Search This Blog

Showing posts with label doctor who. Show all posts
Showing posts with label doctor who. Show all posts

Saturday, 14 February 2026

Doctor Who: The Interstellar Song Contest Review


It's safe to say that Doctor Who has had quite alot of campy episodes in the past and weather or not those episodes should have been camp in the first place is most certainly up to you the viewer to decide. However the episode that i'm going to be talking to you all about today is perhaps the only episode in the shows very long history where it would have felt wrong if it wasn't camp and so then join me as I review the episode that sees two classic characters return with the episode in question being called simply just "The Interstellar Song Contest" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when The Doctor and Belinda stop of on a space station that is hosting it's annual song contest that's broadcast across the galaxy the dup find themselves in trouble when the broadcast is hijacked and they must find away to defeat the villains before they kill three trillion people. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as while the plot of the episode is arguably more lighthearted alot of the time then the rest of this seasons plots are given the fact that the characters are quite clearly appearing in a spoof of the Eurovision Song Contest an event that is known to be camp and quite lighthearted it does make sense that this episode would follow suit but at the same time tho this plot is still one that does still work with the context of it being a Doctor Who episode as we still get alot of the things that we've come to expect from this season of the show and yet the plot of this episode is one that does also feel a bit on the thin side of things as well as the episode doesn't really put alot of focus onto it's plot rather it instead puts more focus onto the episodes musical numbers with this having the adverse effect of making this episodes plot feel more like an afterthought this being despite the fact that the premise alone which was described as being "Eurovision meets Die Hard" being something that does sound like a really fun plot it just needed a better writer to help to bring it to life is all with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Ncuti Gatwa as The Doctor , Varada Sethu as Belinda Chandra and Julie Dray as Sabine. Also starring in this episode is Rylan Clark as Himself , Imogen Kingsley Smith as A Runner , Kiruna Stamell as Nina Maxwell , Iona Anderson as Wynn Aura-Kin , Anita Dobson as Mrs Flood , Charlie Condou as Gary Gabbastone , Kadiff Kirwan as Mike Gabbastone , Freddie Fox as Kid , Miriam-Teak Lee as Cora Saint Bavier , Akemnji Ndifornyen as Len Kazah , Christina Rotondo as Liz Lizardine , Graham Norton as Himself , Abdul Sessay as Jeddy Kine , Archie Panjabi as The Rani and Carole Ann Ford as Susan Foreman.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With both Ncuti and Varada being really good in this episode with this being something that was kind of expected as all throughout this season of the show those two are always turning in some really good performances with this being something that even those that don't like this era of the show all that much have to admit is true as the pair of them are a pair of really good actors in their own right with it being helped by the fact that alot of this episodes guest actors like for example Miriam-Teak Lee , Kadiff Kirwan and Charlie Condou do really good jobs as well with all three of them feeling that fit in in the world of Doctor Who with even the returning Carole Ann Ford just slipping right back into character with it feeling like that she never really stopped playing Susan as while she doesn't get alot of screen time in this episode she is still really good with it being made clear as day that she is having alot of fun in the episode with the best actor in the episode being Ncuti Gatwa as we do get to see another side to his version of The Doctor where we do get to see him pushed to the point where he believes that killing someone in cold blood is the best thing with Ncuti putting all that across beautifully in the episode with the acting that's in this episode not really being helped by the fact that the script for this episode is just so bad as it gives none of this episodes actors anything to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first lace which is something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


Doing the CGI for this episode is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Pixomondo and Real SFX. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good with the makers of this episode making some really good use of CGI in this episode as while this episode was always going to be an effects heavy episode just due to the amount of crowd shots and shots of the space station alone there is a shockingly high amount of practical effects to be in the episode as well with them all blending in really well with the episodes CGI effects and while it could be argued that this episode does go overboard with the amount of CGI that they use so much so that it makes this episode feel alot more like a cartoon then it does a live action show there was really never going to be anyway that you could do this episode without using alot of CGI in it just due to the fact that the episode does things with it's characters that you couldn't possibly do for real with the episode having some really cool looking CGI effects in the episode like the shot of all of the people being sucked out on the space station is a really cool looking effect with the same thing even being true for the shot where the ice on The Doctors body breaks away when he's stuck in space and while yes it would have been nice if this episode was done fully practically as then the effects would age at a much more slower rate the makers of this episode did use that Disney money really well as we got some really good looking effects in this episode.


This episode is known for having two major characters returning that being of course The Rani and Susan Foreman. With both characters having last been seen in an episode of Doctor Who being the dreadful charity special Dimensions In Time with Susan's last appearance in the regular show being all the way back in Peter Davidson's era of the show in The Five Doctors so to say that having her appear again in this episode even tho it' just for a few minuets is something that is a big deal because as of this writing Carol Ann Ford is the longest surviving Doctor Who actor having appeared in the very first episode of the show but while it was really nice to see them again one has to wonder why they were included in the episode in the first place as the whole point of this new era of the show was to get a much more younger audience to Doctor Who and there not going to know who Susan is and nor are they going to know who The Rani is either as those characters haven't been seen since the nineties with this being case of the makers of the show including nods to classic Who for the older fan but not really giving the newer fan a reason to care abut these characters returning and while it could be argued that the next two episodes do give them a reason to care for The Rani and why she is returning but for Susan we get nothing as The Doctor doesn't even mention seeing her to Belinda at the end of the episode where it would have made perfect sense and it would have given the newer audience some background information on the character of Susan as well now there is s good chance that the new audience might still have understood who Susan is and why they should care for her in the originally planned ending for this season which we do know thanks to the scripts for this season being released that there was a different ending which Carol Ann Ford herself even admitted that she was going to be a part of the ending but as things stand the new audience isn't given a reason to care for her character which is a shame as seeing her back as Susan Foreman really is a big deal.

