Search This Blog

Showing posts with label DC. Show all posts
Showing posts with label DC. Show all posts

Thursday, 12 March 2026

Suicide Squad: Hell To Pay Film Review


While DC is mainly known for producing animated shows and movies for at best teenagers they sometimes venture into doing adult animated movies and shows. With a good example of this being the film that i'm going to be talking to you all about today as while Task Force X haven't had the best of runs when it comes to live action when it comes to there animated output and in the case of Suicide Squad: Isekai there anime out put they are usually done alot more better and I wanted to give you guys a good example of this film with the film that i'm going to be talking to you all about today so then join me as I review the film that really should have been what the 2016 Suicide Squad movie should have been with the film in question being called simply just "Suicide Squad: Hell To Pay" enjoy.

The plot of this film is Task Force X is tasked with finding a card that grants it's holder the ability to get out of hell the only issue being alot of other people including both Zoom and Vandal Savage also want the card for their devious ends. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With this films plot being the perfect plot for these characters to be in as at it's heart this films plot is a road trip movie only it's a road trip movie where all of the characters are villains and could turn on each other at any moment with that being the thing that does drive the plot of this film forward and it's something that does work in this film as these are characters that would turn on each other the first chance that they get and while the plot of this film is one that could be considered very weak due to the fact that the film doesn't really focus on it's plot all that much which is something that would be fair case to make you could also make that claim about several other better DC animated movies as well with the thing that sets this films plot apart from all of the other direct to DVD DC animated movies being the fact that it's plot is one that is a really fun plot with the plot really having as much fun as it could possibly don given the fact that all of the characters in this film are characters that you would normally hate with the plot of this film also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Christian Slater as Floyd Lawton / Deadshot and Vanessa Williams as Amanda Waller. Also starring in this film is Billy Brown as Ben Turner / Bronze Tiger , Liam McIntyre as George Harkness / Captain Boomerang , Tara Strong as Harleen Quinzel / Harley Quinn , Kristin Bauer Van Straten as Crystal Frost / Killer Frost , Gideon Emery as Sameer Park / Copperhead , C. Thomas Howell as Eobard Thawne / Professor Zoom / Reverse-Flash , Jim Pirri as Vandal Savage and Werner Zytle / Count Vertigo , Dania Ramirez as Scandal Savage , Dave Fennoy as Blockbuster ,  Tobias Whale , Black Manta and A Police Officer , Greg Grunberg as Steel Maxum / Doctor Fate , Dave Boat as Harvey Dent / Two-Face and Punk 2 , Trevor Devall as Punch and Punk 1 , Cissy Jones as Knockout and Female Announcer , Julie Nathanson as Siobhan Smythe / Silver Banshee and Jewelee , James Urbaniak as Lazlo Valentin / Professor Pyg , Natalie Lander as Dharma and Matthew Mercer as A Savage Gunman , A Argus Scientist and A Belle Reve Doctor.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. The fact that this films acting is as good as it is isn't really something that's shouldn't be all that surprising as the film does have a alot of really good voice actors in this film and heck even Tara Strong had been playing Harley Quinn for quite literally years at this point in time with her being the official voice actor for the character and yet at the same time given the fact alot of this films actors are either not really that well known or have very spotty records at best when it comes to there acting it was still surprising to see alot of really good performances in this film with even the likes of Christian Slater who wouldn't be in anyone's top ten to play the role of Deadshot is pretty decent as the character. With the best actor in the whole entire film being Billy Brown as Ben Turner / Bronze Tiger as while alot of the films other actors can be these goofy characters and have these more goofy moments he has to play every straight and it is something that does work as it does allow him to turn in a really good performance due to the fact that his character is one of the most serious characters in the team with that being something that does shine through in his performance with the acting that's in this film really being helped but the fact that this films script is just so good that all this films actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them actually which is something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film. 


