Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Marvel Animation. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Marvel Animation. Show all posts

Tuesday, 30 September 2025

Marvel Zombies TV Series SPOILER FILLED Review



It's not very often that I have to use both a spoiler warning and a gore warning in the exact same post with the last time that this happened being back during What If season 1. Well now Marvel have released there latest new animated show and to say that the gore warning is justified would be like saying X-Men '97 was a good show no duh and well you all just knew that I had to check out all four of these episodes the very chance that I got and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED review of the show that is a spin off of What If with the show in question being called simply just "Marvel Zombies" enjoy.

The plot of this show is when Kamala , Riri and Kate all discover a possible way to end there earths Zombie outbreak all three of them head to Ohio to try and save the world once and for all. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad however this shows plot really isn't all that good as there's nothing about this shows plot that makes seem like anything less then a generic zombie show or movie only now the characters are Marvel characters and that's really it with the plot of the show being at best very weak as it was hard to tell just what the main plot of the show even was alot of the time as the show oddly enough doesn't give it's main plot alot of focus outside of the first two episodes and that's really it which does make you wonder why the makers of this show went with this plot when they quite clearly had no intention of giving it the focus that it really needed as on paper this is a plot that could have worked and seeing these familiar characters in this kind of setting is more then enough to make the plot of the show work but you still to actually give the plot alot of focus and that is something that the makers of this show really don't do with alot of the focus going into the fact that they have zombies in the show and that's really it and while that's great you still need a decent plot to hold it all together and sadly for the most part that's not what this show has but when the show has moments where it does focus on the show that's were you promise that this plot could have had with the plot of this show not really being really rather entertaining and nor is it really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this show is Iman Vellani as Kamala Khan / Ms. Marvel and Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff / Red Queen. Also starring in this show is Paul Rudd as Scott Lang / Ant-Man , Florence Pugh as Yelena Belova , David Harbour as Alexei Shostakov / Red Guardian , Tessa Thompson as Brunnhilde / Valkyrie , Simu Liu as Shang-Chi , Awkwafina as Katy Chen , Hailee Steinfeld as Kate Bishop , Wyatt Russell as John Walker , Randall Park as Jimmy Woo , Dominique Thorne as Riri Williams / Ironheart , Hudson Thames as Peter Parker / Spider-Man , Todd Williams as Eric Brooks / Blade Knight , Kenna Ramsey as Okoye , Kerry Condon as F.R.I.D.A.Y. , Kari Wahlgren as Melina Vostokoff , Feodor Chin as Xu Wenwu , Rama Vallury as Helmut Zemo / Baron Zemo , Greg Furman as Thor , Adam Hugill as Rintrah , Daniel Swain as London Master , Sheila Atim as Sara Wolfe , F. Murray Abraham as Khonshu and Zenobia Shroff as Muneeba Khan.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad. With all of this shows actors turning in some really good performances which is something that's not really all that surprising as alot of them are reprising their roles from either other animated shows or the Marvel Cinematic Universe films and there for they would all of course have a really good handle on their characters and how there respective characters would act in any given situation with even the shows newer actors like for example Todd Williams making for a really good Blade with his voice being somewhere between the Wesley Snipes version of the character and the voice Mahershala Ali used in Eternals for the character and even new Thor voice actor Greg Furman actually does a pretty good job of sounding like Chris Hemsworth so much so that at times it was hard to tell that it wasn't him voicing the character with the best actor in the whole entire show being Iman Vellani as Kamala Khan / Ms. Marvel as even tho she's played the character in live action twice and multiple times in animation she really does own this role with her infectious energy shining through in her performance as the character as well with the acting that's in this very show not really being helped by the fact that the script for this show is just so bad as it gives none of this shows actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very show.


Doing the animation for this show is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Stellar Creative Lab. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad with the show making use of the same animation style that was used in What If with this being something that does make sense as this show is meant to be a spin off of that show with the shows animation at times looking like it has some 2D handdrawn elements to it especially when it comes to things like dust and dirt however tho while this shows animation is indeed really good and of a very high quality which is something that is really not all that new or surprising as alot of Marvel Animation's TV shows have always had some really good animation to them this show doesn't nothing all that interesting with it's animation as there are very little crazy camera moves and nothing in this show from an animation standpoint that takes full advantage of the fact that it's an animated show as while the characters do look like there respective actors alot of the time there are times where they look nothing like them with there designs feeling more like the cheap knock of brand version of the actors that played them in the movies and due to the shows setting and premise we don't really get to see a lot of verity when it comes to shows backgrounds either with the backgrounds that we do get to see looking empty and just plain to look at alot of the time this is isn't always the case however as we do get some cool looking backgrounds in episodes one , three and part of episode four as well with all of the shows characters having some really nice fluid movements to them which only help to make the shows action come alive and the shows more gory moments even more horrific then what they already are in the first place.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



