Search This Blog

Showing posts with label The Penguin. Show all posts
Showing posts with label The Penguin. Show all posts

Monday, 11 November 2024

The Penguin TV Series SPOILER FILLED Review


Believe it or not there was two comic book related TV shows that debuted several weeks ago with each one getting vastly different reactions from the public. The first one was of course Agatha All Along which got some love from some people but mostly got turned apart by people then there was the show that i'm going to be talking to you about today which got the complete opposite reaction as it got alot of love from people and so then join me as I give my SPILLER FILLED review of the show that proved that you can do a Batman live action TV show well with the show in question being called simply just "The Penguin" enjoy.

The plot of this show is not long after the events of The Batman Oswald "Oz" Cobb tries to make a power grab and become the ultimate crime boss in all of Gotham City only to find that his climb to the top might be a lot more harder then what he first thought that it would be. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good as the plot of this show was one that was really handled as it's something that would have been so hard to pull off and yet this show pulls off this kind of plot really well with the show making this plot actually interesting instead of boring and predictable like it so easily could have been with the plot of this show also really being helped by the fact that it is kind of a slow burner as it does take until at the vert least the second the episode of the show for the plot t really get going but that is something that does work well enough to this shows advantage as it does allow the show to then spend some time in setting up it's newer characters wand while yes granted some of it's newer characters do come across as being better then others it's all worth it to see the role that they play in this shows plot with the plot of this show also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this show is this shows executive producer Colin Farrell as Oswald "Oz" Cobb / The Penguin. Also starring in this show is Cristin Milioti as Sofia Gigante , Rhenzy Feliz as Victor "Vic" Aguilar , Deirdre O'Connell as Francis Cobb , Clancy Brown as Salvatore "Sal" Maroni , Carmen Ejogo as Eve Karlo , Michael Zegen as Alberto Falcone , Jayme Lawson as Bella Reál , Michael Kelly as Johnny Viti , Theo Rossi as Dr. Julian Rush , Shohreh Aghdashloo as Nadia Maroni , Scott Cohen as Luca Falcone , Con O'Neill as GCPD Chief Mackenzie Bock , Louis Cancelmi as Rex Calabrese , Kenzie Grey as Gia Viti , Craig Walker as Detective Marcus Wise and Mark Strong as Carmine Falcone.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actually featured / presented to us in this show was in all honesty really good. Which is something that is both shocking and yet at the same time not very shocking at all as some of this shows actors are indeed some really good in there own right and such it's only wise to expect some really performance from them but at the same time it's also quite shocking as well as there are some of this shows actors that aren't quite that well known and as such we'd have no idea of what it is to expect from them from an acting point of view and as a result of that is the fact that this shows acting is shocking really good with the true standout performer in this show being both Colin Farrell as Oswald "Oz" Cobb / The Penguin and Cristin Milioti as Sofia Gigante as both actors really give some really good performances in all of the episodes and heck even in episode four of this show "Cent'Anni" Cristin Milioti pretty much carries that entire episode on her back as she's just that good not only in that episode but in all of the shows episodes as well and the same thing is also true for Colin Farrell as well as he really did bring his A game for this show and for this character as a whole with the acting that's in this very show also being helped by the fact that the scripts for this show are just so good that all this shows really have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance really will come out them naturally which is something that really foes help to raise the overall quality that's in this very show.


For once it's actually hard to say who it is that's doing the CGI for this show as there are no effects companies listed anywhere on the shows IMDB page nor the various end credits. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good as this show uses CGI in the best way possible in that it's only there to either extend the set or to enhance something that was already there on the day of filming and that's really it and while yes this show does also use CGI to recreate things from The Batman that's also a good way to use CGI as there's no way that you can flood an entire street and therefor CGI is the only way to go and yet even with that in mind it is at times also really hard to tell what was done in a computer and what was done practically and while yes this films quality of CGI is overall really high when you do indeed spot some really bad looking effects it is something that really does stand out a mile as it's a bad bad looking effect in a sea of good looking effects but having one or two bad looking effects in a show that's filled to the brim with some really good looking CGI effects really go to show you that this show has some more good looking effects then it does have some really bad looking effects in it.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!