Doing the animation for this film is the legends and the really greats that are currently over at DR Movie. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With the films animation not being up the standard that DR Movie had when they were doing say for example the animated Hellboy movies or the Guardians Of The Galaxy TV show as here everything from an animation point of view did look a little flat with all of the colors in thew day time shots being really blown out and over exaggerated alot of the time this is despite the fact that the characters do have some really nice fluid movements to them that help the action in this film really feel more alive. Yet at the same time tho the film does make great of CGI animation as well with the only thing that's really done in this format being the teams camper van which is understandable as it would be hard to do that in any other form of animation with it being something that is blended in really well as you can't really tell that's CGI animated alot of the time and when the film does want to have good quality animation like for example on the films gore then it is something that does stand out and it's something that makes you wonder why the rest of the film doesn't look that good and yet the few frames of gore that we get in every single action scene looks as surely the makers of this film would want it to be the other around.


As was said near the start of this review this film is everything that that 2016 film should have been as that film so desperate to be DC's answer to Guardians Of The Galaxy that it forgot to be a movie about Task Force X. With that film straight up making all of the characters that are bad guys into good people when that's not who these people are with the only one who you could argue is a good person being Harley Quinn and that's really it with things not really being helped by the fact that the plot of that film was just s bad as it didn't feel like a Suicide Squad plot rather it felt like a generic superhero plot thankfully these are things that both this film and it's sequel The Suicide Squad went out of there to fix as this film does feel like the kind of the film that you want to see this group in with the characters being how you would want them to be as they do spend alot of the time trying to backstab and double cross each other. As there bad guys it's what they do and yet in the 2016 film there's none of that with them spending alot of that film acting as friends to each other which would be fine if they were heroes as then it's kind of expected for them to act that way around other heroes but these are meant to be villains so there not going to spend alot of the time working as a team there rather going to be spending alot of the tike looking out for number one and while yes this film does have moments where they are working as team but it's only when they have no other choice but to work together or when there fighting a literal immortal person that they then work together as then it would make sense for them to do something like that.

This film is something that alot of the films that have Task Force X as the main characters should be and that's fun. With the character cracking alot of jokes all of which feel very true to there characters and yet few of them are actually funny when given that this film is essentially an action comedy not in the vain of Batman And Harley Quinn was for example where that film was an actin comedy but it was enough to make you wonder why the makers of this film didn't make this a full blown action comedy as they could have gotten some good mileage out of the more straight laced Bronze Tiger dealing with the more wacky and looney Copperhead for example as the two of them could have made for a great comedic duo and while we know that Harley Quinn can be funny due to her appearances in Batman: The Animated Series it would have been interesting to see her try and bounce of someone like Killer Frost as we've already seen try and fail to bounce off Deadshot in the 2016 and yet it felt like the makers of this film only went half way with the main idea of making this film a road trip movie. With that main idea feeling underbaked and wasted as there is room for a lot of jokes there and while the film does milk the jokes it could make when the characters an adult club with Harley Quinn going nuts at every male that she sees so much so that Killer Frost quite literally has to cool her down which is a funny idea and is a good idea of just how well that those characters could work in a more comedic film and while the fact that this film isn't as comedic as it should have been doesn't stop the film from being any less it is something that does hold the film from being as completely nuts and balls to the wall as these characters really should be.