This show is rated TV MA and it really does earn that rating in one respect and one respect only and that's the fact the fact that we have alot of really gory scenes in this show. With there being alot of blood spilled in every single episode of the show which don't get me wrong is perfect for a horror action show like this one but at the same time this is also meant to be an adult show and just having blood and guts in it only serves to make this show adult in the most child like and kid friendly way possible as the show despite setting up the fact that Kamala might be going through some sort of PTSD due to the fact that she looses her friends near the end of episode one the show doesn't take the time to fully explore that aspect of the character and it's the same thing with Red Guardian who looses both his wife and his daughter in back to back episodes and yet if the show took the time to talk about how those characters might be feeling after going through one of the worst things that you can go through as a person then it would make this show feel more mature and adult and heck even shows like The Walking Dead and Ash Vs Evil Dead took the time to let the characters breathe and talk things out this is despite the fact that both of those shows had the same short running time as this show had and because of it both of those shows despite having lots of blood and gore in them feel more adult and mature because of the fact that there were talking about those things and heck even X-Men '97 a show that was made for and pretty much aimed at kids dared to talk about adult things and deal with adult themes in a more mature way and yet this show despite it being a very mature adult show doesn't take the time that it really should have done to do just that weather that was due to the fact that they only four episodes to tell the story or because of the fact the makers of this show just didn't want to talk about those mature things is any bodies guess.

In what could be seen as being a really weird move Disney decided to release all four episodes of this show on the exact same day. Which just seems weird as they very easily could have gotten a months worth of content and more viewership to Disney+ by releasing the episodes weekly something which would have helped them out in the long run as then they could better judge how well the show is doing by comparing the numbers on a week to week basis whereas now they can't do that and now they have to rely on word of mouth the spread the show around and so far the word of mouth for this show hasn't been good whereas if they chose to release the show on a weekly basis yes you would still have that bad word of mouth there as that's due to the fact that the show itself just isn't that good but you could also get more viewership to Disney+ and get them to watch one of you other dozens of Marvel Cinematic Universe TV shows thus guaranteeing that you'll have more numbers coming to your platform as not every single how needs to released all at the same time with this show being one of them as due to it's cliff hanger ending it would have worked all the more better if it was released weekly as then people could theorize about what's going to happen next with the best example of where this could happen interms of the show being the ending to episode two as in that ending we have Yelena sacrifice herself to save Kamala , Red Guardian , Snag-Chi , Katy , Blade and Barron Zemo when Zemo's submarine gets overrun with zombies as then you could have your audience make theories about what could happen next to the group and other such things like is Yelena really dead as characters that die in comic book books come back to life all the time so it would be a perfectly valid argument to make but because of the fact that the show was being released at the same time none of that can happen and this is something that Disney needs to stop doing as there ultimately hurting themselves as there not giving a people more a reason to back to Disney+ to watch there new favorite shows on a week to week basis due to the fact that alot of them are now releasing all of their episodes on the same day.

  


One of the things that this show did get alot of hate for was it's ending and it's not that hard to see why as it did the one thing that all shows that don't have a confirmed second season do and that's end on a cliffhanger. With this show ending when Kamala agrees to help Wanda who is the shows main villain and Wanda pretty much makes Kamala think that she's living in a world where the zombie apocalypse didn't happen only for Riri to basically hack into Kamala to tell her that everything that she's seeing right now isn't real and is all fake and that's it that's how the show ends which don't get me wrong would be a great ending if the show was already renewed for a second but it's not in fact they've not even begun talking about a potential second season and won't be doing so for a good months which makes this ending all the more infuriating as there's now more then a good chance that it won't be getting a second a season and we'll be stuck with a show that technically didn't have an ending to it which makes you wonder why the makers of this show thought that was a good way to end what might very well be a single series show as they could have come up with an ending that sees Kamala and her group not defeat Wanda for good but stops her plan of touching a highly energized Hulk which in turn would stop her from destroying there world which granted isn't that good of an ending but it' still an ending and it's one that does leave the door open for future seasons should the show have proven to be hit with audiences and yet just ending the show on a cliffhanger is the wrong move to make as now you have to pray to god that the show gets picked up for more seasons just to finish the story when this is a story that really should have been finished in this batch of episodes.

