Search This Blog

Showing posts with label The Mask. Show all posts
Showing posts with label The Mask. Show all posts

Sunday, 12 January 2025

The Mask: Animated Series "The Mask Is Always Greener On The Other Side" Parts 1 AND 2 Review


To say that the nineties had alot of superhero and comic book related animated shows out would be a huge understatement. As such it would be understandable if people just straight up forgot about one or two shows or didn't even k now that the show that they were watching is actually based off of comic book with this show being one that's kind of been lost to the sands of time as you don't really see it being talked about all that much and so then join me as I review the episode that saw another Jim Carrey character start it's own animated series with the two part episode in question being called simply just "The Mask Is Always Greener On The Other Side" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is fed up of The Mask causing him trouble Stanley Ipkiss finally decides to get rid of it once and for all only for him to realise that he may need it once again when an evil doctor starts terrorising Edge City looking for The Mask. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes being not that bad but at the same time the plot for both of these episodes really could have been alot better as for those of us that saw the movie they would know that at the end of the Stanley already got rid of The Mask and yet here he is with it again with no reason given and while yes it could be argues that Milo gave The Mask to Stanley at the end of the movie this is still something that should have been addressed in these episodes with the plot not even being epic enough to warrant being a two parter as you very easily could have told the plot of both of these episodes in just one episode and heck there's nothing in both of these episodes that fully justifies being a two parter as all that does is make the vast majority of part one feel like filler that's only there so that they could justify putting those scenes in the intro and not because there actually relevant to the plot of these episodes with the plot of these very episodes also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in these episodes is voice acting legend Rob Paulsen as Stanley Ipkiss and voice acting legend Frank Welker as Milo and Baby Forthwright. Also starring in these episodes is voice acting legend Tress MacNeille as Mrs. Peenman , Heidi Shannon as Peggy Brandt , Tim Curry as Doctor Pretorius , voice acting legend Kevin Michael Richardson as Mayor Mitchell Tilton , Mark Taylor as Charlie Schumaker , Neil Ross as Mitch Kellaway and voice acting legend Jim Cummings as Doyle.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes being alot better then what it really had any right to be. As by all rights the acting in these first two episodes really shouldn't have been as good as it was as the acting in shows that are based off f movies and comic books typically aren't that good and yet that's exactly what we got in both of these episodes as not only do none of the characters that are playing characters from the film NOT do impressions of the films actors which allows them to really make the characters there own but all of this episodes actors also turn in some really good performances in there own right which is something that really does make alot of sense when you take into account that alot of this episodes actors are a bunch of voice acting legends who are mostly still acting to this very day but that they are also just a bunch of really good actors in there own right as well with the true standout performer in this episode being Rob Paulsen as he not only has to create a very distinctive voice for Stanley Ipkiss but also do the exact same for The Mask and yet still turn in a good performance and he does so effortlessly with the acting that's in these episodes not really being helped by the fact that the script for these episodes is really bad as it gives none of these episodes actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in these very episodes.


Doing the animation for these episodes is Cuckoo's Nest Studios and the legends and the greats that are currently over at Wang Film Productions Company. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good and was just like the acting in the episodes in that it was alot better then what it really had any right to be but at the same time tho you could tell that this show didn't have a big animation budget as there aren't that many people walking around on the streets and the animation looses alot of detail during certain in episodes one which does add an air of cheapness to the episode which is something that does make sense as you have to spread your animation budget out over several episodes but at the same time you only get one chance to make a good first impression that's something that these episodes don't get the chance to do from an animation standpoint as they both just like the kind of show that would only air in the nineties where as comic book shows such as X-Men: The Animated Series and Batman: The Animated Series look like they were made a few years ago where with both of these episodes you can tell right away that this really was a nineties show due to the dated and at times rather cheap looking animation in both of these episodes.


What this show has both working for it and against it is the fact that it's more based off of the comics then the film. This is something that does work both for and against these episodes as it does allow for these episodes to use villains like Walter who never appeared in the film but at the same time due to the fact that this a kids show that also borrows elements from the movie it also works against these episodes as well as it creates a show that doesn't know what it wants to be as these episodes could have a really hard hitting scene that would feel right at home in the comics and then they'd end it on a joke that feel right at home in the movie with nothing inbetween the two thus creating tonal whiplash and it sometimes go the other way around as well with them having a more light hearted scene but then that would feel at home in the movie but then get more serious and adult like in the comic with the best example of this being in the opening to Part One where Mrs. Peenman yells at Stanley for thinking to loud which is something that would work in the movie but then when she leaves Stanley goes to his closet and threatens to put on The Mask so that he "take care of her" in a threatening way which is something that would have worked in the comics which were more adult and more violent then the movie version ever was and yet there's nothing inbetween the two to ease you into it and both of the episodes are like that and it gives the impression that the makers of this show wanted to please both the fans of the movie and the fans of comic book instead of creating a pair of solid episodes that really could have stood on there own with the audience having to have seen the movie or read any of the comic books.

