Search This Blog

Showing posts with label All Elite Wrestling. Show all posts
Showing posts with label All Elite Wrestling. Show all posts

Saturday, 8 May 2021

AEW Blood And Guts Review

 


Ladies and gentlemen it's been about five or possibly even six months since I last reviewed anything from AEW AKA All Elite Wrestling and well I thought that i'd put an end to that dry streak right now. I will say that the event that i'm about to review is perhaps the most mixed event in AEW history simply because when this event was first broadcast a few days ago wrestling fans cannot not and could not / couldn't decide on if they like / liked this event or not nor can wrestling fans decide on if this was a good event or not and so here is my review of the event that is called simply "AEW Blood And Guts" enjoy.

I will very fully admit that i've not been keeping up that much with the AEW product simply because I just don't have the time to watch another wresting show and with that being said I did find it a little bit difficult to keep up with the plot lines that are currently going on in AEW. With that being said the stories that were very easy to follow like the fact that SCU could break up if they loose there next match was / were very easy to follow but that's just what I think anyways and that's just in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways.


One of the things that I didn't like about AEW Dynamite when it first started was he fact that they didn't really take full advantage of or do anything with the tunnels that they have on the stage and well i'm pleased to say that issue does / has seemed to be resolved. Since here you see both faces (good guys) and heels (bad guys) walk out of both tunnels which means that there's isn't that much dead space in the set / stage.

However now tho I have a slight issue with the fact that there's no ramp into or even near the ring and as well as the fact that there's a podium on the stage for no reason. Now the fact that there isn't a ramp could be due to the fact that The Daily's Place could be a small arena and they simply couldn't fit a ramp in there but it means a lot of dead space between the stage and the ring which really could have been filled in a bit just to remove that dead space and they could or even should have removed the podium that they have on the stage simply because it's there for no reason whatsoever and so it's a pointless edition to the stage in my opinion.


Now then boys and girls gimmick matches have been around for a long time with some gimmick matches becoming very well known so well known infact that they have an entire event named after them. Sadly tho I cannot see AEW continuing using the titular Blood And Guts match simply because it comes across as a rip off of the War Games match from both WCW and WWF / WWE and as such I do very strongly feel that if AEW were to continue the titular Blood And Guts match then AEW should put more of an effort into making this match stand out from the very similar War Games match.

I have to say that not only are the rules of the Blood And Guts match almost the exact same as the War Games match but visually both the Blood And Guts and as well being the War Games match look the exact same. Which to me at least only adds to my theory that the Blood And Guts match type is a rip off / a knock off of the War Games match and as such I very do strongly feel that WWE / Vince McMahon would have grounds to possibly even sue AEW simply due to the fact that Vince McMahon owns both WCW and the War Games match type.


What I personally found to be very shocking is the fact that there's only one woman's match on the entire match card / card / show / event and that one woman's match which is one this show is a squash match and nothing more. Which is a shame because AEW / All Elite Wrestling does (from what I can recall / remember at least) have a very good women's division which is filled with women who can wrestle and so it's just a shame that those women aren't been / being given the opportunity to show us the fans what they can actually do in the ring. 


Now i've seen a few articles reporting on the hate that the fall Chris Jericho took at the end of the Blood And Guts and while I can see their point of view since the fall isn't as impactful as it perhaps could have been. What we all have to remember is that Chris Jericho is in his fifties now and he is very quickly approaching his mid fifties and so to expect him to a very dangerous fall at his age would be stupid and so having him fall onto what is basically a load of boxes is the best that we could have possibly have hoped for at this point in time but with that being said I do feel that the fall would have had more of an impact if however was taking the fall landed on a padded concrete floor of if the cameras didn't make it so obvious that Chris Jericho was going to be landing on what like I said just said was a bunch of boxes that have been rigged so it's a little bit more safer for the wrestler taking the fall.

