Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Scooby Doo. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Scooby Doo. Show all posts

Monday, 2 June 2025

Scooby-Doo! And Kiss: Rock And Roll Mystery Film Review


Scooby-Doo and the gang have teamed up with a great deal of celebrities over the years ranging from The Addams Family to the WWE. However one of their more oddest crossovers comes in the form of this movie as while the idea of having them crossover and meet the band Kiss isn't a new thing it's what the film does with the crossover that makes it weird and so then join me as I review the film that turns both Kiss and the Scooby gang into superheroes with the film in question being called simply just "Scooby-Doo! And Kiss: Rock And Roll Mystery" enjoy.

The plot of this film is with a witch haunting there theme park before there big Halloween night concert the band Kiss are forced to team up with Scooby and the gang to solve this mystery before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good with this films plot being alot more better then what it really had any right to be as by all rights this films plot should have been really bad and yet because of the fact that the film takes the crossover in a unique and new direction by literally turning the band Kiss into a group of superheroes it makes the pot of this film all the more fun and bizarre as now it can go to those more campy and strange places that just wouldn't be possible if the film kept it's crossover aspect straight by having the band just be there usual selves with this films plot being one of the more better direct to DVD Scooby-Doo animated movie plots because of it but at the same time tho this films plot isn't as good as it could have been either as it doesn't develop it's plot well enough with this films plot coming across as being a bit more on the weak side of things because of it which is something that does make this films plot feel more like an afterthought with it being obvious that the main attraction of this film is seeing the band Kiss being animated and teaming with Scooby-Doo with the plot of this film also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Frank Welker as Fred Jones and Scooby-Doo and Matthew Lillard as Shaggy Rogers. Also starring in this film is Grey DeLisle as Daphne Blake , Mindy Cohn as Velma Dinkley , Paul Stanley as The Starchild , Gene Simmons as The Demon , Tommy Thayer as The Spaceman , Eric Singer as The Catman , Jennifer Carpenter as Chikara , Garry Marshall as Manny Goldman , Penny Marshall as The Elder , Doc McGhee as Chip McGhoo , Jason Mewes as Worker 1 , Pauley Perrette as Delilah Domino and The Crimson Witch , Rachel Ramras as Shandi Strutter , Darius Rucker as The Destroyer and Kevin Smith as Worker 2.

Now then interms pf what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With all of this films actors turning in some really good performances in this very film which is something that does make sense for the regular Scooby-Doo actors as they have been playing their respective characters for at the very least a decade at the earliest and in Frank Welker's case he's been playing Fred since the sixties however the good acting also extends to this films guest actors as well with them all turning in some really decent performances in this film with it being hard to say just how the best actor was in this film as being realistically anyone of them could make that claim and it would make total sense but if push did come to shove the best actor in this film has to be Mindy Cohn as not only does this film mark her final voice performance as Velma but she also manages to turn in a good performance as the character as well as while Velma's plot line is the same one that she always gets in films like this with her having to come to terms with the fact that elements of supernatural are infact real hearing Mindy deliver these lines in such a wonderful does make you wonder why Warner Bros didn't bring her back when it turned out that she got better from her illness as she really did make for a good animated Velma with the acting that's in this film really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so good that all this actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.


Doing the animation for this film is the legends and the really greats that are currently over at Digital eMation. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad as this films animation much like the plot is alot more better then what it really had any right to be as by all rights this films animation should have been really bad as afterall it's a crossover movie made to promote a band and those don't typically require good or even great looking animation in them and yet because of the fact the animation studios working on this film went above and beyond what was asked of them we get animated sequences that actually feel really well thought out with the film mixing in 3D CGI elements with 2D elements really well with the films animation really taking off and becoming even better during the films truly insane third act with the animation there really coming alive with all of the characters getting these really nice an fluid movements to them and heck if this film had a bit more money thrown at it for it's animation it could pass for animation in a feature length film as it's just that good and while yes the film does some choppy looking animation in some places and while the characters thick outlines can be a bit distracting the animation is on the whole one of the more better aspects of the film and is so much more fun to look at as well with the film even being worth watching just for it's animation alone as that's just how good that this films animation really is alot of the time in this film.


As was mentioned at the very start of this review this film turns the band Kiss into superheroes complete with giving them super powers as well. Which is quite frankly a unique way to go with this crossover and it is something that does work really well in this films favour as it means that you never quite know just what it is that your going to be getting next and heck the film even takes some anime influence as well by straight up giving the band a Sailor Moon inspired transformation sequence which is as every bit as insane as it sounds and yet at the same time tho it's also something that does work really well with this film as this film is all about doing things that haven't quite been done with the Scooby-Doo franchise as this point and that does include turning characters into superheroes and giving them an anime style transformation sequence and heck it could have even be argued that the spaceship that Kiss and the Mystery Inc gang drive near the end of the film is a giant mecha as the ship is hidden in Kiss's own theme park but what doesn't work is the fact that even tho Velma herself sees all of this happening and actively takes part in it she still doesn't believe that any of it is real and given that in later films the Mystery Inc gang would straight up travel back in time this film could be argued is the one that started of the trend of pushing these more weird things into the movie but where as with the time travel element in The Sword And The Scoob here the superhero element is actually fun to watch as we get to see alot of the characters including Shaggy and Scooby do their best to fight of the witch on Kiss's home world.

