Search This Blog

Showing posts with label WCW. Show all posts
Showing posts with label WCW. Show all posts

Wednesday, 26 June 2024

Who Killed WCW? SPOILER FREE Review


Even tho wrestling is just as popular today as it's ever been there's no doubt that it was at it's height in popularity in the nineties. With the WWE then the WWF not really doing all that well as they were still stuck in the eighties and sticking with what worked however there was one company that did dare to try and do something different and even tho they never ended beating the WWF on a fully time basis they did beat them two almost two years straight but really all good things must come to an end with the company in question really going downhill interms really quickly and outright going out on business by 2001 and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FREE of the show that dares to answer the question of who killed wcw with the show in question being called simply just "Who Killed WCW?" enjoy.

The plot of show is over twenty years after it;s closed it;s doors for good there is one question that many people want answered and that question is who killed wcw?. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually feature / resented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I im all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad as it is something that alot of people who like professional wrestling have not only asked for decades at this point but also want to know the answer to as there are so many people that could be blamed for it going out of business but at the very least only one person who could possibly be blamed for outright killing the company as a whole and that is something that is going to get alot of attention from the wrestling world and from those that really do love professional wrestling as a whole with the plot of this show also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this show is Guy Evans , Eric Bischoff , Brad Siegel , Kevin Nash , Kevin Sullivan and Dallas Page. Also starring in this show is Bret Hart , Dick Cheatham , Booker Huffman / Booker T , Janie Engle , Charles Ashenoff / Konnan ,  Neal Pruitt , Debra Ann Miceli / Medusa , Loree Bischoff , Bill Goldberg , Vince Russo , Sharmell Sullivan-Huffman , Stuart Snyder , Scream star David Arquette and one of this shows executive producers Black Adam and Fast And Furious star Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual interviews that are actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I im all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual interviews that are actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad. As alot of the people that are being interviewed were not only involved with WCW in someway shape r form but also don't repeat themselves alot of the time and while yes we do get some people repeating answers from other people those are very few and far between and while the show does have a great verity of interviewees it's clear that they couldn't get alot of other people who were involved with WCW which makes you wonder why they didn't get people like Paul Weight or Perry Saturn or Dean Malenko all of whom spent alot of time in WCW and all of whom would have added something to the show but instead what we got was a relatively small amount of cast that actually had a hand in WCW.


For some strange reason this show features alot of interviews with one of this shows executive producers Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson. As it's something that really doesn't make sense for him to be in this show as he never wrestled nor did he ever work for WCW while it does make sense for him to be in this show from marketing aspect as he is the biggest name in the cast but from any other point of view it doesn't really make sense heck in would make more sense for somebody like Aj Styles to be involved with this show as he did wrestle for WCW and yet by bringing in Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson it takes away a spot from somebody who would have known what was going on at the company at that point in time and not have someone who never had anything to do with the company while it would have been just fine for him to remain as an executive producer as it's his production company making the show having him be in the actual show itself just came across as being really weird. 


As is to be expected from a documentary like this one the show does give us alot of people who might be responsible for killing of WCW. With them ranging from the obvious like Eric Bischoff and Vince Russo to the less obvious like Kevin Nash as he did temporally take over as head booker for WCW when Eric wasn't feeling to good to even alot of the people that worked at Turner Broadcasting getting alot of the blame as well and while the show does indeed give us alot of reasons to blame every one of the people listed as they all at some point did pay a part in the downfall of WCW to say that it's any one of them is just looking at this at a base level and not really digging deeper and while alot of these people indeed deserve some f the blame of killing of WCW alot more of the blame has to go to the company as a whole and how badly it was run and managed by not only the producers who there on day to day basis but also those at Turner Broadcasting who openly admitted to not even getting why the company was liked in the first place.

The show does spend the first three episodes of giving us a new person to blame in each episode with Eric being blamed in episode 1 of the show Kevin Nash and the wrestlers get the blame in episode and Vince Russo gets the blame in episode 3 and those at Turner Broadcasting get the blame in episode 4. While it does make sense for each of them to get the blame as Vince was the head writer for WCW during it's final and dreadful years and Eric did run out of ideas quickly with him often reverting back to what worked instead of trying something and different which wasn't helped with the legends big ego's with them often changing things to fit what a certain wrestler wants to do and not do something that's best for the companies and Turner Broadcasting was frequently doing whatever they could do to get rid of WCW because those in charge don't like wrestling and didn't want a wrestling company airing on there network and on there company books and so they would often give over things like CNN for example a better budget this is despite the fact that CNN wasn't making them money where as WCW was making them money and while WCW for it's first few years didn't make them money when it was a hit with Monday Nitro it was making them loads of money and yet they were still treated horribly by Turner Broadcasting.


