Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Scooby-Doo!. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Scooby-Doo!. Show all posts

Monday, 2 June 2025

Scooby-Doo! And Kiss: Rock And Roll Mystery Film Review


Scooby-Doo and the gang have teamed up with a great deal of celebrities over the years ranging from The Addams Family to the WWE. However one of their more oddest crossovers comes in the form of this movie as while the idea of having them crossover and meet the band Kiss isn't a new thing it's what the film does with the crossover that makes it weird and so then join me as I review the film that turns both Kiss and the Scooby gang into superheroes with the film in question being called simply just "Scooby-Doo! And Kiss: Rock And Roll Mystery" enjoy.

The plot of this film is with a witch haunting there theme park before there big Halloween night concert the band Kiss are forced to team up with Scooby and the gang to solve this mystery before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good with this films plot being alot more better then what it really had any right to be as by all rights this films plot should have been really bad and yet because of the fact that the film takes the crossover in a unique and new direction by literally turning the band Kiss into a group of superheroes it makes the pot of this film all the more fun and bizarre as now it can go to those more campy and strange places that just wouldn't be possible if the film kept it's crossover aspect straight by having the band just be there usual selves with this films plot being one of the more better direct to DVD Scooby-Doo animated movie plots because of it but at the same time tho this films plot isn't as good as it could have been either as it doesn't develop it's plot well enough with this films plot coming across as being a bit more on the weak side of things because of it which is something that does make this films plot feel more like an afterthought with it being obvious that the main attraction of this film is seeing the band Kiss being animated and teaming with Scooby-Doo with the plot of this film also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Frank Welker as Fred Jones and Scooby-Doo and Matthew Lillard as Shaggy Rogers. Also starring in this film is Grey DeLisle as Daphne Blake , Mindy Cohn as Velma Dinkley , Paul Stanley as The Starchild , Gene Simmons as The Demon , Tommy Thayer as The Spaceman , Eric Singer as The Catman , Jennifer Carpenter as Chikara , Garry Marshall as Manny Goldman , Penny Marshall as The Elder , Doc McGhee as Chip McGhoo , Jason Mewes as Worker 1 , Pauley Perrette as Delilah Domino and The Crimson Witch , Rachel Ramras as Shandi Strutter , Darius Rucker as The Destroyer and Kevin Smith as Worker 2.

Now then interms pf what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With all of this films actors turning in some really good performances in this very film which is something that does make sense for the regular Scooby-Doo actors as they have been playing their respective characters for at the very least a decade at the earliest and in Frank Welker's case he's been playing Fred since the sixties however the good acting also extends to this films guest actors as well with them all turning in some really decent performances in this film with it being hard to say just how the best actor was in this film as being realistically anyone of them could make that claim and it would make total sense but if push did come to shove the best actor in this film has to be Mindy Cohn as not only does this film mark her final voice performance as Velma but she also manages to turn in a good performance as the character as well as while Velma's plot line is the same one that she always gets in films like this with her having to come to terms with the fact that elements of supernatural are infact real hearing Mindy deliver these lines in such a wonderful does make you wonder why Warner Bros didn't bring her back when it turned out that she got better from her illness as she really did make for a good animated Velma with the acting that's in this film really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so good that all this actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.


Doing the animation for this film is the legends and the really greats that are currently over at Digital eMation. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad as this films animation much like the plot is alot more better then what it really had any right to be as by all rights this films animation should have been really bad as afterall it's a crossover movie made to promote a band and those don't typically require good or even great looking animation in them and yet because of the fact the animation studios working on this film went above and beyond what was asked of them we get animated sequences that actually feel really well thought out with the film mixing in 3D CGI elements with 2D elements really well with the films animation really taking off and becoming even better during the films truly insane third act with the animation there really coming alive with all of the characters getting these really nice an fluid movements to them and heck if this film had a bit more money thrown at it for it's animation it could pass for animation in a feature length film as it's just that good and while yes the film does some choppy looking animation in some places and while the characters thick outlines can be a bit distracting the animation is on the whole one of the more better aspects of the film and is so much more fun to look at as well with the film even being worth watching just for it's animation alone as that's just how good that this films animation really is alot of the time in this film.