With this film being a comedy it does work pretty good as the film does have alot of really solid jokes in it. Including a few solid running jokes like the fact that The Starchild always refers to Fred as Frank which could be seen as being a fun filled meta joke and the fact that every time Kiss use special effects there manage comes in to clean up after them whilst also complaining that there wasting money on those effects both of which are some really solid jokes however tho there is one thing that doesn't quite work as well and that's the fact that they turned The Demon into the films comic relief character with him spending alot of his screen time getting into scrapes with Shaggy and Scooby which fair enough Gene Simmons is the most well known member of the band and there for having him be the one to team up with Shaggy and Scooby does make sense in that regard but at the same time tho the film gives him nothing funny to say with the or do when he's with the two of them with alot of his best stuff coming from when he's interacting with the rest of the films characters and while he does get a few good jokes with Shaggy and Scooby like when they first meet him and Scooby thinks that he's one of those heads that you can squirt water into and does exactly that that's a decent joke as plays into the fact that Scooby Doo isn't the smartest person in the room and so it feels true to his personality but having The Demon always be with the two of them even to the point where he himself calls in out near the end of film just doesn't work as Scooby and Shaggy's comedy works as they don't need a straight man when they already have the Crimson Witch to fill in that role and therefor having two straight men to there funny men just doesn't work at all.


With this film being a Scooby-Doo film you'd think that alot of effort would be put into creating an actually good mystery. Well you'd be wrong as the film doesn't do that at all with the film instead putting more effort into action filled third act then it is into creating an actually good mystery as this films mystery doesn't give us any clues as to who or in this also what The Crimson Witch is thus meaning when they reveal who the fake witch is at the end of the movie it not only doesn't make sense but it also comes out of nowhere as nothing involving the character goes on to suggest that she would be The Crimson Witch with this being something that proves that this films mystery just doesn't work as not only is there technically two versions of The Crimson Witch as we also see The Starchild take her on on the band's home world but the film doesn't give us any clues so we can't work out who she really is in the first place let alone work out that there's technically two of them with this being an issue that very easily could have bee fixed with a re-write of the films script and having one of the characters confirm that there is two versions of the same character as that then would make the films mystery all the more intriguing as now the characters have to work out who both of them are something that both groups very easily could have done just by gathering clues both here on Earth and on the band's home world as well but for whatever reason the makers of this film thought that we come to a Scooby-Doo film to see some action and so they put alot more effort into giving us a truly insane third act action scene then they did into giving us a really good mystery to solve.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and eighteen minuets and forty three seconds. Which to be fair to this film is the bogstanderd running time for all of the direct to DVD animated Scooby-Doo films to have and to this films credit it does have the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time but at the same time tho this film really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as the film doesn't take the the time to fully develop it's plot with it being hard at times to work out what the actual plot of the film is even meant to be alot of the time with it seeming like that the characters are just doing things for rando reasons alot of the time with the film not even taking the time to fully develop alot of it's characters either as while none of the Mystery Inc gang need to be that well developed since they've been around since the sixties but the film doesn't develop any of the Kiss characters with it seeming like that there just the same character alot of the time as that's how little the makers of this film add to those characters with even characters like the band's manager and the theme park owner being none characters as they add nothing to the plot of the film and yet the film expects us to by into them as red herrings something which just can't happen as the makers of the film don't develop there characters to make them feel alot more like three dimensional characters instead of being like the one dimensional characters that they are with these issues being things that could have been solved if the film was even just ten minuets longer but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. Which s something that you really wouldn't expect from a Scooby-Doo movie as these film are usually more comedy driven and yet with this film it seems to be more action driven and that is something that works so well for this film just due to how they present the band with all of the band having their own powers that goes along with there names which does allow for some really creative imagery during the films action and even tho this is something that really doesn't need saying but the films best action scene in the whole entire film is quite easily the entire third act of the film as that's where this films gets to be well and truly insane with the Scooby gang helping Kiss to take on The Crimson Witch on the bands home world with even Scooby and Shaggy learning how to breathe fire just like The Demon which is just as insane as you'd imagine that it would be but then it gets more insane as Kiss travel back to Earth lure this creature into this time stream where the Scooby gangs with the help of Kiss have to defeat not only threw the use of explosions but also due to the bands own powers all of which is done to one the bands actual songs with that sequence not only being a really good example of how to do an action scene with Scooby-Doo as it's just so insane and fun that you can't help but by into it but also because of the fact that it's just such a fun action scene in it's own right in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall out all of the direct to DVD animated Scooby- Doo films that are out there this film is easily one of the better ones just due to how insane that it gets where as The Sword And The Scooby just plays things a bit to safe even with the introduction of time travel and the fact that this film was so close to getting a sequel before it was cancelled is just a crime as this film is just that good in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad thigs that re in this film in this very review and a such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very film that I used in this very review being the really great the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very film with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Sunday, 20 April 2025

Scooby-Doo! Curse Of The Lake Monster Film Review


For even tho there have been a great many animated Scooby-Doo movies both theatrical and not there really have only been a handful of live action Scooby-Doo films and even then only four of them feature Scooby-Doo himself. With the film that i'm about to review for you all today actually being the last live action Scooby-Doo that had Scooby-Doo himself in it and so then join me as I review the film that was filmed by the same guy that shot both the original Halloween and the Back To The Future trilogy with the film in question being called simply just "Scooby-Doo! Curse Of The Lake Monster" enjoy.

