Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Animaniacs. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Animaniacs. Show all posts

Friday, 24 February 2023

Animaniacs: Wakko's Wish Film Review

 


Animation fans with the Animaniacs reboot coming to close as of right now it only seemed right I take a look at the movie that also served as the series finale for the original show. Since this is a movie that for a long time was the last piece of new Animaniacs media up until the 2020 Animaniacs reboot and so then join me as I review the film that dared to try and kill one of it's main characters with the film in question being called simply just "Animaniacs: Wakko's Wish" enjoy.

The plot of the film is the Warner siblings and the rest of the village of Acme Falls all race to make a wish when Wakko makes a wish upon a wishing star. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good with this films plot being the exact plot that you'd expect from an Animaniacs movie with the plot itself being just as crazy as you'd expect it to be as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Jess Harnell as Wakko , and Tress MacNeille as Dot , Marita Hippo , Hello Nurse and Mindy's mother. Also starring in this film is Rob Paulsen as Yakko , Pinky and Dr. Otto Scratchansniff , Sherri Stoner as Slappy Squirrel , Nathan Ruegger as Skippy Squirrel , Maurice LaMarche as The Brain and Squit , Frank Welker as Ralph , Thaddeus Plotz , Runt , Buttons , Chicken Boo and Flavio Hippo , Nancy Cartwright as Mindy , Chick Vennera as Pesto , John Mariano as Bobby , Bernadette Peters as Rita , Paxton Whitehead as King Salazar , Ben Stein as Desire Fulfillment Facilitator , Jeff Bennett as Baloney and The Captain Of The Guard , Paul Rugg as Mr. Director and Julie Brown as Minerva Mink.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt abut the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With all of the cast members turning in some really good performances which really shouldn't be surprising since alot of this films cat members are voice acting legends and so of course they are going to turn in good performances.



Doing the animation for this film is the legends and the greats that are currently over at TMS Entertainment. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good even more so when you take into account that this film was released straight to VHS.


Like I said this film was basically the series finale of the original Animaniacs TV show but this film doesn't feel like a finale. As this film just does it's own thing which is very on brand for the Animaniacs since the TV show is known for doing weird and wacky things and so then it only makes sense that the movie would do that as well as that  is something that the fans of the show had come to expect from the show but tho I would have liked it if this film did try to wrap the show's storylines up just so we could have that sense of closer and finality. 

This film does of course gave songs which are written by the films co-director and producer Tom Ruegger and the films co-writer Randy Rogel. I have to admit that the songs are where this film starts to fail for me since alot of this films just aren't that good and what makes matters worse is the fact that this film has a song play every couple of minuets and as such the film feels alot more like an advert for the soundtrack rather then it is an actual but when the film does ave a good song in it like for example "Never Give Up Hope" you really do know it since it is one of the best songs in this whole entire movie.


This film had the courage to almost kill of one it's one main characters which for a nineties kids movie is something that you'd very rarely see. What really helps to sell the scene is both the writing and the acting since the writing for the scene is so simple that it works it also helps that they set up the story very early on in the film and so when they bring it back near the end of the film we the audience understand just what that story means to both Dot and to her brothers and the acting in that scene from both Rob Paulsen and Tress MacNeille is so good that it really does make the whole scene very heartbreaking so much so that I was choking up while watching the scene because the scene itself just had me so hooked because that's how emotional and how good that one scene even is.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and nineteen minuets and thirty three seconds. Which is another issue that I personally had with this film since his film is far to short as you very very easily could have gotten this film up to one hour and thirty minuets just by expanding upon the plot and giving the new characters a bit more of a personality both of which would ave made this film feel alot more like film and alot less like just an extended episode of the TV show and nothing more then that plus it would have allowed for more characters from the TV show to play apart in the film as well.


So now then since this is a comedy that means that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty a very mixed bag of affairs for me personally. Even tho we do have some good jokes in this film those are very quickly followed up by to or three bad jokes which are just painfully unfunny in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this film was a great way to end the original series it;s just a shame that Warner bros Pictures. chose to release straight to VHS because they didn't want to market the film since this film could quite easily have made them quite alot of money at the box office in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that means that this very film earns itself a grand old score of exactly a 7 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well  then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Animaniacs fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the wonderful the official Animaniacs fandom wiki page since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on the official Animaniacs fandom wiki page are all really fairly high in quality and as well as being fairly freaking high in definition.

Friday, 20 November 2020

My First Impressions Of Animaniacs 2020

 

Ladies and gentlemen after so many years of the air the Warner brothers and the Warner sister are finally back with new episodes. However they didn't come alone as they also brought with them Pinky & The Brain as well as a whole bunch of characters from the classic Animaniacs and so you can bet that I was not only excited as all hell for this show but I was also going to cover this show when it first came out and so here are my first impressions of the 2020 revival of "Animaniacs" enjoy.

