Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Harley Quinn: The Animated Series. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Harley Quinn: The Animated Series. Show all posts

Monday, 20 January 2025

Harley Quinn: The Animated Series "The Big Apricot" SPOILER FILLED Review


After a good while waiting between series the new series of the acclaimed Harley Quinn: The Animated Series TV show debuted just a few days ago. While i've never seen every single episode of the show I have kept up with the storyline here and there and so even I was kind of excited to see this new episode and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED review of the episode that sees Harley and Ivy move with the episode in question being called simply just "The Big Apricot" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is Harley and Ivy sneak into a museum dedicated to Superman because Harley just wants to get him to say thanks for her saving him. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as it did a good job of setting up the main plot for the season as well as being the kind of story that you'd expect from this show at this point in time but the issue is tho is that this episodes plot really doesn't do anything fun and unique with it's setting and set up with the kind of things that you think would happen given the episodes premise happening and happening in the exact way and order that you think that they would do and heck even the episodes big twist reveal was one that you could see coming a mile away all of which does make this episode seem kind of predictable and that is something that really shouldn't happen with these characters you have permission to go and do wacky and outlandish things and that's when this show really does work but here it doesn't do any of that for the most part and instead plays it safe which works more against the episode then it does for it with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is this shows producer Kaley Cuoco as Harley Quinn and Lake Bell as Poison Ivy. Also starring in this episode is James Adomian as Clock King Skeleton 1 and Eclipso , Diedrich Bader as Bruce Wayne and Automation Sentry , Briana Cuoco as Oracle , Natalie Morales as Lois Lane , Aisha Tyler as Lena Luthor , Jim Rash as The Riddler and A Waiter , Cherise Booth as Catwoman , Tisha Campbell as Tawny and A Manager , Drew Massey as Jimmy Olsen and Performer 1 , Katie Rich as Enchantress and A Child and James Wolk as Superman.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With the actors that you expect a great performance really giving us exactly that and that is something that really does make sense as alot of this episodes actors have been in this show from the very beginning and as such they really would know how best to perform there respective characters and while yes there are a few dodgy performances in this episode this episode those bad performances don't represent the overall majority of this episodes acting with it being painfully obvious that Kaley Cuoco pretty much just IS the voice for this adult animated take on Harley Quinn as she just captures the character so beautifully that it really is hard to picture anybody else playing the character in an adult animated TV show or movie as Kaley Cuoco is just that good not only in the show as a whole but in this episode as well with the same thing also being true for Lake Bell as well as she just works as Poison Ivy with the acting that's in this episode really being helped by the fact that this episodes script is just so good that all this episodes really have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance really will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode


Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the really greats that are currently over at Studio IAM. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very done in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as the show already had some really high quality animation anyways with this episode more then matching up to that and while it doesn't surpass the animation quality of the previous seasons you can still tell that the animation team that were working on this episode had a blast making it and that they have a passion for all of the characters in this episode which is something that does shine through in the final product with the episodes animation also having alot of detail in backgrounds like the fact that Gotham is pretty much hell on earth and so the animation for those scenes includes things that would put alot of people visiting and yet when they get Metropolis it's this utopia type of place where everybody likes everyone else and it's that great attention to detail that makes the animation in this episode really stand out as it would have been super easy for them to just phone it in and turn in something that's not that good but the very fact that they didn't really does show you that everyone involved with the making of this show deeply loves those characters and the world that this show takes place in.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!



There was one actor that was left off of this episodes cast list and that's the fact that this episode marks the debut of Sir Stephen Fry as Brainiac. With the character only appearing in one scene at the very end of the episode with him pretty much confirmed to be the big bad for this season which whilst it is good casting and while Sir Stephen Fry does indeed turn in a solid performance in the few moments that he's one screen it's apart of a reveal that you can see coming a mile away as it's pretty obvious that someone is trying to make Harley and Ivy out to be bad guys in Metropolis and so when they reveal that it's Brainiac it's not as shocking as perhaps the makers of this show had wanted it to be as it's something that is very clearly what's going to happen the only way that they could make a reveal like this work was if they revealed that Brainiac was working for someone other then Lana as that would be far to obvious of a choice given how she acts in this episode but at the same time tho it would be interesting to see this new take on Brainiac in action and to see what the makers of this very adult show do with him as there are quite alot of things that they could with the character given the fact that this show is an adult show and given that Sir Stephan Fry is a comedic actor then you just know that the makers of this show are going to hopefully take full advantage of that and give Brainiac some really funny lines as well.