It's very safe to say that the best new character that this show introduced was that of Sofia Gigante as this character is one that's made up of many layers. As on the surface she seems like someone who is a bit of a push over but then the more you get into her backstory the more that we the audience find out that she's perhaps the most dangerous villain that Oz is going to come up against in this show as she shows several times that she's more then willing to do whatever it takes to get what she wants and even tho she does care deeply about her own family with her spending the vast majority of the first half of the show trying to get revenge on who she things killed off her brother in episode and yet we see just how badly her family just because of the fact that she's not willing to go into the family busisness right away and it's only when she unknowingly helps a reporter get her father into deep trouble that she then is forced into the family busisness after she spends ten years in prison for a crime that she didn't commit and it's because of that she because a highly dangerous villain with her willing to get revenge on her family by killing off all but one of them as a way to make sure that the kid that she saves doesn't go down the same path but by killing off her family she does set the kid off on the same path as her with this being something that we see her struggle to deal with and it's all of that that makes her the true standout character in this show.

For those that are expecting a cameo from Batman either in the series finale or in any of the shows eight episodes then be prepared to be let down. As not only does the character not even appear either as Batman or as Bruce Wayne for that matter but the character doesn't even get mentioned at all during the shows eight episodes with the only references that we get to the character is a name drop in the eighth episode and the bat-signal appearing at the end of the show and that's really it and while that is something that might put off some people as alot of them will be wondering why Batman isn't trying to stop Oz which is also an issue with the show as a whole when we get to the seventh episode of the show it could also be seen as a good thing as it means that the show has more then enough star power on it's own to not really require the character to show up in order to lend credibility to the show but at the same time tho given how much damage not only Oz himself but also Sofia cause during the events of this show alot of which we even see being reported on the Gotham City News then it really does make you wonder why the character didn't appear in the show or why a reason for him not showing up was ever given on screen as that would then fully explain why we the audience are not going to be seeing the character in this show and yet we get nothing which doesn't work as we the audience know for a fact that he's in Gotham City given that this show takes place two weeks after The Batman and so he would still be in Gotham City when this show is taking place and yet we get no reason as to why the character isn't appearing in this show.


While this show does indeed have Oz be the main character of the show the show doesn't make him out to be the good guy. As we find out in episode 7 that he was the one that killed his brothers something which he lied about several times during the show and all because of the fact that he wanted to spend more time with his mother something which his mother not only knew that he did but actively tried to get him to confess and he didn't then tried to have him killed and yet we also see Oz acting like a true villain all throughout the show as he kills Sofia's brother at the start of the first episode and frequently gets into business with several gangster and double crosses them all for his own gain and all of which almost backfire on him and yet it's because of the fact that he's the bad guy that makes this show interesting as the show actually tries to make him a likable character by showing him caring for ill mother and even grieving her when she has a stroke and enter a vegetative state because of it all of which concludes in an utterly heartbreaking scene when in the final episode he kills of his one true friend Vic for no reason other then he wants no one to try and take him off the top spot and has his girlfriend dress up as his mother and roleplay as her which does go to show you that even tho due to his own actions of him killing this own brothers that his mother never really cared for him that he still cares for her which makes this show come across as being more of a tragedy that it is a drama.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running tie of exactly one hour and seven minuets and fifty nine seconds. Which is kind of the bogstandard running time for this show to have as alot of this shows episodes had a very similar running time with the shortest episode being episode seven which at just over forty six minuets long with each episode having just the right amount there interms of plot to really cover there respective running time and it really does help that all of these episode really do take as full advantage that they really could have done as they fully flesh out not only the character of The Penguin himself but alot of the side characters and the main characters as well and while yes some of the other characters like for example Dr. Julian Rush and Johnny Viti aren't as fleshed out as they really could have been with neither of them really adding much to the overall plot with Johnny Viti really only being there to give Sofia a kind of antagonist for the first half of the show but when he's killed off there's really no one else that can take her down and even her own alley Dr. Julian Rush doesn't get that much development either and he's meant to be a kind of love interest for Sofia and yet if you compare this to Vic who does get fully fleshed out and does get the chance to be a fully formed character despite him filling the exact same role as Dr. Julian Rush as someone for Oz to talk to and have an alley in then it really does make you wonder why the makers of this show didn't give Dr. Julian Rush the time that he really needed to become a more fleshed out character but I really will admit that this show really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a drama that really does mean that I gave to actually talk about the actual drama that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual drama that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good. As the show really does take the time to really build up all of it's main characters and because of that when something dramatic does happen it not only feels natural but it also feel earned as well and isn't just there because of the fact that the show needs something dramatic here it happens because it's something that the characters would say and do with it actually adding something to the characters or advancing the characters in someway shape or form with the best example of this being the episode three cliff hanger where Oz and Sofia are captured by Maroni's wife and men and yet when Vic crashes Oz's car into them it's Oz that gets in the car and tells him to drive off leaving Sofia alone which is something that works for that character as Oz is only really out for himself and so of course he would leave Sofia alone to die as he sees her as a threat and nothing more then that and the show is filled to the brim with drama that's like that with this show being a really good example of how to do character driven drama and not have it come across as being forced and unneeded in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall while this show is not getting picked up for a season 2 right now despite one having been discussed this story is not over just yet as we have The Batman Part 2 and possibly even The Batman Part 3 but even so this show really doesn't need a second season as its better as being a one and done show and the show works really well because of the fact that it's one and done show in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very show in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very show really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly an 8.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official The Batman Universe fandom wiki page , IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the wonderful the official The Batman Universe fandom wiki page since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on freaking the official The Batman Universe fandom wiki page are all fairly freaking high in freaking quality and as well as being very fairly freaking high in definition.

