiki page are really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 20 March 2024

My SPOILER FILLED First Impressions Of The X-Men '97 TV Series


To say that the classic X-Men animated is one if not the best X-Men adaptation of all time would be a huge understatement. Heck the show itself really is still so popular that people talk about and are showing it to there kids and well now the long awaited sequel series has finally debuted it's first two episodes on Disney+ well you all just knew that I had to check this shown the very first chance that I got and so then join me as In review the first two episodes of a show that brings back alot of classic things from X-Men: The Animated Series with the show in question being called simply just "X-Men '97" enjoy.

The plot of the first episode is when Sentinel tech is found in the hands of a terrorist group the X-Men have to find out who the source is that is selling them the tech and stop it once and for all where as the plot of the second episode is when Magneto is brought to court for his past crimes the X-Men have to protect hi when someone tries to kill him. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plots that are actually featured / presented to us in these very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plots that are actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes was in all honesty not that bad with the first episodes plot defiantly being the stronger plot of the two as while the plot for episode two is indeed a good plot it's not the strongest plot that the show has had where as the plot of episode one was one of the more stronger plots of both series with both plots being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in these episodes are Ray Chase as Scott Summers / Cyclops and Cal Dodd as James Howlett / Wolverine. Also starring in these episodes are Lenore Zann as Anna-Marie Raven / Rogue , Alison Sealy-Smith as Ororo Munroe / Storm , George Buza as Dr. Henry "Hank" McCoy / Beast , A.J. LoCascio as Remy LeBeau / Gambit , Holly Chou as Jubilation Lee / Jubilee , Jennifer Hale as Jean Grey , Matthew Waterson as Erik Lehnsherr / Magneto , Gui Agustini as Roberto Da Costa / Sunspot , J.P. Karliak as Kevin Sydney / Morph , Isaac Robinson-Smith as Lucas Bishop / Bishop Gavin Hammon as Bolivar Trask , Eric Bauza as Mastermind , Sentinels and A News Anchor and Lawrence Bayne as Lawrence Baynen and Carl Denti.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes was in all honesty alot better then what it really had right to be. As while yes alot of the original series cast members do indeed return for these new episodes alot of them haven't been playing these characters for decades and as a result it would have been understandable if they didn't turn in that good of a performance in these first two episodes but nope all of the cast members in both of these first episodes really do hit it out of the park with the old actors sounding like that they just finished there playing there characters just yesterday and the replacement actors do such a good job of sounding like the original voice actors with the acting in these first two episodes well being helped by the fact that the script for both of these first two episodes being so good that all the cast have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out them naturally.



Doing the animation for these episodes and the rest of the series is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Studio Mir. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good and was easily better then the animation that was in the original show which is not a knock against the original show at all it's just that the original shown really didn't have that good animation to it and yet here it's like they took what they did with the animation in the original series and just updated it and made it better and unlike the original show this show actually doesn't feature any animation errors with the show taking on what could best be described as an anime inspired look with it not really being all that surprising that the animation in these first two episodes was good as it's being done by Studio Mir who really only produce very high quality animation.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!



One of the things that was Kevin Feige wanted when being convince to make this show was the rights to use the theme song. Well could job because they use the theme song once again for this show but on top of that is the fact that gave us a pretty much shot for shot recreation of the shows original intro all of which go a really long way to make this show feeling like the start of season six of the original show and not that start of a brand new show as they didn't have to use the original intro that was a nice touch and it's one that fans of X-Men: The Animated Series are going to pick up on and while the new version of the theme song does lack the epic sounding bell sound at the end of the intro it does still contain that epic guitar solo with the intro even adding in spots for both Morph and Bishop and heck they even bring back the original shows ending which again was something that they didn't have to do and yet they went ahead and did it anyway which just proves that this show was made by the fans for the fans of the original X-Men: The Animated Series TV show.

While this show does have alot of really good things going for it there are some issues to be found in both of the episodes tho like the fact that they do Storm dirty as by the end of episode they strip her of her god like powers and have her leave the team. While this might be an adaptation of a comic book storyline which wouldn't be all that surprising as the original show was known for adapting comic book storylines as the same time tho they have it come out of nowhere and not even play a part in the plot of the episode and the other thing that I really didn't like about the first two episodes is the fact that they killed of Charles Xavier off screen when a character that's this important to not only the characters but to the show as a whole he is a character that should have been killed on screen as that is the kind of death that a character like this one should get and by doing that we would get the chance to see how his death effects all of the X-Men instead of just seeing how it effects Scott which just isn't all that interesting at least not compared to when you have the opportunity to show us how the whole team would react to the death of Charles Xavier tho. 


