Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Super Sentai. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Super Sentai. Show all posts

Sunday, 23 February 2025

My First Impressions Of No.1 Sentai Gozyuger


While there might not be any Power Rangers for the time that doesn't mean that it's source material is gone as well. As Super Sentai the show where Power Rangers gets alot of it's fight footage from is not still celebrating it's big fiftieth year but is also still going  really strong and have just debuted the first episode of it's newest series and since it's been a good while since I last took a look at an episode from Super Sentai I thought that I'd take a look at this first episode to see if it's any good or not and so then join me as I give you my belated first impressions of the show that would make for a really awsome episode of Power Rangers with the show in question being called simply just "No.1 Sentai Gozyuger" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is sometime after all of the previous Sentai teams gave up there lives in battle with something called The Calamity a new threat threatens earth and it's up to a new team of Sentai to raise to the occasion. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as while the above synopsis might be more accurate to the plot of the show rather then the episode it's also something that is kind of true for this episode as well with this episodes being something that really wouldn't be found in an episode of Power Rangers as it does go to some dark places pretty early on which is something that was shocking to see as usually when you think of either Power Rangers or Super Sentai the plots for the first episode is usually alot more lighter in tone as it's usually there just to get you used to the tone of the new season with it some times getting darker as the show progresses and yet here they just straight up start of dark which is something that does work for the plot of this episode as it lets us the audience know that this episodes plot isn't going to be as happy go lucky as we're more then likely to get nine times out of ten with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Mio Fuyuno as Hoeru Tono , Hideharu Suzuki as Rikuo Byakuya and Masakazu Kanada as Ryugi Bakugami. Also starring in this episode is Maya Imamori as Sumino Ichikawa , Yuki Kaji as The Voice Of Tega Sword , Noriko Nakagoshi as Saori Iijima , Daisuke Sanbongi as Fire Candle , Marupi as Bouquet ,  Karuma as Kuon and Haruhi Isuchi as Natsume Tsutsumi.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as while Power Rangers isn't exactly known for having great acting in it it's hard to say if the same thing is true for Super Sentai or not and as such while it is hard to compare this episodes acting to the acting in previous seasons just in this episode alone this episodes actors do indeed do a passable job at portraying there respective characters and while some of them are given more screen time then others that is something that is par the course for the show and as such it isn't really something that's new and nor is it something that really effects this episodes quality of acting with this episodes true stand out performer being Daisuke Sanbongi as Fire Candle just because of the fact he is the only actor who looks like that there really having a blast in this episode as while all of the other actors that are in this episode do indeed turn in a good performance in there own he's the only one that knows what kind of a show that he's in and so is just hamming it up the whole time and that does make his performance a really fun one to watch with this episodes acting really being helped by the fact that this episodes script is just so good that all this episodes actors really have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance really will come out pf them naturally which is something that really doe help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this vert episode.


Starting this show of the way that it does does indeed set the tone of the rest of the show as there are no other Sentai teams now and so if these Rangers don't succeed in beating this enemy then that's it earth is done for. Which really is something that Power Rangers despite that show having some pretty dark moments in it's long and storied history never did and yet still managed to have some pretty dark episodes yet because of it but what let's this episode down quite a bit is the fact that they don't dwell on the fact that earth is now pretty much defenseless which is something that they really could have done and it is something that really would have made the episodes action scenes all the more impactful and meaningful even this early on in the game as it would mean that this new team would have to win just so that the earth would still be a round ad yet because of the fact that they don't bring it up at all it makes it feel like that it's an after thought and something that was only thrown in there to explain why there are no other Sentai teams this time around something which past seasons had no trouble with explaining and while the idea of all of the Rangers and there Zords gave up there lives just defeat this one seemingly impossible to defeat foe is such a cool idea it's also one that would have worked much better in a movie instead of the first episode of a TV show as at least in the movie you could develop that idea alot more further then what they do in this episode.


This episode has a cameo that not alot of people saw coming and that's the fact that not only is one of the leading actors of Bakuage Sentai Boonboomger in this show as a different character but that character also morphs into the Red King-Ohger. This was something that before the premiere of this episode you really wouldn't have seen coming as while it's not unusual for past actors to come back and play different characters it is something special when they then morph into a past ranger form something which the episode really doesn't explain away either and has led to theories that past actors are coming back to play newer characters which would be a fun thing to see and given that this is Super Sentai's fiftieth year is something that would also make alot of sense as it would be a great way to celebrate that milestone but at the same time tho it was a bit distracting and if you haven't seen Bakuage Sentai Boonboomger then it would feel alot more like homework rather then the fun scene that it was so clearly meant to be as that show had literally only just finished airing about a week or two before this show started airing which is something that does make it surprising that they would do something like that so quickly after the previous season had just finished airing but at the same time picking a more popular version of Super Sentai or at least one that was turned into a popular Power Rangers season might make alot more sense from a main stream audience point of view as then you could still celebrate your franchise and the people that perhaps don't watch this show all that often can see a suit from a show that they recognize and love as well.