The plot of this film is when Daphne and the gang get jobs working for Uncle at his country club they discover that the club is being haunted by a mysterious monster and set out to solve the mystery once and for all. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad but at the same time tho this films plot isn't all that goof as it's a really weak plot at best with the film instead spending more time on the two romantic subplots in the film instead of the main plot which makes this films plot feel more like an afterthought when it should be the other way around but when this film does focus on it's main plot it can be really interesting with the country club location being a really good setting for this film tot have as it's one that really hasn't been done in live action Scooby-Doo media before now and while the films plot doesn't really make the most of that location instead only bringing it up once or twice and that's really it with it not really being helped by the fact that the romance subplots that the film does have don't play that much of a role in the films main plot with it coming across as them only being added to help to fill out the films running time and that's really it with the plot of this film not really being really rather entertaining and nor is it really rather engaging either in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Robbie Amell as Fred Jones , Hayley Kiyoko as Velma Dinkley and Kate Melton as Daphne Blake. Also starring in this film is Nick Palatas as Norville "Shaggy" Rogers , Ted McGinley as Thornton "Thorny" Blake V , Richard Moll as Elmer Uggins , Nichelle Nichols as The Senator , Marion Ross as Hilda Trowburg , Beverly Sanders as Wanda Grubwort and Frank Welker as The Voice Of Scooby-Doo.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With alot of this films actors turning in some really good performances which is something that really does make sense as all pf this films main actors are not only returning from the previous film but also turned in some really good performances in that film as well with it being clear as day that this films actors were born to play this version of these truly iconic characters and while it would have been very easy to say that Frank Welker turned in the best performance as he has been playing Scooby-Doo for a little under ten years at this point in time that honor goes to Nick Palatas as Norville "Shaggy" Rogers who does manage to capture the tone and spirit of not only the original character but also oddly enough Matthew Lillard's take on the character as well with even this films newer actors not only turning in some really passable performances in their own right but also managing to hold there own when it comes to acting with the actors who are returning from the previous film as well with the acting that's in this film not really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so bad as it gives none of this films actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.


Doing the CGI for this film is Animation Picture Company , Custom Film Effects , KNB EFX Group and Special Effects Services. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad but in saying that it was alot more better then what the effects where in the previous movie as Scooby-Doo in this film whilst he still does look pretty he doesn't look have as bad as he did do in that previous film with it being made very crystal clear that there was more of an effort to make it look like that he was actually there on set and while having him look like his original character will always look weird in live action some credit does have go the effects teams for at least trying to make that design look good in this film with it also being made clear that this film had a much more higher effects budget then what the last film but in saying that they do still miss the mark on getting somethings right like the fact that during the opening and third act where Scooby is running across the wooden floor he doesn't cast much of a shadow something that would be the case and the toads don't look all that creepy with them just looking like toads when given the fact that the makers of these films are pretty much adapting things from the original show they could have gone all out with there designs as well.


As was mentioned at the very start of this review this films cinematographer was Dean Cundey who films lovers will also know did the same role for a bunch of other movies including the original Halloween movie , the Back To The Future trilogy and The Flintstones movie. With this film seeing him reteam up with The Flintstones director Brian Levant with it being odd that they got him to film this movie as you wouldn't expect the guy who was the cinematographer for all of these great movies to do this little made for TV movie and while he doesn't turn in a bad job by any means as the film does look very visually stunning but at the same time tho it's also a film that does look cheap which given that these made for TV movies where very cheap to produce does make alot of sense but at the same time tho you don't want the film to look cheap and while Dean Cundey does sneak in some really impressive shots in this film he oddly feels held back by what he can do which is odd because when these two did last team up for The Flintstones they both showed just what they could do and layed it all on the film for us all to see where as here because of the fact that the film did have a small budget they can't really do anything impressive with the camera outside of one or two tracking shots and that's really it and that's not something that works really well for this film with it being obvious that this film is a waste of Dean's talents as even tho Halloween proved that he can make a great film on a tiny budget here none of that is allowed to happen be it because of the fact that the budget or because of the fact that this films director Brain Levant just had no clue what he was doing either way something was holding him back from being as good of a cinematographer that we all know that he could be.

In what is a unique twist of fate this film is to date the final live action Scooby-Doo film to feature Scooby , Fred and Shaggy. As all three of them wouldn't make an appearance or ere even referenced in the 2018 direct to DVD live action Scooby-Doo film Daphne & Velma and after that there has been no other live action Scooby-Doo movies produced which does in a way make sense as you'd have to fully do Scooby in CGI which even for a direct to DVD movie was always going to hard to do but with them not producing quite literally any direct to DVD animated movie for two years now maybe now is the right time to get a live action Scooby-Doo movie made as if there done right then these can be good films as all you need to make them good is a good writer and a good director and that's really it as the rest will work itself out and while yes we are getting a live action Scooby-Doo show for Netflix that is something that could still look bad as there you'd have to spread the effects out over several episodes where as with a movie you can make Scooby-Doo look good in almost every scene that he's in if the movie's budget would allow for it and given that the Mystery Inc team work best when it's all of them and not just certain members of the group it's a wonder why Warner Bros haven't tried to get another live Scooby-Doo movie made as the sales from the direct to DVD movies alone should be more then enough to convince them that this franchise does still have legs but given that they currently hate there animated output maybe that's why we haven't seen anything from Scooby-Doo live action or not since Velma got cancelled.