As a comedy these two episodes do work really well as there are alot of painfully moments in both of these episodes. With Part One even kind of putting there own spin on the gag of Milo mishearing what Stanley want him to do from the movie only here instead him getting the police keys to let Stanley out of jail he licks his own lock that Walter put him in which was a cute little throwback joke as was the fact that near the end of Part Two they have Milo put on The Mask again which was another cute throwback to the movie but where both of these episodes shine is them doing jokes that's unique to the series as that's when they get to take full advantage of the fact that it's an animated series and so the jokes just become more wild and zany as The Mask himself who was already a cartoon character in the movie can now be even more wild and zany with his jokes but with that being said tho alot of the jokes in these episodes haven't aged as well as they could have done like the fact that alot of the wordplay between Stanley and Charlie just isn't that funny and Peggy off handedly mentioning the fact that she turned him into a bunch of Mobsters in the movie just isn't that funny either as all it does is remind you that you could be watching and the second that she makes that joke it then makes you wonder how Stanley got The Mask back from the end of the movie in the first place but when these episodes do tell a good joke it can be really funny joke with alot of thee episodes best jokes rather rightfully coming from The Mask himself.


This episodes main villain Doctor Pretorius is a really fun character and while he is of course played beautifully by Tim Curry. The character as a whole just isn't that interesting nor is he really that threatening in these two episodes with him not really doing anything all that threatening for the vast majority of either episode until near the end of episode two when he decides to take over the robot house and that Charlie and Stanley are trying to clean up and that's really it heck Walter is more threatening main villain for these two episodes as he's literally an unstoppable machine that is something that's perfect for the opening villain of a kids TV show as it then forces the main hero to have to think outside of the box to try and defeat there foe where as with Doctor Pretorius you don't really have to do that as all you have to do is just outsmart him once and you've got him beat which is a shame because the idea of a mad scientist who is so crazy and smart that he figured out a way to detach his own head from his body and have the two of them not only be alive but act independently of each other is a good and to the episodes credit it does take full advantage of that idea but at the same time tho that idea doesn't make the character threatening as all it does is prove that he's a super smart character and that's really it and while that is indeed a good thing you main villain also has to have some sort of menace about them so much so that you actually fear for the heroes life and want to see the main hero succeed because of it and that's something that's sadly missing from Doctor Pretorius.

Now then episode one has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty three minuets and five seconds whilst episode two has / had an exact gran total running time of exactly twenty three minuets and three seconds. With both running time pretty much being the bogstandard running time for alot of nineties kids animated TV shows to have but this episode really doesn't have alot of plot there to fully cover two episodes as the main plot of both the episodes episodes doesn't really kick in until about the half way point of Part One and even then is filled with padding that it makes it feel like that this episode was originally meant to be just the one episode but for one or another it ended up getting an extra episode when it really doesn't need it as there's nothing about this episode that screams that it needs to be a two parter and yet because it now is a two parter that means that part one for the most part feels like a trailer for part two as nothing that's set up in part one doesn't get payed off in part two this is a good example for the plot should always dictate how many episodes that it should be as really there's only enough plot for one episode and if these episodes were condensed into the one episode we end up with an episode that has a much more better focus on it's plot and where every single scene is about advancing it's plot and where no scene feels like filler or padding but I really will admit this episode really does gave some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad. As this is still a kids comedy show and so the action can't be as good as it is in say Batman: The Animated Series for example and with that in mind the action that we got in these first two episodes was really good and while most of the action does come in episode two we do kind of get a small fight scene near the end of episode one which was really fun even tho it was just Peggy trying to get Stanley out of the device that Doctor Pretorius put him in it was still a pretty fun scene and while it was right that these episodes save up alot of the action for the second episode it still would have been nice if episode one had more then one fight scene as while yes there is a scene at the start of episode with The Mask trying and failing to stop a bunch of bank robbers that's more of comedy scene then it is an action with the best action in both of these episodes being the final showdown between The Mask and Doctor Pretorius as that's when we get to see this episode really just go all in on the craziness that The Mask as a character does bring and because of that we do get a really fun filled action sequence as well with the action in episode two also being really good as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall out of this show Dumb And Dumber and the Ace Venture animated series with all three even premiering in the same year with this show ending it's run in 1997 Dumb And Dumber ending it's run in 1996 and Ace Ventura: Pet Detective ending it's run in 2000 and heck even this show and Ace Ventura: Pet Detective even had a two part crossover on each others show but this is the only one of those shows that feels like that it was taking full advantage of the fact that it's an animated show and while these two episodes aren't that good of a start to the show they do leave plenty of room for the show to grow and to improve as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as being as all of the bad things that are in these first two episodes in this very review and such that really does mean that these first episodes really do earn themselves a grand total combined score of exactly a 7.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official The Mask fandom wiki page , IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from these very episodes that I used in this very review being the really great the official The Mask fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from these very episodes with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official The Mask fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Sunday, 5 May 2024

