Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Batman: TAS. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Batman: TAS. Show all posts

Tuesday, 13 January 2026

Batman: Mystery Of The Batwoman Film Review


When people think of animated Batman films there's always one film that people seem to forget about as it is seen as being the weakest one. Yet it's that very film that i'm going to be talking to you all about today as this is a film that I genuinely haven't seen before now and I wanted to check out and so then join me as I review the film that was the last film to be set in the DCAU until 2017's Batman And Harley Quinn with the film in question being called simply just "Batman: Mystery Of The Batwoman" enjoy.

The plot of this film is when a new hero arrives on the scene dressed like a bat Batman tries to work out who she is all the while trying to stop the latest scheme from The Penguin. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt that about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad as this is still a decent plot that would have made for a decent episode of the show and yet that's also the problem as this films plot doesn't make for a good Batman film plot as it just feels like an extended episode of Batman: The Animated Series and that's really it where as if you look at films like Batman: Mask Of The Phantasm and Batman & Mr. Freeze Sub Zero they all had plots that made them feel like movies and that could only work in movies where as this films plot could easily have been the plot to a two part episode of the show with this not really being helped by the fact that the films plot s weak at best as the film does pick up and drop it's plot alot of the time so much so that it does get hard to work out just what it is that this films plot is even meant to be in the first place and yet even so when this films plot does get something right it really does get it right like for example the romance between Bruce and Kathleen was really sweet and the idea of Batman having to figure just who this new person is is a good idea but the film does nothing with either idea to make them work as well as they perhaps could have done with the plot of this film being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Kevin Conroy as Bruce Wayne / Batman , Kyra Sedgwick as Batwoman and Héctor Elizondo as Bane. Also starring in this film is Kimberly Brooks as Kathleen "Kathy" Duquesne , Kelly Ripa as Dr. Roxanne "Rocky" Ballantine , Elisa Gabrielli as Detective Sonia Alcana , David Ogden Stiers as Penguin , Kevin Michael Richardson as Carlton Duquesne , John Vernon as Rupert Thorne , Efrem Zimbalist Jr. as Alfred Pennyworth , Eli Marienthal as Tim Drake / Robin , Tara Strong as Barbara Gordon , Bob Hastings as Commissioner James Gordon , Robert Costanzo as Detective Harvey Bullock and Tim Dang as Kevin.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With the actors that you expect a good performance from like for example Kevin Conroy giving us exactly that and while there acting isn't enough to save the film it is something that does show you that the makers of this film really did try there best to give us a good Batman film with the films guest actors more then holding there own when it comes to acting opposite the series main actors with the best actor in this film being of course Kevin Conroy as the man just simply IS Batman so much so that he's not playing a role at this point he's just being himself as he had been playing this character for close to decade at this point in time and while yes actors like Kevin Michael Richardson and David Ogden Stiers are still really good in this film with David Ogden Stiers making for a shockingly really good Penguin they just can't top what Kevin Conroy does with the character as he really is just that good as this character in any piece of Batman media with the acting that's in this very film not really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so bad as it gives none of this films actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.


Doing the animation for this film is the legends and the greats that really are currently over at DR Movie. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good with the films animation being alot more better then that it really had any right to be as while the animation isn't as good as the animation from the show was you can still tell that there was some form of effort put into making this films animation look really good with all of the films characters having some really fluid movements to them and while the film does indeed borrow the character designs from The New Batman Adventures the film makes everything alot more brighter and alot more colorful which is the only real issue with the film from an animation standpoint as a Batman film should look dark and it should look gritty as that's the world that these characters live in this was something that Batman: The Animated Series understood and yet here in this film despite it being set in the same world as that show it feels completely different due to the fact that things are now made to be brighter when it would have worked so much more better if things were kept darker as that's what people want to see a Batman movie but to be fair tho this films animation really does come alive during it's action scenes and heck it could even be argued that the films animation helped to make the action be all the more better then what they already are due to the fact that we get some nice fluid animation during those scenes.


Believe it not this film was actually the last feature film to be set in the confides of the DCAU until 2017's Batman And Harley Quinn film. As while alot of this films actors did reprise there roles in other Batman related films and TV shows they were classed as being apart of the DCAU and that to me at least is astounding due to the fact that the DCAU had alot of really good shows all of which could have had there own movies and while yes we did get film length episodes from certain shows shows like Superman and both of the Justice League shows never got movies of their own and yet both shows were extremely popular and could have gotten a movie or two of there own but for one reason or another people at either Warner Bros or at DC decided to instead just give Batman feature length films which is still great as that character does have alot of room to tell good stories but at the same time when you look at the wider DCAU there was more potential there to tell these stories that perhaps could have been told within a single twenty two minuet episode all of which would have been really cool to see like imagine how good an animated Superman movie based on Superman: The Animated Series would have been if it had the animation quality of Batman: Mask Of The Phantasm or how good a Justice League movie would have been if it had a one hour and thirty minuet running time to tell this truly epic story that could only be told in a film just because Batman: The Animated Series was the most popular DCAU show doesn't mean that there wasn't other shows that could have worked really well if they had there own feature length film.