For some reason it seems like this show is trying to redeem Magneto which just doesn't work as he's a stone cold villain. Yes he has teamed up with the X-Men before in both the movies and in animation and so having him team up with the X-Men here in this cartoon isn't out of character for his character but it just comes out of nowhere as something that's this big should be built up as it is something that really change the status quo as we know the X-Men to be and while having he team up with the X-Men isn't a bad idea what is a bad idea is trying to redeem him as he is a character that shouldn't be redeemed as he's tried to take over the world countless times in the original show something which they do bring up and while he did it for the right reasons it's how he went about it that makes him the bad guy and will always make him the bad guy but with that being said tho it is interesting seeing how this version of the character acts when he's trying to do good and it's fun and interesting to see the rest of the X-Men come to terms with this change and learn to try and trust him as there essential leader.

Now then episode one for this show has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly thirty minuets ad thirty seconds with episode two having a grand total running time of exactly thirty minuets and thirty nine seconds. Which this new thirty minuet running time pretty much being the bogstanderd running for this new show and to this shows credit both of the episodes really do have alot of running time there to really cover there respective amount of running time and while episode two has the weaker of the two plots it's also the one that really does make the best use of it's running as it really delves into how Magneto has been dealing with the death of Charles Xavier and how he's been doing good not because it's the right thing to do but because that's his own personal way of honoring his late friend but at the same time tho it's episode one that really had the more fitting running time as while the subplot with Roberto Da Costa goes nowhere with the character really being dropped just a few minuets after really setting him up which makes him really feel alot like a really useless character but episode does use alot of the it's main cast really well during it's running time tho with both episodes having some really good pacing to them both tho.


So now then as this an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good. Which is something that's not all that new as the original show had some really good action in it as well with episode one having the best action out of the two episodes as while the action in the episode two was indeed really good the action that we got given to us in episode one was also more fun to watch on top of it being really creative and while the action in episode two did a really good job of advancing Magneto's character arc of that episode it didn't really show of the main team all that well where as in episode one it's the opposite that's true as we get to really see each and every member of the team in that episodes final fight sequence and that really that makes the action at the end of that episode alot fun and cool to watch in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!


Overall if these first two episodes are anything to go by then we finally another good if not great X-Men animated show to look forward each and every week but that is something that only time will tell but so far we are off to a really good start with this show feeling like it was a show that really was made for the fans and by the fans of the original X-Men: The Animated Series as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. ow then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in these very episodes in this very post as this is only my first impressions I won't give this show a rating as any show really can have a good or bad first few episodes but if this post does well then I really will look into covering more episodes of this show as a review tho.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post from the official Disney fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from these very episodes that I used in this very review being the great the official Disney fandom wiki page simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from these very episodes and are really of course on the official Disney fandom wiki page are really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 14 March 2024

X-Men: The Animated Series "The Dark Phoenix" Parts One Through Four Review


X-Men: The Animated Series is perhaps one of if not the best animated series that Marvel has ever produced. With the series being so good that in little under a weeks time the series is to return and well with there being a ton of great episodes to watch from this wonderful series it was hard to pick one to be the basis of this tie in review and so then join me as I review the four part saga that is best adaptation of The Dark Phoenix saga with all four episodes of this show being collectively known as "The Dark Phoenix" enjoy.

The plot of all four of these episodes is when the Phoenix begins to fully take control of Jean Grey it's up to the X-Men to find a way of destroying it without destroying Jean. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good with the plot of all four episodes being really well written with the plot despite being in a kids cartoon series being just as mature and adult as you'd really want it to be and unlike the Dark Phoenix movie the plot of these episodes felt fresh , new and different compared to the type of plots that you'd normally get from a kids cartoon from around the same time as this show as well as being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in these episodes is Cedric Smith as Professor Charles Xavier and Norm Spencer as Scott Summers / Cyclops. Also starring in these episodes are Catherine Disher as Jean Grey / Dark Phoenix and Dazzler , Lenore Zann as Rogue , Chris Potter as Gambit , Cal Dodd as Logan / Wolverine , George Buza as Beast , Nigel Bennett as Jason Wyngarde / Mastermind , Walker Boone as Donald Pierce , David Bryant as Sebastian Shaw , Geoff Kahnert as Harry Leland , Camilla Scott as Lilandra , Tracey Moore as Emma Frost , Alison Sealy-Smith as Storm , Len Carlson as The Supreme Intelligence and anime voice acting legend Richard Epcar as A Gladiator.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented t us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good. With all of these episodes cast members turning in some really solid performances with the best performer in these episodes going being Catherine Disher who voices multiple characters across all four episodes and yet she still manages to make you feel something during the more emotional moments that are all in all four of these episodes and while all of the cast members do turn in some really good performances none of them make you feel something when all four of these episodes getting emotional with the same thing also being true for Norm Spencer who does turn in a good performance but he just can't hold a candle to Catherine Disher with the acting in all of these episodes really being helped by the fact that the script for all fur pf these episodes being really good as it gives the cast a whole lot to work with interms of it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place.


