Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Marvel. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Marvel. Show all posts

Wednesday, 25 March 2026

Daredevil: Born Again "The Northern Star" SPOILER FILLED Review

 

It is a very rare thing for a show set in the Marvel Cinematic Universe to be given a season 2 as all of them end after there first season. Which is something that does make this show kind of special as it was greenlit with a two season order with each season being really around nine or eight episodes each and will second season has just started and since I loved the first season it really only made sense that I check out this episode and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED review of the episode that sees Matt get a new suit with the episode in question being called simply just "The Northern Star" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is sometime after the events of the last season New York is still truly under Fisk's thumb and Matt has to try and find any kind of evidence that can be linked to Fisk in order to help to bring him down. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With the episodes plot doing a good job of not only catching us up with where the characters are now but also in carrying on the plot for the first season with that plot still being as gripping as it was back in season one yet just based off of this episode it does look like that this season won't add anything to the shows overall plot which is something that does somewhat make sense as this shows plot was devised mostly with that two season order in mind and yet the plot of this episode still does feel like it's own unique thing as you don't really have to have watched the previous season to get the plot of this episode. Yet the thing that does let down this episodes plot is the fact that it's not the strongest plot to start the season out with and with any TV show you always want to start with your best foot forward with this episodes plot feeling very weak and like it was thought up very quickly as alot of what was said in this episode does appear to be nothing all that major with the plot of this episode being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least


Starring in this episode is Charlie Cox as Matt Murdock / Daredevil and Vincent D'Onofrio as Wilson Fisk. Also starring in this episode is Deborah Ann Woll as Karen Page , Margarita Levieva as Heather Glenn , Matthew Lillard as Mr. Charles , Tony Dalton as Jack Duquesne , Michael Gandolfini as Daniel Blake , Nikki M. James as Kirsten McDuffie , Arty Froushan as Buck Cashman , Genneya Walton as BB Urich , Zabryna Guevara as Sheila Rivera , Clark Johnson as Cherry , Ayelet Zurer as Vanessa Fisk , Hamish Allan-Headley as Connor Powell , Ty Jones as Steverud , John Benjamin Hickey as Benjamin Hochberg , Thomas Cokenias as Achilleo Kyriaco , Yorgos Karamihos as Christofi Savva , Annie Parisse as Ariana , Lenny Platt as Juan Gomez and Michael Anthony Cruz as Longshoreman.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With all of this shows main actors giving us some really good performances which given just whom is starring in this episode is something that was quite frankly to be expected where te acting does somewhat start to faulter is with it's guest actors as alot of them either overact in every scene that there in or show next to no emotion in scenes that do require emotion with the best example of this being in the episodes opening where a ships captain and his possibly second in command are talking while Daredevil is attacking there ship and yet they both don't show any kind of urgency as they play it off as being just another day at the office for them when this is something that would require alot of emotion. With the best actor in this episode being Matthew Lillard as Mr. Charles as not only does Matthew Lillard prove once again why he's a good actor and why he's having some really good few years acting wise but he does come across as being a less cocky version of Fisk himself with him and Vincent D'Onofrio really having some really good chemistry together which is something that does make all of there scenes together all the mor fun to watch. With the acting that's in this episode really being helped by the fact that this episodes script is just so good that all this episodes actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.
 

Doing the CGI for this episode is Ingenuity Studios and the legends and the greats that are currently over at RISE Visual Effects Studios. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With this episode mainly using CGI in the way that it should be used as it's only used to extend sets and that's really it so no need to to fear there is no CGI smoke in this episode with the episode very much like the show on the whole preferring to us practical effects over CGI effects with the episodes practical effects working really well and blending it well with the episodes CGI. The episode does even manage to gave some fairly convincing looking water effects which is impressive on it's own as water is one of the most difficult things to get right on a feature film budget let alone on a streaming show budget and while they don't quite get it right here given that the scene that it appears in as at night it is forgivable even taking into account that this is a Disney show while there are some kind of bad looking green screen effects done on certain characters it's not really all that distracting it's just something that you will notice and that's really it but to be fair to this episode tho this show isn't an effects heavy show it never was in the first season and it looks like that's going to be true for this season as well and therefor for them to have good looking effects that blend in really well with what filmed for real is still something that's truly special to be hold.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!




To be blunt Fisk in this episode doesn't really have that much on an impact on the episode as a whole as the only thing that he does is tell his task force officers to track down the two people on the ship and have a meeting with Mr. Charles. Which fair enough is still a solid enough way to use the character but when you bare in mind that season one of this show used the character so well by showing him being this manipulative person who is really willing to do whatever it takes to achieve his goals it makes what they do with him in this episode feel less impactful as they could have shown him and his wife filming fake videos to release to the public which is something that does get shown quite alot in this episode and they could have shown him getting mad when he finds out that one of his boats was attacked just something that would let us the audience know that Daredevil is starting to get to him and that he's starting to loose it. Yet at the same time tho the fact that they don't do any of that does make you wonder what he's really thinking as we all know from both the Netflix show and this shows first season that Wilson Fisk is a character who is always thinking two or three moves ahead of everyone else and therefor when he discovers that one of his boats was attacked he would already be thinking of ways to hurt or persons responsible for the attack in the first place and heck it could even be argued that this character is more scary when we don't see him react to it as we know just how evil that this character really is in the first place and while it is of course far two early to work out just what his grand scheme is for New York we know that it is something that is going to be scary just due to the fact that he is a creepy and scary character.

