Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Castlevania. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Castlevania. Show all posts

Monday, 12 October 2020

Castlevania Season One Review

 


Ladies ans gents I make it no secret that i'm huge fan of the Castlevania animated series and well I thought that i'd do something that i've not done in a while and that's take a look at an entire animated series. Ths one is honestly the best one to do this kind of review with since this first season is only four episodes and so it doesn't take that much time to watch all four episdoes and so here is my review of the first season of "Castlevania" enjoy the review everyone.

The plot of this first season is Trevor Belmont from the legandary monster hunting Belmont family is tasked with protecting the city of Gresit from hordes of creatures unleashed by Dracula as revenge for some people killing his wife and is part of his plan to whipe out the entire human race. I have to admit the plot for this first season is so good and is engaging I honestly think that the plot is one of this seasons strongeest suits which is really saying something since this is not only a really good show but this season is also really good as well.


Starring in this season of the show is Richard Armitage as Trevor Belmont and Tony Amendola as The Elder. Also starring in this first season of the show is Matt Frewer as The Bishop , Alejandra Reynoso as Sypha Belnades , James Callis as Alucard , Fred Tatasciore as Blue Fangs , Timothy Omundson as Stave Priest , Emily Swallow as Lisa Tepes , Moira Quirk as Djuvara , Jonathan Lipow as Bosha and Graham McTavish as Count Dracula.

The acting in the show just like the plot is so freaking good all of the characters in my opinion are cast freaking perfetly. Part of what makes me say that is the fact that the scripts are so good and the scripts give the actors alot to work with in terms of character and the character's personality as such all the actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance would come out naturelly.


Doing the animation for this season is Powerhouse Animation Studios who have worked on things ranging from OK KO! Lets Be Heroes to the upcoming Blood of Zeus and the upcoming Masters of the Universe: Revelation. To say the animation is good would be like saying Avengers: Endgame or Joker are good movies no duh because every single frame of animation in this first season leaps of the screen and is so full of life.

This show takes on an anime inspired look which is actually becoming more and more popular but be rest assured this show is American produced in every single way. Hell I doubt that alot of the epopel who watched this show the first time knew that they were watching an actual cartoon because everything about the show is so mature that they most likly thought that they watching an anime because there not used to seeing an American made cartoon be this mature.


I'm not kidding when I say that this first season is really short because it's only four episodes long and each episdoe is around twenty five minuets long. So you could watch all four episodes in under two hours if you really wanted which is a shame because this show is so good that I honestly wanted there to be more episodes just so I had more content to watch in this first season but they most likely didn't have the story to cover more episodes in this solid first season.



In what I think is a rather strange move the makers of this show chose to have Dracular only appear in the first episode of the show and even then he is the main character of the first episode. I don't honestly get why they did this since Dracular at least for the first two seasons of this show is meant to be the main villain and so wouldn't it have made more sense to feature him in more episodes this way we can see how many people he's killed and thus we can fully understand what kind of a threat he really is to this small citry and our heroes.

One of my issues with this first season is that none of the characters main characters or not get any kind of character development. Which while I do understand why that's the case since this season is basically a prequel to the games it is still something that should have happened since they have this story that kind of demands that some characters go through some form of characters development and yet the makers of the show chose not to give the characters any kind of development whatsoever which is always a bad thing in my opinion.


When I say that this show is violent I really do meant and when I say that this show is not for kids I really , really , really mean it. Since yeah this first season is so freaking gory take for example whenever you see someone get ripped in half you see there insides in full on gory fashion on top of that there's a ton of swearing in everysingle episode and so if you have little kids or nicese or nephews do not show them this show it will scar them for sure lol.

Since this is an action show that does mean that I have to talk about the action that's in this first season of the show. Which i'm not going to lie is freaking cool and is where the animation truly excels in my opinion since every action scene in this first season no matter how short it is leaps of the screen and you feel every single punch as well and helping things is the fact that the action isn't just "see who can hit who the hardest" you see our heroes use there skills in various different ways and because if that the action is never boring.


Overall not only is this first season reallyu freaking good but it also holds up really freaking well in my opinion. Yes there are some issues in this first season and I have talked about those issues but in this review but for me this show is well written , well acted and most importantly well animated and is honestly a really good show to show people who say animation is just foir kids as such this first season gets an 8.5 out 10 from me.