To put in bluntly there are times in this episode where it looks like a feature film as everything about the episode just looks that good. Yet there are times where the episode also goes into looking like a Japanese fighting game which doesn't really work all that well as it makes the episode look more like and episode for a TV show when just moments before it we had this really great lighting and locations that make it appear as if this is a feature film and while yes films can also look like video games just look at Scott Pilgrim, Vs The World as key evidence of that but that was done as a stylistic choice on the part of the films director Edgar Wright where as here it felt more like that the two styles where fighting against each other when they should have been working with each other like if the episode wanted to look like a video game then why not go all in and have things like a health bar or when Hoeru morphs for the first time we see his health bar get increased just having the visual look of a video game but not doing anything with it only makes it feel like that it was something that was thought of at the last minuet and it's the same thing if the episode wanted to look like a feature film go all in and have some fun with it and spend the extra money needed to actually make it look like a feature film as only going half way only make it look like that you have no idea of what style the makers of this show wanted it to have in the first place.


This episodes villain Fire Candle does seem like a really fun villain as he's just somebody who has a huge ego and that's really it. Yet it's due to that simplicity of his character that does make him out to be a really fun filled character as not all villains need to be dark and disturbing characters as sometimes just having a huge unchecked ego is really all you need but at the same time tho given how the rest of this episode plays out it is hard to tell if he's meant to be one of the villains or not as while Super Sentai is known for having human characters as the main villains of the show here as they also introduce Bouquet and both of whom admit to only checking on the planet to see how it's going before Fire Candle's ego comes into effect when he's challenged as the worlds number 1 savior whilst Bouquet doesn't really do anything that makes her seem like she's an evil villain with her only having two scenes in this episode with the one just being her wishing Fire Candle luck and telling him not to be violent when he gets to this episodes version of earth and the second of which was her warning Hoeru not to grab the ring that gives him his powers as it could kill him both of which are things that an evil person really wouldn't do with Fire Candle really being the closest thing to a villain that this episode has just due to his massive ego which does make it easy to route against him and find him unlikable but at the same time tho there really should have been more scenes with him prior to him attacking earth as that would have helped to get across alot more of his personality.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty three minuets a thirty seconds. Which is a pretty solid running time for this episode but at the same time tho as this episode really did have so much plot that it needed to over this is an episode that really could have dine with being alot longer as this episode has enough plot there to really cover at the very least forty to forty minuets as just from the set up alone there's alot of plot that really does need to covered even if you take into account the fact that they made the an episode 0 just for this one episode that is something that really does tell you that the makers of this show knew full well that they had alot more plot that needed to be told as they still need to set up who the main bad guys for this show could possibly be as well and that is somethin that this episode just can't do with it's current running time and this is something that past season really didn't have a issue with doing as they had just the must basic of set ups and so they didn't have alot of plot that needed covering in there premiering episode and yet because of the fact that this show set up and premise is radically different from what came before it it really does need to have had a longer running time as while the episode does use it's running time wisely as it sets u the Red Ranger in a way that feels believable and organic we the audience aren't really given a reason as to why he keeps of getting fired as the only thing that we see him is save his current boss and that's really it and that's something that could have been explored if this episode did have a longer running time but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.
 


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. As we do get one technically four action scenes in this episode alot of which do take place near the end of episode with the first one being where Hoeru takes down a thief that's trying to rob the store that he worked at which even then is played more for laughs and is a decent enough comedic action scenes with the best scene in this whole entire episode being the one where the Tega Sword and Hoeru team up to take on Fire Candle which is where you get to see this episode become more like a video game which whilst it does clash with the episode trying to look more like a film it does make this episodes action all the more fun to watch as you see just how crazy and over the top that they get with there action scene as they go from fighting in the city to Hoeru and Fire Candle preparing to fight each other in a boxing Ring and we just get to see how the moves that they do to each other in the boxing ring effect what happens to them in the actual fight which was such a cool and fun idea and even Hoeru's first morphed fight against this seasons henchmen was a pretty cool fight in it's own right but it's one that oddly feels tacked on when it would have been better served as being the main one of the main fights in the next episode despite it being really well done fight in it's own right as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall whilst Power Rangers might be taking a small hiatus right now there is still plenty of morphing fun to be had with Super Sentai and if this episode is anything to go by then we are in for one heck of a ride as this episode is not only that good it's also that crazy as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked all of the good and a swell as all of the bad things that are in this episode in this very post and since this is only my first impressions I won't be giving this show a rating however if this post does decently well and if you guys want me to check out another episode then I will do it and that post would then be a review of that episode and that episode only and not a review of the show as a whole.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post from the official Power Rangers fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very post being the really great the official Power Rangers fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being better quality then what'd think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Power Rangers fandom wiki age are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Friday, 22 July 2022

Gekisou Sentai Carranger "Fighting For Traffic Safety" Review

 