Much like how in the first episode of the previous season where they killed of Foggy Nelson here in this episode they hint at the fact that Cherry might be dead. Due to the fact that at the end of the episode when members of the task force come to interrogate him they give him a beating which his heart can't handle and starts to suffer a heart attack right there as Matt as Daredevil is trying to fight them off. With it being that very incident that made this review got from a SPOILER FREE review to a SPOILER FILLED review as while Cherry isn't as beloved of a character as Foggy was he was still a core member of Matt's inner circle of friends and having the episode eve hint at him dying was something that will be shocking thing to see but it is one that could have been handled more better due to the fact that they have it be the episodes cliff hanger which don't get wrong is a great cliff hanger to have as it makes you want to watch episode two of this show. On the flip side of that tho is the fact that it's pretty obvious that there not going to kill him off as then they would risk repeating everything that they did in the first season with Foggy's death and even then his death only worked due to the fact that the character appeared on the Netflix show and therefor the fans of that show already have that connection to his character where as here with Cherry he's a newly introduced character and therefor having him be killed of in a way that granted is still quite shocking to see just wouldn't have the same effect as when Foggy was killed of. However tho having Cherry be the one to possibly die would be a great way to rise the stakes a little bit as it would still tell us the audience that if this character can die then maybe Matt himself can die.


Also in that ending scene we do get a hint that Bullseye is going to be playing a big part in either the rest of the season or the next episode. As we see a knife come into Cherry's apartment and take out all of the task force agents which if so is going to make for an interesting next few episodes as it was him that killed of Foggy so having him and Matt sort of form a team even tho that both don't like each other is something that will make it interesting to see if they both can get along for the greater good and heck even the tease of him coming back in the next episode is a solid way to end the episode as now we the audience get to make theories on if he's going to be working with Matt or not or if he's saving Matt so that he can take him down himself. All of which are things that would work well for his character as while I never saw that much of the Netflix show based on his few appearances in the previous season of this show he does seem like the kind of character who would want to save the man that did try to kill him just so that he could be the one to deliver the killing blow himself but of course there could be another reason as to why he was teased at the end of this episode all of which do make this show fun to watch as there are so many theories that we all could come up with and the best part of all is that until any of them are confirmed by the show itself they could all be true and yet knowing the makers of this show there going to do the one thing that none of us would have thought of what it ends up being. While yes it would have worked just as well if they did show us the character even if it's just quickly very early on in the episode the fact that they didn't do that makes his possible return at the end of the episode all the more exciting.

Now then this film has / had an exact gran total running time of exactly fifty minuets and forty two seconds. Which to be fair to this episode is pretty much the bogstandard running time for this shows episodes to have in the first place with this episode having just about the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time in the first place. Yet this episode really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as the episode doesn't take the time to fully develop it's plot with the plot of the episode feeling like it's playing second fiddle to everything else that's going on in the episode and yet when you compare it to the plot of the first episode of the previous season that episodes plot was as well developed as it was going to be given the fact that it was the first episode of a new show and yet here in this episode it felt like the makers of this show forgot how to make a good first episode as everything just felt very by the numbers with very little of what the episodes plot does do feeling earned. With the same thing being true for the episodes characters as well altho here you could make the argument that all of them don't really need there character development as alot of the older characters would of course have had the Netflix show and the first season of this show to get there character development which is fair enough and for the new characters you could make the case that they are going to be getting there character development in future episodes of this season but either way it still would have been nice if we got to find something literally anything about this episodes new characters as we find out nothing about Mr. Charles outside of possibly where was born and we get to find out nothing about Ariana this is despite the fact that she's technically a major character in this episode but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I gave to actually talk about the action action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With the episode having all of the really good action that you have come to expect from this show not only from the previous season but also from the Netflix show as well with the episodes action looking as impressive as you'd want it to be given the fact that it's Daredevil and to the episodes credit it doesn't shy away from showing the hero getting beaten up something which they very easily could have done but the fact that they didn't do that does oddly make Matt Murdock seem more human. With the best action scene un the whole entire episode being the episodes opening scene as we get to see Matt as daredevil take on several guys basically at once in the cargo area of a ship with him flipping them into boxes and knocking them all out in really creative ways all which does make that action really fun to watch as much like how the action in the opening of James Bond film gets you excited for the rest of the film it could be argued that that's what that opening action scene does. The episode does even somewhat contrast that by having a more smaller action scene at the end of the episode where daredevil now has to take about four task force agents in Cherry's home with Daredevil winning the fight until he hears Cherry's heart and realizes what's going on which does give those agents the moment that they need to go in for the kill with them only being stopped by Bullseye's knife attacking and killing all four of them with the rest of the action in this episode being really good in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall for an episode that was barely promoted as there's only really been one trailer and three posters released for this new season this episode is still a really good as it does a good job of setting up the rest of the season whilst doing the one thing that all good first episodes should do and that's make you want to watch episode two as that's just how good that this episode really is in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well a all of the bad thigs that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does ern itself a grand old score of exactly a 7.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys an girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very post being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Friday, 6 March 2026

