Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Avatar: the Last Airbender. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Avatar: the Last Airbender. Show all posts

Thursday, 22 February 2024

My SPOILER FILLED First Impressions Of The Avatar: The Last Airbender 2024 TV Series


Hot of the heels of there hugely successful One Piece live action adaptation Netflix has now just released another live action adaptation of a beloved animated show from the mid 2000's. However where as One Piece had the help of it's original creator to help to guide the makers of that show this one really doesn't have that as such it had the potential to be a hot mess and well you all just knew that I had to check out at the very least the first episode of this show the first chance that I got and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED first impressions of the show that has the chance to be better then it's own movie adaptation with the show in question being called simply just "Avatar: The Last Airbender" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is one hundred years after the Avatar disappeared two siblings find a boy who may or may not by the Avatar. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I inn all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as the plot of this episode was really well done and while there are issues with the plot those issues aren't something that can be brought up here due to them being spoilers however the plot of this episode is also alot more faithful to the show then that of the live action movie The Last Airbender with this episodes plot also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Gordon Cormier as Aang , Kiawentiio as Katara , Ian Ousley as Sokka and Dallas Liu as Prince Zuko. Also starring in this film is Paul Sun-Hyung Lee as Uncle Iroh , Lim Kay Siu as Gyatso , Casey Camp-Horinek as Gran Gran , Hiro Kanagawa as Fire Lord Sozin , Yvonne Chapman as Kyoshi , Ruy Iskandar as Lieutenant Jee , Matthew Yang King as The Voice Of Appa , Leo Chiang as Monk Thet , Jeff Yung as Monk Tsutop , Jayden Zhang as Myat , Dorian Giordano as Aydo and Silver Kim as Pasang.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. However that's also the issue as the acting in this episode isn't all that good either granted it's alot better then the acting in the The Last Airbender live action movie but that's not really saying all that much as the acting in this episode is still really bad with alot of the episodes cast just turning in some fairly wooden performances with the episode in this episode not really being helped by the fact that the episodes cast isn't really all that good either as it gives none of the episodes cast nothing to work with interms of what it is that there characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place and the episodes director Michael Goi really quite clearly doesn't really know how to direct his cast and get a good performance out of his cast.


Doing the CGI for not only this but also the rest of the show as a whole is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Double Negative. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual GI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally though / felt that the actual CGI that's actually feature d/ presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad with the episode having better CGI then what was really needed or even expected and yet at the same time the CGI in this episode just looked like it had no weight to it with the CGI characters moving like there weightless and not like they would normally move like however on the flip side of that is the fact that this episodes is at times so good that it felt like that it belonged in a movie and not in a Netflix streaming series as the effects in this episode were just that good.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!



The plot of this first episode of the show was quite literally the plot of the first two episodes of the animated show. Only it now includes things from the third episode of the animated show which just don't work as the episode is trying to do so much instead of just focusing on being a good episode with the episode stripping Aang of the emotional growth that the animated show gave him in just it's first few episodes as instead f not showing us the attack on the air temple in the original show we find out about that attack when Aang does and that makes it all the more heartbreaking as he spends a good chunk of the episode believing that alot of the people that he loved and cared about are still alive which makes it all the more haunting and heartbreaking when he finds out that there no long alive and yet this episode robs us of a scene like that by outright showing us the attack on the southern air temple just because it wants to have to an extended action sequence.

To give this episode credit it is somewhat better then the live action movie adaptation in that it doesn't skip over plot points with lazy narration or try to fit several episodes into one storyline but at the same time tho it does commit one of the biggest sins that the movie version committed. That being the fact that the original shows creators Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko are not involved having left the show due to "creative differences" with the duo being replaced by the showrunner of Sleepy Hollow and the producer of Nikita Albert Kim which is a huge red flag when you realise that both of those shows got low ratings for there respective networks and it just goes to show you that the only two two people who should work on this show on a creative level is Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko as nobody else would know that world and those characters better then those two as they created the original show and that world and those characters.