All of the images that I used in this were gathered from either Google Images or the official Castlevania fandom wiki page. I have to say that even tho the official Castlevania fandom wiki page doesn't have that many images up for this show as far as I can tell the images that they do have are really high quality as such I have no other choice but to recommend that you use the official Castlevania fandom wiki page if you want images either this season , this show or the Castlevania franchise as a whole and yes I might be covering Castlevania Season 2 but we'll see. 











Saturday, 7 July 2018

Rating My Favorite Netflix Animated Shows From Least Favorite To Most Favorite


There's no denying the fact that Netflix has changed how people view there favorite no longer do they want to wait a week for the next episode they now want the next episode right away and as well as giving us quality shows like Orange Is The New Black and GLOW they have also given us a handful of animated shows and i'm going to list my personal favorite shows from least favorite to the ones that I simply cannot live without.

Trollhunters


Oh boy I can literally feel all of your hate right now and given the fact that there's a chance a certain fan favorite show is also going to make an appearance on this list i'm going to make a guess and say that it's going to get worse but the reason why this show is so low down isn't because it's a bad show far from it but it just didn't grab me.

Voltron :Legendary Defender


OK put those pitchforks down I do have a reason for this both being on this list and higher up then Trollhunters it's higher then the previous show because it does have some interesting ideas and some nice animation however it's also this low down because like Trollhunters this series didn't grab me and the only season / series I watched all the way through was season 5 which was a bore fest in my eyes.

Harvey Street Kids


I very recently did a review of this show so if you want to know more about what I thought about this show then you can just find the review but to cut a long story short it's an average show but it's also a show that has fun with it's premise and it has some really fun characters and animation.

The Hollow


I admit when I first started writing this post I forgot about this show which is such a shame because it's so freaking good this show got my attention from the very first episode and it never let go you never really know what's going to happen next or where the story is going and all of that concludes in a great twist ending.

Trolls: The Beat Goes On!



I did contemplate putting the next show I want to talk about here but when push came to shove the other show was better but that just goes to show you how good this show is because the next show is really freaking good and for a show aimed at little kids this show is really entertaining I never once felt bored while watching a single episode of this show and the opening theme song is really good and catchy as hell.

Castlevania



What else was it going to be I talk about this show alot whenever I talk about Netflix's animated output but like I said it was a tough call to choose which show to put here but in the end this show has better writing , better animation and better voice acting and is an all round better show and yes I am excited for season 2 October 26th cannot come soon enough.

If I didn't mention your favorite show then it's either because A) I don't watch it and thus can't really say if it's a good show or not or B) I like these shows better people have different opinions so that could also be the case either way don't spread hate only love.




  

Wednesday, 21 March 2018

Shows That Look Like Anime But I Personally Don't Consider Them To Be


Hello animation fans there are a lot of animated shows made every year some good some not so good but what gets me is that there is still some confusion over what is considered anime and it's usually just based on the visual style so I want to tell you some shows that look like anime but technically aren't.

Before I start the list I want to say that just because a show is produced in America doesn't mean it's not anime for me that would come down not only to the setting and character names but also if it's based in Japanese mythology or folklore.

Avatar The Last Airbender 


This one is kinda forgivable since visually it looks like an anime and it does have some Japanese sounding names but this for me at least isn't an anime it wasn't even animated in Japan but it was produced by people who love anime and that kind of story telling and the same goes for the Korra spin-off / sequel.

RWBY


For me it seems that this show is more based on Asian mythology as a whole rather then just Japanese mythology but the characters names aren't Japanese and the show isn't made in Japan but I would understand it if you guys consider this show to be an anime heck you can find the show on most anime streaming sites.

Castlevania



This is one of those shows that when people first saw the trailer they said "this is an anime" I should know because I was one of them but it isn't anime since the show was made in America it has no bases in japanese mythology and no characters with Japanese names so literally anything that could be considered anime isn't in this series and bring on season 2.

Thundercats 2011


This one is a bit hard because it was animated in Japan and it has Japanese directors credited in it's credits but tho the show was made in America but based of this image alone you wouldn't really know that so I would fully understand if you said to me that you thought this was an anime.