For some reason this show is missing alot of contributions from a lot of key people that were involved with WCW. As there are no interviews with Sting , Jeff Jarret , Scott Steiner or even Ric Flair all of whom helped to make the company as good as it was and heck there's not even an appearance from Hulk Hogan who helped to make the company as big as it was as well and while yes the wrestlers chosen are also important to the legacy of WCW when you think of this company and you see a company abut this company you want to see interviews from people who worked for them at the time and are known more for working for them and yet for some reason there not in this show and while Christ Jericho was offered a chance to appear in this show but turned it down due to the fact that he's also the narrator of Dark Side Of The Ring and is close with the shows producers there wasn't a reason given as to why the other WCW wrestlers who are all still alive weren't even asked to be on the show when they should have been asked as WCW is apart of there legacy and it's something that would have brought more eyes to the show as fans of those people really would have watched this show due to the fact that there appearing on it.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly forty four minuets and ten seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstanderd running time for this show with all of the episodes of this show having roughly the exact grand total running time as well and to be fair this is is show that really did need to be this long as there's no way that you can tell a story like in shorter episodes but where the show does fail isn't with it's running time it's with it's episode count as there only four episodes of this show when a story that when you really get down to it is alot more complex then what the show makes it out to be really did need a longer episode count in order to do the story alot more justice and by only doing this as a four episode show it really doesn't do the story any kind of justice and it means that that none of the episodes can't really go into that much detail either about what it was that caused WCW to become popular in the first place or what caused it do get cancelled but I will admit that this show does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is drama that means that I have to actually talk about the actual drama that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual drama that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad. As alot of the drama in this show does come from a place of love either for the company or for the wrestling busisness as a whole and it was interesting to see that both Bret Hart and Bill Goldberg still don't like each other with Bret himself still blaming Goldberg for basically forcing him into retirement and blaming Eric for what he thinks is lying to him when he came to WCW and there's alot of solid drama like that all of other the show but at the same time tho there are some dramatic moments that with hindsight could have been fixed with them just sitting down and talking like the fact that Eric and Vince Russo still don't like each other due to a reason that's so complicated that it would take an entire documentary series to really do it justice and yet it's something that could have been fixed if the two of them just sat together and talked things out in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this is a solid documentary but at the same time it's one that could have been alot longer by having a longer episode count as four episodes isn't long enough to do a story like this one justice and as a result of that is the fact that the series itself really does feel like a shorter version of what really went down in real life in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad thing that are in this very show in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very show really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 7 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very show that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very show and are really of course up and really on Google Images are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 20 June 2024

WCW Thunder November 15th 2000 Review


It's been a long time since a wrestling was last reviewed on here but it's been even longer since a WCW show was last reviewed on here. With the last WCW show that was covered on here was almost three years ago and well then I thought that it was about time to put that to an end as after years of trying to find I finally found the episode of WCW Thunder that I personally attended the taping of and so then join me as I review the episode of the show that marks the only time that WCW came over to England with the show in question being called simply just "WCW Thunder" enjoy.

There really isn't a plot running through this show which is the first thing that's wrong with the show as all it does is make this show feel alot less special and not really worth watching. As while the show does have some small stories running through it none of them are important and none of them add anything to any of the storylines that were going on in WCW at this point in time which is a huge issue as this show should have been WCW's answer to Smackdown and it should have been treated as such and yet it's being treated as a show that's lesser then the already bad Nitro which at this point in time was going down the drain anyways and it's because of shows like this that have no stories to the episodes as it doesn't give your audience to continue to watch the show and as a result of that is the fact that all this episode does is feel alot more like a filler episode of the show when it should be continuing the build to Mayhem in a more meaningful way instead of just mentioning some of the matches that are happening on that show which would have the add on effect of making that show not really worth watching either in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


The set for this show is really just one giant screen and that's really it and as a result of that is the fact that it makes the show looks cheap. Which does make sense as the company that owned WCW really didn't like professional wrestling and so would keep on slashing at there budget and give it to other parts of there company and this is something that really does shine through in the shows set as it's not really all that impressive with it also being the exact same set that was being used for Nitro at this point in time as well this is made even worse when you take into account that both of those shows just a few shorts years ago had some very unique sets that set each of the shows apart from each other and by giving the shows the exact same visually boring and dull set all it does is make both of the shows feel the same as well with the only thing different about them is what name of the show appears on the titantron and that's really it and it's not really enough either heck if they wanted to make each set feel different then they really could have done by making this one the default Thunder set and then having a more bigger set for there main show.