While the film does explain why Zoom wants to get this card as he wants it to prevent his death in another timeline from happening. The film never really explains why both Vandal Savage and Amanda Waller want it with the film only hinting that Vandal wants it as a way to keep himself alive they never really say why Amanda wants it as outside of one scene at the start of the film where we see her getting some kind of treatment we get nothing from her which makes it odd that she would force Task Force X onto going on this mission as she gains nothing from it either way whereas if the film explained that she wanted this card because of the fact that she was dying and was fearful of what will happen to her then it would make sense for her to get the team to get the card for her as that is something that she would do. With this film involving three teams all trying to get this card it then makes that whole idea start to fall in on itself when one of three leaders doesn't have a motive that's explained to us in the film and while both Zoom and Savage basically have the same motive for wanting to get this card with the film even hinting that something is wrong with Zoom due to the fact that he's not moving as fast as Deadshot knows that he can which is a really good way to tell us that the character is dying without actually telling us that he's dying and heck it could even be argued that he's the most thought out villain in the film as we get several scenes with him all of which show us just how far he's willing to go to get this card and yet with Savage he doesn't really play that big of a role in the film until the films third act which does make it a bit to late for him to make any real impact on the film as a whole whereas Zoom is in the film from the very beginning.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and twenty six minuets and three seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstanderd running time for these direct to DVD DC animated films and to be fair to this film this film really does have the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time in the first place and yet even with this in mind this film really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as the film really doesn't take the time to fully develop its plot as the films plot as good as it is is one that does feel like it's quite underbaked almost as if the film had spend a bit more longer on its running time rather hitting home the fact that it's an adult animated comic book film then it would have been a much more better film that would have been able to be one of the more better recently released direct to DVD DC animated. With the same thing also being true for the films characters as well as none of them get any kind of character development whatsoever as while the films characters do act like how you expect them to act like from the comic books we don't get to find anything about this films characters as we the audience know as much about all of this films characters coming out of the film then we do coming into the film whereas if the film did spend some time of developing both it's plot and characters not always in major ways but in smaller ways as well then the film could have ended up being alot more better then what it already is as the idea alone is more the enough to make the film it just needed to be more thought and developed and that's it but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho. 


So now then as this is an action film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With this being where the 2016 film actually tops this film as the action in that film is alot more better then the actin in this film even tho you can barely see the action in that film what little you can see tho is more then enough to make you know that the action in that film is the best of the film. With the things that makes the action in this film really good being the fact that the animation really does come alive in those scenes with each hit and kick leaping of the screen with us even getting some unique looking location at least for Task Force X films with the the best action scene in the whole entire film being the films third act fight as we get to see Task Force X take on Vandal Savage and his guards plus Zoom and all of his followers as well in an epic three way fight with all of the members of the team getting to showcase just what it is that they bring to the team and while the films main character is Deadshot with him getting alot of the cool moments during the action scenes that doesn't stop any of the films other characters from having moments that are for  lack of a better word cool to watch. The film even gives us a decent amount of gore in all of it's action scenes with us outright seeing the characters really getting there heads blown of and blood go everywhere which is a small thing but it is something that really does make the action in this film feel alot more real with all of this films action being as good as it could have possibly been in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Overall while it's debatable on if this is the best Suicide Squad film one this is for sure tho and that's the fact that this film is the best animate Suicide Squad project as it does get the team down perfectly whilst also being a fun fill film that more then holds almost ten years later in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are this film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 7.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from IMP Awards . Com and Google images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very film that I used in this very post being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very film with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Tuesday, 11 November 2025

