Search This Blog

Showing posts with label The Looney Tunes Show. Show all posts
Showing posts with label The Looney Tunes Show. Show all posts

Sunday, 10 June 2018

Comparing Wabbit To The Looney Tunes Show


The Looney Tunes have been around since the thirties and there characters have become house hold names but there are two TV shows out there which have given fans differing opinions and now i'm going to compare the two and to make things clear i'm comparing things like the animation , the characters , pacing and most importantly the jokes so here we go.

Animation


The animation in The Looney Tunes Show for me at least is truly stunning you can tell that there's alot of care and attention put into each and every frame but I will say that the blocky presentation of the first season could be off putting to some people.


The animation in Wabbit I think is slightly better then what's in The Looney Tunes Show but not by much but tho the characters look a little to child like for my liking whereas in The Looney Tunes they have more of a mature look to them.
Winner: Wabbit

Characters


Now the first season of Wabbit rarely had the other Looney Tunes characters instead pairing Bugs up with a new character called Squeaks the Squirrel to me Squeaks isn't looney which is important when your in a Looney Tunes show. 

Another problem with the characters for me comes with the fact that Bugs gets dumbed down alot in the first season and acts very out of character and the fact that Daffy acts like his Daffy self when he's in situations where his more cynical nature would be funnier to me just isn't right but apart from those gripes the characters act mostly in character.


I have to say that this show did the impossible they changed Lola from someone who was just so Bugs could have a love interest and made her into someone who's actually looney in The Looney Tunes Show she's a ditsy rich girl who may or may not be insane and for that show it works heck it worked so much that they might have kept that version of her in Wabbit where she does a parody of Daenerys Targaryen from HBO's Game Of Thrones.

Apart from the upheaval and makeover done to Lola i'd say that the makers of The Looney Tunes Show matured the characters and they made them more human and to me that makes the characters seem more relatable and that's also helped by the fact that Bugs doesn't always win all infact most times he looses.

Winner: The Looney Tunes Show

Jokes


The classic Looney Tunes shorts got most of there humor not from slapstick like Tom And Jerry but from there word play and this is something that The Looney Tunes Show got right because the jokes in this series don't or very rarely come from characters either getting hit or hitting each other it comes from whatever there saying but alot of the jokes in season two just weren't funny.


Now i'll admit that this show can at times be rather funny ok not laugh out loud funny at some of the jokes did put a smile on my face but here's the thing this show is meant to be the Looney Tunes going back to there roots so you'd think that would mean they would bring back the world play they do not instead the humor mostly comes from slapstick which was rarely present in the classic cartoons and when it was featured it was after a tone of word play which set it all up.

Winner: The Looney Tunes Show

Pacing


The classic Looney Tunes cartoons where around seven minuets in length and that worked for those shorts but with The Looney Tunes Show the time frame is stretched to twenty two minuets an episode and I think that honestly works since it allows the story and the jokes to flow at a more natural pace.


The time frame for Wabbit is really odd because some episodes are twenty two minuets while some or around the now standerd ten minuets but each of those ten minuet episodes contain two five minuet cartoons so having effectively five minuets to tell a story and pack in as many jokes as possible is impossible it worked back in the thirties because of the fact that even if they had a bad short they still had stellar animation but the pacing for Wabbit is far to fast.

Winner: The Looney Tunes Show

Ovcrall winner: The Looney Tunes Show



Guys don't hate on people who like Wabbit and if you do like Wabbit then hey great good for you but tho for me The Looney Tunes Show is far better and don't hate on people who like The Looney Tunes Show since the main purpose of this post isn't to spread hate but rather just to have some fun.











Tuesday, 6 February 2018

The Looney Tunes Show Review


Here is a review I was thinking of doing for a few days now and I cannot believe I didn't think of it sooner I had forgotten all about The Looney Tunes Show and yes it is easily better then Wabbit so here is my review of the show.


For those of you who don't remember the show it was first announced in 2009 and it was delayed and delayed for unknown reasons until it finally premiered in 2011 and it ended in 2014 after two seasons but the show wasn't met with universal praise in fact even now the show has divided Looney Tunes fans with some claiming it to be the best thing ever and others claiming it to be the worst thing ever.

The show it self doesn't have a plot in fact it takes more of a sitcom style approach and by that I mean any and all plot lines are wrapped up in thirty minuets and nothing has any effect on the rest of the series and I think it works not only for the show but also for the Looney Tunes themselves as they were never meant to have long story arcs.


One thing that this show does differently then Wabbit is the fact that it takes chances with the characters by making them more human and less looney for example Bugs doesn't always win every battle in fact he looses quite a lot of the time so when he does win it makes it all the more special and less dull like in Wabbit.

The show has a huge cast so i'm not going to name every one but starring in the show are Jeff Bergman) , Bob Bergen , Fred Armisen ,  Maurice LaMarche , the late and great June Foray and the saving grace of Lola  Kristen Wiig. Honestly I didn't really expect the voice acting to be bad since you could consider most of these voice actors legends which is certainly true with June but even I was shocked at how good the acting is in this series Jeff plays both Bugs and Daffy and they both sound great. 

What really did shock me tho was how good Kristen Wiig was as Lola to me it felt like they wrote this version of her for Kristen just because it feels like the type of character you would see her play and the two went perfectly together so it makes me wonder why they didn't bring her back for the movie Rabbits Run.


I have no idea what the budget for this show was but judging by how good the animation was i'd guess that it was quite high the characters for a long time havn't had this quality of animation honestly i'm surprised they didn't get the team how did the animation on this show and got them working on a movie because they are quite clearly talented.

The show also has what i'd say are minimalistic and while I think that could be quite distracting you do get used to them and for me at least the backgrounds start to look alot like paintings and I think that helped set the show apart from other shows airing at that time.

The show also has fully CGI segments featuring Wile E. Coyote and The Road Runner or at least they do for the first season I will say that while the CGI segments do look good they do get boring after a while and i'm glad they dropped them after the first season.


I know i'm not the only one who's said this about Lola but thank god they actually gave her a personality which trust me is better then what they did with her in Space Jam where she was there just be Bugs's love interest and nothing else here tho she's a scatter brain and while she is still a lover interest for Bugs but it's rarely the focus of her character.

It wouldn't be a Looney Tunes product if there wasn't jokes and this is where I agree with people who don't like the show because alot of the jokes don't work and aren't funny but for every joke that's un-funny you get two or three that are funny as heck but at least the jokes in this series are alot better and are alot funnier then the jokes in Wabbit. 

I know alot of the people hating on this show are hating on it because of the fact it's set in suburbia but I have to say that at least this show takes chances while I can see what there trying to do with Wabbit the fact is they cannot make a show like the classic shorts anymore so we need the characters to do something different in order to remain relevant.


Overall this is a really funny Looney Tunes show that takes the characters in new and interesting directions but it does have it's problems that keep it from being a perfect show so it gets a 8 out of 10.