Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Birds Of Prey. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Birds Of Prey. Show all posts

Wednesday, 30 December 2020

My Top 5 Worst And Best Films Of 2020

 


Ladies and gentlemen this is something that I usually do on December 31st however i'm writing this review a day early simply because I cannot think of a single thing to review. I think it's safe to say that 2020 has been a terrible year for reasons that you all know and it's because of those reasons that alot of films either got delayed until next year or were dumped onto one of the thousands (or possibly millions) of streaming services and so instead of producing a top ten films of the year i've been forced to spilt this post in half with the first five films being my worst films of 2020 and the second half being my best films of 2020 and the rules will be the same those being I have to have seen the film in the question then film in question has to have had a UK release date of 2020 and so let's get this post started shall we.

WORST

5 THE GRUDGE (2020 FILM)

 

Perhaps the worst sin that this film commits is the fact it's boring and is very easily forgotten i'm honestly sat here right now i'm trying to think of anything that happened in that film and I can't think of anything. This film really wasn't needed we didn't need another film adaptation of Ju-On: The Grudge and it doesn't help that as far as I ca remember the film does nothing original so it's a pointless remake / sequel to the American the grudge films.

4) BLOODSHOT


Now you'd be forgiven for thinking that there wasn't any comic book movies released this year however there was a very small amount of comic book films that did get released both on Christmas Day and in February of 2020. Sadly this film does start of a small trend for the next few entries in this list since this film is pretty I can't say that's as bad as another comic book film on this list but yeah this film is bad because it takes a cool idea of having a human be enhanced by something to give them superpowers and it somehow makes that idea dull and bland.

3) THE NEW MUTANTS


This is a film that i've been looking forward to for literally years since the film was meant to be released back in 2018. This film just like Bloodshot and even the next film on this list had the potential to be good but it just didn't live up to it mostly because of the fact that the film had been delayed so many times that it became ridiculous but also because the film has bad writing , slightly bad acting and just does a bad job at being a horror themed superhero movie or just being a movie in general since none of the characters are likeable the film isn't scary in the slightest in my humble opinion.

2) BIRDS OF PREY


Now I know that this is going to upset alot of you but i'm one of the many , many , many people that didn't like this film. To say that I hated this film would be like The Mandalorian is a good TV show and the best thing in Star Wars right now (no duh) every little thing that this film could do wrong it does do wrong hell it doesn't make the titular Birds Of Prey team the main characters it instead makes Harley Quinn the main character which trust me is just the very tip of the ice berg when it comes to the amount of things that I didn't like about this film.

1) American Pie Presents: Girls' Rules


I'm just going to be blunt as hell here this film is really freaking bad all this film is is gender swapped version of the original American Pie and nothing more. This film is more bothered with shoving an agenda down your throats then it is about being a good film hell this film is more interested about reminding you of the original American Pie then it is about being aa good film there's nothing redeeming about this film whatsoever and it's one that should be avoided at all costs in my humble opinion.

BEST

5) Scoob!


You know it really is something when the first film in my best of 2020 films list is at best OK but like I said at the start of the post due to alot of films either getting delayed or dumped on a streaming service the fact that there was enough films to even make a top 5 worst list is astounding. This film is honestly really freaking entertaining and it does a good job of bringing the Mystery Inc gang into the twenty first centaury but I do wish that the film makers had gone with the current official voice cast instead of using celebrities but at least they brought back Frank Welker to voice Scooby-Doo so there's that at the very least.

4) SONIC THE HEDGEHOG (FILM)


Now for all of you who are getting ready to bite my head of that this isn't higher on the list let me explain. It's at number four not because it's bad film because it isn't it's honestly a really good film but it's because the following three films are films that I happen to like more then this film but like I said this is still a good film since it tells a good story and is in my opinion one of the most fun films to come out this year and i say bring on Sonic The Hedgehog 2 because they are working on a sequel and yes I will be covering it when the sequel which currently has no title with the sequels current release date being April 8th 2022.

3) WONDER WOMAN 1984


Now it was very hard for me to choose which film went in this spot since in my opinion both films are really good. I will fully admit that Wonder Woman 1984 isn't as good as the first solo live action Wonder Woman film from 2017 which was also called Wonder Woman (duh) but in my opinion this film is still a really fun film to watch and it's full of good acting and really good action but that's just my humble opinion tho.

2) SOUL


I went with this one over Wonder Woman 1984 because this film was very visually stunning in my opinion. I cannot put into words how much I was looking forward to seeing this film because the words simply haven't been invented yet and while this film didn't live up to my own person expectations this film is easily one of the best films of the year and I say one of the best films of the year because there's another film which is slightly better in my own humble opinion.

1) WOLFWALKERS


Wolfwalkers for me is easily better then Soul since it does every little thing that Soul gets right but it does those things better in my opinion. Everything about this film is just simply stunning from the animation , to the music and the acting it all just works really well in this film and like with The New Mutants this is a film that i've been looking forward to watching for years but whereas The New Mutants didn't live up to my expectations this film exceeded them.