Whilst alot of the episodes of this show are indeed camp this is the only episode that should be camp due to the fact that it's spoofing a camp singing contest. With the fact that the episode is camp being something that does work in the episodes as it allows the episode to take it self seriously enough to the point where as the audience buy into the plot and into the threat that the characters are in but also it doesn't take it self that seriously that the episode can't stop and make a joke or two every once in a while with these more campier moments being where the episode does being to shine as it's there that the episode does feel like that's being a proper spoof of the Eurovision Song Contest and is going all in on that idea which is something that it really had to do i order for the idea to work as best that it could do as the episode would have felt off if it was still spoofing Eurovision but was instead playing everything super straight which yes would have been good for the drama aspect of the show as this show is meant to be an action drama show afterall but that doesn't mean that you can't have fun with it's concepts and that is something that the episode does really well even down to the fact that it is has a song from a band that was in Eurovision itself play over a montage which is a pretty funny in the first place with it being something that does embrace just how mad that Eurovision can be alot of the time and it's scenes like that and when The Doctor uses a confetti canon to push himself to airlock and get back inside the space station that does show you that the makers of this episode new full well that they could have more fun in this episode as they take full advantage of it's premise and go all in with the kinds of jokes that they could do in this episode. 


There is one point where alot of people do agree that this episode doesn't work quite that well that being the episodes main villain Kid. As he's a character that wants revenge for the death of his people and that's it as the episode doesn't really go into that much detail about what it is that makes him tic due to the fact that the episode doesn't focus on him all that much with the episode being more focused on showing us The Doctor and Belinda when it could have spent alot more time in giving us more of a well rounded villain as he does come across as being more of an after thought then anything else as while the idea of having someone be out for revenge for the death of there people is a really good idea the episode does kind of squash that idea by showing us a character that is also out to do the exact same thing but in a more peaceful way in the character of Cora Saint Bavier who just wants to sing a song that her people sang and to win the show as a way to show the company that run the contest that there race will never be forgotten and yet it's her that gets alot more attention from the episode when it would have made more sense for Kid to get alot more of the attention due to the fact that he's the episodes main villain with things being made even more worse when you remember that this is the episode where The Rani reappears with her being a more better villain then what Kid is and while the episode did have to reintroduce The Rani as she plays a big part in the next two episodes here she kind of takes away attention from the episodes main villain when if Kid was more developed as a villain then he would be all the more memorable as a character.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly forty seven minuets and thirty one seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstandard running time for this show to have with this episode having just about the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time in the first place and yet in saying this tho the episode doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as the episode doesn't take the time that it really should have done to fully develop it's plot and while this would usually be seen as being a bad thing this is a case where having an underdeveloped plot here it is something that does work in the episodes favor as the episode is meant to be alot more fun and spoofing something that is really camp in the first place and therefor the episode didn't really need to have a fully developed plot to work in the first place rather it just needed the basic setup and that's it and yet the episode also doesn't really take the time to fully develop any of it's characters and while that's OK for The Doctor and Belinda as there you could make the argument that they have the rest of this series to get there character development in the first place the same thing cannot be said for the episodes guest characters all of whom come across as being blanks of wood as the episode doesn't give any of them character development as we know as much about all of the episodes guest characters coming out of the episode then we did coming into the episode with this being something that could have been fixed by giving the guest characters more times to shine and by giving them more scenes that show of just who they are as characters something which would have made them be all the more memorable as characters but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With the episode not really having that much action in it which given the fact that this episode is basically Die Hard in space is something that does make alot of sense but at the same time tho it would have made perfect sense if the episode did have some over the top action in it as this is meant to be a really over the top episode and therefor it's something that wouldn't seem out of place in this episode with the best action scene in the whole entire episode being where The Doctor who is so enraged as he thinks that Belinda has been killed almost tortures Kid to death something which does bring out a new side to The Doctor but at the same time tho this action scene doesn't quite work all that well as The Doctor hasn't really known Belinda for all that long so there would be no reason for him to get this upset at Kid at least not to the point of almost killing him whereas if this was someone like Ruby Sunday for example then it would have made more sense due to the fact that both of these characters have had more time together and have a stronger bond then what he has with Belinda but it is still a good really good scene in it's own right as it's a scene that does show us just how far that The Doctor could possibly go to when he doesn't have a human there to keep him grounded in the first place in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall whilst it is easy to see why this episode isn't as good as it could have been as there alot of faults to be found in the episode this episode is also one that's really fun to watch and whilst it really does have an ending that ties into the two part finale this is an episode really that a none fan of the show really can watch and still find some level of enjoyment out of it in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now the  i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad thigs that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 7.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Amazon . Co . Uk , Tardis . Wiki and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great Tardis . Wiki really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Tardis . Wiki really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 7 January 2026