If you ere excited to see Superman appear in this show again then get ready to be let down as he does nothing of note in the episode. In fact he doesn't do anything that actually effects the main plot of the episode with him just appearing in a few scenes the first of which is at the museum where he arrives and hears Jimmy screaming but when he goes to help him he finds that one of the automation sentries has already helped him and his second scene is little just him talking to Harley before flying off again and that's it which is a shame as seeing Superman swearing could have been funny and yet the makers of this show don't take that plunge and instead just have him show up and leave and that's really it and heck both of his scenes are so pointless to the plot of the episode that you could have left them out of the final cut episode and nothing that's actually important to the actual plot of the episode would have been lost as that's just pointless his scenes are in this episode and when you have a character that's as iconic as Superman appearing in an episode that's quite literally all about him having effectively be a minor character in the episode really does't make that much sense and it would have made more sense if he was a main character in the episode as that would not allow to show us the audience just how funny this new take on Superman could quite possibly be but it would also allow to see what this take of Superman is like in action which makes sense given that he straight up says that he's going to take a holiday at the end of the episode.


As a comedy this episode does work really well as there alot of really funny jokes really early on in the episode. All of which do feel like that there are the kinds of jokes that thus show would have made back in it's first season and yet when the show moves the characters out of Gotham to Metropolis the jokes whilst they are still funny don't really land as much as the really could have done like for example Harley's subplot in this episode in this episode is to get a thank you off of Superman for her saving his life one time and yet the episode does nothing funny with it like how funny would it have been to have them meet each other more then the one time that they do actually meet up in the episode only for him to fly thinking that he can help somebody and for Harley to get more and more frustrated every single time that's funny and it would have been very in keeping with her character but because of the fact that the episode only has them meet them once at the end of the episode they can't do anything all that funny with it except for having Superman fly off after Harley saves him again and that's really it and that's not that funny and this episode does have jokes all throughout it that are like but when this episode does tell a really funny joke it is something that does land and land hard like the fact that according the people of Metropolis the people who live in Gotham are just hideous people who don't know how to look after themselves and that is a really joke.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty two minuets and fifty five. Which is pretty much the bogstandard running time for this show with this episode really having the right amount there interms of plot to really cover that amount of running time and while yes it would have been better if this episode did have a slightly longer running time as this is a streaming show they really could have pushed this episode to thirty minuets even if it's just fit in more jokes if they did do that then the plot of this episode would stat to be getting stretched rather thin and the episode would have alot of scenes init regardless of if they were actually funny or not they would also feel like filler and as such this episode is perfect with it current running time as it means that every single scene has to be about advancing the plot of the episode and as well as setting up the plot for this season but it also would have been if this episode was slightly longer just so that we could get to spend more time in this world and with these characters but the plot has to always come first first and if that means that the plot demands having a shorter running time as you really can't expand on this episodes plot in any meaningful way then  so be it as at least this way we'd get an episode that isn't chocked filled to the brim with filler and is more about advancing the actual plot of the episode but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho. 


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I gave to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt hat the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With this episode having some really fun filled action sequences all throughout it's running time with the best one being the scene where both Harley and Ivy dressed as acrobats for the Superman museum have to fight off a bunch of automation sentries whilst trying to steal a box that's important to Superman with that action sequence also leading to some pretty funny lines between the pair as well and it's during this action that the animation for this episode really does come alive as it makes what could have been seen as being a flat , dull and boring action scene suddenly be the best scene in the whole entire episode as it's one where you not only get to see the episodes already high quality animation be at it's best but it;s also where you get to see the characters just being themselves all of which combine to make a really fun filled action scene and it is something that really does make you wonder if the rest of this season action will be like that as it this episodes action really is just that good and is just that fun to watch as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall whilst this was a really good first episode it's also an episode that could have been done alot better and while the nearly two year wait for this episode was worth it as it means that we got a good episode out of it alot of that really should have been spent on making this episode as good as it really could have been as there is alot of potential in this episode to be a good episode but for one reason or another it's just can't or at worst doesn't want to live up to that potential in my freaking opinions anyways / anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 7 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in his very review from the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page and Google Images. ith my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Sunday, 8 December 2024