As was mentioned at the very start of this review this film turns the band Kiss into superheroes complete with giving them super powers as well. Which is quite frankly a unique way to go with this crossover and it is something that does work really well in this films favour as it means that you never quite know just what it is that your going to be getting next and heck the film even takes some anime influence as well by straight up giving the band a Sailor Moon inspired transformation sequence which is as every bit as insane as it sounds and yet at the same time tho it's also something that does work really well with this film as this film is all about doing things that haven't quite been done with the Scooby-Doo franchise as this point and that does include turning characters into superheroes and giving them an anime style transformation sequence and heck it could have even be argued that the spaceship that Kiss and the Mystery Inc gang drive near the end of the film is a giant mecha as the ship is hidden in Kiss's own theme park but what doesn't work is the fact that even tho Velma herself sees all of this happening and actively takes part in it she still doesn't believe that any of it is real and given that in later films the Mystery Inc gang would straight up travel back in time this film could be argued is the one that started of the trend of pushing these more weird things into the movie but where as with the time travel element in The Sword And The Scoob here the superhero element is actually fun to watch as we get to see alot of the characters including Shaggy and Scooby do their best to fight of the witch on Kiss's home world.

With this film being a comedy it does work pretty good as the film does have alot of really solid jokes in it. Including a few solid running jokes like the fact that The Starchild always refers to Fred as Frank which could be seen as being a fun filled meta joke and the fact that every time Kiss use special effects there manage comes in to clean up after them whilst also complaining that there wasting money on those effects both of which are some really solid jokes however tho there is one thing that doesn't quite work as well and that's the fact that they turned The Demon into the films comic relief character with him spending alot of his screen time getting into scrapes with Shaggy and Scooby which fair enough Gene Simmons is the most well known member of the band and there for having him be the one to team up with Shaggy and Scooby does make sense in that regard but at the same time tho the film gives him nothing funny to say with the or do when he's with the two of them with alot of his best stuff coming from when he's interacting with the rest of the films characters and while he does get a few good jokes with Shaggy and Scooby like when they first meet him and Scooby thinks that he's one of those heads that you can squirt water into and does exactly that that's a decent joke as plays into the fact that Scooby Doo isn't the smartest person in the room and so it feels true to his personality but having The Demon always be with the two of them even to the point where he himself calls in out near the end of film just doesn't work as Scooby and Shaggy's comedy works as they don't need a straight man when they already have the Crimson Witch to fill in that role and therefor having two straight men to there funny men just doesn't work at all.


With this film being a Scooby-Doo film you'd think that alot of effort would be put into creating an actually good mystery. Well you'd be wrong as the film doesn't do that at all with the film instead putting more effort into action filled third act then it is into creating an actually good mystery as this films mystery doesn't give us any clues as to who or in this also what The Crimson Witch is thus meaning when they reveal who the fake witch is at the end of the movie it not only doesn't make sense but it also comes out of nowhere as nothing involving the character goes on to suggest that she would be The Crimson Witch with this being something that proves that this films mystery just doesn't work as not only is there technically two versions of The Crimson Witch as we also see The Starchild take her on on the band's home world but the film doesn't give us any clues so we can't work out who she really is in the first place let alone work out that there's technically two of them with this being an issue that very easily could have bee fixed with a re-write of the films script and having one of the characters confirm that there is two versions of the same character as that then would make the films mystery all the more intriguing as now the characters have to work out who both of them are something that both groups very easily could have done just by gathering clues both here on Earth and on the band's home world as well but for whatever reason the makers of this film thought that we come to a Scooby-Doo film to see some action and so they put alot more effort into giving us a truly insane third act action scene then they did into giving us a really good mystery to solve.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and eighteen minuets and forty three seconds. Which to be fair to this film is the bogstanderd running time for all of the direct to DVD animated Scooby-Doo films to have and to this films credit it does have the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time but at the same time tho this film really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as the film doesn't take the the time to fully develop it's plot with it being hard at times to work out what the actual plot of the film is even meant to be alot of the time with it seeming like that the characters are just doing things for rando reasons alot of the time with the film not even taking the time to fully develop alot of it's characters either as while none of the Mystery Inc gang need to be that well developed since they've been around since the sixties but the film doesn't develop any of the Kiss characters with it seeming like that there just the same character alot of the time as that's how little the makers of this film add to those characters with even characters like the band's manager and the theme park owner being none characters as they add nothing to the plot of the film and yet the film expects us to by into them as red herrings something which just can't happen as the makers of the film don't develop there characters to make them feel alot more like three dimensional characters instead of being like the one dimensional characters that they are with these issues being things that could have been solved if the film was even just ten minuets longer but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. Which s something that you really wouldn't expect from a Scooby-Doo movie as these film are usually more comedy driven and yet with this film it seems to be more action driven and that is something that works so well for this film just due to how they present the band with all of the band having their own powers that goes along with there names which does allow for some really creative imagery during the films action and even tho this is something that really doesn't need saying but the films best action scene in the whole entire film is quite easily the entire third act of the film as that's where this films gets to be well and truly insane with the Scooby gang helping Kiss to take on The Crimson Witch on the bands home world with even Scooby and Shaggy learning how to breathe fire just like The Demon which is just as insane as you'd imagine that it would be but then it gets more insane as Kiss travel back to Earth lure this creature into this time stream where the Scooby gangs with the help of Kiss have to defeat not only threw the use of explosions but also due to the bands own powers all of which is done to one the bands actual songs with that sequence not only being a really good example of how to do an action scene with Scooby-Doo as it's just so insane and fun that you can't help but by into it but also because of the fact that it's just such a fun action scene in it's own right in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall out all of the direct to DVD animated Scooby- Doo films that are out there this film is easily one of the better ones just due to how insane that it gets where as The Sword And The Scooby just plays things a bit to safe even with the introduction of time travel and the fact that this film was so close to getting a sequel before it was cancelled is just a crime as this film is just that good in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad thigs that re in this film in this very review and a such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very film that I used in this very review being the really great the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very film with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Sunday, 9 June 2024