Unlike alot of other live action adaptations of animated shows there are is a sense that those involved do have a passion for the original show. With even the characters costumes looking as closely as they could get to the original animated show and alot of the characters do act alot like there animated series counterparts as well the issue is tho is that this franchise works best as an animated as the makers of the show can they go as over the top as they need to and aren't bound by the laws of physics which is something that does let this episode down quite alot as it can't be as cool or as fun as the original animated series first two episodes were and even taking the new approach of just focusing on the larger narrative instead of including smaller scale filler and really character driven episodes doesn't make the show that much fun to watch as alot of the really great character moments come from those smaller scale episodes that aren't adding to the main plot of the show but they are adding to the relationships between the three main leads which just does just go to show you that even if the makers of this new show really have a passion for the original show they still need to know how to make a good show in the first place and really judging by show creators Albert Kim's IMDB page that doesn't seem like something that he really knows how to do.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and three minuets and fifty one seconds. Which is a solid running time for this episode but at the same time given that it's just a retelling of the shows first two episodes with nothing really all that new added to it there's no reason as to why this episode should have been forty four to forty five minuets long with the only two things that might be new scenes that don't add anything to the plot of the episode being the episodes pre-titles scene which even then didn't need to be as long as it was and was really there just to have a couple of action scenes as even tho they set up the threat of the Fire Nation in the pre-titles scene the shows intro also does that which makes it's inclusion in the pre-title scene really even more pointless then what it already is but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now the as this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual actin that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With the episodes action being alot better then the action that we got in the movie adaptation with the Earth Benders actually being treated as an actual threat to the Fire Nation and not being treated like a joke like they were in the movie and heck the episodes best action scene despite being in a pointless pre-titles scene is actually in the pre-titles scene as it shows you just how cool and how strong the Earth benders really are and why they are a threat to the Fire Nation which makes for a really cool looking action sequence in this episode in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!


Overall while this shows first episode is alot better the The Last Airbender live action movie it's still not that good of a show and while it could indeed get better as the show goes on if the foundations are bad then it doesn't matter how good the rest of the show will be because it was built on shaky foundations in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very post and as this is only my first impressions I won't give this show a rating as any show can have a good or bad first episode but if this post does well then I will look into covering more episodes of this show as a review tho.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post well then I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post from the official Netflix fandom wiki page , the official Avatar fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from these very episode that I used in this very review being the great and legendary Google Images simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this episode and are really of course on Google Images are really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 21 March 2018

Shows That Look Like Anime But I Personally Don't Consider Them To Be


Hello animation fans there are a lot of animated shows made every year some good some not so good but what gets me is that there is still some confusion over what is considered anime and it's usually just based on the visual style so I want to tell you some shows that look like anime but technically aren't.

Before I start the list I want to say that just because a show is produced in America doesn't mean it's not anime for me that would come down not only to the setting and character names but also if it's based in Japanese mythology or folklore.

Avatar The Last Airbender 


This one is kinda forgivable since visually it looks like an anime and it does have some Japanese sounding names but this for me at least isn't an anime it wasn't even animated in Japan but it was produced by people who love anime and that kind of story telling and the same goes for the Korra spin-off / sequel.

RWBY


For me it seems that this show is more based on Asian mythology as a whole rather then just Japanese mythology but the characters names aren't Japanese and the show isn't made in Japan but I would understand it if you guys consider this show to be an anime heck you can find the show on most anime streaming sites.

Castlevania



This is one of those shows that when people first saw the trailer they said "this is an anime" I should know because I was one of them but it isn't anime since the show was made in America it has no bases in japanese mythology and no characters with Japanese names so literally anything that could be considered anime isn't in this series and bring on season 2.

Thundercats 2011


This one is a bit hard because it was animated in Japan and it has Japanese directors credited in it's credits but tho the show was made in America but based of this image alone you wouldn't really know that so I would fully understand if you said to me that you thought this was an anime. 



Sunday, 4 March 2018

Avatar: The Last Airbender Book 3 / Sozin's Comet Review


Avatar fans the time has come after about a week of watching nothing but Avatar and Voltron here is the final review of the series and unlike the first series and the second series where I watched alot of the episodes this time round i'm only reviewing Sozin's Comet which is the season 3 finale so here we go.

After two years of set up and it's here Sozin's Comet and it's up to Aang and Team Avatar to defeat the fire lord and end the war once and for all. This is the kind of epic story you get when you spend years setting it up and moving all of the key players into place this was such a good story to watch unfold and in a way this story was like the Harry Potter books after they got more adult and i'm thankful for that because it's what the show demanded.