Harley Quinn: The Animated Series "Being Harley Quinn" A Short Review


It's been quite sometime since I last reviewed anything from the Harley Quinn TV show and well to be frank I just wanted to cover an episode of the show. Well I think that i've found a really solid episode of the show to talk about and so then join me as I review the episode that reveals Harleys origin story with the episode in question being called simply just "Being Harley Quinn" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when she suffers a literal brain freeze when trying to find a lair all of Harleys friends have to travel inside her mind and work out what's wrong with Harley before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as it was a crazy plot that does go to show you just how crazy this show really can be but at the same time the plot of the episode also wasn't as crazy as it premise would allow it to be with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is this shows executive producer Kaley Cuoco as Harley Quinn and Jason Alexander as Sy Borgman. Also starring in this episode is Lake Bell as Poison Ivy , Ron Funches as King Shark , Tony Hale as Dr. Psycho , Alan Tudyk as The Joker and Clayface , Frankie Muniz as Himself , Suzy Nakamura as The Realtor and Rhea Perlman as Golda.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good with all of this episodes actors turning in some really good performances which is something that really does make sense as alot of this episodes actors are a bunch of really actors in there own right and while yes these characters would have been better if they were played by voice actors the actors that they have do a good job that it's hard to picture anyone else playing these versions of the characters with the acting that's in this very episode really being helped by the fact that this episodes script is just so good that all this episodes actors really have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance really will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode 


Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Digital eMation. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty alot better then what it really had any right to be as an episode with this kind of set up doesn't really require good animation and yet that's exactly what we got in this episode and while the animation isn't as crazy as it really could have been given its setup the bits of craziness that we do get from the episodes animation look really good with it being clear as day that the episodes had alot of fun in putting together the animation for this episode and that is something that really does shine through in this episode.


As was mentioned at the start of this review this is the episode that reveals the origin story for this version of Harley Quinn. With it being revelled that instead of her being pushed into the vat of acid she instead willingly jumped in something which Harley repressed and then blamed on The Joker with this take on her origin being a really good and interesting take as it really does open up the question of was Harley in the main DC canon pushed or did she also willingly jump in as it could be either one and both of them would make total sense given just how insane that she was at the time of the event but what didn't really work was the fact that Harley entered her own backstory to change it so that her origin was now when she broke up with The Joker in the first episode as it just felt off somehow.

What also really didn't work was the fact that the episode really doesn't take advantage of it's setting. As given that the setting for this episode inside the mind of Harley Quinn the episode could have had some really trippy visuals due yo the fact that she's an insane person and we don't even find why she's as insane as she is as the episode straight up tells us that she's been this messed up since she was a kid and yet the episode doesn't really take the time that it should have done in showing us how she came to be the way that she is and if the episode wanted to have some crazy visuals to it then they could have had Harley attacked by all the versions of herself from not only her time with The Joker as opposed to just showing a bunch of kid versions of Harley attacking the group as that's just not as insane as it really could have been.


Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty two minuets and fifty four seconds. Which is the bogstandard running time for this show to have but at the same time tho this episode could have been a little bit longer as it has more then enough there interms of plot to cover a much more longer running time with this episodes plot being better suited as the plot for a forty to fifty minuet special episode of the show as that would allow for the episodes plot to be more developed then what it is in the final cut since as things stand the plot of the episode as good as it is really isn't developed all that well with the episode spending time on a pointless subplot with Sy Borgman trying trying to burn the bodies of Harley and her friends as they appear dead which just isn't as creative as the main plot and the episode would have been much more better if it focused on the main plot as that would then allow for the main plot to become more fully developed then what it actually is but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.