Scooby-Doo! Ghastly Goals Film Review


When people think of Scooby-Doo media nine times out of ten they'll be thinking about either the TV shows or the movies. Yet very rarely if ever do they think about the direct to DVD  animated specials that the franchise and given that a major football tournament is pretty much about to start this seems like an oddly fitting tie in review to do and so then join me as I review the film that sees Scooby and the gang go to Brazil with the film in question being called simply just "Scooby-Doo! Ghastly Goals" enjoy.

The plot of this film is Scooby and the gang travel to Brazil for a holiday where they discover a creature is haunting big football tournament. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that;s actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that ad as the plot was the kind of plot that you'd expect to find in an episode of any Scooby-Doo show and yet at the exact time it was different enough for it to justify being a special episode of the show and while the plot of this film is really nothing all that special as it is really straight forward it's also not the worst plot that thus special could have had either as on paper this films plot sounds really bad and yet it's actually a really enjoyable plot with the plot of this film also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Frank Welker as Scooby-Doo , Fred Jones and Eshu and Matthew Lillard as Norville "Shaggy" Rogers. Also starring in this film is Mindy Cohn as Velma Dinkley , Grey DeLisle as Daphne Blake , Carlos Alazraqui as A Brazilian Player , Gabriel Iglesias as Professor Eduardo Perez , Andrew Kishino as A Security Guard , Christian Lanz as A Cart Owner , Mina Olivera as Dr. Marla Riganto , Rob Paulsen as Julio Luna and Danny Trejo as Reynaldo.

Now then interms of what I personally thought  felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With all of the cast members that you expect to deliver a good performance really giving us exactly that but that's also the problem as we know what kind of performance that these actors and yet they give us exactly that and nothing new which is something that is fine for this property as these are legacy characters after all but at the same time there still needs to be some change to the performance to make each output feel alot more different from the one that came before and yet with this film just all we're getting is the kind performances that we know and expect from this cast ad that's really it with the acting in this film not really being helped by the fact that the script for this film is just so bad as it gives none of the films cast absolutely nothing to work interms of what it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does bring down the overall quality of the acting that's in this film.


Doing the animation for this film is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Dongwoo A&E Co., LTD. Now then interms of what I personally thought /felt about thew actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad as the animation was alot better then the animation that you'd think it would be getting as this films animation is more then worthy of being in a direct to DVD animated film and is quite easily better then the animation that we got in alot of the TV shows as well and while yes the animation in this film could have been alot better considering that this special was made for a compilation DVD and the fact that alot of Scooby-Doo films don't typically have great animation in them this films animation did turn out alot better then what it really had any to be with all of the characters having some really nice and fluid movements to them as well.


As a mystery this film isn't that good as the mystery itself isn't all that good as one of the main suspects isn't introduced until deep into the third act of the story. Which is far to late to be introducing potential suspects as those are things that should have been done by the mid way point of this special as that then allows for us the audience to gather enough clues to determine if they are the main villain or not and yet this film doesn't do that as the main suspect doesn't get introduced until the film is nearly over by which point it's far to late to be having a character that's this important to the plot of the film being introduced this is not to mention the fact that the film doesn't even give you clues as to who is behind the mask of the main villain with it being pulled out of nowhere which is a sure fire sign that the mystery itself is plain old bad when this something that if it had a bit more effort put into it wouldn't be the case as the bases for a good mystery are there with even the villain and the villain's costume having some really good and creepy designs to them.