Now then this show has / had an exact grand total running time of no longer then thirty five minuets and twenty one seconds. With the show lasting for four episodes all of run between thirty five minuets and twenty eight minuets with the show not really having enough episodes to really do it's story any kind of justice as this sis show that really could have done with being five or even eight episodes long as the show does have more then plot there to really cover that amount of running time but because of the fact that the show is only four episodes long it really can't use it's running time all that wisely as the show now has to rush along to the next plot point without it feeling earned and as a result of that is that we get multiple main character deaths in every episode where as something like should only happen every couple of episodes at best with this not really being helped by the fact that the plot of the show isn't that well developed as the makers of the show are more focused on showing of the fact that it's a gory show then they in fully developing it's plot with this even being true for the shows characters as well as we get to find out nothing about this universes version of these characters and therefor we can't feel sorry for them when something bad does happen to them as the show really doesn't give us a reason to care for them as the show doesn't take the time that it really needed to fully develop it's characters even Kamala Khan herself who is meant to be the shows main character gets nothing interms of character development as we know just as much about her character at the end of the show then we did at the start of the show with this being something that really could have been fixed if the show really did have more episodes as then both the shows main plot and it's characters get both get the development that they really do need but I really will admit that this show really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad. With the shows action being the best part of the show as we get to see various Avengers using there powers to take on and defeat several zombies in several gory and over the top ways which is something that will always be cool to see no matter what else we get from an action standpoint and even seeing Blade engage in a sword fight with another zombie is just great to see with this shows action really being helped by the shows animation as the animation helps to make the action in this show really come alive with each and every blow coming alive and practically leaping off of the screen with the best action scene in the whole episode being the third act fight in episode four when Kamala and her crew now including Ant-Man and Spider-Man among others taking on Wanda and her undead army of evil soldiers alot of which include those that Kamala has lost during the course of the show being force to fight for Wanda which does make that action scene all the more exciting then it already is in the first place with it being helped by the fat that we get to see all of the heroes in that scene using their powers and while the show is filled to the brim with really good action scenes that one at the end of episode is easily the best of the bunch and is alot of fun to watch as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall it is hard to say on if this is a good show or not as one the hand there alot of good things to be found in this show from the acting to the action to the fight scenes all being chief among them but at the same time tho there are alot more bad things to be found in this show as well all of which stop the show from reaching it's potential and be the great show that it really could have been in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the abs things that are in this very show in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very show really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very show that I used in this very review being the really great the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very show with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Marvel Cinematic Universe fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 15 May 2024

X-Men '97 TV Series SPOILER FILLED Review


I think that it's fair to say that both Marvel and Disney have had a terrible year last year with alot of there films and TV shows either flopping badly or being at best very divisive. Well there was one show released near the middle of this year that has proven that with the right creative team that actually knows and are fans of the source material that both Marvel and Disney can indeed put out some worthwhile content and so then join me as I give you mt SPOILER FILLED review of the show that was so much better then what it really had any right to be with the show in question being called simply just "X-Men '97" enjoy.

The plot of this show is one year after the supposed death of there leader Professor Charles Xavier the X-Men find themselves in a new fight one which sees them come into contact with an old enemy. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good with the plot of this show being so good that at times it really does feel like the plot of the movie but only it was done as a TV show and while the above synopsis might not be the best representation of the shows plot it is the best way to describe the plot of the show without going to much into spoilers as the plot of the show really does takes so many twists and turns that nine times of ten you really don't see coming with the plot of the show also being really entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this show is Ray Chase as Scott Summers / Cyclops and Cal Dodd as James Howlett / Wolverine. Also starring in this show is Lenore Zann as Anna-Marie Raven / Rogue , Alison Sealy-Smith as Ororo Munroe / Storm , George Buza as Dr. Henry "Hank" McCoy / Beast , A.J. LoCascio as Remy LeBeau / Gambit , Holly Chou as Jubilation Lee / Jubilee , Jennifer Hale as Jean Grey and Madelyne Pryor / Goblin Queen , Matthew Waterson as Erik Lehnsherr / Magneto , Gui Agustini as Roberto Da Costa / Sunspot , Christopher Britton as Nathaniel Essex / Mister Sinister , Adrian Hough as Kurt Wagner / Nightcrawler , J.P. Karliak as Kevin Sydney / Morph , Ross Marquand as Charles Xavier / Professor X , Gil Birmingham as Daniel Lone Eagle / Forge , Eric Bauza as Sentinel , Ron Rubin as President Robert Edward Kelly , Catherine Disher as Val Cooper , Chris Potter as Nathan Summers / Cable , Lawrence Bayne as Carl Denti / X-Cutioner , Alyson Court as Abcissa , Theo James as Bastion , Martha Marion as Emma Frost and Moira MacTaggert , Todd Haberkorn as Sebastian Shaw , Gavin Hammon as Bolivar Trask , Courtney Taylor as Callisto , David Errigo Jr. as Mojo and Gladiator , Abby Trott as Spiral , Josh Keaton as Steve Rogers / Captain America and Mike McGill as Thaddeus Ross.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good. With all of this shows cast members turning in some really good performances which really isn't all that surprising as alot of this shows cast are reprising their roles either from the original show or from other X-Men TV shows and would therefor thus now what kind of performance would best suit there character in any given situation and the shows new actors more then hold there own when it comes to acting against alot of the returning cast members with Holly Chou being a very suitable replacement for the great Alyson Court as Jubilation Lee / Jubilee and Matthew Waterson making for a great replacement for David Hemblen as Erik Lehnsherr / Magneto with the acting in this show really being helped by the fact that the scripts for this show are just so good that all this shows cast have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this show.