Doing the animation for all fours of these episodes is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Akom Production Company. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad which is in line with this shows standard of animation as while the show has always had some really good looking animation with these episodes not being an exception the animation in this show isn't as good as say Spider-Man: The Animated Series for example as the animation in this show and in these episodes in particular whilst they do look expensive it also looks really dated as well with there not really being any animation errors in any of these four episodes.


These four episodes are the only adaptations to do the The Dark Phoenix saga any kind of justice as while yes these four episodes only cover the end of the saga. Literally just a few episodes before these four aired they did the opening of the saga in five episodes with this proving that this saga will never work in film media unless it was done in multiple parts as that's the only way to do it any kind of justice and yet it's something that Hollywood has tried and failed to learn not once but twice now and while yes these episodes don't end with Jean dying which is an understandable change as this is still after all a kids show the fact that they even dared to do an adaptation of this saga at all and do it in a way that was respectful to the comics means that the story doesn't loose any of if it's impact as the story will still hit you the same way that it did in the comic books.

While the episodes do have plenty of good things going for them there are some issues to be found in all four episodes. The chief amongst which is the fact that they introduce a new mutant into the show but then they do nothing with her with that show being Dazzler who appears in the first episode and they make it look like that she's going to play a big part in the story but then they just drop her character after that first episode and they never mention her again and the second thing that's wrong with this episode is the fact that while the plot of this episode is indeed a really solid plot that works well in the medium of television it's also a really weakly drawn out plot as well with it being hard to tell what the actual plot of the episode is even meant to be alot of the time both of which are things that could have been fixed as they could have had Jean see Scott and Dazzler kiss like she does at the end of episode but then have that be what triggers the phoenix force to come out and have her try to kill Dazzler as this would show us that Jean isn't in control of her own body and it would also give Dazzler alot more to do interms of the overall story of all four episodes of this show.


Another kind of issue with these four episodes is The Hellfire Club as while they are yes the villains of the first two episodes. They are pretty much all gone and forgotten about by the end of episode three which does make sense as the stories overall villain isn't meant to be The Hellfire Club it's meant to be the phoenix force itself but at the same time give that they played such a big role in the stories early episodes it would have made sense to give us some closure on those characters even if it's just a brief scene with this being made even worse when you take into account that these characters aren't as fully developed as the other characters are with us the audience not even finding out why these are even after The Phoenix Force in the first place and as a result of that it's hard for us the audience to feel anything for Jean when they do capture her outside of the fact that there the bad guys and there for we're meant to hate them which isn't enough to make them interesting characters and yet despite all of this the members of the The Hellfire Club do seem like there interesting characters in there own right there just given the chance the shine in these episodes.

Now then while I cannot for the absolutely life of me remember whatever this episodes grand total running tie even was I do know that for a fact that all of these episodes has / had an exact grand total running time of roughly one hour and thirty minuets. With all four episodes not being any longer then twenty two minuets with all four episodes averaging n about twenty one minuets which is a solid running time for all of these episode to have as while the episodes do have more then enough plot there to cover that one hour and thirty combined running time this is a story that really could have done with being five or even six episodes long just to give the story really alot more room to breathe as they really could have gotten a good six episodes out of this one story alone and with that adding running time it really would mean that the episodes could be alot more faithful that what it might already be as there are bound to be some things that are cut out or cut down really just to meet the running time of the episodes but I will admit that all four of these episodes really do have some really good pacing to them all tho.