The Invincible Iron Man Film Review


While many people remember DC Comic's line of direct to DVD animated films not alot of people no off or even remember the fact that Marvel also had a line a direct to DVD animated films. With the line not being that long and being very short lived with it starting not with the film that i'm going to be talking to you all about today but odd enough with a pair of Avengers movies with the film that i'm going to be talking to you all about today being the third film that they released this is despite the fact that it features a characters that was in both of the Avengers movies and is played by the same actor and so then join me as I review the film that basically tells the exactly same as the 2008 Iron Man with the film in question being called simply just "The Invincible Iron Man" enjoy.

The plot of this film is after he is kidnapped and nearly killed by his own weapon Tony Stark goes on a mission to stop the evil villain The Mandarin from coming back to life. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad with this films plot for the most part being a really well done plot that does try to tell a good a story but then you take into account that they squeeze in the origin story for Tony Stark as well as Tony having a subplot with his father all of which does make this film feel a bit over stuffed with the films main plot being left to fight for screen time and feeling like that it wasn't strong enough to support the film on it's own when the idea of Tony having to travel around the world to find these magical rings before these monsters representing the four elements find them is something that could have made for a more interesting plot line and yet due to he fact that the film does have two other subplots in it which OK fair enough you do kind of have to do the origin story and to the films credit they do tie the origin story into the main plot of the film but we didn't the plot with Tony and Howard having a more fractured relationship as all that does is take away focus from the films main plot which does leave the main of plot of the film feel really undercooked ad not all that well thought out with the plot of this film not really being really rather entertaining and as well as not really being really rather engaging either in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Starring in this film is Marc Worden as Tony Stark / Iron Man , Rodney Saulsberry as James Rhodes and  Hulk And The Agents Of S.M.A.S.H. and Avengers Assemble star Fred Tatasciore as The Mandarin. Also starring in this film is Gwendoline Yeo as Li Mei , Elisa Gabrielli as Virginia "Pepper" Potts , John McCook as Howard Stark , James Sie as Wong-Chu , Stephen Mendillo as Boyer and John DeMita as Agent Drake.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With this films acting being nothing more then OK at best which is kind of understandable as out of all of this films actors only one of them is reprising their role with that being Marc Worden who played the role of Tony Stark in the two Ultimate Avengers movies and therefor it does make sense that he would turn in a good performance in this film as he would have gotten the chance to know what his version of the character would say or do and could adjust his performance accordingly and while people do expect a good performance from Fred Tatasciore with him being just that good of an actor he and Marc are the only good performances in this film as the rest pf this films just feel oddly miscast with Elisa even giving Pepper what could be a British accent for some weird and unknown reason with the best actor in the whole film being Fred Tatasciore as even tho he doesn't say much in the film and doesn't have alot of screen time he really does make it count even single time that he has a line of dialog with him giving this The Mandarin this big and booming voice which is something is something that does suit this version of the character with the acting that's in this film not really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so bad as it gives none of this films actors absolutely nothing to work interms of what it is that there characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that it's in this very film.


Doing the animation for this film is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Starburst Animation. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty average at best with the films characters having some really nice designs to them and the films backgrounds looking very nice to look but the thing that lets down the animation in really all of these direct to DVD Marvel films is the fact that they give the characters all of these shadows all over there body which just looks so off putting  with it feeling like the makers of this film cared more about the shadows on the characters then they did about anything else just due to how much shadow that there is n all of these characters and while yes the films action scenes do look pretty good with the film using a mixture of handdrawn 2D animation and early 3D CGI animation the shadows on the characters is something that does stick out like a sore thumb as it comes across as the makers of this film wanting to make this film look cinematic without having the budget to do and therefor alot of the animation especially when it comes to the characters movements does come across as looking stilted and yet when you look at what DC was doing around the same time with there line of direct to DVD films the difference is night as day as DC was putting in alot of thought and effort into there animated outputs where as here with Marvel it feels like that there doing the bare minimum with this films cheap looking animation being a good example of that. 


This film basically copies the exact same story that we would get in the 2008 Iron Man film even down to having The Mandarin play apart in both films. With his group the ten rings being who kidnaps Tony in the live action film where as here in this film he's the main villain and yet its the 2008 film that did this story alot more better as that film knew to set up the characters first and show them how they all were before the events of the film changed them either for the better or for the worse and therefor when Tony says " I am Iron Man" at the end of the film it means alot more in that film due to the fact that we've seen his character start t grow and change for the better where as here in this film we don't get to see anything like that as he just decides to be Iron Man for no reason and heck he apparently spent months if not years creating a bunch of suits for every possible situation thus hinting that he's already changed as a character and has become this perfect character who can do no wrong this is despite the fact that we see him lie to Rhodey at the start of the film and yet in the 2008 film we see how Tony's actions effect not only himself when he's kidnaped by The Ten Rings but also those around him as well and yet when the same thing happens in this film we don't get to see how Tony's actions effect those around him outside of the fact that it's due to Tony wanting to rise this ancient Chinese city that kick starts the events of the whole film with this going to show that if the makers of this film wanted to truly make a good Iron Man film then they shouldn't have done the bare minimum rather they should have gone the extra mile to understand why these characters work so well in the first place.