Doctor Who: Lux Review

 Doctor Who has always been a show that has tried out new and fresh ideas and while some of those ideas haven't always landed. The ones that do tend to stick with us such is the case with the episode that i'm going to be talking to you all about today as while the season that this episode is apart of isn't the strongest season of the show out there this episode is one of the more better episodes due to the fact that has an original idea for a villain and so then join me as I review the episode that tries to make cartoons scary with the episode in question being called simply just "Lux" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when fifteen people all go missing in a theater in 1950's Miami it's up to The Doctor and Belinda to work what happened to them before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. As while the episode is rather light on plot with it being hard to work out just what the main plot of the episode is meant to be alot of the time when the episode does focus on it's plot that's when the episodes plot gets to be more fun as this is a rather out there and weird plot and yet it also feels oddly at home in this new season of Doctor Who but at the same time tho this episodes plot and they that it's structed does feel oddly reminiscent of the previous seasons episode "The Devil's Chord" with there being alot of scenes in that episode that are just straight up copied in this episode even down to the episode using a character from the same group which is a character from the pantheon of gods which is something that does make this episode feel like a carbon copy of that episode but in all fairness to this episode tho it's plot is one that could be seen as being rather fun as well as they do take the time to loving poke fun of how cartoons where seen back in those days which was nice to see but at the same time that is screen time that is taken away from giving us more plot relevant information with the plot of this episode also being rally rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Starring in this episode is Ncuti Gatwa as The Doctor , Varada Sethu as Belinda Chandra and Linus Roache as Reginald Pye. Also starring in this episode is Cassius Hackforth as Tommy Lee , Millie O'Connell as the voice of Sunshine Sally , Lewis Cornay as Logan Cheever , Lucy Thackeray as Renée Lowenstein , Jane Hancock as Helen Pye , William Meredith as A Policeman , Samir Arrian as Hassan Chowdry , Bronté Barbé as Lizzie Abel , Steph Lacey as Robyn Gossage , Alan Cumming as the voice of Mr Ring-A-Ding and Anita Dobson as Mrs Flood.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With the series main regulars turning in some really good performances which is to be expected from them at this point in time and even Varada Sethu who only really joined the show in the previous episode despite her playing a different character on the show in the last series still does do a really good job and is really likable in this episode with her Ncuti having some wonderful chemistry together which is not all that surprising as Ncuti can have chemistry with a blank of wood with the only thing that lets the pair of them down acting wise being the fact that when they are turned into cartoons there acting is a little it wooden and stale with the best actor in this episode being Alan Cumming as he can be both hilarious and terrifying as this films creepy cartoon villain Mr Ring-A-Ding with his performance reflecting the villains more cartoonish nature with it being as over the top as it needed to be for certain scenes but then when his acting needs to be more serious he becomes more terrifying with this coming through in his final performance as the character as even tho it's only a voice over role Alan still does give it his best and because of that Mr Ring-A-Ding himself really does become all the more memorable as a villain because of it with the acting that's in this very episode not really being helped by the fact that the script for this episode is just so bad as it gives none of the episodes actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that rally does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


Doing the CGI for this episode is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Real SFX and BBC Wales Graphics. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good with it being obvious that the team doing the CGI for this episode had alot of fun with the shots that they had to do as the very idea of having cartoon come to life and try and take over the world is something that does allow itself to have some really fun looking expressions which is something that the makers of this episode do take full advantage with Mr-Rig-A-Ding really being the only big CGI effect in the episode outside of a few shots on the outside where they replace Wales with 1950's Miami and yet you can tell that even tho this episode was basically made on the cheap as there's only one main location all throughout the episode the effects budget for the episode was really high as when Mr-Ring-A-Ding does go fully 3D he looks really creepy with the fact that they had a cutout version of him on set is something that really does help out in the long as while he was never going to really look like he was actually there on the day due to the fact that he's a cartoon character it is something that does help with matching the characters eye lines with the only effect that does let the episode being the fact that you can tell right away that they didn't actually film in Miami which is something that was always going to be the case but the effect does look rather cheap which is something that does make alot of sense as they put more time and effort into making the episodes villain look as good as they possibly could have done.


This episode was pretty divisive when it first came out due to the fact that it has The Doctor and Belinda quite literally break the fourth wall and talk to fans of Doctor Who. Which to be fair isn't a bad scene in it's own right as the three fans are purely there for comedic effect and that's it but at the same time tho the show has never openly admitted that it's just a show and that's really it before now so it will of course be really jarring to see happen in this episode as it does fell like that the makers of this show are making fun of the fans rather then making us laugh with them and heck they even have one of the fans say the hashtag #RIPDoctorWho at one point which was something that alot of fans were using when talking about the show when if they wanted to have this scene be this weird and funny scene they could have found a way to do it without breaking the fourth wall and without having jokes in there that feel like there taking aim at Doctor Who fans in general as they could have had the three fans be these weird , quirky but lovable characters that you want to get to know more about and that you want to see more off and yet they don't do that this is despite the fact that here scene is actually a key plot point in the episode as one of the fans called Lizzy straight gives The Doctor the idea of how to beat Mr-Ring-A-Ding in the first place which is something that does come into play just a few short scenes later and while them essentially sacrificing themselves is a great way to up the threat level for the episode it also amounts to nothing as they come back for lame joke during the episodes mid credits scene which makes there sacrifice pointless in the grand scheme of things.