The basic set up of the show is the exact same only with the first and last segments dealing with the Warner siblings adjusting to live in the modern day and Pink & The Brain come close to taking over the world when The Brain creates a meme in which the sole focus is to help The Brain take over the world. I fully admit I had no idea what to expect from this show plot wise but i'm glad that they kept the same verity show format  and out of the basically two stories that this episodes presents us with I liked the Warner siblings plot more just because to e that was the more funny storyline but that's just what I think tho.


Reprising their roles are Rob Paulsen as Yakko Warner , Pinky and Gennaro , Jess Harnell as Wakko Warner and Co-Host , Tress MacNeille as Dot Warner , Alarm and Host , Frank Welker as Ralph The Guard , Clunko and Teamster #1 and Maurice LaMarche as The Brain and Ian Malcolm. Joining them for this series are Stephanie Escajeda as Nora Rita Norita , Keith Ferguson as Dr. Grant , Jake Green as Fred Bagel and P.A , Brendan Hunt as Seth Meyers , Andy Milder as Steven Spielberg and Teamster #2 and Abby Trott as Dr. Sattler.

Just the fact that they managed to get back nearly all of the original cast and had them reprise their original cast makes this show worth watching. However as for my thoughts on the acting it was honestly as great as I expected it to be i'm not going to lie I went into this first episode with high expectations about pretty much everything and that includes the acting and so it's great to see that the old cast haven't missed a step when it comes to playing these characters and the new cast do a good job as well.


Doing the animation for each of the segments in this episode are Giant Ant , Snipple Animation and Titmouse. The original Animaniacs always had top notch animation and so when this show was first announced I like I assume many others was nervous that this revival wouldn't live up to the quality f the animation that the original show had , well I can safely say that this show at least from this first episode has some really good animation with all of the characters having alot of nice fluid movements and the song sequences really coming to life due to how good the animation is in those sequences or at least I think so anyways.

This show does introduce 3D CGI animation to the franchise with the intro for Pinky & The Brain being done entirely in 3D CGI. Honestly that's one of the very few gripes that I have with this episode just because the CGI doesn't look that good in my opinion and there was honesty nothing wrong with the 2D animated intro from either the original Animaniacs or the original Pinky & The Brain but at least they still kept the original Pinky & The Brain theme song.


Speaking of Pinky & The Brain I honestly found there return cartoon to be the worst part of the episode not to say that there segment is bad because it's really good. However how they explain what the duo have been up to for over twenty years just didn't sit well with me personally and it goes against there whole idea of trying to take over the world every single night but on the plus side it does de-canonise Pinky , Elmyra & The Brain.

Not only did they bring back the cast from the original show and executive producer Steven Spielberg but they also brought back original song writers Julie and Steven Bernstein. I have to say that I liked the two songs that they have in this episode since they both have that Animaniacs charm to them as well as being catchy as all hell sadly tho neither of the two songs in this episode are a list song but they do a good job of ripping Hollywood a new one since all they do in both songs is sing about how Hollywood is running out of ideas and are just making reboots / reimaginings of various old TV show and movies which I thought was funny.


Incase you need another reason to watch this revival they also brought back the original theme song but with new lyrics. While I love he original theme song and i'm glad that they brought back i'm not a fan of some of the new lyrics which to me just scream of being woke hell there's even a whole part of the song which is just dedicated to proving how woke they are which could be a jab at people who complain that something isn't woke enough but to me it just seemed out of place as did the fact that they go out of the way to say that Dot uses her wit which if you've seen the original show wasn't true at all Dot's whole thing was that she's cute one and would often use her cuteness to get the better of people and so i feel that they should have kept the lyric saying that Dot is cute.

This episode like the original series episodes is a full twenty four minuets and thirty five seconds long and even tho there are a few segments in this episode i'm so glad that they didn't do what most modern cartoons do these days. Which is to make each episode eleven minuets long just because that would harm the show in the longer run since you can't tell a great story in eleven minuets since you have so much to set up anyway and so having this show be alot closer to twenty five minuets is a good thing because it means that we get to spend more time with these likeable characters.


Now then boys and girls this is a comedy and Animaniacs is known for it's jokes which means I have to talk about the jokes in this episode. Honestly the jokes are where this episode shines brightest in my opinion because my god is this episode I honestly lost count at how many times I laughed out loud during this because all of the jokes landed and landed hard that's how good the jokes are in this episode or at least I think the jokes in this episode are really funny anyways.