The one thing that every Scooby-Doo should get right is the one thing that sadly alot of them get wrong and that's tell a genuinely good mystery. This is something that alot of Scooby-Doo films live action or not get wrong and it's something that this film also gets wrong as well as the films puts far to much thought and effort into the love lives of there characters then it does in telling a good mystery with the film not giving us one single clue so that us the audience could work out ourselfs who is really behind this crime and work out what there motive is in the first place this is something that the original show did so brilliantly as they weren't all about holding your hand through every clue they let you work it for yourself by giving you all the clues that you needed all throughout the mystery and that kind of thinking and attitude has sadly been lost with the makers of this film not even bothering to give you a clue or even any suspects for that matter which makes the reveal near the end of the film surprising but for the wrong reasons as while having Velma be revealed to be the bag guy albeit with her being possessed is a good idea and is one that iterations of the franchise have done in the past there was nothing to tell us that they could be a possibility outside of the fact that she wasn't shown at the start of the movie which then it makes really obvious that it's Velma yet if the makers of this film bothered to give us some clues then we the audience could work it out for ourselfs and thus arrive at that point at the same time as the characters themselves do and not have the answer come out of nowhere.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and twenty two minuets and twelve seconds. Which to be fair is pretty much the bogstandard running time for the direct to DVD Scooby-Doo films with this film having more then enough plot to cover that amount of running time but at the same time tho this is a film that really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely in the first place as the main mystery plot isn't that fully developed due to the fact that the makers of this film spend more time in developing two pointless romance subplots both of which not only go nowhere but also add nothing to the plot of the film and the film isn't all that interesting in trying to develop it's characters either the film instead choosing just keep them as they were at the end of the first film and that's really it which would be great if you were producing an episodic TV show but for a sequel movie you need to have the character go through some kind of progression and not just keep them the same as they were in the last film and what's worse is the fact that if the makers of this film just removed or cut down upon the two pointless romance subplots and instead gave more time into developing both it's characters both returning and new and the main plot of the film then we'd have a much more better film because of it granted that won't fix all of the films problems but it would go a really long way as without having characters that your invested in and want to see more of then it doesn't matter if they have a romance or not because us the audience just won't care about them and with the added screen time more time can now be devoted into further developing the actual main plot of the film which would then result in us the audience actually getting clues that would help us to work out for ourselfs who the real culprit is in the first place but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a comedy that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. As the film does have some cute moments in it that are pretty funny but at the same time tho a shockingly high amount of this films jokes just don't land which given who is directing this film does track with this directors other films with this film having alot of references not only to the franchise as a whole but also to the opening of Scooby-Doo Where Are You with Fred and Daphne using disguises that look like there original character designs and Shaggy mentioning a "friend" that he has called Scrappy which was a decent joke but for every clever reference that the film makes there are also more that feel forced like the fact that the monsters hand tries to grab Daphne from behind the fact that at the end of the film the characters in a rap just straight up break the fourth wall by admitting that they now that there characters and even hold up actual DVD's from the franchises long history which while it was forced with that whole ending song sequenced feeling forced and unneeded it was still pretty cute to see them acknowledge the fact that they know that there characters even if it's done in a badly done rap with the Fred and Daphne using disguises that look like there original character designs being the best joke in this whole entire film in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this was a pretty solid film but at the same time even this film doesn't give Scooby-Doo himself all that much to do outside of having a pointless subplot with him not being Shaggy's friend anymore because Shaggy wants to date Velma which again goes nowhere with all of the pointless subplots being jus the very tip of the ice bergs for all of the things that are wrong with this film but this film is at very least marginally better then then the terrible film that is Daphne & Velma in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 4.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images hat I personally used in this very review from the official Back To The Future fandom wiki page , the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very film that I used in this very review being the really great the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very film with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Tuesday, 18 March 2025

Scooby-Doo, Where Are You! "Hassle In The Castle" Review


It's been quite a while since I last covered anything from Scooby-Doo, Where Are You! which is such a shame as this sow is one that alot of us really did grow up watching. As such I thought that it was only about right that I put an end to this dry spell by reviewing the very next episode of the show with this episode being a really fun and creepy episode that really does bring the horror aspect of the show to the front and centre of the episode itself and so then join me as I review the episode that has alot of images from the shows intro in it with the episode in question being called simply just "Hassle In The Castle" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when the gang find themselves stranded on a mysterious island they find themselves being haunted by a ghost and have to solve the mystery of who this ghost is before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual episode that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt tat the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as thus episodes plot while it could be seen as being rather generic for this show it also was early enough in this shows run that it does get away with it as well with this episodes plot being a bit more horror focused then the rest of the sows plots had been up until this point in time which is something that does make this episodes plot more of a must watch for fans of supernatural horror films and yet still somehow being more kid friendly then what it really had any right to be but at the same time tho this episodes plot really isn't all that good as all it does is give you the bare bones of a plot and that's really it and while that might be par the course for this show it is something that is still an issue with the plot of this episode at it makes the plot of the episode as a whole come across as being really weak when that's simply not even close to being true at all with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Starring in this episode is voice acting legend Don Messick as Scooby-Doo , The Phantom , Bluestone The Great and The Police Officer. Also starring in this episode is Battle Of The Planets star Casey Kasem as Shaggy Rogers , voice acting royalty and legend Frank Welker as Fred Jones , Here Comes The Grump star Stefanianna Christopherson as Daphne Blake and The Trouble With Girls star Nicole Jaffe as Velma Dinkley.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. Which is something that's not really all that surprising as all of this episodes actors are not only some really good voice actors in their own right but are so well known for voicing these characters that for many they simply are the voice of these characters and heck out of all of them only Frank Welker is still with the franchise to this very day and is still playing Fred Jones as well as that's just how good of a voice actor that he really is with the actors acting in this episode being just as good as you'd really want it to be with it being clear as day that there all getting alot more comfortable in their roles which is something that really does shine through in the final cut of the episode with the true stand out performer in this episode being Don Messick as he has to play several characters and make them all sound unique and distinct enough that your not going to get them confused with any other character and still put in a really good performance in this episode which is something that really does do really rather well in this episode with the acting that's in this episode really being helped by the fact that the script for this episode is just so good that all this episodes actors really have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.

Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Hanna-Barbera Productions. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation thats actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty shockingly good with there not really being any animation errors in this episode and even more shockingly for a Hanna-Barbera project there was very few if any any repeating backgrounds with this episodes animation really making the creepy looking castle look gothic and quite creepy and while yes the characters do have there usual fluid animation when it comes to there walking they also get really fluid with the animation when Daphne falls down a trap a door which whilst it does look good it does also seem an odd place to put some really good animation but at the same time tho this episode does have one error that highlights just how cheap Hanna-Barbera really was as there is a room in this episodes main setting that despite being shown to match the color scheme of the whole castle in previous scenes for one brief shot with Scooby-Doo near the end of the episode it's shown to have these really garish pink walls and grey boards both of with nothing lighting it which is something that could have been fixed if the animators took another pass at that one simple and very easy to do shot but because of the fact that Hanna-Barbera was so cheap we do end up with alot of shots like this one in alot of there shows and movies as well.