Mystery Science Theater 3000 "The Mask" Review


Mystery Science Theater has introduced alot of people to alot of really bad movies alot of which would have been lost to the sands of time and forgotten about forever. The film that's covered in the episode that i'm about to review for you all today is no except as when this episode was first coming out the film that features in it was largely forgotten about with alot of people not really even knowing that this film was even thing in the first place and while this episode didn't really fix that it has somewhat slowed it down and so then join me as I review the episode that is the shows first ever halloween special with the episode in question being called simply just "The Mask" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is Jonah and the bots celebrate halloween and have to try and survive the latest bad movie to be thrown at them from Kinga and max. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot thats actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty good but at the same time this episodes plot was also on the thin side of things which s a common thing for this show as more often then not unless it's a really important episode then the shows host segments don't really ave much in the ways of a plot and even in this most recent season there was very little there interms of plot in it's episode with this episode being a prime example of that as it's basically a special holiday themed episode and nothing really all the more then that with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is this episodes director and co-writer Jonah Ray as Jonah Heston and Hampton Yount as The Voice Of Crow T. Robot. Also starring in this episode is Baron Vaughn as The Voice Of Tom Servo , Felicia Day as Kinga Forrester , this episodes co-writer Patton Oswalt as Max , this episodes co-writer Rebecca Hanson as The Voice Of GPC and Mrs. Kelly , Yvonne Freese as The Skull , the shows creator Joel Hodgson as Ardy , Ivan Askwith as Bonesy and Sharyl Volpe as The Voice Of Magic Voice.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acing that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With all of the episodes doing the est that they can do with what little that they've been given to work with as there's not really much there interms of plot for the cast to sink there teeth into and turn in that good of a performance and while the voice actors in this episode are indeed the true standouts of this episode it's the acting of the live action cast that do somewhat let the quality of the acting down a little bit just due to the fact that not alot of them have that much to do and those that do have alot just turn in average performances with the acting in this episode not really being helped by the fact that the script for this episode isn't really all that good as the script for this episode doesn't really give the cast a whole lot of two work with interms of what it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does bring down the overall quality of the acting that's in this episode.


As was stated at the start of this review this is the shows first ever Halloween special in the shows history. With the episode really embracing the halloween holiday with Jonah and the bots even going trick or treating complete with costumes which was a nice little touch as was the fact that the villains headquarters is filled to the brim with spider webs which they do explain away in the show in a way that does make sense but at the same time it does go along way to showing us that the makers of this episode are quite clearly having fun with this episode and celebrating the fact that it's halloween and given the amount of bad horror movies out there it makes you wonder why this show hasn't tackled any of them before now as the show really could have fun with alot of the cheesy movies from the seventies and alot of the Full Moon Features films and heck they even could have taken on some of the films from Troma Entertainment as well as all of the films from both of those studios are perfect films for this show to take on.


The film that's the main focus of this episode is of course the 1961 Canadian surrealist horror film The Mask. With the film pretty much being shown in it's entirety with there not being edited down and as a result of that we the audience get to see just how strange and weird that this film is and while the team behind this episode do make the obvious jokes of making references to the Jim Carrey film of the same name they don't really mention just how stranger and weird that this film is which is something that they really could have done as they could have gotten alot of jokes just from how strange and weird that this film was and while they do point out the fact that they don't need anyone to tell us when the film is in 3D as yes this film was a 3D film it's not something that was needed as scenes like that would most likely appear in alot of films as alot of people wouldn't know what 3D is when it comes to feature length films but what they could have done is called out just how weird and strange that this film gets as the films gets weird quickly and it only gets weirder.

In a rather odd move is that there are technically two different versions of this episode available with one being in 3D for the scenes in the film are in 3D and one that's just in standard 2D. This was a rather odd move as it basically means having to film to different versions of the scenes in the theater and editing two different versions of the episodes which would take alot of work to do and it's rather odd that the makers of this episode would do that as there's nothing really new that they could joke about in the 3D version that's in the 2D version but at the same time given that the makers of this episode now aren't bound to whatever it is that whatever network or streamer that there airing on wants them to do and as a result of that is the fact that they can now do alot of the things that they couldn't do in both seasons eleven and twelve of the show and in this case that means producing essentially two different cuts of the same episode and releasing them both at the exact same time on there very own streaming service The Gizmoplex. 