Lets talk about the villains of the film as it could be argued that the film has to many villains as you have Bane , Penguin and Rupert Thorne all as the films main villains. Yet then you also have Kathleen "Kathy" Duquesne , Dr. Roxanne "Rocky" Ballantine , Detective Sonia Alcana and Kathy's father Carlton Duquesne as all four of those characters act like villains at some point in the film and that is just far to many villains to have in a film that isn't even one hour and thirty minuets long and while yes you could argue that Kathy , Rocky and Sonia aren't true villains as there meant to be Batwoman and therefor doing good there are times where they do act like there meant to be villains and while Carlton is just trying to look after his daughter he's also a gangster that is in league with The Penguin whereas this film is one that would have worked just by having Bane and Penguin as villains as together they are more then strong enough to be the main villains of a direct to DVD animated movie with even Penguins plan of just trying to sell these weapons just so he can make money not really being something that you'd expect to be the main villain plot for a movie as there you do expect the villains to go bigger with there plans so why not have Penguins plan still be selling weapons to make money but then reveal that he's putting tat money towards a bigger scheme like taking over the world as that is the kind of plan that you'd expect to see in a movie where as here his plan feels like the plan he would come up with in an episode of the show as it's just that small scale of a plan with this no doubt being done because of the fact that the film has to many characters who you could argue are villains in he film when having fewer villains would have worked all the more better.


This film does of course have a mystery aspect that being who is Batwoman and well to be frank this films mystery isn't that good. As the film does outright tell you who all three of them are the second that Bruce starts to suspect them whereas it would have been more effective if we didn't know who they were again look at Mask Of The Phantasm we don't see who the Phantasm is out side of the costume heck we don't even know if there male or female we just know that there evil and Batman has to work out who they are with the flashback scenes being the only pieces of clues that we get to the fact that this new character is someone that Bruce Wayne might know where as here it felt like they were trying to do everything that that film did only more poorly as here we get told who Batwoman and we don't get any clues as to she might be so that us the audience can work it out for ourselves both of which are things that do make this films mystery be all the more weaker then what it already is in the first place this wouldn't be a bad thing of course were it not for the fact that the film is literally called Mystery Of The Batwoman and yet it does feel like that so little effort was put into the films mystery when that is the first thing that should have been given alot of love and attention with the thing that could have helped this films mystery being if only got to see Batwoman very briefly and have the characters are her act so unlike her as they have to fool not only us the audience but also Batman the worlds greatest detective as well and when you have the characters straight up introduce things that Batwoman herself uses it makes Batman all the more dumb for not working out something that us the audience have already worked out or ourselves.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and fourteen minuets and forty nine seconds. Which is pretty much the bog standard running time for these DCAU Batman movies to have but in saying this tho given just how many villains that this film has it is something that could have been with being at the very least one hour and thirty minuets with this film having just about the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time in the first place but tho this film really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as the film doesn't take the time that it really should have done to fully develop it's plot with the film instead being alot more focused on giving us a forced romance between Bruce and Kathy then it in giving us a well thought out plot with there romance being very poorly handled due to the fact that the two characters don't compliment each other at all with the film no even taking the time to fully develop its characters either which is something that does make sense for characters like Batman for example where you could make the argument that they get there character development in the both the show and in the other movies but for the newly introduced characters they are characters that could have used the character development and yet because of the fact that the film is more focused on giving us a very poorly done mystery none of them can get it and infact we know just about the films new characters coming out of the film then we did coming into the film as that's just how poorly done that this films character development really is but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With the action in this film being the best aspect of the film as you can tell right away that the makers of this film really did know how to craft some wonderful action scenes with the films animation really coming alive during any of this films action something which does make this film action seem to be all the ore better then what it already is in the first place with the best action scene in the whole entire film being the films third act fight on the boat as we get to all three women as Batwoman team up to help Batman take down both Bane and Penguin after Kathy herself is kidnapped by Bane something which does lead to a truly awsome fight that gives you all of the things that you'd want to see in a Batman fight scene as we get lots of explosions which do look good in the film and it will always be cool tom see other heroes teaming up with each other something which the entire third act of this films is built around and heck Batman does even get into a pretty impressive fight with Bane something which does make sense as realistically Bane is the only villain character that could beat Batman so having him and Bane go toe to toe with each other is something that does add an extra layer of tension to the scene as Batman could die with the film having alot of other really good action scenes in it as well all of which prove that there is a good film in here it's just bogged down by a badly done plot in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Overall its not that hard to see why alot people not only don't like but have also forgotten about this film as this film is easily the weakest of the Batman DCAU films with it being made clear as day that the makers of the film really had no idea what to do for the film and so they just threw stuff at the wall to see what sticks and because of that we ended up with a really average films because of it in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I used in this very review from IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very film that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very film with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 23 July 2025