To cut a very long part of the post short I used various fandom wiki pages for alot of the images that I used in this post with the exception on the American Pie Presents: Girls' Rules poster which I got from Google Images and I used Google Images for the 2020 logo / whatever you want to call it at the start of the post. In this case it would be pointless for me to say which website would be best to use since im not talking about one particular thing here but I will say that the fandom wiki page's do nine times out of ten have high definition images.

















Tuesday, 11 December 2018

Birds Of Prey TV Series Review


DC fans we don't really get to talk much , we should really talk more and as you can guess by the very title of this review i'm going to take us back to a show that barely anyone even remembers and given that this team is going to be getting a movie in a few years now seems as good a time as any so here is my review of the 2002 TV Series "Birds Of Prey" let's dig in shall we.

I'm going to let you all know i'm doing something a little bit different with this review instead of watching the whole show i'm only watching three episodes and they are the unaired pilot and the shows first two episodes.The premise for the show is in the future long after Batman has driven himself into exile his legacy lives on in the form of the Birds of Prey. I'll admit the idea of having a Gotham without batman does seem interesting but my issue is that's not in his character at all so couldn't they have found a way to not have him in the show but have him still be in Gotham.


Starring in the show was Ashley Scott as Helena Kyle/Huntress , Dina Meyer as Barbara Gordon/Oracle , Rachel Skarsten as Dinah Lance , Shemar Moore as Detective Jesse Reese , Ian Abercrombie as Alfred and Mia Sara as Harleen Quinzel/Harley Quinn. Wow the acting in this show is pretty bad. I expected this show to have some bad acting just because the acting in most comic book adaptations in the early 2000's was bad but wow the acting in this show takes the cake.

At the end of the unaired pilot there's a great scene with Harley where she's interrogating the villain of that episode and during that scene it would have been perfect for Harley to go full on nuts but no they don't do that. If there was any scene where Harley should have gone freaking insane it's scenes like that because that's her character she would go insane at you if you so much as looked at her wrong altho that was the only scene that they improved in the shows first episode.


Here is something interesting Mia Sara wasn't the only person to play Harley in the show because in the shows unaired pilot episode she was played by the great Sherilyn Fenn. As far as I can tell they had no reason to replace her since there's nothing about it anywhere online and it's a shame because she could have made a decent Harley if given the time but they replaced and reshot her scenes from the pilot with Mia.

What really annoyed me was the fact that the show has really annoying CGI filled transitions and it's not just something that's every once in a while either. Those transitions are several times per episode and they are really freaking annoying and horribly dated because the CGI freaking sucks and you know it sucks because it's early 2000's CGI so not only is bad it also look really dated.


This show is cheesey as heck and when I say cheesey I mean it's really freaking cheesey and i'm not quite sure how I feel about that. On the one hand it does add alot of unintended humor to the show but on the other hand it does take me out of the show. Just to give you an example of how cheesey this show gets they add a lion's roar whenever Helena does a huge jump or whenever she does something cat like which while they do explain it still doesn't explain why there's a lions roar there.

When this show first aired in 2002 it was very popular with the 18–34 demographic and just based of the three episodes i've seen i;m willing to bet that most of the people watching this were male. If that is the case then I can see why it was popular and hint hint it has nothing to do with the show itself it's to do with the fact that all three leads are really beautiful and one of them wears a skin tight leather outfit. They pretty much got the male demo after pilot it's just a shame they couldn't keep them tuned in.


This show doesn't hide it's stunt team well at all because you can straight up tell when there using a stunt actor in the fight scenes. If you want to know what I mean it's whenever they cut to another shot and you can't see the actors face now any good film or show will try to hide the fact that's clearly not the actor doing that fight scene but nope not this show. In this show it's right there for us all to see in all of it's bad glory.

Like I said before when the show first premiered it was really popular however the ratings for the show dipped every week during it's thirteen episode run so much so that the network The WB cancelled the show after just thirteen episodes. I can really see why this show didn't stay on the air for long because yeah it's bad and i'm saying that after only watching a few episodes so imagine how bad it would have been if I watched all of the episodes.


As for the fight scenes themselves they are extremely basic and there's very little to no creativity in them what so ever. That's not really a bad thing since this is still a TV show but even so if your making an action show it's expected that you put alot of effort into creating some great action scenes. What does make the action scenes alot more entertaining tho is that there's a lot of whooshing sound effects in this I don't even think Power Rangers: The Movie had this many whooshing in it.

There is something that I did like tho and that's the shows opening theme it's called "Revolution" and is sung by singer / songwriter Aimee Allen. The song in my opinion really does fit the group really well and the fact that this technically the first appearance in live action for characters like Dinah Lance and Harley Quinn is only fitting in my humble opinion.


Overall this show is bad but it's bad in an enjoyable way like you'll laugh at how bad it is so that does prevent it from getting anything below a 5 out of 10 but it's still a show that has a lot faults and it was made at a time when comic book adaptations weren't being taken seriously so it gets a 5.5 out of 10 from me.