Overall from this episode and this episode alone it looks like the Animaniacs reboot is going to be one of the few actually good reboots out there. This episode honestly has so little going against it in my opinion and trust me I looked for anything that I could find that was a bad thing in the episode because all i was finding was alot of good but the only ones that i've found are the ones that i've mentioned in this post and since this is only my first impressions of the new show I won't give this show or this episode a rating.

All of the images that I used in this review I got from either the official Animaniacs fandom wiki page or Google Images. In what is sadly becoming more of a trend as of late I honestly have no idea which website would be best to use for images since both have images that are both very high in quality and pretty low in quality but I will say that Google Images does have more of a verity of images tho were as the official Animaniacs fandom wiki page only has a small handful of images at the absolute most and so I say use whichever website you want to use. 
















Sunday, 4 February 2018

Some Cartoons I Like But Don't Get As Much Attention From Cartoon Fans


Cartoons fans alot of shows come and go some are good some are bad so it's no wonder that alot of shows don't get attention from the cartoon community which is why i'm here to let you know about some of the shows that I like but don't get much attention from fans.

Mr. Bean: The Animated Series


With this show I kinda get why it's not talked about as much since the live action show wasn't big America but the character and the live action show were huge in Britain so I have to ask why don't us Brits talk about the show as much?

Animaniacs


I've spoken before about my love for this show so I won't go on about why we should be talking about it still but with news of the reboot I honestly think that Cartoon fans should give this gem the attention it deserves now let us all hope that the reboot can do the original any sort of justice.

Batman: The Animated Series


People better then myself have said why this show is fantastic and in all honesty it deserves all of the praise that it gets from Batman fans but the fact remains that it's not talked about by cartoon fans and i'm not sure why that is this is a really great series for both fans old and new and it's the series that gave the world Harley Quinn and Mark Hamill as The Joker.

Spider-Man: The Animated Series


If Batman: The Animated Series was really good this show at times just wasn't good at all but that didn't stop it from being fun and for honestly being the best animated series to feature Spider-Man ever and I do wish Marvel would make a sequel comic just so we can visit that world again.

X-Men: The Animated Series


Yes there really was a 90's X-Men show and yeah it was pretty awesome now I admit that I don't remember much about the show inf act for a few years I forgot all about it but a few months ago I did watch the first two episodes and it still holds up the reason why I don't think this holds is just due to how nineties it is and by that I mean the show is full of jokes you'd only get if you were born in the nineties and is full of nineties technology.

Tiny Toon Adventures



Again the reason why I think people don't talk about this show is the fact it stopped airing in 1992 however it is still a good show and it's one that I frequently go and re-watch whenever I want to watch a cartoon that will make me laugh and it got two specials in 1994.

Ducktales (1987 Series)


I have to stress that this is all about the 1987 show not the awesome reboot but it seems to me that as i'm doing this list you have to be over a certain age to even know about these shows and this is especially true for Ducktales since it started in the late 80's and I want fans of the classic show to try and convince fans of the reboot to give this show a try.

Hot Streets


Right now it feels like i'm the only one who's talking about this show and for the life of me I don't see why that's the case it's a truly good show for me this show is the next Rick And Morty it's funny , it's clever and it has some freaking strange animation and you know what I freaking love it.






Thursday, 31 August 2017

Top 5 Cartoons That I Grew Up With


Animation fans everybody loves a good list especially if it's full of great shows which this one will be and this is my own personal list so here we go with some of the shows that i grew up watching.

5) The Simpsons


This is the longest running animated show in history and i'm proud to say that i was watching the show in it's prime there's nothing more i can say about this show except i was an instant fan from the second i saw it.

4) Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1980's)


I have to admit i don't recall watching this on TV that much but i do recall watching it on VHS alot of the time and yes the show was goofy but you know what i loved it and clearly alot of people because alot of things introduced in the cartoon still exist in the TMNT lore to this day.

3) South Park


This show is everything Rick & Morty wishes it could be it's smart , it's funny and it has great social commentary whole Rick & Morty is a great show South Park is better and it's made on a weekly basis that takes guts to do something like that.

2) Animaniacs / Pinky And The Brain / Tiny Toon Adventures


I grouped these three together because there all spin offs and there all awesome altho i didn't watch that much of Pinky And The Brain from what i do recall it was a great show and i love Animaniacs and Tiny Toon Adventures so much i still watch them to this day.

1) Looney Tunes


It was always going to be Looney Tunes they've been entertaining people for generations there characters are now so well placed in popular culture that it's hard to think of a time when we didn't know of Bugs , Daffy or Elmer.