As was mentioned at the very start of this review this episode does give us quite alot imagery from the shows opening intro. Be it Daphne walking away before a ghostly hand reaches out for her to the gang getting warned by The Phantom it's all in this one episode and it's all something that does make the episode worth watching if you were wondering where those scenes came from or even if you just someone who really loves Scooby-Doo as they are some great scenes and heck the the scene with gang getting a warning by The Phantom is so good that they makers of this episode chose to literally repeat the exact same scene which works for and against the episode as a whole it works for the episode as it does help to establish the fact that this character is meant to be a genuine threat to the gang but it against the episode for two reasons the first one being we just saw this exact same scene a few minuets ago and so of course we the audience are going to notice that it's really quite literally the exact same shot as before and secondly it makes Hanna-Barbera look even more cheap then what they already are as they could really could have fully animated a brand new scene to get across more of the fact that this character really is meant to be a threat to the gangs life with this having the added bonus of making the episode look better because of it and yet even really tho the fact that they repeated the scene really doesn't take away from the episode as a whole it still does add an air of cheapness to this episode as a whole as well.

There are some bad things about this episode tho like the fact that they don't really give The Phantom much in the way of personality. Heck we don't even get to find out why he's scaring people until right before the end credits start to role which again is pretty par the course for this show but the same time tho the other episodes usually have alot more supporting characters in them so you can kind of forgive them as there trying to make the mystery aspect of the episode as good as it could possibly be but here because of the fact that there are no supporting characters to make you wonder who it could be and heck we don't even get to meet who The Phantom is until he's unmasked and therefor the makers of this episode really should have put alot more effort into making The Phantom have more of a personality and while the episode does gets credit for at the vert least trying to make him creepy with the creepy looking castle and the fact that he's a ghost when you look at his costume however it doesn't make you scared of him it just makes you laugh at him as all it is is basically someone's bedding with eye holes and thats really it and while that might be great a Halloween costume for a Scooby-Doo villain where you can go and be a little bit more creepy and scary that's not enough and while granted this show is made for kids and so you can't really scare them all that much but at the same time tho kids love to be scared and therefor having a villain that looks a little bit more creepy would work really well in this episodes favor.


Oddly enough one of this episodes biggest weaknesses it's mystery aspect as they not only don't have anyone that you can say is a suspect in the episode but there's also no to build up with the gang realizing how The Phantom travels around the castle. With that part coming right at the end of the episode and it's right of nowhere almost as if it was more of an afterthought then something that the makers of this episode did intentionally while the episode does show the gang not only looking for but also finding clues they don't exactly set up for the main culprit of the episode is thus making it more of a surprise when they do the big reveal which is something that they do explain away in a way that does make some sort of sense for the episode but at the same time given the fact that a mystery does require suspects having the main villain be set up at the start of the episode outside of his Phantom disguise is something that would have made alot of sense even if he's just seen in the background somewhere and yet by not doing that there robbing us the audience of a chance to work it out for ourselves which does in turn make this mystery feel like the type of mystery that they'd put in a later Scooby-Doo movie rather then something that they would have done in an episode of the show as the movies don't typically set up who the main villain is either and yet the show would typically show of who the main villain is at the start of the episode which makes it all the more odd that they went and did it not only in this show as well but this early on in the shows run as it's something that doesn't really work not only for this show but for this franchise as a whole either.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty minuets and fifty seven seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstandard running time for this shoe to have and to this episodes credit this episode really does have the right amount of plot there to really over that amount of running time however tho due to the fact that this episode really doesn't have any suspects to it whatsoever this episode really can't use it's running time all that wisely as not only do we not get to see more of the castle which would have been great to see as it would have made the episode feel alot more creepier and bigger then what it actually is but they also don't flesh out the mystery aspect of the episode by giving us suspects which would then allow for us the audience the chance to work out for ourselfs who did and to work why they did it as well and yet because of the fact that the episode didn't bother to do any of that it means that they have to pull something out of nothing when it would have made alot more sense for there to be more suspects and heck they could even have kept the same motivation because the police officer at the end of the episode even states that the gold that this episodes criminal was after is also really sought after by other people and so it would have made perfect sense for there to be alot more people there at the castle during this episode then what we ultimately ended up seeing but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho. 


So now then as this is a comedy that really means that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. AS there some really funny moments to be found in this episode alot of which oddly enough do include Scooby-Doo himself with very few of them including quite literally anybody else in the gang which is something that does make sense as afterall the show is named after Scooby-Doo and it therefor does make sense that he would get alot of the episodes jokes with the best one being the joke where Scooby pretends to be ill just to avoid being bate for The Phantom which works not only because of the fact that it was set up earlier on in the episode where he tried a very similar tactic only this time it was avoid looking around a creepy looking room but also because of the fact that it does feel like it was in character for Scooby-Doo to do something like that and it's something that movies like Happy Halloween Scooby-Doo , Scooby-Doo . Scooby-Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed and Scooby-Doo! And Kiss: Rock And Roll Mystery forgot to do despite alot of them being good films and having there own funny moment with Scooby-Doo in them where as here alot of his jokes felt in character for him and because of that they all came across as being really funny jokes in there own right in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this episode was a decent but flawed episode as it doesn't really give the mystery part of the episode all that much attention when it's something that should have been getting more attention then what the actual comedy part of the episode was getting as people come to Scooby-Doo for the mystery and not the comedy in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and a such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself grand old score of exactly a 6.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all o the images hat I personally used in this very review from the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Saturday, 4 January 2025

Scooby-Doo! WrestleMania Mystery Film Review


Pro Wrestling and Cartoons are things that have been together since the eighties when the WWE then the WWF released Hulk Hogan Rock N Wrestling and in the mid to late 2010's Vince McMahon thought that it would be a good idea to do a crossover movie with a few Warner Bros and one Sony Pictures cartoon. With the film that i'm going to be reviewing for you all today being the first of these crossover films to be released and so then join me as I review the film that sees the Mystery Inc gang team up with WWE superstars with the film in question being called simply just "Scooby-Doo! WrestleMania Mystery" enjoy.