So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as the episode does rather rightfully focus more on it's comedy aspect then it does it's action aspect and as result of that is the fact that while we do get some really funny moments in it we don't have that many good action moments in it with this episodes action feeling more like that the makers of this episode had to have some action in it and there just lazily had Harley hitting The Joker with her bat which while it looked good wasn't as creative as it really could have been as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall whilst this episode was a bad episode of the show as it dies show you just how creative that this show can be when it really wants to be it's also quite clearly not the shows best episode either in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 7.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then interms of where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 18 July 2024

My SPOILER FILLED First Impressions Of The Kite Man: Hell Yeah! TV Series


Harley Quinn was a TV show that really did catch every body off guard with just how good that it was and as a result of that is the fact that it wasn't all that surprising when it was announced that the show would be getting a spin-off. With that spin-off focusing on both Kite Man and Golden Glider well now then the show has finally dropped it's first two episodes and well you all just knew that I had to check this show the very first chance that I got and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED FILLED first impressions of the show that let's be honest here alot of us forgot was even a thing with the episode in question being called simply just "Kite Man: Hell Yeah!" enjoy.

The plot of this show is when Kite Man and Golden Glider buy there favorite bar they discover that it's alot more harder to run a bar then either of them first thought that it would be. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these first twp episodes was in all honesty not that bad as it was a plot that was rather refreshing to see play out and while yes the above plot summery is of the shows overall plot each of the first two episodes do have there own unique plot with the plot of episode one revolving around the dup raising the money to buy the bar and the plot of episode two revolving around the grand-reopening of the bar and it's the plot of episode that was better plot as while episode ones plot was the stronger of the two episodes it's episodes two plot that was the more fun of the two episodes with the plot of this show also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Starring in this show is Matt Oberg as Charles "Chuck" Brown / Kite Man and Stephanie Hsu as Lisa Snart / Golden Glider and Stephanie Brown / Spoiler. Also starring in this show is James Adomian as Bane , Jonathan Banks as Noonan , Lance Reddick as Lex Luthor , Michael Imperioli as Joe and Moe Dubelz , Natasia Demetriou as Malice Vundabar , Judith Light as Helen Villigan , Janelle James as Queen Of Fables , Rory Scovel as Gus The Goon , Keith David as Darkseid , Maria Bamford as Baby Doll , Phil LaMarr as Detective Chimp , DeSaad and Black Manta and Andy Daly as Darryl Brown and Sinestro , Dee Bradley Baker as Chessure , Jim Rash as The Riddler and Tisha Campbell as Tawny Young.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us n these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad. As all of the actors that appear in these first two episodes are a bunch of really good actors and do know how to turn in some really good performances with this really being helped by the fact that alot of this shows actors are reprising their roles from the Harley Quinn animated series and as a result of that is the fact that they really would know what kind of performance really would best suit there respective characters in any given situation with the acting in both of these episodes really being helped by the fact that the scripts for both of thee episodes really are just so good that all these episodes actors have to do is simply just so the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to really raise the overall quality of the acting in that's in these first two episodes.


Doing the animation for these first two episodes is the legenda and the greats that are currently over at Digital Emation. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good with the animation in both of these episodes being just as good as the animation that we got in Harley Quinn and yet at the same time being different enough and better then the animation in Harley Quinn due to the fact that the team have had more experience working on these characters and as a result of that is the fact that we get two episodes that both have some really good animation in both of them with there being such a high level of care and attention in both of these episodes from an animation standpoint that it makes the whole show look good with all of the characters having some really nice and fluid movements to them as well.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!



For those of you that are wondering there are two names that have been left of the cast list for these episodes with those names being Lake Bell as Poison Ivy and Barbara Ann Minerva / The Cheetah and one of this shows executive producers Kaley Cuoco as Dr. Harleen Quinzel / Harley Quinn. While these two appearing in the first episode of this show does make sense as it ties it into the Harley Quinn show both Harley and Ivy are basically there just in a cameo role only as they appear n the first episode and play no part in that episodes plot and heck the episode doesn't even explain why there not going to in this show at all as while they do yes mention them having just brought a new holiday home they never say if there going to be at that home or not with the characters in the first episode basically just being there to pass the torch off onto these other characters which is a solid way for these characters but at the same time tho these characters are so popular together that it could possibly cause people to expect them to be appearing in every episode of this show when in truth there just going there in a guest spot type of role and really nothing more then that.