Friday, 20 September 2024

My SPOILER FILLED First Impressions Of The The Penguin TV Series


This has been a really solid few days for comic book adaptations with the Wandavision spin off series Agatha All Along premiering on Disney+ just yesterday. Well now we have another new comic book adaptation that's also oddly enough a sequel with this series being a sequel series to the film The Batman and to say that this show is very vastly different to Agatha All Along would be a huge understatement and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED first impressions of the show that sees the penguin take centre stage as the main character with the show in question being called simply just "The Penguin" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is one week after the events of The Batman The Penguin finds himself with the freedom to finally try and seize control of Gotham for himself. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty as while the above plot might also serve as the plot of the show it's not also not that far of the plot of the actual episode either and with that in mind the plot of this episode is a really good plot as it really does a good job of not only being a really gripping story in it's own right but it also does a decent enough job of catching us the audience up with The Penguin after the events of The Batman and highlighting his struggles to even be seen as a threat to the various crime families of Gotham City but at the same time tho the plot of this episode could have been alot more better as it is a bit of a slow burn which can be seen as being interesting but at the same plot wise not alot of stuff actually happens either with the plot of this episode being kind of like the Godfather in it's own unique way as well with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is one of the shows executive producers and producers Colin Farrell as Oz Cobb / The Penguin. Also starring in this episode is Cristin Milioti as Sofia Falcone / The Hangman , Rhenzy Feliz as Victor Aguilar , Deirdre O’Connell as Francis Cobb , Clancy Brown as Salvatore Maroni , Carmen Ejogo as Eve Karlo , Michael Zegen as Alberto Falcone , Berto Colón as Castillo , James Madio as Milos Grapa , Joshua Bitton as Mikey , David H. Holmes as Nick , Michael Kelly as Johnny Viti , Eugene Solfanelli as Mirti , Eric Berryman as Doctor Desoto , Alex Anagnostidis as Ray and Myles Humphus as Dom.

Now then inters of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With the episode getting alot of credit for it's acting and rightfully so as the acting in this episode is just that good with all of this episodes actors really just turning in some really good performances with the acting in this episode not only being really good for a TV show but being really good both either a TV show and a movie as well something that you really don't expect to see in any kind of TV and yet it's something that's delivered in this show with everyone involved from an acting point of view really delivering some truly wonderful performances something which really do make this episode must see television and it really does go to show you that that this shows actors are a bunch of really good actors as well with the acting that's in this episode really being helped by tr fact that the script for this episode is just so good that all this episodes actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance really will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


For once I really can't find out who did the CGI for this episode and this show anywhere online whatsoever. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good with the episodes CGI blending in really well with what was shot on set on the day of filming with alot of this episodes CGI being used to expand on the shows sets and that's really it and while yes we do get some CGI explosions early on in the episode that's really all we get with CGI with the best CGI shot in the whole entire episode being the shot where the camera pans down from the sky past the train and lands on the ground just because it was such a cool and simple shot and it's something that does work really well in this episode and while yes there ae some really bad looking CGI effects shots in this episode as well those are very few and far between with the worst CGI effect being some obviously fake sparks that come of the train as they do look a little bit to fake and they do take you out of the episode just a little bit as well but the episode really does have alot more really good looking CGI effects in it then it does have some really bad looking CGI effects in it.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!



Incase you didn't know going into this show then this show is a sequel to the film 2022 film The Batman. With this film picking up a week after the events of the Carmine Falcone now being dead with the events of this episode dealing with who is going to take over him as the head of the Falcone crime family and while the episode does stay true to what happened in the film by revealing that the floods that The Riddler caused at the end of that film really did effect Gotham even a week or two after they first happend they for some strange reason introduce another daughter for Carmine Falcone this time it's Sofia Falcone which pretty much means that Selina Kyle has a sister that she may or may not know about and depending on how this show goes she might not be appearing in the The Batman Part 2 however sadly Batman himself doesn't appear in this episode which does make sense as there's no where in this episode where the character could have appeared in newly filmed footage but at the same time tho it would have been cool to see the character even if he wasn't played by Robert Pattinson and was instead played by a stunt double as that would be a great to get the main stream audience who perhaps don't know about this show and don't know that this show and the film are set within the same universe and get them to watch the show.