The plot of this film is when Shaggy and Scooby win a trip to WWE City and free Wrestlemania tickets they along with Fred , Velma and Daphne get caught up in a mystery surrounding a bear one which only the WWE superstars can help solve. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad as it is the kind of plot that you'd expect a movie like this one to have but at the same time tho the movie does pull it off and does have fun with it's plot which does make what could be seen as being a predictable set up seem somewhat less predictable and while the plot of the film isn't as fully developed as it really good have been for a film whose sole purpose is to get more eyes on the WWE brand the films plot was alot more enjoyable and alot more better then what it really had any right to be as by all rights this films plot should have been really painfully bad and yet what we end up with is a film whose plot is the kind of plot that you'd expects from a film like this one to have and because of it us the audience can just sit back and relax and watch a film with what is rather admittedly a rather dumb plot with the plot of of this film also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Starring in this film is Frank Welker as Scooby-Doo and Fred Jones , Mindy Cohn as Velma Dinkley and Grey DeLisle Griffin as Daphne Blake. Also starring in this film is Matthew Lillard as Shaggy Rogers , Charles S. Dutton as Cookie , Mary McCormack as Ms. Richards , John Cena as Himself , April Jeanette Mendez as AJ Lee , Anthony Carelli as Santino Marella , Michael Mizanin as The Miz , Paul Levesque as Triple H , Sean Coulthard as Michael Cole , Vince McMahon as Himself , George Murdoch as Brodus Clay , Glenn Jacobs as Kane , Corey Burton as Bayard and Announcer , Bumper Robinson as Ruben and Fred Tatasciore as The Ghost Bear.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. As the acting from both the regular Scooby-Doo voice cast and the actors not playing the WWE superstars is really good which is to be expected as they are trained actor and in the case of Frank Welker a voice acting legend who has been playing he role of Fred since Scooby Doo Where Are You and the role of Scooby Doo since 2002 but it's when we get to the WWE superstars that the acting quality takes a dip which s of no fault of there's as there not trained actors but at the same time tho all of there performances including John Cena's just feel wooden when all there doing is playing a more heightened version of the character that they play on either Raw or Smackdown and that's really it with the worst actor in this film being without a shadow of a doubt being Vince McMahon who just can't act so why he insisted on being in quite literally all of these crossover movies is astounding as the man cannot act his way out of a paper bag with the acting that's in this film not really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so bad as it gives none of this films actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does help to lower the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film. 


Doing the animation for this film is the legends and the really greats that are currently over at Digital eMation. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad and like the plot of the film was really alot better then what it really had any right to be as nobody would have blamed the animation staff that were working on this film if they just phoned it in as by all rights this films animation shouldn't look as good as it did and yet we end up with a film where the animation looks really good especially by the standards of a direct to DVD movie with all of the characters having some really nice and fluid movements to them and alot of the characters getting across alot of emotion just from there facial expressions alone but at the same time tho you can still tell that this was a direct to DVD movie as this films animation does look cheap in places like when the film uses CGI animation for things like cars and rocks which just stand out a mile as they look really bad when compared to the films 2D animation which not only looked good for 2014 standards but holds up really well today as well and it really does make you wonder why Warner Bros Animation didn't bother putting this amount of good animation when it came to their Flintstones and WWE crossover movie.


Even tho Sin Cara is without a doubt the main wrestling character in this film the film just can't resist forcing John Cena down our throats. Just to be clear this film came out at a time when WWE was also forcing John Cena down our throats so it might have come from them as they really wanted us the audience to like him as much as they do but here it just felt weird like we can buy Cena training at the side of the road that does make sense but having him jump out of nowhere to save the gang from a rock whilst his theme music plays just felt weird and was to be frank a really laughable moment during a scene where your not meant to be laughing where as with Sin Cara who is meant to be the main wrestling star in this film as he is the one that knows all about The Ghost Bear and even has a past with the creature as well he gets nothing and is forced to be the guy that Cena has to translate as he doesn't speak in the film and while Cena being forced down our throats might work for his fans both during his WWE run and for those that are just a fan of him because of his acting work it's not something that works in this film as it very easily could have been Sin Cara who saved the gang from the rock just by having him jumping around and out of the forest to save them since they make him to this eccentric type of character in the film it is something that would have been in his character to do something like that in a really flashy sort of way.

Something that does work to the films advantage is the fact that the film has Daphne develop a crush on John Cena pretty much right away. Which is something that does get some decent laughs even tho it's meant to be nothing more then something that won't go beyond this movie and the fact that Cena doesn't even no about and just thinks that she's being really helpful and kind and sweet just makes that idea all the more funnier but what doesn't work at all is the fact that everyone in the movie seems to really love WWE for no reason like it would be understandable if it was a few hundred thousand people or even a few million people for that matter but here almost every single character that they show that's watching Wrestlemania really loves WWE which is something that doesn't make sense it's understandable why the people who bought a ticket to watch the event live and in person would like it but not everyone who watches the events on TV especially those people who in a group of friends for example won't always like it either as wrestling is seen as being this very niche thing that you only like as a kid but then grow out of it and there for the WWE to have this huge fanbase that loves everything that they do so much so that they built an entire city with laws and everything just for them whilst it was entertaining t spot all of the hidden easter eggs and secret cameos from wrestlers in those scenes it also just felt weird to see knowing how professional wrestling and how the fans of professional wrestling are treated in the real world by those that don't like it.