To be kind of fair to this film this film does feel like one of the many direct to DVD Lego Batman movies that DC used to put out. In that all of the characters are going to be very clear cut good guys and bad guys with them all basically being how you expect them to be in the comics with nothing new added to them and that's great as this is a film that it could be argued was there just to sell the toys given the amount of suits that we see Tony already has in the film but at the same time tho if that was the case then you have to wonder why there wasn't more effort put into the film in the first place as even cartoons from the eighties alot of which were quite literally made to sell the toys still had alot of thought and effort put into them and yet here in this film everything just felt very cookie cutter as the film has this awkward dialog where the characters have to explain their relationship to each other which is something that does make some form of sense due to the fact that Iron Man wasn't that big of a character at the time of this films release and while that kind of dialog does make sense in a way that this film is clearly meant for little kids badly done dialog will always be badly done dialog no matter who the target audience is and even then due to the fact that this film earned itself a PG-13 rating it's debatable on if this film was even made for kids as there is a scene where a female characters appears nude with the film censoring it with some steam with that being something that does make the film feel more adult and yet all that does is clash with the films overall more kid friendly nature as the rest of the film is like those Lego DC films only here it doesn't have the charm or the wit to pull it of with it coming across as being half baked as a result of that.


As was stated earlier on in this review this films main villain is The Mandarin with him actually being better in this film then he was in Iron Man 3. Due to the fact that in this film he is a former Chinese emperor who has these mystical powers which are tied to his rings and while he doesn't really appear until the very end of the film and therefor can't leave much on impact on the film itself this is something that does work in the films favor as it now means that the film can spend more time in building him up as this truly terrifying figure and one that we all should fear and while the film doesn't really do that as this after all a cheaply made direct to DVD movie the fact that he has this cult like group that are dedicated to stopping him from coming back is something that does help to sell you on just how feared that he was when he was alive with the only thing that lets the character down is the fact that he doesn't really have an end goal in mind with him just being evil and brought back to live purely for the sake of it which doesn't make him an interesting character especially when there is quite alot of that you could do with this character given his backstory for this film like maybe he wants to reclaim his place as the leader of China or maybe just wants to take over the world which yes is a generic villain plot but give that this film is one that's made with kids in mind it still works with another thing that works for the character is the fact that he has the four western earth elements all working to try and bring him back with it being only Iron Man who can stop them which is a really cool idea and to the films credit it does do the best that it could have done with that idea as we do get to see Iron Man take on all four of those elements in really creative looking environments.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and twenty three minuets and three seconds. With that being a pretty solid running time for this film to have even taking into account that it does gave to tell the whole Iron Man origin story and still a decent plot at the same time with this film having the right amount of plot there to really cover that amount of running time with the thing that does let this film down from a running time point of view being the fact that the film does feel like that it's trying to tell to many stories as we have the main plot , the Iron Man origin story and the plot with Tony and his dad and the film can't do all three of those stories with the running time that it has as it would mean that that all three stories are left fighting with screen time with this meaning that the film can't use it's running time all that wisely as it can't develop any of its plots due to the fact that the film now has to rush along to the next plot point and while yes of course you do need to have the origin story in there you don't need the plot with Tony and his dad as all that does is eat up screen time that would have been better used giving plot development to the films main plot as the origin story doesn't eat up that much screen time in the place and therefor doesn't really need that much development where as the main plot is left feeling wafer thin with it feeling like that there are no stakes to the films plot as the film doesn't tell us what the stakes are with the film not even bothering to give the characters any kind of character development as they all come across as being very one dimensional due to the fact that the film doesn't take the time that it could have had to give us more well thought out and developed characters but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With this films action being as good as it was every going to be taking into account this film was quite clearly made both cheaply and quickly with the film taking full advantage of the fact that Iron Man has to essentially go up against the four elements by having hm take them on in some really creative backgrounds that force him to think outside of the box something which does make sense given that these are meant to be his first foes as a hero and therefor it would make sense that he would struggle to beat them with the best action scene in the whole entire film being the third act fight as we see Tony back in his original Iron Man suit now being forced to take on not only The Mandarin but also a horde of creatures outside of The Mandarins temple all of whom want Tony dead with this action scene working because of the fact that we get to see Tony be forced to used his brains and not just rely on his more modern Iron Man suits to do all of the work for him and while it's sadly not Iron Man that delivers the final blow to The Mandarin as that honor goes to Li Mei for some odd reason the whole with The Mandarin the fight leading up to that moment is one that does work really well as we get to see just how strong that The Mandarin is as a villain with him quite easily beating up Tony in the original Iron Man suit with the rest of this films action scenes being just as good in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall the best way to describe this film is that it's an average film and if you go into this film with those kind of expectations then you might come out of it liking the film a whole lot but at the same time given the fact that the film copied the main story beats of the 2008 Iron Man film but did them worse you might as well as just stick to that film as you'd be getting a much more better expirence with the exact same story beats in it in my freaking opinions anyways / anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad thigs that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Amazon . Co . Uk , IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very film that I used in this very post being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very film with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 28 January 2026