Batman "Eternal Youth" Review


It's been quite a while since anything from the classic Batman: The Animated Series was reviewed by yours truly. With the series spawning many great episodes alot of which went on to impact the Batman franchise as we know it to be today it was only a matter of time before we got to an episode that's not that great with the episode episode that i'm going to be talking to you all about today being one such an episode and so then join me as I review the episode that sees Alfred get in on the action with the episode in question called simply just "Eternal Youth" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when Alfred and a lady friend go to a spa hotel and the insistence of Bruce Wayne they come back and can't wait to go again and so it's up to Batman to find out what's actually going on at this spa and stop it before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad but that's also the problem as it's not all that good either with the episodes plot being one that's just average at best as no matter how you try describe it you can't make it sound interesting with the only interesting aspect of the episodes plot being the fact that Alfred gets involved in it and that's really it as the whole subplot about the missing millionaires feels wasted as it's not that well developed and while the plot is an interesting enough idea that it could make for a decent enough episode of the show it still needed a skilled hand to make a good plot and that's sadly what we didn't get here as almost everything about this episodes plot just doesn't work as it does feel like a weak plot with the whole plot of the episode really hinging on Alfred going to this spa with his lady friend which don't get me wrong is a great idea as having Alfred involved does add stakes to the episode but at the same time tho the episode doesn't do all that much with that idea with this episodes plot feeling like that there was a good plot in there trying to get out but for whatever reason it just couldn't with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Kevin Conroy as Bruce Wayne / Batman and Bob Hastings as Commissioner Gordon. Also starring in this episode is Efrem Zimbalist Jr. as Alfred Pennyworth , Animaniacs , Wakko's Wish and Plump Fiction star Julie Brown as Lily , The Little Mermaid star Paddi Edwards as Maggie Page , Diane Pershing as Poison Ivy , Lynne Marie Stewart as Violet and Sister Act star Carmen Zapata as Judge Vargas.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With the actors that you expect to give us a truly good performance from giving us exactly that the issues comes however from the fact that alot of this episodes guest cast feel lost and unsure of themselves at best and just straight up miscast at worst with the best example of this being Julie Brown who's character Lily is a henchwoman in this episode and yet she's given this very soft spoken very Californian type of voice that makes her sound more like a comic relief to the main hero then she does a sidekick to the main villain with the same thing also bein true Violet played by Lynne Marie Stewart which does make them feel like they were miscast in this episode and while Paddi Edwards can and has turned some really good performances in the here it feels like that she's struggling a little bit to turn in a good performance with it being clear as day that the here best actors in the whole entire episode are of course Kevin Conroy who is as always pitch perfect as both Bruce Wayne and Batman , Efrem Zimbalist Jr. who is just a joy to listen to in this episode and Diane Pershing who is wonderfully menacing as she always is as Poison Ivy with the acting that's in this episode no really being helped by the fact that this episodes script is just so bad as it gives none of this episode actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does help to hurt the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the really greats that currently over at Sunrise Inc.. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty the best part of this episode as that's just how good that this episodes animation was with the episode being filled to the brim with these really dark and borderline gothic looking backgrounds that really do suit this version of Batman and while the rest of the episode was really weak at best the one thing that did stand out because of how good that it was was the animation as you can tell right from the first frame that the makers of this episode but alot more thought and effort into making the episode look really good and giving us some really high quality looking animation which is something that really does shine through in the final cut of the episode and even tho the characters movements do look a little bit stilted and wooded at times when the movements look fluid they work really well with even the episodes animation going above and beyond in trying to hide the fact that the villain is so obviously Poison Ivy by having her front covered entirely in shadow leaving just enough for us the audience to work out who it is which is something that the makers of this episodes really didn't have to do as it's pretty obvious who the main villain of the episode is but at the same it does give us a really cool looking shot that works really well because of how well done that the animation in this episode really is.