Doing the animation for this show is Happy Tiger Animation and the legends and the greats that are currently over at Studio Mir. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about e actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featu4ered / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty phenomenal with the animation in this show taking inspiration from anime by having a very anime aesthetic to it but done in a way that the animation in this show can also look like that it was made in the nineties as well with this shows animation looking alot better then other animated shows out there right now as despite this show being pretty much a more mature take on the X-Men characters it has animation quality that is up with Avatar: The Last Airbender interms of it's quality which is something that you don't see not only in adult animation but in animation as a whole as alot of animated shows are there just to be product fodder for whatever network is releasing them and because of that the animation does indeed suffer yet with this show the animation is just top level and is a good example of just how good animation really could be and as well as the fact that not all animation has to be just for little kids.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!  



It's safe to assume the best episode of this show it's easily the shows fifth episode "Remember It" as it's an episode that takes the show in a completely different direction. As until that point it seemed like that the show was going to be about Magneto trying to do good and earn the teams trust and yet by the end of the episode we find out that actually the show is about mutants just trying to survive and that sometimes they can have a very bad day with this episode being a good example as it's something that effects not only this episode but the remaining five episodes of the show which is such a smart move as something like this would've most likely been the focus of one episode and then never mentioned again in the original show only being brought up every once in a while and yet because of what happens in this episode it effects episodes seven , eight , nine and ten with it only being brought up at the very end of episode six which is such a smart move as it now allows us to see what alot of the mutants of the world thought about this truly dreadful attack that saw thousand if not hundreds of thousands of mutants die.

One of the things that this show kind of became known for was for it's cameo's from characters in the wider Marvel Animated Universe. With this final episode being no different as we get to see Iron Man , Captain America , Cloak & Dagger , Peter Parker and Mary Jane Watson among others and while these cameos are fun to watch it was getting to the point where it was becoming distracting as all they ended up doing was pulling you out of the episode instead of keeping you invested in the final episode of the shows first season while the cameos are fun to see they should've been done a bit more sparingly just to make them feel alot more special or just have them appear in the important episodes of the show as that would make the world feel alot more bigger then what it actually is instead of taking time away from the shows main characters  which has the add on effect of making it shocking when they reveal that Magneto is actually evil again something which was never hinted it and thus comes out of nowhere when it happens in the shows eighth episode and heck the character doesn't even have a plan with him wanting to end the world just for the sake of ending the world all because of the fact that he believes that it was humans that launched the attack on Genosha.


Something else that feels like wasted potential is the fact that in episode seven the show shows us a much more darker side of Rogue. With the show making it seem like that she's going to be somewhat of a villain with her even leaving the team in episode nine to join up with Magneto and yet the show just straight up drops it in episode ten with the team now fully trusting Rogue again even tho just a few minuets ago she tried to kill them and as a result of that is the fact that we end up with what could have been a good idea feel wasted as the very idea of seeing Rogue be a bad guy even if it was just for a few short episodes of season two would have made sense from a storyline perspective given everything that she goes through in this first batch of episodes and yet the show drops that idea and that plot line of her trying to cope with the death of Gambit for no reason when that is a plot line that really should have been resolved by the end of this final episode as it would have brought closure to that characters character arc.

Now then the episodes of this show have / had an exact grad total running time of roughly twenty seven minutes with this final episode having the longest running time of the whole entire series with this episode being forty minuets and three seconds. With the final episode really deserving that long running time as it really does have more then enough there interms of plot to really cover that large amount of running time and it really did need to have that large of amount running time as it had so much story to wrap up and it wouldn't be able to do that if the episode was thirty minuets long and with the extended running time it allows the makers of the episode do alot more emotional stuff which is what they do with Scott , Jean and Cable as both Scott and Jean say what they think is going to be there final goodbye to there son as they think that there going to die and that is a moment that would have most likely been cut out of the episode if the episode had a much more short running time but I will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good. With the action in the show really benefitting from the shows animation as the animation in the show makes the action in the show just leap of the screen with the episodes animation rather rightfully getting alot of the shows best animation and as a result of that is the fact that the we get a bunch of action that all look really good with them also having some really cool moments in alot of if not all of the shows action scenes and it's during those action scenes were we get to see just what it is that each members of the team get to bring to the team with even Jubilee getting her time to shine as well in alot of the shows action scenes something which very rarely if ever happend in the original series and yet it happens in this one and it looks so good along with alot of the shows many action scenes in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!! 


Overall this show is so much better then what it really had any right to be as it's a good example of how to do a sequel series that is both really respectful to the original series and those characters and yet at the same time introduce this incarnation of the characters to an audience that perhaps wouldn't have watched the show growing up in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very show in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very show really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 9.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Disney fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from these very episodes that I used in this very review being the great the official Disney fandom wiki page simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from these very episodes and are really of course on the official Disney fandom wiki page are really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 27 March 2024

Iron Man 1994 Animated Series "Rejoice! I Am Ultimo, Thy Deliverer" Review


There are quite alot of animated shows that are based of off comic book heroes some series are fairly well known like Batman: The Animated Series or even perhaps X-Men: The Animated Series or even Spider-Man: the Animated Series. There are however some that aren't quite as well known like the show that i'm going to be taking a look at today as while the character that this series is based of off is now very popular thanks to the Marvel Cinematic Universe he wasn't always as popular as he was today and so then join me as I review that has Iron Man fighting against a giant robot with the episode in question being called simply just "Rejoice! I Am Ultimo, Thy Deliverer" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when The Mandarin unleashes and looses control of the giant robot Ultimo it's up to Iron Man and his team to stop the robot before it's far two late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad but that's also the issue tho as this episodes plot wasn't all that good either as it just gave the stereotypical superhero kids animated series plot and nothing more then that with the plot of this episode feeling rather like that it really belonged in the plot of an eighties animated show and not one that was made in the nineties as the plot of this episode wasn't all that strong either with the plot of the episode not really being really rather entertaining and nor is it really rather engaging either in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.  