Set wise there's not really all that much to this set with the set having alot of dead space on both of it's sides. Which very easily could have been filled up with anything just to make it feel alot more complete as as things stand the set just looks rather incomplete and unfinished like they wanted to do more to the set but for some strange reason they just didn't do it and as a result of that is the fact that the set for this show really does suffer because of it as it looks visually dull and boring and it looks like the kind of set that you'd expect to see at a live show and not at a TV taping for what is basically your second biggest show compare with WWE who with Smackdown gave us a unique looking set that looked just as good if not better then the set that they were using for Raw at the time where as with set due to the fact that WCW was basically being made on a hope and prayer at this point in time and different have as big of a budget it makes the set for this show just look rather cheap looking and unfinished at best.


For a show that's being taped in England you certainly wouldn't know it as apart from having English flags on the show graphics and the country being named twice there's nothing on this show that tells you that it's coming from England. Which does make this show feel alot less special as usually when a big wrestling does a show in the UK they go all out with letting you know that it's in England be it by including things that are in England on the set and having the union jack flag be apart of the set in some way shape or form and they usually go all out by making it a top notch show and that's just something that this show really doesn't do with them just using the same set with nothing added to it whatsoever which oddly makes the show feel alot less special then what it really should have been but at the same time this is also something that does work well enough in the shows favor as it's treated as just another episode of the show and not a special episode of the show either with the episode coming across as just another bad WCW show with them not even trying to fix all of the companies issues that are in the company at this point in time.


One thing that was really annoying during this episode was the fact that alot if not all of the matches either ended with or had run ins in them. Having a run in happen during is match is fine for like one or two matches but when it happens all of the time in alot of the matches during the same episode it start to gets boring and predictable real fast as you can see how each match will end before it even happens and this sadly a running thing during the Vince Russo era of WCW and it's something that should have been stopped as it does more harm to his product then it does good and while yes alot of the run ins in this episode do make some sort of sense from a storyline point of view alot of them are just there just for the sake having a run in when having a clean finish either way would help the show out in the long run and would also help the company out as well but this is what happens when you give someone unlimited power and not have someone there to tell him no with that sadly being a very common thing with alot of things during the Vince Russo era of WCW.

To give this episode it was a really well put together show with alot of the surprises being genuinely quite surprising. However tho a few decent things don't make up for all of the bad things that are in this very episode as there really just so much wrong not only with WCW during this time period but this episode as a whole as the episode really does feel like that it was thrown together at the last minuet with alot of the things that are in this episode not adding to anything and are there just for the sake of being there where as if this show was well put together alot of the things that are in this episode would either be setting up things for Nitro , setting up things for Mayhem or paying of things from Nitro and not just do it's own thing which has the add on effect of making this show feel like a house show that just so happend to be produced for TV and not something that you could only see on TV with Kronik showing up up during a match for no reason other then to cost The Filthy Animals the match and that's really all there was to it.


Again to try and say something positive about this episode it doesn't really have that many pointless backstage segments. With all of the segments in this episode serving some kind of purpose be it setting up matches for the episode or be it hyping up matches for the episode they do at least have some kind of purpose and aren't just there for the sake of being which they very easily could have been and it would have been very easy for them to do so as all they'd have to do is just feature wrestlers that aren't going to be on the episode and that's really it but nope they don't do that as alot of the backstage segments do have some kind of point to them which while it doesn't make them worth watching and it doesn't improve the episode in anyway shape or form what it does do is show that whoever the producers where for those segments at least knew what they were doing and at least knew that they had to get some of the audience to watch the other shows and they do that by trying to create some good segments that could have the possibility to lead to future storylines should they choose to go down that route with them that is.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and thirty two minuets and seventeen seconds. Which is a tad bit on the long side for this episode as this episode really isn't telling any kind of stories and it isn't really advancing any kind of stories and as result of that id the fact that this episode really could have come in at around an hour maybe even less then that and you really wouldn't have to loose all that much as not that many of the matches are important matches and none of the backstage segments are furthering storylines and as a result of that is the fact that there's no reason for this episode to be as long as it was and as a result of that is the fact that it just feels like that this episode was only that long because of the fact that all of the other episodes of Thunder are around that same running time as well and not because of the fact that the episode really needed to be that long as it really didn't need to be that long as there really was no reason for this episode to be as long as it was but I will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a wrestling show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. As there are some decent matches in this episode but at the same time tho given who is appearing in this episode the wrestling in this episode isn't as good as it really good have with the best match being Sting Vs Scott Steiner and even then it's not due to the quality of the match it self as it's more due to the fact that both Sting and Scott Steiner have had some decent matches in the past and seeing them wrestle each other does seem like idea but then we get to matches like the six way match for a cruiserweight championship match which should be good but because they don;t explain the rules of the match just comes across as being confusing in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this is an episode that despite being so close to my heart because of the fact that it was first TV taping that I went to really hasn't aged all that well and is a really good example of just how bad of a shape that WCW really was in at the time thanks to various groups of people in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does ern itself a grand old score of exactly a 6 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all pf the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I person ally used in this very review from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the wonderful the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on freaking the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page are all fairly freaking high in freaking quality and as well as being very fairly freaking high in definition.