This is a story that really should have been the story for a Scooby-Doo movie as the potential is there for this films plot to be a really good plot. Heck the plot of the film itself also oddly feels like it was made for a movie and as a result of that is the fact that it feels odd that the makers of this chose to make this a direct to DVD special when they very easily could have gotten this films story up to feature length just by expanding upon the story and giving us alot more suspects and that's really all they'd have to do and yet they chose not to do that and as a result of that is the fact that this special comes across as being really half baked as alot of what it sets up just doesn't add up to anything and is there just for the sake of being there which makes the whole special feel alot less special where as if this was the plot to a Scooby-Doo movie they could have gone to those weird ad crazy places that the Scooby-Doo direct to DVD movies tend to go to and the movie itself would come across as being alot more fun to watch because of it.


In what was a rather nice bit of character consistency this film does carry on the tradition of Daphne falling in love with anyone to do with sports. Which was a nice surprise and it was a nice bit of attention to detail that the makers of this film really didn't need to include in this film and even tho it doesn't have a pay off in this film it was something that was great to see in this film as it does add a bit of humor between Fred and Daphne with Daphne being in love with quite literally every single football player that she sees and Fred just getting more and more annoyed which is something that could have had a really funny pay off and yet for some reason the makers of this film just drop that running joke without paying it off which makes you wonder why it was even included in the first place as it's something that really does come across being nothing more then filler when the film itself really doesn't need filler as that is a joke that could have led to a really funny payoff near the films climax which would have brought back in a way that felt natural and organic.

Now then this film has / had an exact grad total running time of exactly twenty two minuets and thirty three seconds. Which is a solid running time for this film to have as the film does more then enough there interms of plot to really cover that amount of running time and yet at the same time tho this film really could have done with being a bit longer as that would allow the story to become more fleshed out and it would also allow the film to develop it's mystery angle alot more then what it is in the final cut of the film and as a result of that is the fact that the film would come across as being alot more better then what it is because as it is right now the mystery angle isn't as fully developed as it really should have been and the films new characters aren't as fully developed as they really should have been either with them not even being that memorable all of which are things that would be fixed if the film was given a feature length running time but i will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is comedy film that means that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. However that's also the problem as the comedy that's in this film wasn't all that good either as the jokes that we get in this film feel oddly watered down jokes then the ones that we would get in both the various Scooby-Doo TV shows and in the various Scooby-Doo direct to DVD animated movies with the jokes in this film coming across as the writer of this film trying to come up with something funny without realising that they already had something that was really funny with Fred and Daphne that they just drop with the films only running joke being not that funny and yet they for some strange reason decide to carry on the joke in question with the joke being that whenever someone pronounces the monsters name Eshu someone says gazuntite which just really isn't all that funny in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this was a solid special but it's one that's rather limited by it's very small running time as it had all of the potential to be a good feature length movie and yet due to it's really small running time the film can't reach it's full potential and it really does suffer because of that fact in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good ad as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies ad gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page , the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very film that I used in this very review being the really great and really legendary Google Images due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this film and are really of course on Google Images are all really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 25 April 2024

Velma TV Series "The Mystery Of Teen Romance" , "The Real Villain" AND "Til Death" SPOILER FILLED Review


Last year there was a show that was bad that people actually watched it just to see how bad it was ad well now the entire second season has been released. It doesn't really need saying just what that show as it's right there in the title of this post but yeah for some strange reason despite the show getting tons of negative review from both fans and critics alike HBO Max still decided to release the entire second season only now instead of releasing two a week like they did with season one they now instead chose to drop all ten episodes of the shows second season and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED review of the episodes that hopefully see this dreadful incarnation come to and end with the episodes in question being called simply just "The Mystery Of Teen Romance" , "The Real Villain" and "Til Death" enjoy.