Now then boys and girls this event / episode of AEW (All Elite Wrestling Dynamite has a grand total running time of one hour and fifty minuets and fifteen seconds and well this episode really didn't need to be that long at all. Simply because the matches that are on this show / card / match card don't last that long in fact about from the Blood And Guts match all of the matches that are on this show / card / match card / show card / show match card / match show card all come in at less then twenty minuets long. With the Blood And Guts and Guts match coming in at somewhere around thirty minuets but really does make this even drag is the fact that there's a really long Kenny Omega and Orange Cassidy promo near the end of this show and the fact that for no reason the commentators spend at least five minuets just after the Kenny Omega / Orange Cassidy promo just saying that the Blood And Guts match type is up next.


Now then boys and girls this show is of course a wrestling show and that means that I have to talk about the actual wrestling that's featured / presented to us in the actual wrestling show itself and well I honestly do feel that the wrestling that's featured / presented to us in this show is honestly pretty good. With all of the wrestlers that are featured on this show / event putting in some really good wrestling with perhaps my favourite matching being either the Kenny Omega and Michael Nakazawa Vs Jon Moxley and Eddie Kingston or the fatal four way elimination tag team match for a chance to face The Young Bucks for the AEW World Tag Team Championship next week on AEW Dynamite or of course the titular Blood And Guts match just due to how insane that match is and as well being how insanely good some of the moves in the titular Blood And Guts match are but that's just what I think anyways and that's just in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways. 


Overall I honestly have very mixed feelings about this event since even tho some of the matches were in my opinion at least really freaking good there were alot of things that made this event feel very boring to me in my very humble and as well as being my very honest opinion at least / anyways. Now then boys and girls i've talked about both of the very good things in this show / event and as well as both of the very bad things that are in this show / event which means that this pro wrestling show / pro wrestling event gets a 6.5 out of 10 from me personally.

As for where I got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from either the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page or Google Images and well I cannot actually tell you which website I prefer to use for the images that I personally used in this very review. Since even tho the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page doesn't have any images from the actual event the images that I personally did use from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page seemed to mix from either fairly high quality to fairly low quality to really high quality and even tho Google Images has a lot more verity of images from this actual event the images that are on Google Images range from either fairly high quality to high quality. 













Sunday, 27 December 2020

AEW Dynamite Episode One Review

 


Guys and girls even tho as pretty much all of you will know i'm a huge wrestling fan and yet i've never actually reviewed a wrestling show before. Well i'm hopefully going to be changing that because if this post does well i'll look into reviewing more wrestling episodes and since this is basically a pilot how this review might not be how the other reviews go should this review do well that is and so join my as I review the first ever episode of "AEW: Dynamite" enjoy.

Firstly i'm doing this review based of the ITV version of the episode which I didn't realise cut the episode in half and so half of the matches are missing. This right here is a huge issue for me personally because when i'm doing a review I like to watch the whole product start to finish and as it turns out the ITV cut of the episode is the only one that's online which means I can't view all of the matches which is a shame because alot of the talent on this opening card is really good and so I wish that ITV had aired the full two hour show instead of cutting it down to forty six minuets.


The set for AEW: Dynamite while it is indeed a very nice looking set to me it looks like the set that TNA / Impact Wrestling used in the mid 2000's. However tho TNA / Impact Wrestling used that set better in my opinion because they had it where if you were a face you'd come out of one of the set's two tunnels and if you where a heel then you'd come out of the other AEW tho doesn't do that instead having both faces and heels come out of the same tunnel which to me makes the other tunnel pointless because it's just sitting there doing nothing.

There's also a chandelier type object above entrance way which as far as I can tell is there simply to cover up the gap between the two main video screens. Like I said the set isn't that bad and it does look very nice but at the same time they could have done alot better with the set so that there using as much space as they can and not just having large amounts of empty set to waiting to be filled in but for the brands first set it's not that bad.


Our opening match is "The American Nightmare" Cody Rhoades who is being accompanied by his wife and future mother of his kid Brandi Rhoades as Cody takes on "The Best Ever" Sammy Guevara. Out of the two full matches (damn you ITV) that I was able to see this was the better match in my opinion just due to how technical the match was plus the feeling that I got from this match is that it could possibly lead to something down the ling which I can't recall if it did or not but based on this match I want to see Cody and Sammy Guevara wrestle each other again just because the two have great chemistry together in the ring.