Wonder Man TV Series SPOILER FILLED Review


Marvel releases alot of new shows and movies all of the time and yet they always give them alot of fanfare. Yet what many of you might not realize is the fact that they have a new show coming out and yet there remaining radio silent on it this is despite the fact that there usually really good when it comes to promoting things set in the MCU and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED review of the show that is basically a comedy show with the show in question being called simply just "Wonder Man" enjoy.

The plot of this show is when he goes up for a starring role in the remake of Wonder Man Simon Williams not only has to confront his own past but also the fact that Hollywood no longer excepts superheroes as actors all while dealing with Trevor Slattery. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad with this shows plot being one that you can see all pf the plot twists coming a mile away but due to how fun that the plot of this show you kind of don't mind that as what makes this shows plot work as well as it does is the character interactions between Simon and Trevor as they do bring out the best in each other and to be fair we do get some really fun and funny scenes with them but just because there interactions are nice doesn't make up for the fact that the plot of this show is one that is on of the weak side of things with this shows plot being so weak hat at times it was hard to tell just what the plot of the show was even meant to be in the first place as for a large portion of the show they just drop the part where both characters are up for roles in this movie and while that might be understandable if this show was twenty two episodes long as then you can have episodes that don't focus on the plot here tho as this is only eight episodes long every episode of the show needs to be about advancing the plot of the show with the plot of this show really being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this show is Yahya Abdul-Mateen II as Simon Williams ,  Arian Moayed as P. Cleary and X Mayo as Janelle Jackson. Also starring in this show is Zlatko Burić as Von Kovak , Joe Pantoliano as Himself , Demetrius Grosse as Eric Williams , Ed Harris as Neal Saroyan , Byron Bowers as DeMarr Davis / Doorman , Juliette Ortega as Melanie , Olivia Thirlby as Vivian , Shola Adewusi as Martha Williams , Dane Larsen as Brent Willard and Sir Ben Kingsley as Trevor Slattery.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good. With it being crystal clear that all of this shows main actors really do know how to turn in a really good performance something which is helped by the fact that he show is lead by two really good actors in Sir Ben Kingsley and Yahya Abdul-Mateen II with the two of them having some really good chemistry with each other something which does help with there performances as it helps to make there friendship with each other feel more real and less forced with the pair of them even being the best actors in the whole entire show as the two of them really do get to show us just what it is that that they can do as actors and while Sir Ben Kingsley has been playing the role Trevor Slattery on and off for about ten years now and therefor does know how best to perform this character and still make him the lovable goofball that he is something he does put to good use in this show with Yahya Abdul-Mateen II being just as good with him proving that he can do the dramatic aspects of the show as well as the more comedic aspects as well with the acting that's in this very show really being helped by the fact that the scripts for this show are just so good that all this shows actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very show.


For one I really cannot tell you just who it was that did the CGI for this show as there's no effects companies listen anywhere online. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good while there really isn't alot of CGI in this show with the show using more practical effects that CGI effects what little effects that they do have in the show do look good with the show not only using CGI to create things like Simons powers or things like the ship in the original Wonder Man but also to do basic things like extent the set which is how CGI should be used as then your putting more of a focus on practical effects and while yes granted there will always be a heavy focus on CGI when it comes to superhero adaptations those that that blend the two together often come out all the more better as there effects come across as being more timeless as you can't tell what was really and what was done in a computer whereas with something like Attack Of The Clines or Rebel Moon both of which had next to nothing what was shot practically there effects now come across as being more dated and obvious to point out and yet with shows like this one it helps the show that you can't really tell what was real and what was done in a computer as that's what we've been trained to do these days due to there being so much CGI in both films and TV shows alike that it does come across as being really refreshing to see a show not use that much CGI and only use what was there practically on the day of filming.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



It has been started by one of this shows executive producers Brad Winderbaum that this shows actually concludes a trilogy of stories. That trilogy being the fall and rise of Trevor Slattery a story which started all the way back in Iron Man 3 and continued in Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings with his story not really ending as while he does get sent back to prison this time it's a fully powered Simon that comes to help out his best friend after he pretended to be The Mandarin again after Simon accidentally uses his powers to cause an explosion to happen on the set of Wonder Man with this being something that the Trevor seen all the way back in Iron Man 3 would never have done as he was to much of a selfish person to do and yet due to what he went through and learnt in Shang-Chi he is able to form these kinds of bonds of people whilst still being his lovable goofy self with him here being pretty much forced to work for the Department Of Damage Control inorder to try and bring Simon in as they believe him to be this evil powerful person due to what's happened in his past and yet once he and Simon become these close friends Trevor decides to not work for them even tho it would mean him getting put back into jail due to his past crimes and while his story isn't by any means done as there are ways that you could bring Trevor back if this was the end of the character in the MCU then it would be a nice end for the character as he does in his own unique way get his happy ending and considering the fact that alot of heroes are now technically friends with him then it does open the door for Simon meeting up with Shang-Chi as well.