The plot of The Mystery Of Teen Romance is just three weeks after finding out that Fred's mother was the one committing all of the crimes in the first season Velma finds out that now all of the boys are being killed of and sets of to solve yet another mystery where as the plot of The Real Villain is Velma finds some help from a new alley in solving this new mystery and the plot of the Til Death is Velma and the gang go to extreme circumstances to solve this mystery once and for all. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show really was alot better then the plot of the first season but was still a really weak plot with the plot of this show season being dropped in episodes in favor of more lighthearted plots when they should be focusing on the main plot which really is understandable for episode one but they still do it in episodes nine and ten of the show as well which just doesn't work at all with the plot of this season being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episodes are this shows executive producer Mindy Kaling as Velma Dinkley and Glenn Howerton as Fred Jones. Also starring in these episodes are Sam Richardson as Norville "Shaggy" Rogers , Constance Wu as Daphne Blake , Russell Peters as Aman Dinkley , Melissa Fumero as Sophie , Sarayu Blue as Diya Dinkley , Jane Lynch as Donna Blake , Wanda Sykes as Linda Blake , Nicole Byer as Blythe Rogers , Gary Cole as Lamont Rogers , Cherry Jones as Victoria Jones and Frank Welker as William Jones.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that;s actually featured / presented to us in these episodes well then in all honesty i in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad. As while yes the acting in these episodes is mostly pretty bad it's the acting from the cast members that we all know can deliver a good performance that really does save this season of the show acting wise as they really do deliver some really good performances in these episodes at least in the three episodes that this review is being based of off but with that said the acting in this show really is still painfully bad with the acting in this show not really being helped by the fact that the scripts for these episodes are just so bad that they give none of the cast alot to work with inters of what it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which really does bring down the overall quality of the acting in these episodes.



Doing the animation for these episodes is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Studio IAM. Now the interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad but at the same time it wasn't all that good as the animation is still just as ugly looking as it was in the first season only now the characters have slightly smoother and more fluid movements to them but that's really it and it's not enough as the designs are very off putting as they look nothing like the original characters with the backgrounds just looking very flat and boring and while the movements are a huge improvement from the last batch of episodes that doesn't stop the overall quality of animation looking really bad.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!



For some strange reason this show decided to introduce The Hex Girls who in the world of this show were an all girl rock band. With Thorn now deciding to open an occult book store with there being no mention of the other girls in the first episode nor in the ninth or tenth episodes of the show and as a result of that is the fact that it's hard to say what happened to the other girls but given that Thorn looks to be in forties it's safe to say that the band broke up for some strange reason which begs the reason why the show decided to introduce one of the three band members when they very easily could have included all three members and not have them change the fact that Thorn is opening an occult book shop heck they even could have kept Thorn's daughter Amber but given how badly they made Thorn look in the first episode of this show maybe it;s for the best that the other two girls weren't included in this show.

As for the actual mystery element of this show just based of off the three episodes that this review is being based of off. The mystery wasn't all that well handled as there are alot of things that are explained in a way that makes us the audience feel dumb for not picking up on them like the fact that they have Daphne and Velma get into an argument in episode nine only to reveal that was part of there plan to capture one of the main villains which doesn't make sense given what they showed us in the episode and alot of the mystery is done in a very similar manner with there being alot of leaps in logic instead of being things that happen naturally which is something that the original series did masterfully and yet for some strange it;s something that this show fails to do when given that it's apart f the Scooby-Doo franchise it's something that should be done as even in alot of the bad Scooby-Doo shows how they got to got to those big reveals at least somewhat made sense.


Even tho the makers of this show said back in season one that they couldn't include Scooby-Doo because why would you want to do a Scooby-Doo show without Scooby-Doo. There was one classic dog that they apparently got the OK to use and that's Scrappy-Doo who does make his debut in this season and just like the 2002 live action movie he's one of the villains with the other main villain being Sophie which again makes no sense given what we know about her character and while it's great that Scrappy is getting at least some love all you have to do is just like as his design in his debut appearance in the shows ninth episode and you know that he's the bad guy because he just looks like a bad guy and even how he acts which could be seen as a parody of the original shows version of the character with even his backstory being a parody of how the character was created it's still not enough to fool us the audience into thinking that he's not the bad guy as alot of the time he acts like a villain and not like someone that's trying to fool our main characters into thinking that he's not the main villain of this season.

Now the all pf these episode has / had an exact grand total running time of no longer then twenty six minuets. With episode one having a grand total running time of exactly twenty five minuets and forty seconds and episode nine has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty four minuets and six seconds and episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty five minuets and thirty seven seconds with it being episode one that has the better running time out of all three episodes as that's the episode that really does have more then enough there interms of plot to really cover that large amount of running time as both episodes nine and ten shove the main plotline to the side for alot of the episodes in favor of doing a more lighthearted plotline and yet episode one dedicates almost it's entire running time to the mystery and when episodes nine and ten do that they work and flow together really well as well but I will admit that these episodes really do have some really good pacing to all of them tho.