Speaking of Poison Ivy whilst she does get a pretty cool looking opening shot she isn't really all that well used in this episode. With her scheme in this episode being the fact that she wants to get revenge on all of the millionaires that have done something wrong to the environment which really makes her seem more look the good guy then a straight up villain as while yes her motives are just it's how she goes about it that makes it evil as she first invites them to this spa under the promise of looking younger forever and then when they come back a second time she basically turns them into trees which does lead to some pretty creepy looking visuals and while the episode at the start does look like it's going to make it a big mystery who the main villain of the episode is going to be you can tell right away who it is and by the time we see the character in her disguise for the episode that whole mystery aspect of the episode is all but dropped which is something that does make alot of sense as this version of Poison Ivy does have a very recognizable look to her and so you'd be able to work out who it is the second that she appears on screen anyway and while the character does get alot of screen time in this episode it just feels like the makers of this episode are just going through the motions with her character as there's nothing really there to her character in this episode and while granted this episode an this show do treat the character alot more better then both the Harley Quinn animated series and Batman & Robin it feels like that they could have done something more interesting with her character in this episode as to be frank it kind of felt like that she was only added into the episode because the makers of this episode forgot to include an actual villain and so they just threw her into the episode late into the scriptwriting stage.

Even tho the show is named after him and he is the main character of the show Batman in this episode felt more like a side character. With him being relegated to what was basically the side plot of the episode with the episodes main character for it's first and second act being none other then Alfred himself which did make for a refreshing change of pace as you just know that if Bruce Wayne was the one going to this spa then he very quickly would have worked out that Poison Ivy was the one behind everything and plus making Alfred the main character foes add some stakes to the episode as now Bruce isn't just fighting to stop Ivy he's also fighting to keep his butler and friend alive and well with the only downside to this being the fact that the episode doesn't really take the time to develop Alfred or even Maggie Alfred's friend all that much as characters and while that's fine for Alfred as there are several other episodes with him in it it's not something that works for Maggie as while the episode still does keep it's high stakes regardless of if both characters get developed or not it does make it hard to tell just what there relationship is even meant to be as she treats him like he's her boyfriend and he treats her like there just good friends and really nothing more then that and that is something that could have been more defined if the makers of this episode spent the time that they really needed to in developing her as a character as that would then make us the audience be all the more shocked when they both get attacked and sprayed by Ivy's poison and start t turn into trees and while the shock of that happening is still it's more due to the fact that Alfred is a minor character in the show rather then both of them being that well developed in this episode.


To give this episode some credit it really does have some really creepy looking visuals to it as the image of Alfred being turned into a tree could be from a kids horror film as it's just that creepy. With it's imagery being one of a few things that the episode does have going for it with the other being the fact that the two plots do tie together in a way that whilst yes it is predictable thanks to the opening prolog it is still creative and filled to the brim with tension but at the same time tho this episode does make both Alfred and Bruce out to be pretty dumb as Bruce receives the tape for the spa at his house at random and doesn't even question it when that right there is a major warning sign and Alfred even tho he most likely has seen pictures of Poison Ivy before either on that Batcomputer or the TV or even in the newspaper doesn't put together that this strange doctor who's telling him that these thins that will apparently make him younger is all around the building and in all of the drinks and food at this hotel which again is a major warning sign and yet both characters shrug it off when in other and better episodes they'd be on high alert from that point on and which does make it feel like that this episodes writer Beth Bornstein really doesn't know how these characters would act in this same situation but in saying that showing Bruce Wayne run from the Batcave in full Batman suit to Alfred's room n broad daylight just because he thinks that his friend is in trouble does feel like something that the character would do so there is some resemblance of good characters in here you just need to sit through alot of bad stuff to get to it.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty two minuets and twenty one seconds. Which to be fair to this episode is a perfectly solid running time to have with it being perfectly in line with the running times of all of the other episodes of this show as well and while this episode does just about have the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time this episode really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as it's main plot isn't that well developed with the episode instead being more focused on showing us the relationship between Maggie and Alfred then it is in telling us a well thought out story and while seeing those together does make the episode more fun to watch it gets to the point where seeing them together actively takes away from the main plot of the episode as the episode isn't giving it's plot the time that it really does need to be well developed and thought out with it seeming like that the characters are just doing things at random alot of the time as very little of what the characters do actually ties into the main plot of the episode with as was mentioned the episodes characters not being that well developed either as all of the new characters are either very one note like Maggie or just forgettable like Lily and Violet and both of those things are issues that could have been solved with just one rewrite of the episodes script as then you could allow for the plot to be well more developed and you could also alo0ow for the characters to be more well developed and more memorable as well but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad, As even tho the episode only really has the one action scene in the whole entire episode it was one that was really well done with this being due to the fact that if Batman doesn't defeat Ivy this time around then Alfred will permanently be turned into a tree which yes is a little bit out there but given that this is a comic book show it is something that does work for the episode as it does make the stakes of the action in this episode all the more higher as it's not just Batman's life on the line now it's now also the life of someone that he's close to with the episodes best action of course being the only action scene in the episode and that's the third act fight better Ivy and her sidekicks as they take on Batman which works as now Batman has to try and find away of defeating three women at once all the while trying not to get sprayed by Ivy and turned into a tree himself which is something that does add an extra bit of tension to the episode as well but at the same time tho this episode could have used with a few more fight scenes just to better make the episode a bit more entertaining to watch as this episodes action scene while it is good doesn't really have all that much going on in it where as if you had a small and quick action scene with Alfred in it then it would have been pretty entertaining to see in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Overall inn a show that's filled to the brim with good and sometimes even great there was bound to be one or two episodes that just aren't that good with sadly this episode being that one episode as this is an episode that is better left forgotten and left to history as it's just that average of an episode in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all o the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as or where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Batman: The Animated Series fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great the official Batman: The Animated Series fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Batman: The Animated Series fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 25 December 2024