Starring in this episode is Robert Hays as Tony Stark / Iron Man and The Charter Boat Captain and James Avery as Jim Rhodes / War Machine. Also starring in this episode is Ed Gilbert as The Mandarin and Ultimo , Jim Cummings as Modok and Luciano Pavarotti , Tony Steedman as Justin Hammer , James Warwick as Century and Sam Jaggers , John Reilly as Clint / Hawkeye and Vacationing Man , Casey DeFranco as Julia Carpenter / Spider-Woman , Shepherd Girl and Vacationing Woman and Katherine Moffat as Wanda Frank / Scarlet Witch.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. As the cast that you expect a good performance from like Jim Cummings and James Avery really do deliver a really rather solid performance in this episode as there respective episodes how it's the rest of the cast that just don't turn in that good of a performance with alot of them being really wooden at best and just downright bad bad at there worst which is something that really god bring down the overall quality of the acting in this episode with the acting in this episode not really being helped by the fact that the script for this episode is just so bad as it doesn't really give any of the actors anything to work with interms of what it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place.


Doing the animation for this episode is Encore Communications and the legends and the greats that are currently over at Rainbow Animation. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as there was quite clearly alot of love and effort put into the animation for this episode but with that being said it's also quite clearly not that good either as there are some animation errors in this episode which could have been fixed very easily and yet for some reason wasn't and while the animation in this episode was better then the animation in say Fantastic Four for example it's still not as good as the animation was in Spider-Man: The Animated Series.


This is the episode that introduces the friendly rivalry between Wanda and Julia Carpenter as they each try to become Tony's love interest. This was a pretty bad down point in this episode as it's something that really doesn't play a part in the episode this is despite it being a fun aspect of both characters as it gives them something to do for the rest of this first season of the show despite being backup for Tony Stark but with that said they could have handled this part of both of there characters that little bit better as it's something that really does come out of nowhere and heck if they wanted to connect it to the plot of this episode then they really could have done by having each woman trying to outdo the other leading to Julia Carpenter confronting Ultimo by herself thus setting up the third act of the episode and yet the episode doesn't do that with this aspect of the characters feeling like something that wasn't all that well thought out with there storyline really alot more like an after thought and not like something that's an important aspect of both characters.

Out of both this episode and the debut episode for the Fantastic Four animated series this one does come across as being the worst one of the two. As at the very least the one for the Fantastic Four animated series was at the very least entertainingly bad where as this one isn't even that it's just straight up bad with the episode being very cutty cutter in that everything that you think is going to happen does happen in the episode with the episode doing nothing new or all that interesting compare this with Spider-Man: The Animated Series which aired not long after this show they at the very least took risks with more long form story arcs having six or seven part episodes or even X-Men: The Animated Series which would tell one story over the course of one single season despite having multiple single episodes stories as well this show however just plays things to safe which would have worked back in the eighties but it doesn't work in the nineties.


Ultimo in this episode really isn't that good of a villain which in this case is understandable as he is just a mindless robot. However at the same time we don't really get to find out why he's disobeying The Mandarin and MODOK as he just does it when we first meet him in the episode and yet they never explain it away when they really should have done as it's a key plot point as it gets the whole plot of the episode moving and is the whole reason why Iron Man is needed in the first place and yet the episode never goes into detail about it with Ultimo himself being nothing more then a mindless machine which again does make sense but we also don't really get to find out why he's doing what he's doing as he's just walking around the desert for no reason and yet for some reason he's treated as a big threat when he really isn't all that big of a threat especially when compared to either to MODOK or even The Mandarin for that matter.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty one minuets and fifty six seconds. Which is a really rather solid running time for this episode to have and is pretty much the bogstanderd running time for this show to have but at the same time tho this episode could have done with being just a little big longer as that would then allow the makers of this episode to fully develop some of it's characters including the series main characters and to fully develop the episodes plot as well but this would also have had the issue of stretching the episodes plot even thinner then what it already is and when push does indeed come to shove the story has to always come first no matter how much time you add onto the episode if it effects the plot then it should remain as it is no matter what improvements could have been made if the episode was even a little bit longer but I will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is was an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With the episode doing a decent job of showing why each member of the team belongs on the team but for some reason Wanda despite being the strongest member of any team that she's on really does nothing to help the team out action wise and even the show is named Iron Man and Iron Man is the main character of the show it's not Iron Man that takes Ultimo down it's Hawkeye which is in a way really refreshing as it does make sense as Hawkeye is there best archer but at the same time with the show being called Iron Man you'd expects Iron Man to be the one that really delivers the show that takes down Ultimo in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall while this show is better then the Fantastic Four animated series in some regards this episode is far more worse then the debut episode of the Fantastic Four animated series in alot more regards with the worst thing about this episode being the fact that it's both boring and forgettable in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then iv;e talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6 out of 10 from me,