So now then as this is a comedy show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really bad. As the show doesn't have any funny moments in these three episodes barring one moment in episode one where Velma is texting Shaggy this long message only to delete it and re-write it with the message then saying just to ring her now which really was the only joke that was decently funny with the rest of the jokes in these three episodes really falling flat which seems to be a very common trend with this show as really everything about this show from it's plot to it's acting to it's animation to it's comedy ad yes even it's mystery just falls really flat with very little of the comedy in these three episodes working and even fewer really managing to get a smile out of anyone who watches this show as the comedy in these episode really just that bad and really isn't all that funny at all in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!


Overall while these three episodes are better then alot of the episodes in the first season it's not enough to save this show which just every degree is bad and needs to be cancelled so that it can be replaced with something from Scooby-Doo that's actually good but only time well tell if this show will be cancelled which really does need to be the case in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in these very episodes in this very review and as such all three of these very episodes earn themselves a grand old combined score of a 2.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girl;s and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review form IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the wonderful Google Images since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on Google Images are all fairly high in quality and as well as being fairly freaking high in definition.

Friday, 20 January 2023

Daphne & Velma Film Review


Scooby-Doo fans I think that it's fair to say that we've been having it a bit rough lately with the release of Velma being so bad that it's actually gotten a lower score then Dragonball Evolution on IMDB. However there is one good thing to come out of that show and that's the fact that it's made the film tat i'm about to review for you all today look good by comparison and so then join me as I review the film that is to my knowledge at least the first Scooby-Doo product not to feature Scooby-Doo actually in it with the film in question being called simply just "Daphne & Velma" enjoy.

The plot of the film is new girl Daphne befriends loner Velma and the two have to solve a mystery of why a bunch of their schools smartest kids or disappearing all before it;s far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty decent at best but at the same time this films plot also felt pretty generic and bland as well as being rather uninspired in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Sarah Jeffery as Daphne Blake , Sarah Gilman as Velma Dinkley and Vanessa Marano as Carol. Also starring in this film is Brian Stepanek as Nedley Blake , Nadine Ellis as Elizabeth Blake , Arden Myrin as Principal Piper , Brooks Forester as Tobias Bloom , Lucius Baston as Mr. Nussbaum , Courtney Dietz as Mikayla , Stephen Ruffin as Nathan , Fray Forde as Ryder , Evan Castelloe as Griffin Griffiths , Daniel Salyers as Mike , Adam Faison as Spencer , Jessica Goei as Olivia , Mickie Pollock as Two-Mop Maggie and Tucker Halbrooks as A Skater Guy.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that thew actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With this films cast quite clearly trying there best to make this films script work but the issue is that this films script gives the cast absolutely nothing to work with and as such they can't really deliver great performances. 



Doing the CGI for this film is a small studio called Entropy Studio who have worked on the show Cable Girls. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really bad even for a direct to DVD film since this films CGI just looks creepy at best and terrible at it's downright worst.


This film dares to do the impossible and thats make a Scooby-Doo without actually having Scooby-Doo himself appear in the film. Which is weird because it more then meets Warner Bros. Pictures mandate for including the character in that it's a family friendly film that won't hurt the Scooby-Doo brand name and so then there's really no reason as to why Scooby-Doo himself couldn't even be in this film altho given just how bad this films CGI even is maybe its for the best that he didn't appear in this film since he'd just come of looking terrible.

This film does something that the Velma TV series doesn't do and that's keep the characters as we originally know them to be. Since the Velma and Daphne in this film are both alot closer to their original cartoon counterparts then they are any other versions of the characters and that is something that just isn't the case for the new Velma TV show where both characters are so radically different from their original cartoon counterparts that they might as well as be two completely and newly created characters because they act nothing like the Daphne and Velma that we know and like for the original cartoon shows and that is something that just isn't the case for this film. 


This films mystery really isn't that much of a mystery since the film gives you no clues as to who to this films main villain actually is. Which for a mystery film is something that you really need to do even more so for a Scooby-Doo film since the Scooby-Doo brand was built upon teaching kids the art of deduction but even so you still need to give us clues so that we at least have something to go of off and when you don;t do that it just makes it look like that your just making it up as you go along which makes everything else just seem lazy and rather unimportant.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running tome of exactly one hour and fifteen minuets and twelve seconds. Which even for a direct to DVD Scooby-Doo movie is a bit on the short side since this film has so much to set up as well tell a great or in this case even passable mystery and tell a good story and it just can't do that and as a result some things do fall through the cracks like the mystery not being that good and as such I really do think that film should have at the very least have been one hour and thirty minuets long.