The villain in this episode oddly enough doesn't really have an end goal in mind as for a large of the episode he's just after any kind of light that he can get from the theater and that's really it. With him really only getting a real plan when he finds out that The Doctor is a time lord with him then deciding that he wants as much light as he possibly can do which to be fair is a fairly solid plan to have and yet at the same time for an episode that did have alot of promise to it its also a really weak plan as well as this is a character that gives you permission to go as out there and as weird as you want to with your main villain plan and yet the makers of this episode don't do that rather they instead play it safe and go with a really boring plan that doesn't allow for your main villain to actually do all that much in the episode which fair enough is something that does work for the villain as this is a character that doesn't really know all that much about the outside world outside of what he's learned from watching movies which re at best lies when it would have worked just as well if Mr-Ring-A-Ding had a more out there and weird plan like maybe he wants to use his powers of light to take over the world and make the whole world be a cinema so that the whole human race can feel as trapped as he's felt for the months that he's been stuck in the theater but in saying this tho having is plan just be light and having him be defeated by the very thing that he wants the most is oddly poetic as it's basically boils down to the old saying of be careful what you wish for because you just might get it and in this case Mr-Ring-A-Ding was defeated by the very thing that he wanted light.


To be fair it was really fun seeing both The Doctor and Belinda turned into cartoons with them having these really stilted movements to them which makes them like the old Hanna-Barbera cartoons. With the thing that lets this small piece of the episode down being just that it was only a really small part of the episode and yet the BBC put this scene in alot of the trailers and teasers for this season which did give of the impression that it was going to be a lot more longer then what it ended up being in the first place but to be fair the makers of this episode do use that one scene to get across the fact that both The Doctor and Belinda are scared abut the things that are going on with The Doctor being scared that he will never be able to get her home due to the fact that something might have happened to Earth and Belinda being scared by the fact that she might miss the people that she loves the most and yet even so something that they never address this season while they can't land exactly on May 24th they never state why they can't land one day before and just stay there for twenty four hours but going back to the cartoon whilst it was fun seeing those characters as cartoon characters the whole segment did feel like it was making fun of cartoons and how classic cartoon characters don't have much in the way of dimension when it would have been more beneficial of that part of the episode didn't do that and instead chose to just be a fun segment as we have The Doctor and Belinda in a cartoon so much more fun would it be to have those characters act all cartoony and yet they don't do that infact they barely move at all which is something that does make the scene as a whole alot less fun to watch as we're not getting the chance to see just what the makers of this episode could do with the characters as fully done cartoon characters.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly forty four minuets and three seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstandard running time for this show and to be fair the episode does have the perfect amount of plot there to really cover that amount of running time in the first place and yet un saying this tho this episode really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as the episode doesn't take the time to fully develop it's plot in the first place with the episode being more focused on letting us know that this episodes villain is a cartoon character then it is in giving us a reason to care about the characters and to care about the plot of this episode with it feeling like that the plot of the episode was being treated as an afterthought as the plot of this episode doesn't get alot of focus and plot development with the same thing also being true for all of the episodes characters which is fine for The Doctor as you could argue that he has well over sixty plus years to get his character development and yet for characters like Belinda who we are still getting to know and Mr-Ring-A-Ding those are characters that really did need to get some sort of character development as that would have given us the audience a reason to care for these characters and to want to see them make it out of the episode alive and yet the episode doesn't really give us any of that when it had more then running time in order to give the characters some character development and still the story as well as it does in the final episode and yet for one reason or another the makers of this episode thought that it was best not to give any of the characters the character development that they really all needed to get but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really goo pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty i in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. While the episode really only has the one action scene near the end of the episode this is something that does make alot of scene as there's no way that you could have a good looking action scene with a cartoon character taking on two live action characters and with the episode putting more of a focus on comedy then action it does make sense that this episode would have just the one action and yet at the same time tho having more then one action scene in the episode even if it's brief one would have gone a long way into showing us the audience why Mr-Ring-A-Ding is a threat to The Doctor with the episodes best action scene of course being it's only action scene where we get to see the episodes main villain essentially suck the life force out of The Doctor in order to build himself a real body all the while Belinda is is busy running around grabbing all of the film stuck so that she can light it on fire something which would kill of the episodes main villain and while it's not her that delivers the blow as that honor goes to the projectionist Reginal Pye it's the fact that it gets done in the first place with it somehow blowing a huge hole in the building so that sun light can come thus allowing to Mr-Ring-A-Ding to essentially drown in the light with that action scene being a really tense scene just due to the fact that it's The Doctor himself who almost dies with it also being a really fu scene to watch in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall whilst this might not be the best episode of this season of Doctor Who it's also not the worst one either with this episode actually trying to do something new by giving us a cartoon villain that helps to make the episode as good as it is and while the writing by Russell T. Davies isn't that good as it feels like he was just copying what he really did in "The Devil's Chord" something like "The War Between The Land And The Sea" does prove that h wants to he can still write good Doctor Who it's just that this episode isn't the best episode that he's written in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad thigs that are in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a gran old score of exactly a 6 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally sued in this very review ell then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Amazon . Co . Uk , Tardis . Wiki and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great Tardis . Wiki really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Tardis . Wiki really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Saturday, 3 January 2026