Now sadly Mako isn't in this series due to him dieing after finishing season 2 so he is replaced by the only new actor to the show Greg Baldwin altho they did add Mark Hamill as a series regular this year i'm not going to go on about the older cast members since there awesome but it's the newer cast members I want to talk about I didn't like the voice Greg uses for Iroh it doesn't sound anything like Mako at all and Mark is freaking scary.

I have to say Grey Griffin plays a great crazy person I honestly just want her to play crazy people for the rest of her career she's that good at it and the scenes with Azula going of the deep end were very well done in my opinion.



Coming back to finish the animation was JM Animation who this series was joined by Moi Animation and I have to say that the animation in these final four episodes really did blow me away the animation in these episodes looked like something you'd see in a movie and not a TV show that's how good it was and from what i've seen the quality only gets better in Korra and yes I will be talking about the animation again when I mention the fight scenes.

Speaking of the fight scenes bra and vo because they were really freaking impressive and i'm glad they saved the best action scenes for this finale because this is where we needed to see the best of everyone and they did a great job with them and it's helped by the fact that the animation in those scenes was really freaking good all of the characters movements where really fluid and fast paced and that helped sell the action for me.


The only thing I didn't enjoy about the episode was the fact that they do the cliche ending where everyone gets with the person there meant to be with to me that really wasn't needed and it would have been better if they left it up to people's imaginations but for an epic episode like this and that only has one minor complaint that really is something.


Overall the show was a freaking fun ride but at the same time i'm glad that ride's over so I can get off the episode was also really epic and it gets a 9 out of 10 from me while the series as a whole gets a 9.5 out of 10.  







Saturday, 3 March 2018

Avatar: The Last Airbender Book 2 Review


Avatar fans as you know i've been on an Avatar mission to review each and every season and here we are at season 2 and I have to say that it's a really good season and so here is the review.

Unlike last season which had one story Book 2 pretty much has two the first one is Aang has to find an earth bending master it's an interesting story and it's one that I wish lasted the whole series but it doesn't but the second story is Aang has to learn to master the Avatar state and it's not really that interesting of a story and they wrap it up in two episodes.


All of the main actors returned for the series but sadly this was the final series to feature Mako as Uncle Iroh as he died after this series had finished production. Joining the returning cast we have Jessie Flower , Grey Griffin , Cricket Leigh , Olivia Hack and Clancy Brown and I have to say that I really enjoyed the newer characters and there performances but out of all the cast members I have to say that I liked Grey Griffin the best just because you could tell she was having playing Azula and I had fun watching her.

I liked what they did with Zuko this series they turned him being a straight out villain to something more along the lines of an antihero and to me that made him more interesting and it made his scenes more interesting to watch but I guess it was also helped by the fact he wasn't just stuck on a ship this series.


The animation for this series was handled by two different companies those being JM Animation and DR Movie both of whom also did the animation for the first season with only JM Animation returning for the third. I have to say that I felt that the animation got a huge upgrade from the last series which is saying something because the animation in the first series was truly something to behold but tho with that being said I did notice animation errors which like the first series it was mostly people missing faces and I hope to god the third series doesn't contain any errors.

What I hope doesn't change however is the wonderful looking action scenes and unlike the first series not all of them are forgettable I remember the first fight with Azula pretty damn well. I think all the fight scenes came of better this year because not only was there alot more emotion behind them but we as an audience had grown to love the characters more.


Speaking of Azula she is freaking terrifying she is such a good villain and she is so unlike how her brother was in the first series it's unreal Zuko could be terrifying at times but he also came across as a less emo Kylo Ren but Azula is freaking scary and is willing to put her own friends life in danger if she doesn't get her way so if she's willing to that to a friend then imagine what she'd do if she doesn't even know you.

In the same way that the Harry Potter series grew more mature with it's audience and story I think that this series is more mature with it's story and it's audience for example even tho we don't see it it's implied that a character dies and unlike the last series where it was done by magic and thus the character could live on here it's death and that's it I can't think of a series that came out at the same time as this show that did anything close to that.


Honestly I can't decide who was the best character this series which for me was between Azula and Toph now i've already gave my reasons as to why I think Azula is the best character but for Toph she was a delight to watch and it was great seeing her relationship with Katara grow from Toph pretty much hating her to seeing Katara as a friend and alley and she had alot of the funniest lines this year as well almost everything she said had me laughing out loud.

Overall this was an entertaining second season but unlike what i've done for both this and the first series i'm not going to watch every episode of the final season just the last four episodes since I think they will show everything that is great about this show so far me Book 2 gets a 9 out of 10 see you all for the third and final series Book 3 Fire. 