As villains the Department Of Damage Control aren't that very threatening as villains as for large portions of the show they don't really do any thing at all. With them only showing up very briefly once every few episodes if that and even then the only character one of them interacts with is Trevor himself and that's it when it would made more sense when towards the end of the show that they started interacting with Simon just as much as well as by the end of episode seven he finds out that Trevor has been working for them by spying on him anyway so it would make sense to have them come in and be more of a threat thus forcing Simon to use his powers and prove to not only them but other people as well that his powers aren't a threat to them and while yes there is chance that the department as a whole could play a much more bigger role on the films and be a bigger threat in the movies which is something that would make alot of sense as you want to save your bigger threats for the movies all that could do is make this shows version of them seem all the more weaker then what they already are as here they fail to capture one man but in all fairness to this show they are uses as effectively as they could have dine given the shows premise which does allow for the show to put more of a focus on the bond between Trevor and Simon with that being something that doesn't allow for a good villain and yet at the same time by not giving us a good villain all this does is make the films central heroes look all the more weaker because of it when if Simon and Trevor had a stronger threat to overcome then they would both come across as being more stronger characters because of it.


For some odd reason the makers of this show don't go as far as they could when it comes to the original Wonder Man film. As while they do show us alot of the film which is said to be made sometime between the fifties and seventies they don't go all the way by not making the film look like it was made it whatever time it was meant to be made in as all of the effects in that film look really good and look like the type of effects that you'd find in films today with there not even being a break in the film either when both of those things are things that would have added some extra authenticity to the film and heck the original film doesn't even have the kind of bad acting that alot of those types films had back in the day but again to the shows credit they go as far into the remake culture as they perhaps could have done by having Simon fight for his Wonder Man glasses to be as close to the ones that were worn in the original film and while they don't go as far into how bad making a franchise film ca be like The Franchise did they do go quite far into what making a movie is like by having Simon's character arc being not to overthink things and ask to many questions about his characters ad instead just be in the moment something which Trevor does help him with but at the same time tho it would have been if the show did spend more time in giving us both the positive and negative aspects of being in a remake be it from the studio wanting to do something different with the character and the fans wanting things to stay the same as this is something that is relevant to today's film industry and will remain relevant for as long as people are willing to remake things but for one reason or another the makers of this show don't do any of that.

Now then this show has / had an exact grand total running time of no longer then thirty four minuets and five seconds. With each episode being around about thirty minuets in length which to be fair to this show is a solid running time for this show to have with the show having more then enough plot there to really cover that amount of running time and yet whilst the show is eight episodes long that does feel more like it's holding the show back as there are times where the show doesn't focus on it's plot alot of the time when it really didn't have the episode count to do that where as if this show was a few more episodes longer then they would have had the episodes there to take a break from it's plot with this also allowing the show to take the time to fully develop it's plot alot more then what it really has the chance to do so as right now the show has to rush along its plot when taking it's time and making things more fully developed would help the show out quite alot with this having the add on effect of making the films character development work as well as the show doesn't really take the time to give alot of the characters any kind of character development as the only two characters that get development in this show are Trevor and Simon and even then Trevor doesn't really need it to the fact that's appeared in a few of the MCU films where as it would have been more interesting to see more of the shows characters get some character development something which they would have been able to get if this shows was even just two episodes longer but I really will admit that this show really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a comedy that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad. With the makers of this show really knowing that they can get some good comedy out of it's two leading characters as they get alot of jokes in the episode which granted doesn't always work but when it does work that's when you get to see just how funny that this show really can be with the best joke in the whole episode being in episode "Found Footage" when Trevor gets harassed by some gang members due to what something he did in his past and Simon uses his powers to stop them only for them to get caught on camera something they both at first hopefully believe that the person filming them didn't see them doing it only for it to very slowly dawn on the pair of them that yeah he did see them with the episode the spending a good few minuets just on Trevor and Simon trying to chase down this one person who is on park whilst they are stuck in LA traffic which was a nice little touch as it is something that would make sense given just how bad the traffic in LA is meant to be in the first place and therefor having these two people trying to chase down this one person in this town is something that will always be comedic gold with the show having quite alot of other good jokes in it as well all of which work because of the fact that they feel like there very character driven jokes in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall its hard to call this show bad as the idea behind the show is one that is really good but at the same time tho it's hard to call it a good show either as the show doesn't really commit to any of it's ideas and instead chooses to play things safe when this is a show that should have been much more braver and much more thought out in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very show in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very show really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very show that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very show with alot of them being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 20 November 2025

Iron Man And His Awesome Friends: Enter The Iron Friends AND Amadeus Cho's Eggcellent Eggventure! SPOILER FILLED Review


It really does seem like Disney and Marvel have this weird thing for Riri Williams right now with the character recently being the main character of the disastrous Ironheart TV show. Yet now she's back as a main character in another show this time it's an animated show that's made for little kids and well given as I had nothin else to do today I thought that i'd check out the first full episode of the show and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED review of the episodes that really tries to make the phrase armour up a thing with the episodes in question bein called simply just "Enter The Iron Friends" and "Amadeus Cho's Eggcellent Eggventure!" enjoy.