Superman: The Mad Scientist A Short Film Review


When we think of comic book cartoon we usually think of ones that are on TV. Well there was a time when cartoons would debut exclusively in cinemas with one of those being the Superman cartoons and so then join me as I review the cartoon that helped to inspire another iconic DC animated TV show with the cartoon in question being called simply just "The Mad Scientist" enjoy.

The plot of this film is when a mad scientist writes a note proclaiming that will attack Metropolis its up to Superman to stop him and rescue Lois Lane. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad as even tho it was a rather simple plot that's all it really needed to as the best aspect of these cartoons is there simple set ups as that's where they thrive the best with this films plot also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Bud Collyer as Clark Kent / Superman , Joan Alexander as Lois Lane and Jackson Beck as Perry White. Also starring in this film is Jack Mercer as The Mad Scientist and Grant Richards as The Narrator. Cartoons from around this time more often then not only had one or two actors per-cartoon as such it is quite surprising to see a cartoon that actually has quite a few actors in it.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With all of this films main actors turning in some really good performances which is something that really ďoes make sense as Bud Collyer also played Superman on the radio and as such he really would know how best the character with the rest of the films actors more then holding there own when it comes to acting against him with the acting that's in this very film really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so good that all this films actors really have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance really will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.


Doing the animation for this film is the true legends and the really greats that are currently over at Fleischer Studios. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good which is something that's not all that surprising given the fact that Fleischer Studios more likely then not produced some very high quality animation with the animation that's in this film not being any exception to that rule as it looks like the kind of animation that Disney was pitting into his feature length films as that's just how good this films animation really is.


As was mentioned at the very start of this review this cartoon and this whole series of cartoons helped to inspire another classic DC animated TV show. That being Batman: The Animated Series as the makers of that show looked to this series for inspiration when it comes to storytelling as not only this cartoon but the rest of these shorts have a very dark and gritty look to them with this cartoon also being very noir in its storytelling and plot as such when it came to making Batman: The Animated Series the makers of that show gave it a very dark and gritty look and made like a crime noir thriller much in the line of this cartoon.

If there's anything that this episode does wrong it's in the fact that the titular Mad Scientist really isn't given much in the way of personality. As a result of that is the fact that he comes across as being quite the dull and boring character when it would have made more sense for him to be quite a scary and intimidating villain heck he's not even given a reason for being evil and as a result of that is the fact that he just comes across as being evil for the sake of being evil and while this film really wouldn't have had the time needed in order to fully develop his character it is something that would have made the cartoon even better as a hero is only as good as the villain that there facing there for if The Mad Scientist is a weak villain then it makes Superman out to be a weak hero as well.


Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly ten minutes and thirty six seconds. With this being the perfect running time for this film to have as this film has the right amount of plot there to really cover that amount running with this film even taking the time to tell Superman's origin story as well as tell the main plot of the film and while yes this film really would have benefitted from having a longer running time as that would then allow for the films plot to become more fleshed out and the central villain of the film to be more developed as well it is something that would have been impossible to do as animated films had only just become full length feature films and nobody was doing superhero films at all but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.

So now then as this is an action film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. As for the time that this film was made in they really do have alot of action in it with best and only action scene in the whole entire film being the fight between Superman and The Mad Scientist as its there that we get to see the weapon that the scientist wants to use on Metropolis really get the better of the man of steel and seeing Superman rise to the occasion to take this villain is truly something that really does need to seen to be believed in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall if the new Superman film is as good as this short film from the forties is then alot of people really will be happy as this short film is just that good in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly an 8.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Batman: The Animated Series fandom wiki page , the official DC Universe fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 1 August 2024

Batman: Caped Crusader SPOILER FILLED Review


It's safe to say that when it was first announced that when one of the masterminds behind Batman: The Animated Series was returning to work on another animated series for The Dark Knight that alot of people were really excited. Even more so when it turns out that this show was intended to be the spiritual successor to Batman: The Animated Series and well the new show is finally here and you all just knew that I had to check this show out the very first chance that I got and so then join me as I give you my spoiler filled review of the show that sees Batman take on foes in the nineteen forties with the show in question being called simply just "Batman: Caped Crusader" enjoy.