Sunday, 14 November 2021

WCW Monday Night Nitro November 8th 1999 Review

 


Wrestling fans you've seen me review WWE / WWF PPVs and episodes of both Raw and Smackdown heck you've even seen me review Impact Wrestling PPV's and an episode of AEW: Dynamite. Well now your going to see me review something that i've never even considered doing until right freaking now and so join me as I review what the first and I think only episode of that i've freaking seen with the episode in question being the November 8th 1999 episode of freaking WCW Monday Night Nitro enjoy.

Now then I really cannot tell you what the main storylines were or even are going into this show simply because i've never even seen an episode of Nitro before now. However tho I can say that this particular episode reeks of Vince Russo booking and that really does effect the overall stories that that are being told in this very freaking episode simply none of the stories that are being told in this particular episode don't make that much sense in my opinion anyways / at least.


The stage that was being used by WCW at this time is a very minimalistic set and even tho it's a set that I technically grew up with it's also a pretty freaking bad looking set / stage as well. Since there is so much freaking dead space both being and as well as all around this set that could have been filled up with either bigger or possibly even more video screens or they could have built so much more stuff just to freaking fill out all of the dead space that this set has and those improvements that I mentioned would have gone a very long way to help making this set seem all the more better in my freaking opinion anyways / at least.

Like I said this was the first and actually only episode of WCW Monday Night Nitro that 've ever actually seen. Since when thus episode was first being broadcast over here in the UK England I actually asked my dad to tape the episode because it was on on a school night and because of the fact that this in the nineties we only ever had one TV and so I do actually have some very fond freaking memories of watching this episode but sadly tho those nostalgic memories don't make this episode any freaking good in my opinion anyways / at least.


Now then I will very fully freaking admit that I straight up didn't know that this episode had a new intro simply because i'm so used to watching the old 1995 WCW Monday Night Nitro intro which is on all of the current WWE games. Which is in all honesty a good thing since this intro for WCW Monday Night Nitro was just bland and boring and uninteresting since it doesn't get you hyped to watch the show which is what a good wrestling show intro should in my opinion anyways / at least.


Now then like the rest of wrestling fans I to have heard the rumours of have bad Sid Vicious is when it comes to delivering his in ring promos and well I can confirm that those rumours are in fact true. This is since his opening promo which opens up this very show is so freaking that it's actually freaking laughable just exactly how bad this promo really freaking is and it makes me wonder why WCW didn't insist on giving this guy promo lessons because of the fact that he quite clearly needs promo lessons in my opinions anyways / at least.

Now then for some strange and rather unknown reason this episodes dedicates an awful lot / amount of screen time to the Kimberly Page vs David Flair feud which just really isn't needed. Since you can still get across all of the right information that you ned in order to advance that story in one or even two backstage segments / skits but here this one feud takes up multiple segments that ultimately end up just going absolutely nowhere in my freaking opinion anyways / at least.


So now then the good thing about forgetting all about this episode is that I forgot just so how funny Kevin Nash as Scott Halls manager and well i'm being honest those backstage segments were what saved this show / episode for me. Since yeah both Kevin Nash and Scott Hall are a really freaking entertaining duo and to see them do some comedy only highlighted just exactly how entertaining those two were as a duo in my opinion anyways / at least.

Now then this particular / very episode of WCW Monday Night Nitro has / had a grand old running time of exactly two hours and thirteen minuets and nineteen seconds. With alot of this episodes running time being dedicated to backstage segments that go nowhere in terms of this episode heck we even get technically two whole Nitro Girls segments both of which go absolutely and could have been cut out of this entire episode and nothing of importance to this show would have been lost in my opinions anyways / at least. 


So now then since this is a wrestling show after all that means that I have to actually talk about the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very freaking episode and well in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / feel / felt that the actual wrestling that's actually featured / presented to us in this very freaking episode was at best OK. Which is of no fault to wrestlers it's more due to the booking since every single match has some sort of outside interference and no match lasts longer then six freaking minuets long which for a weekly two hour plus wrestling is not a good thing at all in my opinion anyways / at least. 



Overall this show was a particularly underwhelming show which is a show because who's actually competing and who's actually featured on this show it had all of the right ingredients to be a good show but because of the Vince Russo style of booking this show just can't as good as it perhaps could have been or even be as good as it perhaps should been in my opinions anyways / at least. Now i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very freaking show in this very freaking review and as such this particular show earns / gets itself a grand old score of exactly a 5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page and from Google Images. With my personally favourite website to use to get images from this episode being the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page this is simply because the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page actually has alot of images from this episode and plus all of the of the images that are currently up and featured and on the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page are all fairly freaking high in freaking quality and as well as being fairly freaking high definition.