The plot of Enter The Friends is when Ultron starts stealing all of the kids toys it's up to the Iron Friends to stop him before it's far to late and in Amadeus Cho's Eggcellent Eggventure! when Amadeus accidentally causes his favorite Chicken restaurant to turn into an actual Chicken he and the Iron Friends have to stop this fowl monster before it's to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode weas in all honesty not that bad with the first segment "Enter The Iron Friends" having the stronger of the two plots even tho it is a pretty weak segment on it's own as nothing in regards to the episodes plot gets explained with things just happening for the sake of it but in saying that tho that is the kind of thing you expect from shows that are made for little kids these days and to be fair to that episode it is the more fun of the two whilst Amadeus Cho's Eggcellent Eggventure! despite being the better overall segment as the episode does have a moral at the end of it does have the more weaker of the two plots as the episode does try to make out that being helpful is a bad thing with both segments being really light on plot which again given who this is show is aimed for is kind of understandable but it is also something that stops both plots from reaching there potential as both plots did have the potential to be dumb but fun and stupid plots with the both plots also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Starring in this episode is Mason Blomberg as Tony Stark / Iron Man and Kapri Ladd as Riri Williams / Ironheart. Also starring in this episode is Aidyn Ahn as Amadeus Cho / Iron Hulk , Tony Hale as Ultron , Fred Tatasciore as Gamma / Iron Pup , David Kaye as Vision , Jess Harnell as Eggy , Charley Rowan McCain as Girl 1/ Kid , Abril Bellido as Girl 2 , Luke Lowe as Boy 1/ Civilian 2 , Cree Summer as A Shopkeeper , Rama Vallury as Skateboard Kid , Drake Yu as Boy 2(voice) and Decker Brooks as Civilian 2.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then on all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. As for a show that's aimed at very little kids the acting that we got in this episode wasn't as bad as it really should have been given the fact that they did hire actual kids to play the main characters as kids do nine times out of ten deliver very wooden performances and while the three main leads in this show aren't bad persay there also not that good either as they are at best passable with Mason Blomberg making for a semi decent sounding Iron Man and Aidyn Ahn being pretty good in this episode but out of the three of them it's Kapri Ladd who is the best one as she at least sounds like she's having a good time playing her character where as the other two just sound bored alot of the time with the episodes best actor being Fred Tatasciore as Gamma / Iron Pup as even tho he's only playing a dog in this show he really does make it count and while someone like Dee Bradley Baker would have excelled in this part due to the fact he's used to playing animals Fred Tatasciore does make for a decent dog with the acting that's in this very episode not really being helped by the fact that this episodes scripts are just so bad as they don't rally give any of the episodes actors anything to work with interms of what it is there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does hard the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Atomic Cartoons. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good with this episodes animation being alot more better then what you'd think you'd get for a show that's aimed at very little kids with all of the characters having the typical kids character look to them that makes them look alot more friendly to little kids with that being something that does oddly work for this episode as this is of course the first episode and the kids that are watching this show won't know who these characters and therefor giving more a more friendly look is something that does work for the episode with the thing that doesn't for this episode from an animation point of view being the fact that the backgrounds do look a little plain and generic like they could be the backgrounds to any kids TV show and aren't exclusive to this one with this having the add on effect of making the shows animation look even more cheaper then what it already is as while the characters are very expressive and they do have some very fluid movements to them the whole episode in both segments just have this air of cheapness about them as you don't really get to see anything that's all that expensive looking on the screen but in all fairness to the episode tho this episodes animation does come alive during the teams suit up sequence which is very bright and very colorful and is bound to make the shows target demographic audience really happy.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



Incase you don't know this show is technically a spin off of show as it's a spin off of Spidey And His Amazing Friends. With the two shows even having a very similar look and feel to them and heck both characters even teamed up for a crossover special called Spidey And Iron Man: Avengers Team-Up! however tho where as that show only used characters that are actually spider people in the comics this show goes the opposite route as while it does make sense to have both Tony and Riri there as they are both iron people Amadeus Cho on the other hand is a Hulk and therefor him being on the team feels out of place even more so when you take into account that the show very easily could have used James Rhodes otherwise known as War Machine which is something that would make sense as he and Tony are meant to be best friends and while having a character with the word war in his name you very easily could have changed that to Iron Machine but for whatever reason the makers of this show thought it would be good to have a Hulk armour up in this show even tho it makes no sense even with the whole idea of these little kid Marvel shows being to get little kids into reading Marvel Comics so therefor wouldn't it have made more sense to have people who are actually Iron Men and Iron Women on the team much like what they did with the Spidey show and while this episode doesn't really do much to make Amadeus feel like a member of the team as he adds pretty nothing to the team this is something that makes you wonder why the makers of the show even had him be on the team in the first place and if they actually read a comic book before.