One thing that really sort of stood out for me personally is the fact that for the first match at least Tony Schiavone cannot stop talking about the last time WCW was on TNT. We get it Tony Schiavone you worked for WCW back in the day you don't need to bring it up every chance you got speaking of the commentary Jim "It's Ross Time" Ross , Tony Schiavone and Excalibur do a solid job altho it's mostly just Jim Ross and Tony Schiavone talking while Excalibur just stands there saying nothing for large portions of both matches.


The matches that I sadly didn't get to see at least on the copy of the episode that I have are MJF vs Brandon Cutler. As well as PAC vs Hangman Page and Riho vs Nyla Rose altho I did get to see the final few minuets of the Riho vs Nyla Rose match due to those few minuets being up on Youtube but in really bad quality , it's a shame that I got to miss these matches because most of the wrestlers involved are really good wrestlers and I would have liked to have seen those matches.

I really cannot find any faults in this first show because in terms of debut shows this is honestly one of the more better ones. I know that this will make alot of die hard WWE fans angry but to me this episode of AEW Dynamite is alot better then alot of the stuff that WWE  was putting out when this show debuted in 2019 so much so in fact that I believe AEW Dynamite bear WWE NXT several weeks in a row in terms of ratings but I could be wrong there so don't quote me on that.


One of the other travesties is the fact that ITV cut the Kevin Smith appearance I say it was just Kevin Smith's appearance because just after they do the intro to the show and we go live to the arena for the first time I could have swore that we saw Jason Mewes in the crowd. So ITV cut Silent Bob's appearance on the show but they kept Jay's which to me makes no sense since Kevin Smith is the bigger name and so it would have made alot more sense to keep his appearance on the show in the UK / ITV cut of the episode.

Like I said at the start of the review this episode at least in the UK runs for forty six minuets and thirty two seconds. Which in my opinion is a decent amount of time for a debuting brand / company / wrestling show just because it gives you enough time for your wrestlers who are wrestling on that particular show to show what they can do and the audience at home isn't left bored the issue that I have with the episode is the fact that ITV cut down a two hour show to forty six minuets and thirty seconds and so alot of stuff ends being cut and there's a few awkward cuts because of it.


The final match on the show is a six man tag team match with The Elite ( The Young Bucks and Kenny Omega) taking on Chris Jericho , Santana & Ortiz. In my opinion this match suffered due to the fact that it was on last and the fact that ITV only but this show on for barely fifty minuets which sadly means there are a few awkward cuts here and there but the match it self is honestly really good with both teams getting in alot of good high impact moves and it's here where the commentary team do a good job of selling the Kenny Omega and Jon Moxley since when Moxley does interfere the commentary go insane as well as make it point to point out how destructive and violent Kenny Omega and Jon Moxley are when they are wrestling each other plus we get to see a cool spot where Kenny Omega suplex's Jon Moxley through a glass table which was awesome in my opinion.


Overall this is a solid first episode you can tell that AEW (All Elite Wrestling) is going to be some competition either for WWE or for TNA / Impact Wrestling which in the end can only be a good thing since competition is healthy since it forces you to keep your product fresh and exciting. I'm not going to lie and say that this episode was perfect but alot of the faults that I found with the episode tended to be more from ITV's side of things rather for AEW's (All Elite Wrestling) side of things as such this episode gets a solid 8.5 out of 10 from me.

All of the images that I used in this review were gathered from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page (which is just called Pro Wrestling) or Google Images. Honestly I cannot say where it's best to get images from this particular episode of AEW Dynamite from since even tho the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page has more of a verity of images the one image that I got of Google Images which was of the AEW Dynamite set was over five megabytes so I say use whichever website you want to use since image quality wise chances are there going to be the exact same on either website.


So there we have it guys and girls my first ever wrestling show review is done and in the can I admit I wasn't quite sure how I was going to tackle this review since i'm more use to reviewing movies and other TV episodes but once I started writing this review it just came to me so please let me know how you think I did on this review and if there are things that I need to improve upon and please note that if I do do more of these wrestling show reviews they will only be episodes of the weekly shows just because they are alot easier to watch where as with a PPV i'd be sat there for three and half hours if not more.