To get back to all of the good things in this episode all of this episodes host segments are some really fun parts of the episode. With the cast quite clearly having a blast in all f those segments and just going with and embracing the pure madness of this film with them even showing what trick or treating might be like for Jonah and the bots in this episode which does lead to the most fun and possibly even funniest part of the non theater segments of this episode with even Max getting in on the costume fun which does go to show you that even tho he's a villain on the show he's still like all of us a big kid at heart but on the flip side of the of is the fact that alot of the host segments in this episode don't really go into that much detail on the Halloween holiday with alot of them just basically covering the same stuff that you'd expect a kid to know about Halloween which does in someways make sense as Jonah most likely doesn't know all that much about Halloween but it still would have been nice to see them explain some of the other halloween traditions and not just the most popular one.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of one hour and thirty four minuets and fifty four seconds. Which is the bogstandard running time for this show to have and to this episodes while it doesn't alot of plot there to really cover that large amount of running time it does make the best use of that running time by giving us alot of the shows signature host segments alot of which are all really fairly entertaining and by giving us alot of host segments alot of the characters alot of really funny scenes alot of which would have most likely have been pushed to the side to make room for the plot which in away does make sense as well but this is a comedy and there for the focus should be more fifty fifty and thankfully that's not really an issue for this episode tho this is despite the fact that the episode had more then enough running time there to justify pushing the seasons plot of the now three hosts planning to make an escape but I will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a comedy that means that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. With the episode having alot of really funny moments alot of which do come from the episodes host segments as we get to see the characters just having fun like at the start of the episode we see Jonah , Crow , Tom and GPC telling each other scary stories but because they could have to end the story at any second there only telling each other the end of the story which is really a funny joke as is the fact that nobody really gets that Jonah's costume is that of actor Tom Atkins which is funny but it's also something that gets old really quickly but alot of the shows best jokes do really come from the jokes that Jonah and the bots make about the movie in the theater in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this was a really decent episode of the show as it does give what is basically a forgotten horror film the chance to become a cult classic and it is fun seeing the Mystery Science Theater 3000 characters celebrate halloween in the only way that they know how and that is something that really does make this episode really fun to watch in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all f the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 7 out of 10 from me.

Now the as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Mystery Science Theater 3000 fandom wiki page , IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the wonderful Google Images since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on Google Images are all fairly high in quality and as well as being fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 7 December 2016

Top 5 Strange Cartoons Based Of Movies


Hello there animation lovers when a movie becomes a hit there's one thing that studios want and that's to make a sequel but in the late eighties and early two thousands if your film was a hit then chances are it would get a cartoon series and here are my top 5 strange cartoons that are based of movies and when i say strange i mean why was this a cartoon.


5) Dumb And Dumber: The Animated Series

I put this show on here because of the fact that the original movie is like a cartoon so in a way it makes sense to turn into a cartoon but throw in the fact that this show has no plot and the fact that the show makers chose to add in an animal side kick you can quickly see why this show is odd as hell.


4) The Mask

Now on paper this should have been one of the greatest shows ever made and i can see why people would like the show but here's what this show and Dumb And Dumber and Ace Ventura have in common they all tried to replace Jim Carrey which you cannot do he made those films. Then when you add in the fact that the show ignores the first Mask film completely you can hopefully now see why i call this show strange.


3) RoboCop: The Animated Series

I don't know why this needed an animated series but apparently some hollywood producer thought that this would make a great kids cartoon so out went all the political commentary and the violence and in came lasers and bad story telling.


2) James Bond Jr.

Now if this film was set in the continuity of the movies this show wouldn't be on this list but the fact that one of the bond film producers chose to make a cartoon about James Bond and not have it feature James Bond and then have it go against everything that was all ready established is just baffling to me and this was going to be my number 1 choice but when i thought of what was number 1 this got bumped down to number 2.


1) Rambo: The Force Of Freedom

The very idea of turning an R rated movie into a TV show for kids to me is stupid but if you have a great set of writers and a great crew it can work but when it doesn't you get this show Rambo as we all know has PTSD due to the fact that has a prisoner of war during the Vietnam war that doesn't even get a mention in this show here he leads a team called The Force Of Freedom and takes on the apparently evil forces of S.A.V.A.G.E and just like with Robocop they took out everything that people loved about the movies and the character to make it more kid friendly.