The plot of this show is when Batman makes a mistake during one of his cases a chain reaction happens all throughout the underworld of Gotham City one that will see batman pushed to his very limits. Now then interms of what I personally thought  felt about thew actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I inn all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad as it is a plot that does allow for a more serialized story but at the same time also act as an anthology series as well with reach episode only being very loosely connected to one another and still have certain story elements to pass over over from one episode to another something which does make this show standout from alot of the other Batman animated TV shows out there and it's something that does work in the context of this show asl well with the plot of this show also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this show is Hamish Linklater as Bruce Wayne / Batman , Diedrich Bader as Harvey Dent and Krystal Joy Brown as Barbara Gordon. Also starring in this show is Jamie Chung as Harleen Quinzel / Harley Quinn , Minnie Driver as Oswalda Cobblepot / The Penguin , Christina Ricci as Selina Kyle / Catwoman , Eric Morgan Stuart as James Gordon , Jason Watkins as Alfred Pennyworth , Dan Donohue as Basil Karlo / Clayface , Tom Kenny as Joseph Rigger / Firebug , Toby Stephens as James Craddock / Gentleman Ghost , Mckenna Grace as Natalia Knight / Nocturna , Reid Scott as Onomatopoeia , Michelle C. Bonilla as Renée Montoya , Bumper Robinson as Lucius Fox , Gary Anthony Williams as Arnold Flass and Iggy , Haley Joel Osment as Anton Knight , John DiMaggio as Harvey Bullock , Jerry and Wilford Lee and Cedric Yarbrough as Rupert Thorne.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad. With all of the actors that you expect a good performance from really delivering on the acting side of things but at the same time the acting from certain actors like Jamie Chung and Jason Watkins to name but a few not really being that good not that there bad on there own right because there not but when you have them acting against other actors that we know can really turn in a good performance there performance comes of as being the weaker of the performances with the acting that's in this show really being helped by the script for this show show which is just so good that all this shows cast have to do is just say the lines as they are written as good performance will come out them naturally which is something that really does help the overall quality of the acting that's in this very show.


Doing the animation for this show is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Studio IAM and Studio Grida. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good with the show having some really good looking 2D animation that does look like that it came right out of the nineteen forties but at the same time this show does make more use of 3D CGI that does stand out a mile as it's something that does look really bad and it's something that Batman: The Animation Series never did as they knew that it really would clash with ere art style and it's same thing here as having 3D CGI even if it's just used for backgrounds does standout a mile ad it's something that really does take you out of any given episode of the show and while the shows 2D animation does indeed look really good with all of the characters having really some decent designs that some people might disagree with and other may like the character designs the characters do also have some really nice fluid movements to them as well.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!



Believe it or not this show was subject to two very minor controversies before it premiered the first one of which was the fact that they changed Harley Quinn to an Indian American and the second of which was the fact that the show features a gender swapped version of The Penguin. Well after watching all ten episodes those issues aren't an issue as both characters are handled really well and while yes Oswalda Cobblepot / The Penguin is the better of the two villains simply because of the fact that she's the more fun villain this new version of Harley Quinn is quite creepy with there being  role reversal in Harley's personality as her super villain self is usually portrayed as being more cartoony and funny with her civilian self being the more serious of the two where as with this is show it's the opposite that's true and while there will always be a soft side for the original Harley Quinn this new version of the character does come across as being quite creepy at times and while she only appears in full on Harley Quinn costume for one episode the character does appear in a first few episodes which made her fall in episode five all the more dramatic.

One of the very things that this show does get wrong is the relationship between Bruce Wayne and Alfred. As Alfred and Bruce should always be characters who are close to each other as afterall Alfred was the one who raised Bruce up after the death of his parents and yet in this show Bruce acts really cold to Alfred even just calling him Pennyworth all the time which is something that the character wouldn't do as he views Alfred as being his father figure and the one person that he really trusts the most in Gotham and yet in this show he basically treats him as if he's stranger even referring to him as the help in one episode which is something that just doesn't sit right as it's not in his character to do so this is something that wouldn't be an issue if Bruce had a story arc where he learns to be closer to Alfred over the course of these first ten episodes but he doesn't and as a result of that is the fact that we get a relationship that is fundamentally broken when in not only Batman: The Animated Series but in alot of other Batman media it wasn't broken as all you have to is use some logic and that's really all there is to it and while yes Bruce does finally call him Alfred at the end of the shows tenth episode by then it's something that's to little to late and it's nothing really something that feels earned and more like something that the makers of the show felt like that had to do.