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen the images that I personally used in this very review from the official marvel Animated Universe fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I personally used in this very review being the really great and really legendary the official Marvel Animated Universe fandom wiki page simply really just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this episode and are really of course on the official Marvel Animated Universe fandom wiki page are all really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Monday, 25 March 2024

Fantastic Four: The Animated Series TV Series "The Origin Of The Fantastic Four Parts One And Two" Review


Back in the nineties Marvel would turn pretty much anything into an animated series be they from popular characters like the X-Men or Spider-Man to more lesser known characters like Iron Man. Well believe it or not there's one animated show from the nineties that alot of us myself included just straight up forgot about as while it does feature some semi popular characters the show itself was packaged together with Iron Man: The Animated Series and so then join me as I review the debut episodes of the show that let's be honest here alot of us just straight up forgot was even a thing in the first place with the episodes in question being called simply just "The Origin Of The Fantastic Four Parts One And Two" enjoy.

The plot of these two episodes is during a telethon the Fantastic Four reveal there backstory in which they have to stop Puppet Master from using human puppets to try and take over the world before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad but at the same time tho the plot of these episodes isn't all that good either as there's nothing in both of these episodes that demands that it be a two part episode as the whole plot really could have been covered in just one episode with the actual plot itself being so thin that it might as well not even be there as it really just comes and goes as and when it chooses to with the plot of these first two episodes not really being really rather entertaining nor is it really rather engaging either in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in these episodes is Beau Weaver as Reed Richards / Mr. Fantastic and Warden Butler and Lori Alan as Sue Richards / Invisible Woman. Also starring in these episodes is Chuck McCann as The Thing and Guard Clancy , Brian Austin Green as Johnny Storm / The Human Torch , Dick Clark as Himself , Gary Owens as Himself and Bystander 1 , Neil Ross as The Puppet Master and Bystander 2 , Pauline Lomas as Alicia Masters , Joan Lee as Miss Forbes , Gina Tuttle as Woman TV Reporter and Jim Cummings as Slash Curtis , Bull Donavon and Skink Lomas.

Now then as for what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad. With the cast for these episodes doing the best that they could possibly do as alot of the cast for these episodes aren't that really well known voice actors and as a result of that is that it would be unwise to expect them to turn in a great performance in these two episodes and while some of these actors really do turn in a good performance like Brian Austin Green who really is just a pure joy to listen to as Johnny Storm / The Human Torch we also have Pauline Lomas as Alicia Masters who really just sounds really wooden in the her role with the acting in these episodes not really being helped by the fact that the script for both of these episodes was so bad as it doesn't really give the cast anything to work with interms of what it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place and that is something that really does bring down the overall quality of the acting that's in both of these first two episodes.


Doing the animation for both of these episodes is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Wang Film Productions Company. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad as there is clear effort put into the animation but at the same time there are some animation errors to be found in the first episode alone with Sue going from her civilian clothes to her Fantastic Four clothes and back again all in the same sequence and while it's really not unusual for Marvel animated shows to have animation errors in them in this show really alot of them were really distracting as all they do is take you out of the episode and remind you that all your doing is watching an animated TV show.


In what could be seen as a rather bold move these episodes instead of having the entire team as the main character instead have Ben Grimm / The Thing act as the main character. As he's the one that gets alot of the plot and alot of the screen tie which is something that doesn't quite work as this is only the first two episodes of the show and as a result of that is the fact that the whole team needs to be set up first before you start individual focus episodes later on in the shows run as by then the team would be fully set up as characters and the show could afford to do these one or two focus episodes to develop certain team members and yet by doing it this early on in the run all it does is make the rest of the team feel like side characters when they all should have been the main characters at least in these bunch of episodes with the show having more of an ensemble main cast like what they did on X-Men: The Animated Series.

As was mentioned at the start of this review this show was packaged with Iron Man: The Animated Series and aired as part of the The Marvel Action Hour. With the block in it's second season being renamed the Marvel Action Universe which saw the addition of oddly enough Biker Mice From Mars being added to the block pairing up Iron Man with the Fantastic Four does make sense as they are apart of the same company and do take place within the exact same fiction universe as X-Men and Spider-Man: The Animated Series but what doesn't make sense is adding in Biker Mice From Mars as yes the show was popular but it doesn't really go with the whole Marvel branding and as a result of that is you risk you putting of the Marvel fans who just want to watch back to back Marvel shows and you risk putting of people who aren't fans of Marvel but are fans of Biker Mice From Mars as Marvel fans won't want a block that's named after Marvel to have a none Marvel themed show in there and the other fans won't want to watch two shows form something that they don't like just to watch the one show that they do like.