Bat-Fam "Game Knight" SPOILER FILLED Review


Batman is a character that most likely one of the pillars of comic books as he is so well known that you don't really need to do a lot to make sure that the main stream audience knows who he is. As such the characters has had more animated shows then alot of other comic book characters out there and his latest one Bat-Fam has just dropped all ten episodes and while the whole first season of the show is available to watch this review will only be based off of the first episode only as ten episodes is a bit to much to watch in one sitting and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED review of the episode that sees the Bat-Fam gain a new member with the episode in question being called simply just "Game Knight" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when Alfred's niece suddenly shows up at Wayne Manor just before family game night Damien and Claire discover that she has a secret and will do anything to get her to reveal it. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad with this episodes plot being fun enough for the sows quite clearly younger target demographic but in saying that tho Batman: The Animated Series was also aimed at kids and still managed to tell very mature and grown up stories in it's episodes so there was no reason for this episode to be as kid friendly as it was especially since the pilot movie Merry Little Batman was a kid friendly Christmas movie and yet for one reason or another the makers of this shoe thought that going the more kid friendly route with it's debut episode would be a great way to get more viewers to the show when they already going to get that because of the fact that it's a new animated Batman show but to be fair tho this plot is also one that is a perfect first episode plot as it does set up what the dynamic will be like for the rest of the show it's just that it's not that strongest plot to start out on and with any TV show you always want to start out with the episode that has the strongest plot to it as this episodes plot whilst it is indeed a really good plot it's also one that could have been done alot more better then what it was with the plot of this episode not really being really rather entertaining and nor is it really rather engaging either in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Starring in this episode is Luke Wilson as Bruce Wayne / Batman and Yonas Kibreab as Damian Wayne / Little Batman Also starring in this episode is Haley Tju as Claire Selton / Volcana , London Hughes as Alicia Pennyworth , James Cromwell as Alfred Pennyworth , Kaitlyn Robrock as Copperhead , Bobby Moynihan as Dr. Kirk Langstrom / Man-Bat , Fred Tatasciore as Giganta , King Tut and Skaratata , Diedrich Bader as Killer Moth , Michael Benyaer as Ra's Al Ghul and Lori Alan as The Alarm.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty OK at best. With the episodes acting being about as good as you'd expect from the first episode of a TV show in that it's clearly not going to be as good as later episodes of the show and that's OK as the actors even those who are returning from Merry Little Batman are still trying to find there characters and get to gripes with them and while yes there some good performances in this episode like Fred Tatasciore for example and Luke Wilson is as fine as he ever will be the rest of this episodes episode whilst it isn't bad persay does leave alot to be desired with the episodes best actor being Fred Tatasciore as he plays not one not two but three different characters all of which appear in the same scene together and he has to go back and forth between all three of them with him making each character sound different and unique to each other and he has to do all of that and still turn in a good performance as well something would have been hard for any actor to do and while yes he might have recorded all of his lines for each character separately it is still a hard to job to make them all sound different and unique from each other with the acting that's in this very episode not really being helped by the fact that this episodes script is just so bad as it gives none of this episodes actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Gigglebug Entertainment. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad with the episode having a water color type of look to it's animation which is something that does make it stand out from all of the other animation shows out there but in saying that tho the characters designs for all of the characters do look really off putting alot of the time with Alfred being the best example of this as he's meant to be Bruce's parental father figure he looks like a knock off version of Abe Simpson and while people will either love or hate the fact that they gave Bruce a mustache for this show given the fact that he's meant to be more of a father figure to Damien in this show it is something that does work for this take on the character where the animation does fail tho is in the characters movements as all of the characters are given these really stiff movements that look unnatural with this having the add on effect of making the shows animation look even more cheaper then what it already does and given the fact that has two very big companies backing it then this shouldn't be the case even shows like teen Titans Go a show that's known for having bad animation in it has better animation then we got in the first episode of this show as the animation in that show looks finished where as here it looks like it hasn't been fully completed yet which only adds to the episodes overall cheap looking nature and that's not to the mention the fact the episodes backgrounds whilst they are passable just look lifeless and uninspired.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



This episode does introduce at the very least two characters those being Alfred's niece Alicia Pennyworth and Claire Selton / Volcana. Whilst it is natural for a show to introduce new characters not long after introducing the main characters it would have been more helpful if say Claire was introduced in Merry Little Batman as this episode acts like she's been here the whole time and yet this is the first time that she's really showing up in the show as a whole but the show does get alot of credit for including an obscure character like Volcana and for introducing an entirely new character in Alicia with it feeling like that there going to go the Batman & Robin route with her character in that not only does she share a first name with batman & Robin actor Alicia Silverstone but also much like her character in Batman & Robin this shows Alicia is also the niece of Alfred which does make it feel like that there going to make her this shows of Batgirl which if so the internet better be ready because there could be alot of posts made about her if so with the episode doing a better job at introducing her character then Claire's character as the episode doesn't act like she was here all along with one of the first few scenes of the episodes being her arriving at Wayne Manor and greeting Bruce her is meant to be her childhood best friend but outside of that her character doesn't really seem to have much going or her as for Claire her character could have been replaced with Raven and nothing about the characters backstory would need to be changed as there basically the same character with the only real difference being the fact that Claire has lost her memories about her past and after an accident with the Lazarus Pit gets shrunken down to the size of a twelve year old.