For some strange reason alot of these direct to DVD Scooby-Doo movies seem to not bother giving us the audience clues to who is behind the monster of the movie. This is something that the whole entire franchise is built on doing and yet its something that these direct to DVD movies as fun as they can be seem to lack with the same thing also being true for this film as there are no clues pointing as to who the actual man behind the bear even is which means that when it is revelled that's Cookie who's been terrorising WWWE City then it really does come out of nowhere heck it would have made more sense if it was Kane as the film has him act sort of like a villain anyways or even Bayard would have made some sort sense as then you have the motive behind it as he wanted WWE City gone as they were taking up more and more of his land but with Cookie it doesn't make sense even with the motive which is that he felt that his career had ended far to soon and so he took on the guise of the Ghost Bear in order to get the WWE Championship which he never got to held during his career and that's it and while the motive is solid enough to make him the villain quite literally every single thing that we see with the character has him acting in a jovial way to all of the characters with him even helping the gang solve the mystery of the Ghost Bear and so it really makes no sense for him to be the villain of the film and it's something that make it feel like that the writers of this film forgot to include a culprit until the last few pages of the script and so they just threw him in there as the culprit and hoped that nobody would notice how little that makes sense.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and twenty three minuets and forty one seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstandard running time for alot of these direct to DVD animated Scooby-Doo movies to have in the first place with it really being helped by the fact that this film really does have the absolutely right amount of plot there to really cover that amount of running time as this is film really don't require that long of a running time in order to fully tell it's story it just needs to be around hour and thirty minuets and that's it and that's exactly what we get in this film and while this film really doesn't use it's running time all that well be developing it's main plot or even it's new characters to it's fullest it could also be argued that the WWE superstars don't really need there characters to be all that developed in this film as they have both raw and Smackdown and the various WWE PPV's to get across what there character is meant to be but at the same time tho this film rally should have developed it's plot even if it's just a little bit more as it's plot is one of the best things that the film has going for it and yet even that just felt like that it was something that made to sell little kids on the WWE product and heck the film even could have used it's running time to actually give us clues as to who the Ghost Bear was instead of pulling something out of thin air at the very last minuet but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho. 


So now then as this is a comedy that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With the film having some really funny meta jokes very early on in the film about how the gang always the exact same clothes everyday anyway and there they really wouldn't need any kind of luggage in the first place which was a really funny as the one where Daphne asks Velma which scarf she thinks that John Cena will like only for it to be the exact same scarf those are some decent jokes and the film is filled to the brim with alot of really cute jokes just like that all throughout the film but at the same time tho it would have been nice if the film had some jokes that made fun of the WWE like for example they could have had Shaggy and Scooby joke about the fact that Kane looks like an evil dentist which granted those that love Scooby-Doo won't get that joke but those that are die hard into the WWE might get that joke and even the joke that Velma isn't into professional wrestling only to have her fall in love with it by the end of the movie is a decent joke even tho that's literally the only kind of joke that they do with her character in both of the WWE and Scooby-Doo cross over movies and the fact that the gang once shaved Scooby Doo just to catch a monster is also a really decent joke and it's one that really does catch you off guard as well as it's just that good of a joke as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall out of the two team up movies that Scooby-Doo and the WWE did this one is easily the better of the two as this one knows exactly who is going to be watching this film and what kind of film that it is and really isn't afraid to be anything more then just a dumb kids crossover movie as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of he bad things that are in his very film in this very review and such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 5.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used inn this very review well then boys and girls and as well as being ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that personally used in this very review from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page , the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very film that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very film with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Friday, 4 October 2024

Velma: This Halloween Needs To Be More Special! SPOILER FILLED Special Review


For some strange reason Warner Bros really does think that we all like this Velma show this is despite all of the negative reviews for the show out there. Well now we have yet another new installment from the show that nobody asked for and that very few people actually like this time in the form of a Halloween special and s then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED review of the special that actually is pretty watchable for the most part with the special in question being called simply just "Velma: This Halloween Needs To Be More Special!" enjoy.

The plot of this special is just a few weeks after she died at the end of the second season Velma's friends have finally found the right spell to bring her back to life but on Halloween a new mystery arises when someone starts killing off people dressed in sexy costumes. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that;s actually featured / presented to us in this very special well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special was in all honesty not that ad but at the same time the plot of this special isn't all that good either as there's nothing about this plot that really requires it to the plot of a special episode of the show as the plot follows the typical formular set up of the show with nothing new about it to make it feel unique and make it stand out from all of the other episodes but with that being said the plot of this special is also a lot better then the typical season of the show and all of that is due to the fact that it does go back the typical Scooby-Doo formular of just having teens solving a mystery and that's that and while yes the plot of this really could have been alot better then what it was it's also the kind of plot that we really should expect from this show as well with the plot of this special also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this special is this specials executive producer Mindy Kaling as Velma Dinkley and Glenn Howerton as Fred Jones. Also starring in this special is Sam Richardson as Norville Rogers , Constance Wu as Daphne Blake , Sarayu Blue as Diya Dinkley , Nicholas Braun as Geoff Wickles / The Black Knight , Nicole Byer as Blythe Rogers , Gary Cole as Lamont Rogers , Fortune Feimster as Olive , Jennifer Hale as Thorn , Richard Kind as Himself , Jane Lynch as Donna Blake , voice acting and Scooby-Doo legend Frank Welker as William Jones , Russell Peters as Aman Dinkley , Sara Ramirez as Amber , Saweetie as Herself , Debby Ryan as Krista and Wanda Sykes as Linda Blake.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special was in all honesty not that bad. Which is something that does make sense as this special actors have been playing there respective characters for time at this point in time and would there for no how best to portray there respective characters but at the same time given who is starring in tis special this specials really acting really could have been alot better as we know from other projects that this special actors really can deliver some truly really great performances and yet when it comes to this special for one reason or another they really can't with the same thing also being true for voice acting legend Frank Welker who really is at best just OK and nothing more then that when it comes to this special with the acting that's in this very special not really being helped by the fact that the script for this special is just so bad as it gives none of this specials actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does help to lower the overall quality of the acting that's in this very special.