Doctor Who: The Savages Review


We are living in a strange time as while there is confirmed to be a new episode of Doctor Who to be broadcast this Christmas there's no actor confirmed to play The Doctor. Yet just because that's the case it doesn't mean that we can't look back on some older adventures and as luck would have it there is a new animated reconstruction out on DVD and Blu-Ray and well you all just knew that I had to take a look at this episode the very first chance that I got and so then join me as I review the episode that slowly marks the end of the first doctors era on the show with the episode in question being called simply just "The Savages" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when The Doctor , Steven and Dodo find themselves on an unnamed planet they find themselves caught up in a war between the seemingly peace loving Elders and the seemingly harmful savages. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot thats actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good with it being made obvious that this episodes plot whilst it is still a really good plot it's also one of the more forgetful Doctor Who plots as this is a plot that does get picked up and dropped alot of the time so much so that it does make it hard to remember what the actual plot of the episode is even meant to be in the first place this being despite the fact that the episode was written by Ian Stuart Black who wrote the episode The Macra Terror and yet whilst that episode did have a fairly solid and fun plot to it here you get the impression that Doctor Who as a show was running out of steam as the ideas that the episode has feel underbaked at best and at worst just straight up watered down to the point where they might as well as not even be there in the first place but in saying this tho you can tell that there was some effort put into making this episodes plot as a good as it was as it does have that magic there that makes for a good Doctor Who plot and yet for one reason or another this episodes plot isn't allowed to be as good as it could have been with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is William Hartnell as The Doctor , Peter Purves as Steven Taylor and Jackie Lane as Dodo Chaplet. Also starring in this episode is Frederick Jaeger as Jano , Norman Henry as Senta , Patrick Godfrey as Tor , Ewen Solon as Chal , Peter Thomas as Captain Edal , Geoffrey Frederick as Exorse , Robert Sidaway as Avon , Kay Patrick as Flower , Clare Jenkins as Nanina and Edward Caddick as Wylda.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With all of the actors in this episode really turning in some good performances something which is to expected from the series regular actors as they would have had more time to really get to know there respective characters but the same thing is also true for the episodes guest actors as well as they all get there characters down perfectly right from the moment that they appear on screen and while the episode is largely either forgotten about by alot of people or just straight up forgettable ne can't deny the fact that the actors in this episode really do give some really good performances and whilst it would be super easy to say that William Hartnell is the best actor in the episode the fact is that the best actor in this episode is Peter Purves as he does get alot of screen time in this episode and therefor gets more of a chance to show us just what it is that he can do as an actor something which he does take full advantage of as as well as having the more action scenes that his character would usually get he also gets alot of the episodes more dramatic scenes as well which he does pull off really well with the acting that's in this episode really being helped by the fact that the script for this episode is just so good that all this episodes actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


For once I really cannot list who did the animation for this episode as there is no animation company listed anywhere online. Now then interms of what u personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad with the episode having what can best be described as being a rather simplistic animation style something which was no doubt due to the fact that these animations never really have a huge budget for them and yet that simplicity is something that does work well enough in this episodes as while you can tell where they cut alot of corners as you never see the characters legs move when there walking for example you do get some really nice looking backgrounds out of it due to how simple that they look with the characters designs looking as close to there real life actors as they could possibly get them altho if truth be told The Celestial Toymaker has the better animation to it as that episode really takes full advantage of the fact that it's being animated by giving us weird and unique looking visuals where as this episode due to it's plot and setting really can't do that and therefor the animation does come across as being a bit on the weak side this is despite the fact that this episodes director AnneMarie Walsh has worked on some of the better animated Doctor Who adventures with her even directing a fait chunk of them herself and yet here everything about the animation just looked cheap this is of course of no fault of the animators rather it's the fault of the BBC for not giving them a big enough budget in the first place.


This episode actually slowly starts the end of William Hartnells run in the show as this episode sees the departure of Steven with the following episode seeing the departure of Dodo and the episode after that being the episode where his doctor regenerates. With Steven leaving the show being something that actor Peter Purvis hated with him quoted as saying "I was unhappy to leave it, actually, I didn’t particularly want it to stop there, but the policy of the programme had changed and they’d decided that they were not going to keep the companions onboard for longer than a year, or so I understand." with the departure of his character being something that was rushed as it only gets brought it up in the literal final moments of the episode and is never mentioned at all during the rest of the episode whereas you could have made an entire episode about Steven wanting to leave the TARDIS for whatever reason and have it be this nig impactful thing and yet it's something that gets treated as an afterthought but he gets the goldstar treatment when compared to Dodo as he actually leaves the show on screen whereas with her she disappears for half of the episode and then decides off screen that she wants to leave the TARDIS but on a much more happy note this episode does also mark the first time that the episode had just one one title as all of the episodes up until the previous episode each had individual titles to them with this one even being one of the very few episodes of classic Doctor Who that was mostly filmed on location with the crew even making of a quarry for the first time in Doctor Who history and yet even with all of those first it's the fact that a key character is disregarded this badly that does bring the whole thing down as Steven would never willingly leave The Doctor it would take something truly special for him to leave the TARDIS and acting as the middle man while two sides gets used to living with each other isn't a good enough reason for him to leave the show for good.