Wednesday, 28 February 2018

Avatar: The Last Airbender Book 1 Review


Well then after avoiding this show for so many years heck i've seen the movie more times then I have this show i've decided to set out on my biggest challenge yet and not just review the show as a whole but to review each season of Avatar: The Last Airbender so here we go with season 1.

When I normally do a review of anything I don't take notes and that's because most of the shows I've done a review of don't tend to have a story but since this show does have a story I had to make notes and the only two episodes I didn't make notes for was the two part finale it was that damn epic and it set up season 2 pretty damn perfect.

The plot for season 1 was young waterbender Katara and her brother Sokka find a yound boy Aang trapped in an Iceberg and when he's freed it turns out he is the avatar the one is destined to bring peace to the world but he hasn't mastered the elements of airbending those being Water , Fire and Earth and he's only mastered Wind so they set out to find both Aang and Katara a waterbending master. I think with this season it wasn't just the destination that mattered but also the journey it takes them a good eighteen episodes until they reach there destination where as if this show was made they would have reached it in ten minuets.


The first season starred an evil Jake long (look it up trust me you'll laugh) , Zach Tyler Eisen , Dee Bradley Baker , Mae Whitman , Mako and Jack DeSena. This is a sixty episode show so i'm not going to name every single actor but tho even tho Dante Basco is awesome in this show and why wouldn't he be his uncle is freaking Mako all I could here was Jake Long so in my eyes Jake turned evil.

The rest of the voice cast did a really great and that's in part because they are really good in this series every actor is truly believable but also because the voice director for this was the legendary Andrea Romano who's worked on freaking everything from Batman: The Animated series to the recent Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles show and if anyone can get a great performance out of any actor it's her.


When I first started the show I thought that the story and the story telling was just going to be for little kids but my oh my was I wrong yes it does start out like that in the first few episodes but as the show goes on the story telling because more and more mature the audience isn't being talked down to instead we are being talked to on the same level and I never expected that.

Now what you might have noticed is that this show kinda looks like an anime and by kinda I mean it's anime in everything except the name but to this show's credit I think this kind of style helps with it's mature story telling and I think that having that anime look also lets you know that the comedy moments will be funnier due to the facial expressions.

The animation it self is truly stunning and is beyond what I was expecting from a show made in 2005 all of the characters even the ones that just appear in one episode have some great movements to them and in the action scenes the movements are really fluid and fast paced thud helping sell the fact that these fights are life and death.


I've been praising this season alot but I do have to say that I did notice some animation errors where people suddenly have no face and the fact that alot of the episodes just wasn't that good like for example The Waterbending Scroll episode while it does a good job of expanding the world it's not this seasons best episode and it teaches kids that it's ok to steal.

Now I have no idea how much research the writers did on this show but I found that Bumi in Hindi actually means Earth and one of the four elements that Aang has to learn is Earthbending so either that's a clever bit foreshadowing or it's a nice little easter egg for nerds either I thought it was bringing up here.


The amount of great actors who play villains in this season is truly breath taking it reads like a who's who of geek culture i've already mentioned Rafio from Hook and Mako are in this but The Fire Lord is played by The Joker / Luke Freaking Skywalker himself Mark Hamill and flipping over to another franchise with the word star in it's title original series Star Trek actor George Takei is in this show altho for the life of me I can't recall who he played and Harry Potter actor Jason Isaacs plays Admiral Zhao.

I freaking loved the fight scenes not because they were well executed altho that was part of the reason but because of how beautiful they were look at like I said before the animation is really faced paced in those scenes so it helps sell the scene and I hope to god these awesome looking fight scenes continue in seasons 2 and 3.


This show really knows how to balance between comedy and drama you get most of the comedy done with within the first five minutes of the episode while at the same time dealing out alot of story information and then you'll maybe get some jokes at the end and I have to say Sokka is easily the funniest character in this show nine times out of ten everything he says is funny as hell and I cannot believe they got away with using the word floozie on a kids show if you don't know what it means look it up but when I heard that I must have laughed for a good twenty minuets just because I didn't expect it.

Overall this was a solid first season i'm shocked that it didn't take me as long as I thought it would to finish it and I cannot wait to start season 2 Earth in a few days so for me this season gets a 8.5 out of 10.