As a comedy these two episodes don't really fair all that well as the comedy in both of these episodes just isn't all that good. As we could have gotten alot of better jokes in these first two episodes and while yes we do get some decent jokes in both of these first episodes alot of them are jokes that you can see coming a mile way and because of that the jokes just don't land as well as they really should have done not that there bad jokes but when you can see the jokes coming then there's something wrong with the joke on some level and it's something that really did need to be fixed but at the same time we do get alot of good jokes like the fact that the first thing that Bane does when he's at a Legion Of Doom meeting is to request tech to get small bits of crisps that are in the bottom of the packet enlarged so that people can eat them which is a funny joke and it is something that this version of the character would say and infact alot of his lines are really funny and feel in character for this version of the character where as alot of the Kite Man and Golden Glider jokes are really hit and miss with them being alot more hits then misses.


For some strange reason the makers of this show chose to make Golden Glider jealous of Malice because Malice is good looking. Yet all you have to do is look at how both characters are drawn to see that it's the opposite that's true which means that there whole plot line for the shows second episode just doesn't make sense as it's clear as day that Golden Glider is the good looking one and while Malice does seem like a cool and creepy character in this show her opening plotline is one where you can see the outcome coming a mile away and while you won't be see the possibly funny twist ending with the character coming it is something that does make sense given the creepy vibes that the character is giving of in all of her scenes but at the same time there really doesn't seem to be that much to her character outside of the fact that she's a youngster who only knows what today's younger people will know and nothing more then that which does make her character come across as being very note but at the same time tho there are places where her character could go if the show does take the time to fully develop her character.

Now then both of these episodes has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly no longer then twenty four minuets with episode one having a grand tot;a running time of exactly twenty three minuets and twenty six seconds and episode two of this show having a grand total running time of exactly twenty two minuets and fifty seven seconds. With episode one having the better running just because of the fact that while it doesn't have all that much to set up as things like the world of the show and alot of the shows characters have already been set up in Harley Quinn it still has to set up there story and what the character relationships are in this show and still tell a solid story which is something that this episodes does with both of the shows two episodes having just the right amount of plot for there respective running time and as result of that is the fact that none of the scenes in these first two episodes feel like filler as all of the are there to help to advance the overall plot of there respective episodes ad to the episodes credits they both know how to tell a good story in the short running times that they both have something alot of modern cartoons seemingly don't know how to do anymore but I will admit that both of these episode have some really good pacing to both of them tho.


So now then as this an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad. As there is some good action in both of these episodes and while episode two is a little less action heavy the action in that episode is still some fun action with Chessure growing in size and just eating everyone that it lays it's eyes one with Kite Man and Golden Glider being forced to try and of course fail to bring it down which was a fun idea and it is fun to see in episode two of this show but the action that we got in episode one was alot more better as it really did just go all out and because of that it was the ore fun of the actions scenes in both of these episodes as the action in the first episode is basically Kite Man , Golden Glider and there friends storming Kite Man's dad's mansion and getting attacked by all of the various henchmen and security guards that his dad has which does make the sequence a really fun one to watch in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!


Overall with there being alot of new DC animated content out just this week alone this one is the more better of the two new DC animated projects that we got this week as these first episodes were very fun ton watch and give you a good idea of where the show is going where as Justice League: Crisis On Infinite Earths Part Three wasn't that much fun to watch despite it still being a good film in it's own right it's just that these first two episodes were alot more better then that movie was in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in these first two episodes in this very post  and since this is only my first impressions I won't be giving this show a rating however if this post does decently well and if you guys want me to check out another episode then I will do it and that post would then be a review of that episode and that episode only and not a review of the show as a whole.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used on this very post well the boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen  personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post from the official Batman: Caped Crusader fandom wiki page , the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to really use to get the images from these very episodes that I really used in this very post being the really great Google Images simply just because of the fact that really due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are in this post really are all really from these very episodes and are really of course up and really on the really great Google Images are really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 9 February 2023

Harley Quinn: A Very Problematic Valentine's Day Special Review

 


Harley Quinn is a TV series that on paper shouldn't have worked and yet not only did it work out really well it's also spawned three seasons with a fourth on the way and a spin off show that's currently in development. The show has also just spawned it's very first special and it's a holiday special that's tackling a holiday that not alot of TV shows tackle and so then join me as I review the special that is the very kind of special that you'd expect from this show with the special in question being called simply just "Harley Quinn: A Very Problematic Valentine's Day Special" enjoy.