While it is understandable that the show didn't use Dr. Doom right away as he is a big enough villain that you don't really need him in the opening few episodes of the show. You still do need a better known villain then The Puppet Master even if it's just a low level villain like Mole Man as The Puppet Master isn't really a strong enough villain to hold an entire episode by himself where as Mole Man is just campy enough and just low level enough that you can kind of get away with it for at the very least this shows opening few episodes where as with The Puppet Master you can't really do that and while yes having a deeply serious villain in your opening few episodes can indeed work just look at Spider-Man: The Animated Series as a key example of that they also need the writing for the character and for the episode to be just as good and sadly that's not the case with the episode as while The Puppet Master is treated seriously the episodes inter cuts his scenes with the more comical scenes at the telethon which causes all tension to be lost right away.

Now then episode one of this show has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty one minuets and fifty one seconds where as episode two of this show has / had an exact grand total running tine of exactly twenty one minuets and fifty one seconds. With both of the episodes having the exact same running time and to both of the episodes credit they really do make the most of that running time but at the same time tho even tho both of these episodes spend alot of time on the telethon it doesn't effect the plot in any way whatsoever which just makes all of these scenes feel alot more like filler scenes as they really could have been cut out from both episodes and nothing regarding the episodes plot would have been effected and it would infact cause both of the episodes to flow alot better then what they do as with those telethon scenes they cut back to it whenever the main plot gets going and all it does is cause the episode to loose momentum but I will admit that both of these have some really good pacing to them tho.


So now then as this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk abut the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes and well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty not that bad. As the episodes do have some really good action scenes in them with the episodes making great use of all of the teams powers and using there powers in some really creative ways but at the same time we the audience aren't really given a reason to care for the team as both episodes don;t give us a reason to care for them outside of the fact that there the heroes and that's really it and while the episode does have some good action in it as the episode fails to make us care for the actual team the all of the good action just does hit as hard as it really should have done in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall it's not hard to see why this show has mostly been forgotten about by alot of people as there's really nothing in these first two episodes that really stands out for all of the right reasons with even these first two episodes being really forgettable at best and really just downright bad at it's absolutely worst in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in these first two episodes in this very review and as such that means that these very episode really do earn them selfs a combined grand old score of exactly a 6 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that In personally used in this very review from the official Marvel Animated Universe fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from these very episodes that I used in this very review being the really great and really legendary the official Marvel Animated Universe fandom wiki page simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from these episodes and are really of course on the official Marvel Animated Universe fandom wiki page are all really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 20 March 2024

My SPOILER FILLED First Impressions Of The X-Men '97 TV Series


To say that the classic X-Men animated is one if not the best X-Men adaptation of all time would be a huge understatement. Heck the show itself really is still so popular that people talk about and are showing it to there kids and well now the long awaited sequel series has finally debuted it's first two episodes on Disney+ well you all just knew that I had to check this shown the very first chance that I got and so then join me as In review the first two episodes of a show that brings back alot of classic things from X-Men: The Animated Series with the show in question being called simply just "X-Men '97" enjoy.

The plot of the first episode is when Sentinel tech is found in the hands of a terrorist group the X-Men have to find out who the source is that is selling them the tech and stop it once and for all where as the plot of the second episode is when Magneto is brought to court for his past crimes the X-Men have to protect hi when someone tries to kill him. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plots that are actually featured / presented to us in these very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plots that are actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes was in all honesty not that bad with the first episodes plot defiantly being the stronger plot of the two as while the plot for episode two is indeed a good plot it's not the strongest plot that the show has had where as the plot of episode one was one of the more stronger plots of both series with both plots being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in these episodes are Ray Chase as Scott Summers / Cyclops and Cal Dodd as James Howlett / Wolverine. Also starring in these episodes are Lenore Zann as Anna-Marie Raven / Rogue , Alison Sealy-Smith as Ororo Munroe / Storm , George Buza as Dr. Henry "Hank" McCoy / Beast , A.J. LoCascio as Remy LeBeau / Gambit , Holly Chou as Jubilation Lee / Jubilee , Jennifer Hale as Jean Grey , Matthew Waterson as Erik Lehnsherr / Magneto , Gui Agustini as Roberto Da Costa / Sunspot , J.P. Karliak as Kevin Sydney / Morph , Isaac Robinson-Smith as Lucas Bishop / Bishop Gavin Hammon as Bolivar Trask , Eric Bauza as Mastermind , Sentinels and A News Anchor and Lawrence Bayne as Lawrence Baynen and Carl Denti.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these first two episodes was in all honesty alot better then what it really had right to be. As while yes alot of the original series cast members do indeed return for these new episodes alot of them haven't been playing these characters for decades and as a result it would have been understandable if they didn't turn in that good of a performance in these first two episodes but nope all of the cast members in both of these first episodes really do hit it out of the park with the old actors sounding like that they just finished there playing there characters just yesterday and the replacement actors do such a good job of sounding like the original voice actors with the acting in these first two episodes well being helped by the fact that the script for both of these first two episodes being so good that all the cast have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out them naturally.