Power Rangers fans even tho it's been a shockingly long time since I last reviewed anything to do with Power Rangers. I thought that now was the absolutely right time to review something from the franchise that spawned Power Rangers that of course being Super Sentai and so then join me as I review the first episode of the show is a parody of the Super Sentai format and formula with the show being called Gekisou Sentai Carranger and the first episode being called simply just "Fighting For Traffic Safety" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is after his home planet is destroyed an alien called Dappu arrives of earth to find the five heroes who will begin to bring peace to the galaxy. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad with this episodes plot being the stereotypical plot for a first episode but one that is also rather enjoyable and fun to watch play out in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Yūji Kishi as Kyosuke Jinnai , Yoshihiro Masujima as Naoki Domon and Yoshihiro Fukuda as Minoru Uesugi. Also starring in this episode is Yuka Motohashi as Natsumi Shinohara , Atsuko Kurusu as Youko Yagami , Mari Maruta as The Voice Of Dappu , Rika Nanase as Beauty Zonnette , Hiroshi Ōtake as The Voice Of President Gynamo , Kyousei Tsukui as The Voice Of Deputy Leader Zelmoda and Takashi Nagasako as The Voice Of Inventor Grotch.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With all of this episodes quite clearly trying to make this material work however this episodes script just doesn't give any of this episodes cast anything to work with what so freaking in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


This episode has a shockingly dark opening since we open upon the episode with a gang destroying an entire planet. Which was something that you'd never ever see on an episode of Power Rangers and yes they do confirm that all of the planets inhabitants died in the explosion which just goes to show you just how dark this episodes opening scene well and truly is and it oddly works well enough in this freaking episodes favour in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


For those that don't know this particular sentai is actually meant to be viewed as a parody of the sentai format and formular and as a parody this episode does work really well. With this episode having alot of good jokes that not only take aim at the Sentai franchise but at every day live with the five main heroes having to literally be dragged into action which is just the best joke in the entire episode in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

I don't really think that this needs to be said since you can quite clearly tell by the pictures but this sentai had it's footage used in Power Rangers Turbo. With from what I can tell very little footage from this episode being used at all in Power Rangers Turbo but I could be wrong tho but given that this sentai is meant to be a parody it makes me wonder why the makers behind Power Rangers chose to adapt this sentai since it's quite clearly something that's not be to taken seriously in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


For some reason this show chose to make it's main guardian character seem fairly unlikable and really annoying. Since he's given this really annoying voice and an irritating personally with him lying to our heroes in order to get them to do whatever they he wants him to do which makes him seem really unlikable and so I can only hope that he gets better as the show goes on but so far this character is not of to a good start at all in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

Now then this episode has / had a grand total running time of exactly nineteen minuets and fifty nine seconds and so then lets round all of that up to twenty minuets shall we. I will admit this episode could have been a bit longer since it throws so much at you in such a short amount of time that it's hard to keep up with what's going on story wise and so if anything this episode should at the very freaking least have been two episodes long in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.  


So now then this episode does have alot of action within it and so then that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode and well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. However that's also the issue because of the fact that this episodes action isn't that particularly good ether in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Overall this episode was a good episode and you can quite easily see why Power Rangers Turbo is considered to be such a bad season of the show since this episode features alot of what makes that show so bad in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that means that this very episode erns itself a grand old score of exactly a 6 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Power Rangers fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the actual images that are actually from this actual freaking episode being the official Power Rangers fandom wiki page this is simply because the official Power Rangers fandom wiki page actually has a wide varitity of images from this actual freaking episode all of which are currently featured / up and on the official Power Rangers fandom wiki page right now / as we speak and plus all of the images that are currently featured / up and on the official Power Rangers fandom wiki page are all fairly high in quality and as well as being fairly freaking high in freaking definition.













Monday, 25 September 2017

Kamen Rider × Super Sentai: Chou Super Hero Taisen Review


Hello Kamen Rider fans and Super Sentai fans today is a very special review because this is the first time i'm reviewing anything from both franchises so here we go with Kamen Rider × Super Sentai: Chou Super Hero Taisen.


The plot of the film is the gaming world is attacking the real world so it's up Kamen Rider Ex-Aid and bunch of Super Sentai characters to out a stop to it. The movie has dreadful pacing and is at times just flat out boring it's a cool story to tell but it gets bogged down by awful pacing and for a movie that has both Kamen Rider and Super Sentai in the title it focuses more on the Kamen Rider characters which is great if you love that franchise but if you love Super Sentai more then your in trouble.


Now the cast list for this film is freaking huge so i'm not going to name everyone but in the movie we have Hiroki Iijima , Ruka Matsuda , Haruka Tateishi and Takumi Kizu. The acting in this film is what you'd expect from something that gets made into Power Rangers so if you have low expectations then you'll be happy i honestly don't know what more i can say about the acting because anybody who watches these shows will know what to expect from the actors.

I admit to being disappointed that my favorite Sentai Doubutsu Sentai Zyuohger only had one actor appear in live action with the rest being in voice over that didn't sit well with me at all why couldn't they have had all of the Sentai actors at some point appear in live action it would have made the movie feel more special.


I have to mention the action scenes they were really freaking awesome both the Kamen Rider teams and the Super Sentai teams use there weapons alot which i liked because it mean the action scenes didn't boil down to who can hit who the hardest and it helps that there was a lot of cool camera movements as well.


Overall if your a fan of both or even just one of these franchises then i say you check this one out but either way you should be ready for a long and at time dull film so with that in mind this film gets a 5 out of 10 from me.