To be fair to this episode tho the second segment Amadeus Cho's Eggcellent Eggventure! is a fun segment. With the segment also kind of taking the time to give us a moral lesson that being that whilst it is nice to be helpful sometimes you don't need to be helpful and being helpful when you don't need to be can end up causing more harm then good which is a good message to teach little kids but the segment handles that message in such a way that it makes it look like that the actual message is don't be helpful ever as when Amadeus thinks he's helping the owner of his favorite food truck the owner does nothing to stop him with him only very weakly saying to stop and his friends just stand there and let him do it with it all being the under guise of him trying to help out a friend which is something that does make the message hard to understand even more when you take into account that Amadeus really doesn't do much either way to help get that message across as they very easily could have had the segment operate on a three strikes and your out type of situation where he tries to be overly helpful three times with it getting worse each time and then on that third time that's when the truck turns into a giant chicken as that would at least then show that the character is just doing his best to help out his friends and that would also not confuse the segments central message and moral as it is nice to be helpful to people and to help a friend out and that message does get lost in this segment but to be fair to that segment tho at least that segment does have a message where as Enter The Iron Friends doesn't have one which fair enough might be because of the fact that it's the shows first ever segment but at the same time tho for a show that's aimed at very little kids there really should have been a life lesson put in this episode.


Speaking of that first segment they did Ultron the best way that they possibly could have dine given just who this show is being made for. As there's no way to do the character any kind of justice in a show like this one with his main goal in the first segment being that he wants to to steal all of the kids toys from the city that the show takes place in and that's really it which yes granted might be a very one dimensional plan as he has no other end goal out side of that but in saying that tho he really doesn't need one as in these types of shows the simpler the character is the better as little kids aren't going to care about having fully formed villains that are creepy as that would give them nightmares as would even the Avengers: Age Of Ultron take on Ultron would as well and therefor just having him scooping up toys in what is basically a giant vacuum cleaner is something that does work for this take on the character however tho what would have made this take on the character all of the more appealing to little kids was if the makers of this show made this character a little bit more goofy not so much that his looses all threat and menace as a villain as due to dialog spoken in the episode he's meant to be the teams biggest foe but enough to sort of soften his edges for the shows target audience as he does have kind of a creepy design to him and therefor making him a bit more of a goofball is something that could have worked for this character with the only thing that really does work for this character being the fact there's not all the much to him as a character with even his design being very generic as he just looks like a generic kids robot character and not something that Marvel themselves would OK.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running tome of exactly twenty four minuets and five seconds. With each of the episodes two segments being a little bit over a eleven minuets each with each of the episodes having just about the right amount of plot there to cover there respective running times but in saying that tho both segments don't use there running time all that wisely as neither segment develops there plot which to be fair is kind of expected given just how simple that both plots are and while alot of shows that are aimed at very little kids also don't really develop there plots either it still would have been nice if either segment took the time to fully develop there plots but for whatever reason the makers of this show are more obsessed with making sure that the phrase armour up is known by it's kid audience an because of that the episodes already weak plots do come across as being even weaker with the same thing also being true for the episodes characters as they all do come across as being very one dimensional which is to be expected for characters in a little kids show but at the same time tho given the fact that at least one of these characters is a legacy character that alot of people love then there really should have been more effort into giving Tony Stark some character development as we know as much about all three of this shows main characters coming out of the episode then we did coming into the episode but in all fairness tho these types of shows don't typically give there characters character development as they like to keep them as simple as possible for there target audience but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. As while this show really can't away with to much from an action point of view what action we do get whilst it is very kid friendly it does also have some really good moments like with the Iron Friends having to use there wits to get Ultron to let them out of the trap that he got them in or Amadeus letting the giant chicken eat him so that he can take it out it's batteries which are on the inside of him all of which work as they do show us just how smart that these characters are with the best action in both segments being in Enter The Iron Friends where we see Amadeus , Riri and Tony all team up to take down Ultron in one big attack which is something that will always be cool to see as it's always cool seeing heroes team up to take down a foe with it working here as it's the first segment of the show and therefor having the best action scene in the whole episode in that segment does work as you want to start of with your best foot forward but in saying that tho whilst the action in the first segment was better the one in the second segment was more fun to watch just due to the fact that it's our heroes teaming up to take on a giant Chicken which is just campy enough that it works but it's also not so campy that the whole show looks bad because of it with even the ending to that action being pretty smart as well it's just that the action in the first segment was the more stronger out of the two in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall whilst this show won't harm any little kids that watch it's also hard to say if little kids will get into comics because of it due to the fact that the characters are so watered down from there comic boom versions that it would be jarring for a little kid to watch this episode and then read an Iron Man comic book for example but at the same time tho this is a pretty solid episode that is sure to please it's target audience. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 5.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I pers0nally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.