So now then since this is a comedy that means that I have t actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not bad. Since while this film does have an awful lot of bad jokes in it this film does also have quite few decent funny moments within it as well which does help to make make this film at the very a least somewhat a really entertaining piece of Scooby-Doo media in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall with Velma now showing the Scooby-Doo what a truly bad piece of Scooby-Doo media looks like I think that alot of the die hard Scooby-Doo fanbase will be more then willing to take another look at this film but with that being said this is still a pretty bad Scooby-Doo film in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that means that this very film earns itself a grand old score of exactly a 4.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on freaking the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page are all fairly freaking high in freaking quality and as well as being very fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 12 January 2023

My First Impressions Of The Velma TV Series

 


Scooby-Doo fans the Scooby-Doo franchise has been around since the sixties having spawned dozens of TV shows ad movies. Well we have yet another new TV show featuring the mystery loving gang only this time without Scooby-Doo himself in it and well you all just knew that I had to check this show the very first chance that I got and since HBO Max have just dropped the first two episodes of this show join me as I give you my first impressions of the show that is the first adult animated series of in the Scooby-Doo franchise with the show in question being called simply just "Velma" enjoy.

The plot of this show is when two teenagers are killed it's up to Velma to find out who killed them and why and at the same time unravel the mystery behind the disappearance of her own mother. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes was in all honesty really bad with the shows plot being laughable at best and just straight up bad at it's worst in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in these first two episodes is the shows executive producer Mindy Kaling as Velma Dinkley and Constance Wu as Daphne Blake. Also starring in these first two episodes is Sam Richardson as Shaggy Rogers , Glenn Howerton as Fred Jones , Jane Lynch as Donna Blake , Wanda Sykes as Linda Blake , Russell Peters as Aman Dinkley , Melissa Fumero as Sophie , Debby Ryan as Krista , Gary Cole as Lamont Rogers , Cherry Jones as Victoria Jones and Scooby-Doo and voice acting legend Frank Welker as William Jones.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes was in all honesty not that bad. Granted the acting isn't that good either but it could have been so much more worse then what it actually was and given that we do have some good actors in these first two episodes does mean that we get some decent acting in these first two episodes.



Try as I might I really cannot find out who did the animation for these first two episodes and for the rest of the show. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really bad with the animation looking amateurish at best with the animation also being very choppy and is also really very cheap looking as well. 


As I mentioned at the very start of this post this is the first Scooby-Doo TV show not to actually feature Scooby-Doo, This is due to two reasons the first one being a studio mandate not to feature the character in an adult animated series and the second one being the fact that the makers of the show couldn't figure out a way to include the character in a more realistic way both of which are just ridiculous because there's a fan made web series that's an adult version of Scooby-Doo that features Scooby-Doo in a very realistic way so it can be done as for the mandate thing adult animated shows can feature characters from kids animated TV shows and believe it or not the kids could actually tell the difference and no harm was ever done to the brand.

There was no way in heck that I could do this post and not talk about the fact that three of the four mystery inc characters were race swapped. Race swapping a character that has been mostly known as one race for close to fifty years at this point will always be a bad thing and even more so when it happens to multiple characters and so I have wonder if the makers of this show only did it just so that they could claim that if we the audience don't like the show then they could call us every name under the sun because there's no other reason to do it and on top of all of that Velma in this show is literally a self insert since she looks exactly like this shows executive producer and leading voice actress Mindy Kaling. 


I will give this show this it is trying something by being the first fully animated Scooby-Doo project that's aimed squarely at adults. However this show does that in the most stereotypical way possible and that's by including nudity and gore and not and not actually talking about adult themes look at The Simpsons for example which is an adult comedy but it also touches on rather adult themes HBO Max's Harley Quinn is an adult animated show that doesn't use nudity at all and both of those shows have a better understanding of what it means to be an adult animated show then what this show does which is a shame.

Now then these episodes has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty six minuets for episode one and twenty five minuets for episode two. Which is the perfect running times for both of these episodes to have since if you stretched this show out to have forty five minuet episodes then you'd be stretching this already pretty thinly drawn out story even thinner and even tho both of these episodes have some good pacing to them they still could have been at the very least five or maybe even ten minuets shorter.