Speaking of Sofia Falcone she does seem like a really fun character as she's a character that was recently released from Arkham Asylum. Which is something that does add an edge to her character as we do see in the episode just how crazy that she really is and how far she's willing to go to get her revenge as she straight up almost rips of The Penguins arm just because of the fact that she believes that he killed her brother which is something that her father and brother wouldn't do as we know thanks to The Batman that her father respected Oz and her brother was to bust getting high and drunk to really care about anyone but himself and as a result of that is the fact that it is interesting seeing how far she's willing to go when she believes that someone has wronged her and that is something that makes her character arc for the show really interesting as it does make it interesting to see if she'll make out of the show and into the sequel film as this show is meant to serve as a stepping stone for the sequel but at the same time tho we don't really get enough scenes with her character for her to really display what her personality is which is something that does make sense as we do have several other episodes with her to get across what her personality and she does get the gold star treatment when it comes to newer characters getting across there personality as Victor "Vic" Aguilar really doesn't have that much of a personality with him just being The Penguin's personal enforcer with nothing to him from a personality stand point.


There are so few scenes in TV that you can truly say make for great scenes however the scene with Salvatore Maroni and The Penguin is one of those scenes. As we get to see two characters who really don't trust each other for whatever reason try and reach some middle ground as they both want the power that the death of this crime lord has now freed up as it's during there scene together in Arkham Prison where we get to see the two characters size each other up and while it's The Penguin that does come out on top it's fun seeing how they get to that point as it's never made clear who is getting the upper hand with there scene together being really gripping and is easily one of the best scenes in the whole entire episode as it's dripping with drama as while either character can't hurt each other right now due to where they are they still need to play it safe because if they say one wrong thing then that could mean that they end up dead and even tho we find out at the end of the episode that it's The Penguin who came out on top because of the fact that Victor and himself really have framed them for the death of Alberto it also means that there family is now back in business and is now back playing with the big boys so it really could possibly mean that The Penguin might eventually have to deal with him and Sofia at the same time at some point.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and six minuets and twenty one seconds. Which is solid running time for this episode to have and to this episodes credit it really does have more then enough there interms of plot to really cover that large amount of running time and the episode really does take as full advantage as it possibly could have done by having a fully developed plot that does more then a good job of setting up the plot for the rest of the show whilst still being a really entertaining story in it's own right but at the same time tho the episode really wold have been better if the episode took the time to at least start to develop it's new characters instead of making them just come across as being one dimensional cardboard cutouts but again to this episodes credit it does treat it characters far better then Agatha All Along did where the characters in the first two episodes of that show aren't that well written here tho the characters are really well written with the issue being the new characters aren't given the time that they needed to fully develop there personalities but that is something could be fixed in future episode but by then it might be a case of being two little to late but that is something that only time will tell tho but I really will admit that this episode really did have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a drama that means that I have to actually talk about the actual drama that means that I have to actually talk about the actual drama that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual drama that's actually feature / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With the drama in this episode being the best part of this episode as a whole as the episodes drama is so well done as alot of it does feel like it's very character driven and as a result of that is the fact is that's very easy to believe that these characters would act like this and would go to those lengths in order to cover up there tracts and while yes it would have been nice if the characters took a moment to talk and get across there personalities alot more that would get in the way of giving us some really good drama with the best scene from a dramatic point of view being the scene where Sofia is torturing The Penguin due to the fact that she believes that he really did kill her brother which is something that he did do but what makes it dramatic is seeing if she knows that or if she's just acting as insane as she is and seeing how far she's willing to go for that little piece of information on a loved one then it makes come across as being not only a really dramatic scene but it's also a really creepy scene as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall while it might be over a week until the next episode airs as the next episode isn't due to air until Sunder the 29th of September 2024 this episode does make the wait worth while as this is a really good first episode that shows that you really can make a Batman show without actually having Batman in it as all you need to do is make it a good show and that;s really all there is to it in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as being all of the bad things that are in this very show in this post and since this is only my first impressions I won't be giving this show a rating however if this post does decently well and if you guys want me to check out another episode then I will do it and that post would then be a review of that episode and that episode only and not a review of the show as a whole.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the mages that I personally used in this very post well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post from the official DC Database fandom wiki page , the official The Batman Universe fandom wiki page , IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being better quality then what'd think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.