Like a shockingly lot of classic Doctor Who this episode is still missing as we only have the audio for the episode some tele snaps and a few brief bits of footage recorded on an eight millimeter camera and that's it. As all of four of these episodes just don't exist anymore which is still a sad thing to see as this episode as forgettable as it can be is still one that is very enjoyable and should be available for all to watch as the makers of the episode had originally intended it to be viewed and heck we don't even have a production file for this episode as the BBC just never bothered to keep alot of the documents for this episode it is possible that the missing episodes are still around in someone private collection somewhere which would be a good thing as it would mean that alot of this third series of Doctor Who would be found and yet it won't change the fact that the BBC chose to wipe the episode after possibly selling the tapes around the world as it would be interesting to see this episode as the makers of this show had originally intended for it be seen as the makers of these animations do make changes to the character designs alot of the time and therefor they aren't the truest representation of what the original episode would have looked and yet for now it is the closest we will ever get to seeing this episode at all as there's not been news on any missing Doctor Who episodes being found for quite some time now which is sad as alot of shows not just this one do deserve to have all of there episodes be found so that new generations can discover them and watch them and with a show like Doctor Who which does have this huge fanbase already that spans generations it would be a great way to get the fans of newer Doctor Who into classic Doctor Who as well.


The villains of this episode are The Elders who are this seeming peace loving group of people who have evolved to the point where they allow there artists and there scientists to do whatever they want which usually results in them creating masterpieces. Yet underneath this bright exterior lies the truth of the matter as while they present themselves as having free will and are able to do whatever they want they are unable to go into certain parts of there home and are unable to leave there city's ground with The Elders being more controlling then what they let on and with the Savages they are more free despite not having as much as the Elders have with the Savages basically used as ways for The Elders to remain young as they suck the life force out of the Savages something which Dodo quickly catches on to as she does catch them doing this to one of the Savages as they just have to take it due to the Elders having a gun that makes them do whatever they want yet even with this cool idea for villains the episode really doesn't go all the way with it as the elders themselves don't really have an end goal in mind with it seeming like they are evil just for the sake of being being evil whereas an episode like this would have worked all the more better if they did have an end goal like for example as they see the savages as being inferior to them it would make sense that they were doing this to get rid of them entirely something that they wouldn't have known would effect them in a negative way as they believe themselves to be these perfect people and yet the makers of this episode chose to not really give them any kind of motivation which is something that does make them feel like a waste of a really cool idea.

Now then whilst I cannot for the absolutely life of me remember whatever this episodes grand total running time was I do know that this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of roughly one hour and thirty eight minuets. With this episode being a shockingly small four episodes which yes granted is a decent episode count for Doctor Who but this is an episode that really should have been five or six episodes long as the final two episodes throw so much at you that it doesn't have enough time to fully develop them whereas if the episode was just an episode or two longer all of those ideas could be more fleshed with the episode having more then enough plot there to cover that amount of running time and yet even so the episode doesn't use it's running time all that wisely a it doesn't develop it's plot at all with this mainly due to the fact that the episode has to rush from plot point to plot point to fit that four episode limit which does mean that the episode can't have enough time to breathe and let it's plot develop with this even affecting the episodes characters as well as none of them get any character development which is fine for the main series characters as you could argue that they get there development in the episodes but for the episodes guest characters there really should have been some character development given to them with this being something that they could have gotten if the episode ha more episodes in it as then we'd get the chance to find more about them and even Steven who leaves at the end of this episode gets nothing interms of character development either but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really bad pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. While classic Doctor Who was always more of an adventure show that never really had that many great action scenes in it which is something that is still the case for this episode what little action that they did have did look good and was more impactful because of the fact that there was an action scene every five minuets which again is also true for this episode as while the episode really only has the two action scenes they both work as well as they could have done because of the fact that there wasn't alot of action scenes in the episode and yet this episodes action is one that could have been so much better as it just felt more tame when compared to action scenes in other classic Doctor Who episodes with the best action scene in the whole episode being when The Doctor and his allies destroy the Elders main lab as it was just a simple scene and while nothing cool happens in that scene it was fun seeing our heroes really just destroying and breaking things in there just for the sake of it and while the attack of the Savages cave was a good scene there was nothing really to that scene outside of one cool shot with Steven only just dodging the Elder light gun and that was really it but it was still a really good action scene in it's own right in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall it i easy to see why this serial is forgettable at best as outside of the departure of Steven there's really nothing all that memorable about the episode itself as alot of it does feel like that they were running out of steam when it comes to this era of Doctor Who in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 7 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Tardis . Wiki and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great Tardis . Wiki really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Tardis . Wiki really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Friday, 26 December 2025