Much like with Teen Titans Go this show is a comedy action show however unlike Teen Titans Go this episode has no actually funny jokes in it. With the episode putting more of an effort into it's action element then in telling good jokes and when your a film or a show that has to vastly different genres then the balance needs to be fifty fifty as while everyone expects any kind of Batman show or movie to be an action film or TV show you can have elements of comedy in there you just need to give us jokes that are actually funny Teen Titans Go for alot of the hate that that show got and still does get to this very day does at the very least understand this by giving us action and comedy in equal amounts with there being just as much thought and effort put into there comedy as well as there action where as it felt like that the make4rs of the episode couldn't be bothered to come up with any decent jokes and so they just left it as it was heck even a fart joke would have been welcome as that would have been at the very least an attempt to tell a joke with the closest thing to a joke in the episode being when Damian is telling Alicia of all the ways that he's tried to get Claire to trust him and there all just different versions of the game "The Floor Is Lava" and that's it and that one joke right there does show that the makers of this show can come up with a decent joke and yet for one reason or another they just chose not to with this episode and it boggles the mind that they would do that as this is the first time that people are getting to see this show and yet while your fulfilling the action part of the show your doing nothing to fulfill the comedy part of the show and all that does is make this is an action show that might have one joke in it maybe if your lucky.


Like with Merry Little Batman this episode does rightfully put alot of focus on the relationship between two characters of the titular Bat-Family. This time it's Damien and his adopted sister Claire with Claire having to try and overcome her untrusting nature as all Damien wants is for her to trust him and that's it and that's a great angel to go with as it would have been very easy to just copy and paste what Merry Little Batman did and have the focus be on the relationship between Damien and Bruce but by having Claire be the one with the issue it not only means that the people who are just finding out about her character thanks to this show can get a better grip on her character and the ones that somewhat remember her character from Superman: The Animated Series , Justice League: The Animated Series and Justice League: Unlimited get a true representation of her character and this shows take on the character is one that very easily could become popular enough to make it into the comics much like she would eventually do as seeing her relationship with Damien bloom over the course of the episode is pretty sweet as he really does think of her as his big sister with him willing to do anything to get her to trust him with the only thing that lets there relationship down being the fact that Damien is perhaps a bit to trusting of her as she afterall a former supervillain and yet he right away just trusts her when it would have made for a more compelling story for those characters if he didn't trust her at first but then of the course of the episode learns to trust her much like she learns to trust him but in saying that tho this shows take on Damien is a little kid and therefor it really does make sense that he would trust her right away.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty six minuets and sixteen seconds. Which does seem to pretty par the course for this show and to be fair this episode really does have the right amount of plot there to really cover that amount of running time but in saying that the this episode really doesn't use it's running tom all that wisely in one respect as the plot of the episode isn't that well developed as the episode doesn't really tell us why Alicia is coming to stay with Bruce in the first place with the whole game night aspect of the episode being one that doesn't really play a big role in the episode with it only being mentioned once or twice and that's really it but to be fair this episode does take the time that it really did to develop it's characters as well as they possibly could have done in just one episode and while legacy characters like Bruce , Alfred and Damien don't really get any character development with the same thing also being for Alicia with it being Claire that gets alot of the character development in this episode and while that is something that does make alot sense as the episode is focused on her and Damien it would have been nice is Alicia got some character development as well as she is a newly created character and therefor it would have made sense for her to get some development as the only things that we only things that we find out about her is the fact that she's a counselor for villains who trying to turn good and that's really it and while that job does open itself up for plenty of jokes in future episodes it doesn't really tell us just who her character is but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho. 


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With the episode having some decent looking action in it which was something given that the shows target audience is little kids and those don't typically have that great action in them and yet here we are with an episode of a new Batman show that does have some really good action in it but the issue is tho is that the action in the episode doesn't last very long with the best action in the whole episode being the episodes third act fight between Batman and Damien as they take on Skaratata who is this Egyptian god like being that was held in a ball and only came out when Damien lied to Bruce to protect Claire with the monster putting up a really good fight with it taking all three of them to team up to take him down which they do by having Damien and Claire stick to paper to his forehead whilst Batman traps him back inside the ball with the help of Ra's Al Ghul which is something that does show you how well they've bonded as a family and yet they have to do all of that whilst still trying to hie from Alicia that they are actually superheroes and while the episode does have another action scene in Damien and Claire take on some villains on their own it doesn't top the third act fight just due to how creative that the makers of this show got with there visuals in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall this is a show that people are either going to love or going to hate with the same thing being true for this episode as there's just as much wrong with the episode as there was enjoyable as while it's not as bad as Aquaman: King Of Atlantis was it's also not as good as the worst episodes from Batman: The Animated Series either in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that ate in his very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Tuesday, 12 August 2025