The main storyline in this first batch of episodes revolves around Harvey Dent's descent into madness eventually ending up with him becoming Two-Face at the end of the show's eighth episode. While this plot line was done alot better in Batman: The Animated Series as the writing in that show was alot better then the writing that's in this show it is still something that's done really well and it is something that shows that the makers of this show really do fully understand these characters and this world even on the most basic of levels and because of that is the fact that even tho his storyline in this first batch of episodes isn't given alot of focus as it is something that really only appears in a handful episodes and even then acts more as a B plot to the episode it is still a storyline that's rather effective and works really well but it is something that should have been given alot more of s focus instead of it just being the B plot to most episodes which really is a bit of an issue considering the fact that his storyline forms the basis of the shows final three episodes and yet because of how little care and attention that's it's gotten it feels really more of an after thought.

Now then this first batch of episodes has / had an exact grand total running time of no longer then twenty seven minuets. With each episode having a running time of roughly anywhere between twenty four to twenty six minuets of running time which is something that really does work well for this first batch of episodes as the show doesn't really have alot of there interms of plot and while they do tease a big villain for season two this first batch of episodes spends alot of it's running time in giving us information about the characters ad about this new version of Gotham City and even in setting up things that don't pay off until the shows final few episodes but because you don' really notice them as there done in a way that feels natural and organic you don't really pay attention to them which is something that does work well enough in this shows favor but at the same time tho alot of the running time could have been spent on developing the relationship between Bruce and Alfred as that is something that is key to the Batman character and yet because there's no time dedicated to there relationship it doesn't feel earned when Bruce does finally call him Alfred at the end of the shows tenth episode but I will admit that all of these episodes really do have some really good pacing to them tho.


So now then as this is ah action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad. As it is something that does place into the whole nineteen forties aspect of the show but at the same time then action that's in this shoe isn't as good as it really could have been either with alot of it just coming across as being rather dull and boring alot of the time and yet when the action does get intense and exciting it's more often then not the best action of the whole entire show with the best example of this being the action at the end of the episode as it's Batman taking on The Penguin and her goons on top of a cruise ship with The Penguin trying to launch this missile at the Gotham City Police Department which is a simple thing but it's effective as it ends tension and it adds stakes to the scene instead of just being an action just for the sake of there being an action scene in the episode in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall this is a show that while it isn't as good as Batman: The Animated Series was it is still a really good show and one that has all of the potential there to be a really good show if the show can stick the landing whenever it's second batch of episodes does eventually end up being released in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very show in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very show really does earn itself a gran old score of exactly an 8 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all pf the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all pf the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Batman: Caped Crusader fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very batch of episodes that I used in this very review being the really great the official Batman: Caped Crusader fandom wiki page simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very batch of episodes and are really of course on the official Batman: Caped Crusader fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and really as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Friday, 26 July 2024

Batman "The Last Laugh" Review


The Batman character has been in alot of animated shows and movies for many decades with Batman: The Animated Series being without a shadow of a doubt his most famous animated outing. With the caped crusader due to return in animated form this Thursday in Amazon Primes Batman: Caped Crusader now was the absolutely right time to take another look at an episode from this truly wonderful show and so then join me as I review that see's Alfred fight for his sanity with the episode in question being called simply just "The Last Laugh" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when The Joker gases most of Gotham in his Joker gas it's up to Batman to stop the clown prince of crime before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad but that's also the problem as the plot of this episode wasn't all that good either with the plot of this episode being best described as being OK at best which is of no fault of the makers of show as there's no way that you could make a plot this ridiculous that good and to this episodes credit it knows that it's not a good episode and really leans into it but at the same from this show you do expect better plots and not plots that feel like that they belong im a show that's made with little kids in mind with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is voice acting legend Kevin Conroy as Bruce Wayne / Batman and Star Wars and voice acting legend Mark Hamill as Joker. Also starring in this episode is Efrem Zimbalist Jr. as Alfred Pennyworth , Bob Hastings as A Driver and Joker's Unnamed Henchman , Mari Devon as Summer Gleeson Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles legend Pat Fraley as Jest and Richard Moll as The Batcomputer.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. Which is something that really isn't new for this show as this show has always had some really good acting in it but at the same time the acting that's in this episode isn't really as good as the acting that's in other episodes from this show as while yes the actors that are in this episode do indeed turn in some solid performances they don't turn as good of a performance that we the audience really know that they can do and the episode does suffer because of it of how OK at best that this episodes acting really is with the acting not really being helped by the episodes script as this episodes script really doesn't give the actors in this episode alot of work with interms of what it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does hurt the overall quality of the acting that's in this episode.


Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Akom Production CO.. Now then interms of what I personally thought  felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us un this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good and was more then up to the already high standard of animation that this show already has with this episodes animation being one of the best things about this episode as that's just how good this episodes animation is with the episode having some really good looking backgrounds that really do look like a piece of art as they look that really good with all of the characters in this episode also having some really good looking and fluid movements to them as well and as a result of that is the fact that the animation in this episode really does look like that it belongs in a feature length film as it looks really that good and more then holds up all of these later and is better then alot of modern animation that we get in TV shows today.