Doing the animation for this special is the legends and the really greats that are currently over at Studio IAM. Now then interms of what I personally thought /felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special well the in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special was in all honesty not that bad but at the same time this specials animation wasn't all that good either as while it's on par with the animation from the show the animation in the show isn't all that good and as a result of that is the fact that being compared to the show well never be in this specials favor as the shows animation is really bad and that is something that is still true with this special as everything just looks bland from the backgrounds to the unappealing character designs and even the face that they give Saweetie a really distractingly shiny dress which just takes you out of the special as it's there when it technically wouldn't be given what time of day this special takes place in with the characters themselves not even having fluid movements with the characters movements being really stiff and stilted which all of which combine to make the animation look cheap this is despite the fact that the animation does at times look really good.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!



As a mystery special this special isn't all that good as the mystery itself isn't all that good as the special doesn't give any clues as to who the killer really is. Since while the special does have a red herring in The Black Knight they reveal that the killer is actually an old lady who appeared in one scene at the start of the episode and that's it which granted is something that older Scooby-Doo shows also did but those shows also gave us the audience enough clues so that we can work it out for ourselfs and yet this is something that this special doesn't do as it doesn't give us any clues whatsoever and as a result of that is the fact that when it is revealed who the actual killer is not only does it come out of nowhere it also leaves you scratching your head trying to remember who this character is as when we first meet the character they barely have any lines of dialog outside of sobbing for the fact that the5re lover has just been killed and that's really it and heck even there motivation for wanting to kill people just so people can be scared of this one book that's never been mentioned before now really doesn't work either as a book that can apparently bring back the dead never got mentioned before now and yet that to also doesn't work when you take the previous two seasons worth of episodes into account either which is a good example of just how bad this shows writing really is.

To give this episode some credit the idea of having the friends having to face there fears to help bring Velma back from the dead is a good idea. The issue is tho is that Velma has been a terrible to all three of them and so the friends really have no reason to want to bring her back outside of the fact tat the plot demands that they do it and that's really it and while the third act scene where they all face there greatest fears at once is a good scene but again due to hoe badly Velma  has treated all three not only during this show as whole but also during this special it really does make you wonder they would even want to bring her back as she is just that unlikable as a character even now two seasons into her own show and it's something that the makers of this special have not only refused to talk about in interviews but also refused to fix during the show itself and while that does make sense for the shows second season as that was mostly likely made when the show was first ordered here while this special still would have been made when the show got its initial order there still would have been enough time between the first seasons and this special to at least try to make a small attempt to make her more likable even if it's just re-editing scenes to make her come across as being more likable and yet they don't do that and so she still comes off as being unlikable and her friends still come across as being dumb for wanting to bring her back from the dead.


In a rather bold move this special does actually all but confirm that we're getting a third season of this show by revealing at the end of the special that Fred has now been turned into a zombie as a way to bring Velma back to life. Why the makers of this show chose to do this as it's clear as day from not only alot of the reviews both online and not that people don't like this show and don't want this show to be a thing and yet there still trying to make it be a thing and yet the very idea of them turning this version of Fred into a zombie is at least a somewhat good idea as they are at least trying to do something with this character as for the past few seasons of this show the character has pretty much been nothing more then the comic relief character and while that is still true for this special here they at east make his ignorance to how things work in the real world apart of the main plot of the special and apart of Fred facing his biggest fear of getting a real job but he gets the golden treatment when compared to Norville who's biggest fear comes to him not wanting to hurt anyone close to him and they have that payed off not in some epic way that works for this version of the character but they have it be a joke where he hurts the feeling of the killer which is a disservice to the character while Fred at least gets something to do in this special the same thing cannot be said for Norville who just straight up disappears from the special for a long period of time.

Now then this special has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly thirty seven minuets and fourteen seconds. Which is a solid running time for this special to have as the special really does have more then enough there interms of plot to really cover that large amount of running time but at the same time tho this specials running time is pretty close to that of an average episode of the show which makes this special feel alot less special as all it does is make this special feel like your watching an extended episode of the episode when they really could have done something all the more epic and make something that is worthy of being called a special and yet they don't take full advantage of that idea and heck the special doesn't even take full advantage of its running time either as it doesn't take the time to delve into it's characters both ones that are carried over from the show and the ones that are introduced in this special which makes all of this specials characters feel like one dimensional characters when they really could have taken advantage of this specials mor longer running time to really delve into their characters ad give us the audience a reason to want to seem them succeed and yet they don't do that and as a result of that is the fat that us the audience have no reason to care for these characters and want to see them succeed outside of the fact that the plot demands it and that's really it but I really will admit that this special really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a comedy that really does means that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very special was in all honesty really bad. Which is in line with the show as the shows comedy isn't all that good either but where as the show has the excuse of there being more episodes and so just because there are bad jokes in one episode doesn't mean that the joke in the other episodes will be bad here tho they don't have that excuse with all of this specials jokes being painfully unfunny as there's not even a slightly funny joke to be found in this episode with the worst offender in this episode being the fact that it's revealed that one of the people who works for Fred's family has been throwing out Velma's dead body thinking that's rubbish which is just so ridiculous as anyone can see that the two look nothing alike and heck even if the makers of the special wanted to make a joke like that then they should have gone the extra mile and make Velma's body start to decay just a little bit which given this shows more mature rating is something that they very easily could have done and yet they don't which just makes the joke painfully unfunny and all of the specials jokes are exactly like that in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall while this special is indeed a huge step up interms of quality from the show that's not really a high bar to reach as the show is just that bad but at the same time tho this special is still a really bad special as it still has all of the thigs that make the show bad only alot of it is really toned down but with that said tho this special is still slightly more watchable then what the actual show is tho in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad thins that are in this very special in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very special really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 5.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in his very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen  I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Velma fandom wiki page , the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page , the official Family Guy fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very special that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very special with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.