Doing the animation for these episodes and the rest of the series is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Studio Mir. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good and was easily better then the animation that was in the original show which is not a knock against the original show at all it's just that the original shown really didn't have that good animation to it and yet here it's like they took what they did with the animation in the original series and just updated it and made it better and unlike the original show this show actually doesn't feature any animation errors with the show taking on what could best be described as an anime inspired look with it not really being all that surprising that the animation in these first two episodes was good as it's being done by Studio Mir who really only produce very high quality animation.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!



One of the things that was Kevin Feige wanted when being convince to make this show was the rights to use the theme song. Well could job because they use the theme song once again for this show but on top of that is the fact that gave us a pretty much shot for shot recreation of the shows original intro all of which go a really long way to make this show feeling like the start of season six of the original show and not that start of a brand new show as they didn't have to use the original intro that was a nice touch and it's one that fans of X-Men: The Animated Series are going to pick up on and while the new version of the theme song does lack the epic sounding bell sound at the end of the intro it does still contain that epic guitar solo with the intro even adding in spots for both Morph and Bishop and heck they even bring back the original shows ending which again was something that they didn't have to do and yet they went ahead and did it anyway which just proves that this show was made by the fans for the fans of the original X-Men: The Animated Series TV show.

While this show does have alot of really good things going for it there are some issues to be found in both of the episodes tho like the fact that they do Storm dirty as by the end of episode they strip her of her god like powers and have her leave the team. While this might be an adaptation of a comic book storyline which wouldn't be all that surprising as the original show was known for adapting comic book storylines as the same time tho they have it come out of nowhere and not even play a part in the plot of the episode and the other thing that I really didn't like about the first two episodes is the fact that they killed of Charles Xavier off screen when a character that's this important to not only the characters but to the show as a whole he is a character that should have been killed on screen as that is the kind of death that a character like this one should get and by doing that we would get the chance to see how his death effects all of the X-Men instead of just seeing how it effects Scott which just isn't all that interesting at least not compared to when you have the opportunity to show us how the whole team would react to the death of Charles Xavier tho. 


For some reason it seems like this show is trying to redeem Magneto which just doesn't work as he's a stone cold villain. Yes he has teamed up with the X-Men before in both the movies and in animation and so having him team up with the X-Men here in this cartoon isn't out of character for his character but it just comes out of nowhere as something that's this big should be built up as it is something that really change the status quo as we know the X-Men to be and while having he team up with the X-Men isn't a bad idea what is a bad idea is trying to redeem him as he is a character that shouldn't be redeemed as he's tried to take over the world countless times in the original show something which they do bring up and while he did it for the right reasons it's how he went about it that makes him the bad guy and will always make him the bad guy but with that being said tho it is interesting seeing how this version of the character acts when he's trying to do good and it's fun and interesting to see the rest of the X-Men come to terms with this change and learn to try and trust him as there essential leader.

Now then episode one for this show has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly thirty minuets ad thirty seconds with episode two having a grand total running time of exactly thirty minuets and thirty nine seconds. Which this new thirty minuet running time pretty much being the bogstanderd running for this new show and to this shows credit both of the episodes really do have alot of running time there to really cover there respective amount of running time and while episode two has the weaker of the two plots it's also the one that really does make the best use of it's running as it really delves into how Magneto has been dealing with the death of Charles Xavier and how he's been doing good not because it's the right thing to do but because that's his own personal way of honoring his late friend but at the same time tho it's episode one that really had the more fitting running time as while the subplot with Roberto Da Costa goes nowhere with the character really being dropped just a few minuets after really setting him up which makes him really feel alot like a really useless character but episode does use alot of the it's main cast really well during it's running time tho with both episodes having some really good pacing to them both tho.


So now then as this an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good. Which is something that's not all that new as the original show had some really good action in it as well with episode one having the best action out of the two episodes as while the action in the episode two was indeed really good the action that we got given to us in episode one was also more fun to watch on top of it being really creative and while the action in episode two did a really good job of advancing Magneto's character arc of that episode it didn't really show of the main team all that well where as in episode one it's the opposite that's true as we get to really see each and every member of the team in that episodes final fight sequence and that really that makes the action at the end of that episode alot fun and cool to watch in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!


Overall if these first two episodes are anything to go by then we finally another good if not great X-Men animated show to look forward each and every week but that is something that only time will tell but so far we are off to a really good start with this show feeling like it was a show that really was made for the fans and by the fans of the original X-Men: The Animated Series as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. ow then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in these very episodes in this very post as this is only my first impressions I won't give this show a rating as any show really can have a good or bad first few episodes but if this post does well then I really will look into covering more episodes of this show as a review tho.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post from the official Disney fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from these very episodes that I used in this very review being the great the official Disney fandom wiki page simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from these very episodes and are really of course on the official Disney fandom wiki page are really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.