The plot of this special is Harley wants to give Ivy her best valentines day ever all the while Bane just wants a date. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very very special well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special was in all honesty not that bad with this specials plot being the kind of plot that you'd expect from an episode of this show in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Starring in this very special is this shows executive producer Kaley Cuoco as Harley Quinn and Lake Bell as Poison Ivy. Also starring in this special is Alan Tudyk as Clayface , James Adomian as Bane , Chris Diamantopoulos as Aquaman , Josh Helman as Captain Boomerang , Michael Ironside as Darkseid , Vanessa Marshall as Wonder Woman , Natalie Morales as Lois Lane , Jim Rash as The Riddler and James Wolk as Superman.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special was in all honesty really good.  With all of this specials cast turning in some really funny performances which really shouldn't be all that surprising since this cast has been playing these characters for quite a few years at this point in time.



Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and he greats that are currently over at Digital eMation and Maven. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special was in all honesty not that bad with this specials animation being alot better then what it really had any right to be. 


As to be expected this special does has alot of romance in it and as to be expected it's done in a way that is very in keeping with this show. In that it's done in a way that's both incredibly funny and incredibly sweet and at the same time both adult and childish which really does make the romance in this special seem all the more sweet and honest because of the fact that it's done in a way that's true to the show and that also means that the characters can also act in character and not act out of character just fir this one special.

While Bane's plot line is incredibly fun and is perfect for this take on the character it's also a plot line that's not really needed for this special. Since it adds nothing to the actual plot of the special and is there just for the sake of being their which is a shame because his plot line is incredibly funny and it's his scenes that I actively looked forward to since I knew that I was going to get a laugh out of his scenes but just because his plot line is entertaining it doesn't mean that it's needed in this very special and as such this very special could have done without this plot line at all. 


The comedy that we got in this special was really good for the most part since there was alot of really good jokes in this special. However at the exact same time tho there was alot of really unfunny jokes as well like for example this special does a parody of I think the  american office which is not only not that funny but it's also incredibly dated as well but when the special does indeed tell a good joke you really do know it like for example there's a really funny censorship joke in this special which just suits this special perfectly.

Now then this special has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly forty four minuets and fifty nine seconds. While this special really doesn't have alot of story their to cover that large amount of running time it does make as much use of that running time as it possibly could do which was something that made this special feel just that special and not just another episode of this show and i;d like future episodes to have this longer running time just because it would allow the show makers to tell more epic stories.


So now then since this is an action special that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special well then in sll honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that thew actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special was in all honesty not that bad. Since this specials main focus isn't the action it's the romance having action that's just OK does oddly enough make alot of sense but when we do get a really cool action scene it is something that's wildly inventive and different from what we've seen before in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this special is quite easily alot better then a certain other adult animated series that's also airing on HBO Max but at the same time there's nothing about this special that advances the overall storyline of the show in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very special in this very review and as such that means that this special earns itself a grand old score of exactly a 7 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page , the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on freaking the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page are all really fairly freaking high in freaking quality and as well as being really very fairly freaking high in definition.

Sunday, 13 September 2020

Harley Quinn: The Animated Series "Til Death Do Us Part" Review

 


There have been a ton of shows based of DC Comics characters but all of those shows have been based of the heroes that DC Comics have created. Well that all changed a little under a year ago when the DC Universe streaming service debuted an new adult animated show based of someone who is technically a villain and they actually made the show good and so here is my review of the debut episode of the Harley Quinn animated series with the episode itself being called "Til Death Do Us Part" enjoy the review everyone.