Doctor Who: Resolution Review


Whilst Doctor Who has done quite alot of Christmas specials since it first came back in 2005 there was a time when the show did abandon that tradition and move instead into doing yearly New Years specials instead. Whilst it could be very well be argued that The End Of Time Part 2 is technically a New Years Day special given that the first part aired on Christmas Day is does kind of fall into a grey area however the episode that i'm going to be reviewing for you all today is the first official New Years Day special as this episode did actually air on New Years Day itself back in 2019 and so then join me as I review the episode that sees The Doctor and her friends come up against an old and very deadly foe with the episode in question being called simply just "Resolution" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when two archaeologists accidentally awaken part of a monster that was buried n Sheffield many years ago its up to them and The Doctor and her friends to save the say before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad with alot of the plots from around this time in Doctor Who being noting more then OK at best and that is very much the case here as well as the plot doesn't really feel all that special and instead feels like just another episode of the show as there's nothing all that special about the plot of the episode with the episodes plot being at best thin as the episode doesn't really spend alot of time on focusing on it's plot with the episode instead giving us alot of time with Ryan and his dad and even then the episode doesn't really fully commit to their plot either but in saying this tho for a New Years Day special this is the kind of plot that does oddly work as it gives you everything that you'd want to see in an episode of Doctor Who and yet the plot of the episode does feel like that it's lacking that extra special something to make it work as a special episode of the show as the episode isn't campy enough to work as a special episode and yet it's not as serious enough to work as an episode of the show itself with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Jodie Whittaker as The Doctor ,  Bradley Walsh as Graham O'Brien and Tosin Cole as Ryan Sinclair. Also starring in this episode is Mandip Gill as Yasmin Khan , Charlotte Ritchie as Lin , Nikesh Patel as Mitch , Daniel Adegboyega as Aaron Sinclair , Darryl Clark as Police Officer Will , Connor Calland as Security Guard Richard , James Lewis as Farmer Dinkle , Laura Evelyn as Call Centre Polly and Nicholas Briggs as The Voice Of The Dalek.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With it being made clear as day that not only are all of this episodes characters perfectly well cast with ach of their respective actors brining something unique to there characters but that all of this episodes actors are having a blast with this episode with that fun coming through in their performances on screen and while the Jodie Whittaker era does rightfully get alot of flack for it's lack of actually good stories the one thing that alot of the episode in this era got right was it's acting and that is something that is also true for this episode as while it is expected that the main series actors would turn in a good performance what wasn't expected was for the episodes guest actors to be just as good as the shows main actors excluding of course Nicholas Briggs who is reprising his role as the voice of the Daleks as all of this episode actors are just so perfectly well cast that it is hard to picture anybody else playing these characters and while it would be easy to say that Jodie Whittaker is the episodes best actor as she really is on top form as The Doctor in this episode the best actor in the whole entire episode has to be Charlotte Ritchie as Lin as if you've seen her in the UK version of Ghosts then you'll know that she can do comedy and yet here in this episode she proves that she can do drama as well as she gets alot of the episodes more drama heavy scenes and she pulls them of so well and so effortlessly with the acting that's in this very episode not really being helped by the fact that this episodes script is just so bad as it gives none of this episodes actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does hurt the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


Doing the CGI for this episode is the legends and the greats that are currently over at DNEG and REAL SFX. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good as while the show has never really had good CGI in it even in the early 2005 series the CGI was at best wonky looking you can tell tho that in this special there was a huge budget given to it given the amount of effects that are in the episode as not only do we have standard effects of a Dalek blat and the TARDIS dematerializing and rematerializing but we also have a Dalek removing it's balls to reveal rockets inside it's casing and a Dalek taking off and while those are some decent looking effects the episode does have some really bad looking effects in it as well as they make alot of use of CGI sparks in the TARDIS which is something that does stand out a mile with even the effect of the Dalek flying looking pretty bad but that may be more due to the fact that the effect has aged badly as it is something that would have looked really good in 2019 and yet because of how fast the world of CGI moves effects from back then even great looking ones have started to show there age when it would have made more sense for them to the scenes with the Dalek flying practically as they have a practical Dalek in the episode so it wouldn't have been that hard to hang up either a blue screen or a green and put in whatever background was needed at the time as while Doctor Who will always be an effects heavy show that doesn't mean that you need to do everything in CGI as even tho alot of this episodes effects do look really good alot of them are things that could have been for real and they would have looked alot more better if they were done for real.


This episode is one that does carry on the tradition of having The Doctor face the Daleks with it just being the one scout Dalek this time around. With the Daleks getting a new design as they now look like they've been made out of spare bits and pieces that someone has found lying in their shed which is something that does make sense given the fact that this particular Dalek was sent on a mission to scout Earth during a war and the fact that he was destroyed by humans only to come back decades later which is a pretty good way of bringing them back without it feeling like that there just treading on the same grounds which is something that they very easily could have dine and even saving them for a special and not just a regular episode of the show does make there appearance feel just that special with the only thing that lets them down in this episode is the fact that they make The Doctor look dumb as this Dalek doesn't know that alot of other Daleks have been killed off by The Doctor and yet when this Dalek says that it will send a message out into space to tell more Daleks that Earth is ready for them The Doctor should have said that there are no more Daleks as alot of them have been killed and as far as this Doctor is concerned that would be true and yet she says nothing she just lets it continue with it's plan thus putting the Earth in more danger which is something that The Doctor wouldn't do granted she was pretty much blinded by rage which was most likely clouding her judgement but it is something that makes this version of The Doctor seem a bit dumb when it would have been in character for her to put the Earth first and tell the Dalek that there's no Daleks coming to help it.