So now then since this is a comedy show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes and well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes was in all honesty OK at best. Since alot of the jokes that we got in thee first two episodes just fell flat and didn't even get a smile out of me but then the show would hit you with a decent joke out of nowhere in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this show is one to avoid for any die hard Scooby-Doo or animation fan since it fails to be good at being a Scooby-Doo product and it's animation is so bad that it will make animation fans angry as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in these first two episodes in this very post and since this is only my first impressions I won't be giving this show a rating however if i'm still watching this show when this shows final episodes airs or is released then i'll give this a show review and a rating as well but so far it's not of to very good start at all.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post from the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very post being the wonderful the official Google Images since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on Google Images are all fairly high in quality and as well as being fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 11 July 2018

Scooby-Doo! Mystery Incorporated Review


Well then scooby fans here is a review that i've been putting of for sometime and well a few days ago I thought that it was high time that I got round to it since i've not only not seen this series but it's not that alot of people love and I thought i'd see what all of the hype is about so here is my review of Scooby-Doo! Mystery Incorporated.

The plot to most Scooby shows is the same but in this series while they do keep the same plot they also add in a series long mystery which I think is a rather unique thing to do since no other Scooby-Doo! series before it has had a mystery last the whole length of the show but tho with that being said the pacing of some episodes is pretty off not all of them only a few but it's still something worth pointing out.


This series is also full of debuts and last appearances in terms of it's cast it's the first time that Matthew Lillard plays Shaggy in a Scooby-Doo! TV series and it's the last time that both Mindy Cohn and the late Casey Kasem play characters in the Scooby-Doo franchise. The rest of the main cast consists of the great Frank Welker and the crazy talent Grey Griffin and honestly all of the main cast are really good in this series and they have a lot of great scenes where they are allowed to add emotion to there characters.

Heck even the guest cast list is really cool Vivica Still Not A. Fox plays the towns local DJ Angel Dynamite , the always funny Patrick Warburton plays the towns Sheriff but the one actor who blows them all away just by how awesome he is is the great Mark Hamill because yeah he's in this series as Crybaby Clown and he's really freaking good in that role and I have to mention the fact they got the actress who played Velma in the two theatrical Scooby films Linda Cardellini to play a role in this show my issue is she's using the same voice she used for Velma in those two movies and that does get distracting.


As you might have worked out the animation for the show was done by Warner Bros. Animation and I think that out of all the shows that came out in 2010 this is easily the best one in terms of animation because my god do they really go all in for this show all of the characters have lots of great fluid movements , the backgrounds look detailed and the chase scenes have alot of energy to them but tho that being said this show uses alot of CGI and it's pretty bad and it stands out a mile.

What is really interesting is that both this show and Be Cool Scooby-Doo! are in fact tied for the most amount of episodes each one having 52 episodes each heck even the original show which for longer then both of these shows only has forty one episodes to me that's just freaking insane and it's something that I honestly didn't know about until I was doing some research for this review.


What makes this series standout a little bit more is the fact that all of the action either takes place in or centers around the town of Crystal Cove and again I can't think of any Scooby series where everything took place in one town and that helps give the show a unique edge since now we get to see more of the place that the team calls home.


Another thing that helps make this show standout is that Shaggy and Velma are dating for most of the first season that's a really interesting thing to do with those to characters and it's something that I wish i'd thought of doing since it's a great new idea to add into the franchise and it helps the characters seem more relatable.

This wouldn't be anything Scooby related if there wasn't a mystery and like I said at the start on this review this show has one series long mystery and in all honesty the mystery is well done it gives you just enough clues so you can keep up with what's going on but not so much that your getting ahead of the characters and that's what a great mystery should do and it's something that most Scooby-Doo shows and movies have done but none have had one last the entire length of a shows run.


The two things that Scooby-Doo as a franchise always was was a comedy and a mystery show and while this show does have a great mystery it also has drama as well as comedy and in my opinion the drama does get more focus rather then the comedy which isn't always a bad thing since drama does help with character development but when your a comedy show the focus should be more on the comedy rather then the drama.

The shows does have some great dramatic moments init tho with the first season finale having the gang split up due to various reasons and not just one episode but three episodes of season 2 dealing with them getting back together and working things out I don't think any show has had the gang split up and yet this show not only went there but they made it last a lot longer then perhaps any show would have done.


Overall this show isn't as good as people make it out to be but it is still a good show but I personally prefer Be Cool Scooby-Doo! but tho that being said this show does add some interesting new elements and there's plenty of references to previous shows to keep the fanbase happy so the show scores a 7 out of 10 from me.