The plot of the episode is after a year locked up in Arkham Asylum Harley finally learns that The Joker never truly loved her and so sets out on a quest to become the number one villain in Gotham. Out of all the good things in this episode the plot isn't one of them don't get me wrong it's enjoyable as hell and is very fun to watch and see play out the problem is the story itself is so thin that it might has well not even be there.


Starring in the episode and the rest of the series is producer Kaley Cuoco as Harley Quinn and Lake Bell as Poison Ivy. Also starring in this episode and the rest of the series is Diedrich Bader as Bruce Wayne / Batman , Vanessa Marshall as Joey , Matt Oberg as Killer Croc and Banker , Jim Rash as The Riddler and Stan , Talia Tabin as Mrs. Calendar , Chris Meloni as Commissioner Gordon , JB Smoove as Frank the Plant and Alan Tudyk as The Joker and Calendar Man.

I'll be the first to admit that when I first watched this episode when it first came out I wasn't that big of a fan of Kaley Cuoco as Harley Quinn just because all I could hear was Penny from The Big Bang Theory, However now tho I fully by her as Harley yes I can still just hear Penny but that will always be there but her performance in this episode is really good and the same goes for the rest of the cast who all give performances that match the ton that this show is going for.


Doing the animation for this episode and i'm assuming the rest of the series is NE4U and I say assuming because I can't find anything regarding the animation for the actual series on the show's IMDB page but I found NE4U listed on the episode's IMDB page as doing the animation for the episode. The animation for this series has got a lot of praise from people and yeah it's not hard to see why since the animation in this episode is stunning as hell.

For me at least it's always a good sign when the animation in the first episode is really good simply because it says that the team behind the show care about making the best show possible. One of the ways that they can do that is by giving the first episode great looking animation since you only get once chance to make a good first impression and if you have solid animation in your first episode then you've made one hell of a good first impression.


I actually like the idea that Harley had to talk her self into breaking up with The Joker because to me that makes alot more sense then having her do it because of reasons. Yes i'm looking at the Birds Of Prey movie when I say that because here it's important for the character to discover that The Joker never really loved her and was infact abusing the living hell out of her and so it forms part of the characters arc as she has to come to terms with the fact that she was in a one way relationship and that's something that I feel that this show does really well in my opinion.


I honestly feel that this show handles the relationship between Harley and Ivy really well since we see there relationship develop over the course of the show and they don't just stay in one place if you get what I mean. That to me at least starts of in this episode since we see how much they care for each other and how much they are willing to go through to make the other one happy which is something that you don't see that much if at all in any kind of show animated or not and so it was nice to see it presented here.

Now then this is a comedy and so that means that we have to talk about the jokes that are in the actual episode. For me personally the jokes just weren't that funny don't get me wrong there are a few funny lines here and there but the overall majority of the jokes I didn't find funny which for a comedy is not really a good thing but just because I didn't find some jokes funny doesn't mean that you guys will feel the same way you guys might find all of the jokes in this episode to be funny.


This is I think the only adult animated comedy on DC Universe and when I say that this show and this episode is adult I really mean it. Since there is lots of blood and violence when someone brakes a bone you see the bone which was something that I honestly forgot was in the episode and so I was quite shocked to see it happen on more then one occasion and there's lots of swearing so basically don't let little kids watch this show.

This is also an action show and that does mean that we have to talk about the action that's in this episode. To me the action is one of the more weaker elements of the episode not that the action is any bad far from it but because everything else is so good and so when you compare the action in the episode to literally anything else then the action is going to come of looking worse because of it altho the final action scene at The Joker's lair is really freaking cool and I like how they use that sequence to explain why Harley is now using a baseball bat and why she's changed her costume instead of having them both come out nowhere.


Overall this episode is a great start to a great series and the series as a whole is one that needs a third season hint hint HBO Max. Yes there are some bad things in this episode all of which i've covered in this review but for me at least alot of those things are only bad when you compare them to over things in the episode since the episode is so freaking good as such this episode gets an impressive 8.5 out of 10 from me.

All of the images that I sued in this review ere taken from the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page and Google Images. Out of the two websites that I used for images to use in this review I have no choice but to recommend the official Harley Quinn fandom wiki page for images from either this show or this episode mostly because alot of the images are high quality which for me and i'm guessing alot of you is a really big thing.