There was one thing that was kind of missing in this episode and that's the fact that we don't get to see The Doctor get angry at the sight of there being another Dalek still alive and well. As while she does look kind of angry and shocked when she first finds out that the DNA that she's been scanning does infact belong to that of a Dalek she doesn't get outright angry or show really any kind of emotion towards the creature which is something that The Doctor should always do as this is the creature that killed billions of her own people and drove her to the point where the only way they she could end the time war was to blow up her own planet thus killing all known time lords and given the fact that alot of the previous Doctors in modern Doctor Who have always shown some level of anger towards a Dalek when they first see them it is something that would have worked really well with this version of the character as this is a character that is still carrying that guilt of what she did during the time war as don't forget she doesn't know if she saved Gallifrey or not so for all she could know the Daleks could still be on the planet killing them and she might have failed in her task of saving her own planet so she would get angry at the very thought of possibly seeing a Dalek and yet we get nothing from her even tho Jodie does try her best to put across that anger it's not something that the episode goes deep into and with her Doctor basically being the final Doctor to face the Daleks it would have been perfectly in keeping with her character if she did show some sort of emotion towards them as they are the ones that would demand the biggest emotional reaction from her due to all of the pain and suffering that they've caused her to go through. 


For one reason or another this episode basically has two different endings as they have the ending where the team think that they've destroyed the Dalek and then they have another ending on boards the Tardis where Ryan has to save his Dalek controlled dad from being sucked into a sun. With it being this second ending that really isn't needed as while yes it is very cinematic to look at it also does two things the first of which being the fact that it makes The Doctor look even more dumb as she willingly brings an out of its casing Dalek on board the Tardis and it also feels like a filler scene with that also being true for Ryan's subplot in this episode as all his plot is him trying to reconnect with his long lost dad and that's it and while that is great for the character that's also not something that needed to be seen in the episode as it adds nothing to the plot of the episode as if the makers of this shoe just ended this episode with the lone Dalek being defeated in the tower it would have been a perfectly serviceable ending and yet for one reason or another the makers of this episode felt like that they had to include another ending when they really didn't as while the stuff with Ryan and his dad was pretty good it's something to base your whole ending around as people would be waning to see The Doctor find a creative way to foil the Dalek's plan which is something that we already got in the original ending and by having her bring the Dalek on board the Tardis it makes The Doctor look dumb as now the Dalek could've just taken control of her and thus taken control of the Tardis sometimes doing less with your ending is alot better and that's something that the makers of this episode should have done they should have just stuck with the one ending which was really good and had some cool moments in it then stick on a pointless ending just to get this episode to over a one hour running time.

Now then this episode has / had a really exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and two seconds. Which to be fair to this episode is a perfectly solid running time for the episode to have with this running time pretty much being the running time for alot of the Jodie Whittaker era episodes with this episode having the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time in the first and yet this episode is one that really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as the episode doesn't take the time that it needs to fully develop it's plot as it does feel like that things are just happening for the sake of happening and not because of the fact that they effect the main plot of the episode when the episode should have taken time away from the subplot with Ryan and his dad as that's mostly filler anyway and given to the main plot of the episode as by doing that the episode would then be able to reach that one hour long time limit with the episode not even taking the time to fully develop it's characters and while this wouldn't be seen as being that big of a deal if the main characters were developed in the main show the main main shoe itself doesn't take the time to fully develop it's characters with Yaz being the best example of this as we know just just as much about her coming out of this episode then we did coming in to the episode and she's a main character of the show heck the inside character guide in The Thirteenth Doctor comic books give us more information about her character then this episode and shoe did with even the episodes new characters getting nothing in the way of character development as well as we know as much about them coming out of the episode then we did coming into the episode but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With this episodes action being one of the best things about the episode as a whole as it's just that much fun to watch with it being made clear as day that the makers of this episode put alot more thought and effort into the episodes action then they did the actual writing and plot of the episode as this episodes action is just that fun to watch with them all having alot of really cool moments in them with the best action scene in the whole entire episode being the episodes third act as we get to see The Doctor an her friends work together to take out the singular Dalek in a really creative way with us even getting to see just how powerful that one singular Dalek is something that we have seen before but is always nice to see again and heck it's even during what should have been the episodes ending where we get to see The Doctor actually melt the Dalek casing which is just so cool to see and is perhaps the coolest moment in the episode due to the fact that we don't get to see that happen at all in the show and while the extra ending in this episode is pointless it also is a really cool action scene that is tense as Ryan does struggle to stop his dad from being sucked out of the Tardis and into a sun with all of the rest of this episodes action being really good as well as you can tell that the makers of this episode really did know how to create some really cool looking action scenes in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.  


Overall this episode is nothing more then the stereotypical Jodie Whittaker era episode and really nothing new then that as while the idea of having one love Dalek on earth is such a cool idea the episode does nothing interesting with that idea as it wastes what is a cool idea on an episode that could have been so much better then what it actually was as this episode is just that average in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Amazon . Co . Uk and Tardis . Wiki. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great Tardis . Wiki really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Tardis . Wiki are also all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.