So now then as this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes and as well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good. Which is really nothing new for this show as one of the things that this show is known for is it's top notch action with the same thing also being true for these four episodes as all of the episodes have some really good action in them and while yes some of the action in episodes one and two really could have been better when the action gets really good like it does from at the end of episode two onwards it is really good to see with it being the kind of exciting action that you'd both expect and really want to to see in a nineties superhero action TV shown as it's really just that good to see and is just that entertaining to watch as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall these four episodes are a good example of just how good this show really was when it was at it's best and it does prove that The Dark Phoenix saga really should only be told in a television format as they could spend several episodes telling the story instead of just covering in one two hour movie in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in these very episodes in this very review ad as such that meas that these episodes really do earn a grand old score of exactly an 8 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Marvel Animated Universe fandom wiki page , the official Marvel Database fandom wiki page , the official Disney fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from these very episodes that I used in this very review being the really great and really legendary Google Images simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this episode and are really of course on Google Images are all really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Saturday, 5 November 2022

X-Men: The Animated Series Episodes Five Through Seven Review

 


X-Men fans it's been well over a year since I last spoke about any episode from the classic X-Men: The Animated Series. Which is such a shame because this show is that darned good while it's not Batman: The Animated Series good it's easily better then Spider-Man: The Animated Series and as such i'm taking a look at the next THREE episodes of this classic cartoon show and so then join me as I review the episodes that introduce us to two classic X-Men characters with the episodes in question being called simply just "Captive Hearts" "Cold Vengeance" and "Slave Island" enjoy.

The overall plot of these three episodes is that Wolverine's feelings for Jean Grey continue to grow and Gambit , Storm and Jubilee are sent to an island that supposedly welcomes mutants only to discover something far more sinister is going on. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured /presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good with the best plot going to either Slave Island or Cold Vengeance simply because those two actually tie in together where as Captive Hearts feels alot more like a prolog then apart of the actual story in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.  


Starring in these episodes is Cedric Smith as Charles Xavier / Professor X and Cal Dodd as Logan / Wolverine. Also starring these episodes is Norm Spencer as Scott Summers / Cyclops , Iona Morris as Ororo Munroe / Storm , Chris Potter as Remy LeBeau / Gambit , Catherine Disher as Jean Grey , Lenore Zann as Rogue , Alyson Court as Jubilation Lee / Jubilee , Susan Roman as Callisto , John Stocker as Leech , Dan Hennessey as Sunder , David Corban as Tar Baby , Judy Marshak as Plague , Kay Tremblay as Annalee , Ross Petty as Ape Don Francks as Graydon Creed, Sr. / Sabretooth , Paul Haddad as Kiyoek , Barry Flatman as Henry Peter Gyrich , David Fox as The Voice Of The Sentinels and Master Mold , Brett Halsey as Bolivar Trask , Stephen Ouimette as Cameron Hodge , Lawrence Bayne as Cable , Robert Cait as The Blob and Dennis Akayama as Sunfire.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good. With all of this cast really turning in some really good performances and the same can also be said for all of the guest cast in these very episodes as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.



Doing the animation for these episodes and for the rest of this vole series is Akom Production Company. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good altho I did notice an animation error in Cold Vengeance which is very sadly a common thing with all of these early episodes in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


The episode Slave Island also introduces Mystique and Cable with Mystique appearing in a none speaking role. I have to admit that knowing that Mystique was in one of these episodes was the reason as to why I wanted to do these reviews however I had no idea that the very same episode would also see the debut of Cable it's just a shame that we don't really get to find out all that much about either character tho which is a understandable it's still something that I didn't like about these episodes in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

Out of the three episodes I really did like the episode Slave Island the best simply because of the fact that it really does delve into the hatred that regular people have for mutants. With the idea of mutants being used as slaves being an incredibly dark idea and it's one that's pulled of really well it's just a shame that the episodes leading up to it just aren't that good with the first episode being forgettable at best in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


The episode Captive Hearts starts a plotline that you'd think would play a part in the further two episodes but it sadly doesn't. That being the fact that Storm becomes the ruler of a group of underground mutants which is a shame because the remaining X-Men that go help out Storm , Gambit and Jubilee know about these mutants and so they could have gotten them to help them out and that would have redeemed them and fully turned them to the side of good in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

Now then all of these episodes have a combined grand total running time of roughly one hour and thirty minuets. With all three episodes lasting no loner then twenty one minuets which is a great amount of time for all of these three episodes to last since this is essentially a three part storyline but even so it's only episodes two and three that connect to each other and as such I have to wonder why this storyline was as long as it was since it really didn't need to be that long in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


So now then since this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good. With the best action coming from Slave Island where we get to see a hole bunch of mutants fighting together which is just so cool to see in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall these are some really good episodes which do a good job of advancing the first seasons storyline a whilst also being some genuinely fun episodes to watch in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in these very episodes in this very review and as such all of these episodes get a combined score of exactly an 8 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Marvel Animated Universe fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get images this film being the official Marvel Animated Universe fandom wiki page this is because all of the images that I got and that currently up , featured and on the official Marvel Animated Universe fandom wiki page are all fairly high in quality and as well as being fairly high in definition.