This episode straight up does a plot line that was copied poorly by the dreadful Batman & Robin as in this episode Alfred accidently gets hit with some of The Joker's gas and the Batman has to save him. Where as in Batman & Robin Alfred just so happens to have the same illness that killed Mr. Freezes wife and Batman has to save him before he dies this plot line is done so much better in this episode as it's something that's done completely by accident as there's no way that The Joker would have known that Alfred was there cleaning in the first place when he just could have been going after Bruce Wayne where in Batman & Robin it feels a bit contrived that Alfred just so happens to have this illness that was never mentioned nor even hinted at before now and it just so happens to be the exact same one that that films villain's wife had which just seems to much like a coincidence where as here it does seem like a genuine accident and where as this film mostly plays it laughs which does work for this episode Batman & Robin has it tie into the fact that Alfred is a father figure to Bruce Wayne which is a solid way to do a plot line like this.

This is more of a light hearted episode which does make sense given that the main theme of this episode is Batman learning to take a joke and smile and the fact that this episode is set on April Fools Day. With this episode really taking full advantage of the fact that it's more of a lighthearted episode with both Bruce and Alfred cracking jokes at points in the episode and while this does make alot of sense given when this episode is set it does feel out of place as while out of this episode and the christmas themed episode "Christmas With The Joker" this one was the first one to make it to air and while having a more lighthearted episode like this one does indeed work given that this was still very early on in the shows run given that it was the fourteenth episode to be produced and fifteenth episode to air it does seem odd that the makers of this show would go for a more lighter episode when they still have forty other episodes to make up it's first season and as a result of that is the fact that this episode should have been further on down in the airing order just to allow this version of the caped crusader to become more fully established and while the episode does have some decent jokes in it with Batman smiling at the thought of killing off The Joker for good being a painfully funny joke it's still something that doesn't really save this episode.


The Joker in this episode really was the true star of this episode as he rather rightfully does have a funny crime that is only funny to him. With the idea of making everyone laugh until there driven insane is only something thar he would do and it's only something that only he would find funny and because of that is the fact that he does come across as being all the more creepy because of it as now he has this weapon that has no known cure to it and is just there just to give him a laugh and to cause who ever he is using it on pain and misery with this episode really being helped by the fact that The Joker doesn't have an end goal and while this would usually be a bad thing in this episode and for this character it is something that really does work as in "The Dark Knight" The Joker himself states that he's just a dog chasing a car he and that he wouldn't know what to di if he caught it and it's the same thing here as really all he's doing is causing chaos really just for the sake of causing chaos and while yes there is something about the stock market going down the drain because of The Joker's action while The Joker himself really does nothing with that knowledge as he really just stands there and smiles as chaos unfolds on the streets of Gotham and all around him.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty two minuets and thirty one seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstandard running time for this show and to this episodes credit this episode really does have the right amount of plot to really cover that amount of running time and while this episode doesn't take as full advantage of that running time as we don't get to see how Alfred getting infected with the laughing gas affects Bruce Wayne which would have been interesting to see which is something that Batman & Robin really does get quite alot of credit for doing it is understandable why they didn't go down that route in this episode as the episode doesn't have alot there interms of running time in the first place and as a result of that is really something like showing Bruce Wayne react in someway to the possibility of losing his father figure really wouldn't be included in the final cut of the episode as it adds nothing to the overall plot of the episode and would have felt like filler in the grand scheme of things and yet by removing a scene like that the episode also oddly feels incomplete like there's just something missing that really would have made the episode feel better then what it actually was but I will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. However that's also the problem as this action that's in this episode isn't all that good either with this mainly due to the fact that the episode is alot more light hearted in more lighter in tone and as result of that is the fact that the episode really can't deliver all of the top notch action that the show really does usually deliver with the only tense moment in this episode action wise being one Batman swings over some fire to get to The Joker on the other side side and that's really it and while there are some good fights in this episode that all just lack that extra something that keeps them from being truly great fight scenes with them coming across as being rather watered down action scenes due to the episode more lighter tone and not something that's consistent with the rest of the show in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Overall while this isn't the shows best episode mostly due to the episode more lighter tone it does also have some really good aspects going for it like The Joker being really true to his character for example but those good things don't stop the episode from being nothing more then a really average episode at best in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode that are in this very episode and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in his very review from the official Batman: Caped Crusader fandom wiki page , the official Batman: The Animated Series fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from these very episodes that I used in this very review being the really great the official Batman: The Animated Series fandom wiki page simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from these very episodes and are really of course on the official Batman: The Animated Series fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.