Batman And Harley Quinn Film Review


When we think of Batman we usually think of a character that's super serious and that isn't that much of a goofy character. Yet every so often we would get an animated film that really does remind us of just how really goofy that this character could be alot of the time with the film that i'm going to be talking to you all about today being one such a film and so then join me I review the film that sees the dark knight team up with Harley Quinn with the film in question being called simply just "Batman And Harley Quinn" enjoy.

The plot of this film is when Poison Ivy and Floronic Man embark on a scheme to change the entire human race into plants and so it's up Batman, Nightwing and Harley Quinn and track her down and stop them before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad as the films plot is goofy enough that it does somehow work and yet at the time it's also serious enough that we the audience to end up kind of buying into this films plot as out there as it does seem but in saying that tho this film plot does feel like it's a little bit on the weak side as while the film does give it's plot alot of screen time it doesn't spend alot of time in fully developing it's plot as alot of it is just spent with Batman , Nightwing and Harley going from one location to the next while getting into various scrapes which is fine for a scene or two but when that's the vast majority of the film with very little of those scenes actually adding anything to the plot of the film it does make you wonder why the makers of this film put those scenes in the film as they very easily could have filled the screen time just by developing the plot of the film which in turn would make this films plot feel all the more stronger then what it already is since as things stand this films plot feels more like the plot to bad episode of either the Harley Quinn animated show or Batman: The Animated Series with the plot of this film being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Kevin Conroy as Bruce Wayne / Batman and Melissa Rauch as Dr. Harleen Quinzel / Harley Quinn. Also starring in this film is Loren Lester as Dick Grayson / Nightwing , Paget Brewster as Pamela Isley / Poison Ivy , Kevin Michael Richardson as Jason Woodrue / Floronic Man , John DiMaggio as Sarge Steel , Alec Holland / Swamp Thing , Eric Bauza as Wesley , Robin Atkin Downes as Charles "Rhino" Daly , Trevor Devall as Bobby Liebowitz , Rob Paulsen as Dr. Harold Goldblum , Min and Max and Anderson , Mindy Sterling as A Project Supervisor and this film co-writer and producer Bruce Timm as Michael J. Carter / Booster Gold.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With all of this films actors turning in some really good performances which is something that does make alot of sense as alot of them have been playing their respective characters for quite literally decades at this point so much so that they are the voice of these characters for alot of people myself included and so it really does make alot of sense that they would nail their characters perfectly as they would know what kind of performance would best suit there respective characters and while she does turn in a good performance is Harley Quinn it's hard not to hear her character from The Big Bang Theory every single time that Melissa Rauch as even tho she puts on a voice for The Big Bang Theory it still does sound fairly similar to the voice that she uses for Harley Quinn in this film only more lower down and less high pitched with the best actor in the whole entire film of course being Kevin Conroy as the man just simply IS Batman with him proving in this film that he can play the character not only seriously like he did in Batman: The Animated Series but also play him so seriously that you do manage to get a few laughs out of him in the process and yet it oddly doesn't feel out of character either as he's still just that good as the character and while Loren Lester does very easily step back into the role of Dick Grayson Kevin is just pitch perfect as Batman with the acting that's in this very film really being helped by he fact that this films script is just so good that all this films actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film. 


Doing the animation for this film is the legends and the really greats that are currently over at DR Movie. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty i inn all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good which is not really all that surprising as DR Movie do usually do some pretty solid work and are usually pretty reliable the issue is tho is that there trying replicate the style of Batman: The Animated Series and that's just something that doesn't work this film as while they are a solid animation company and are a good choice to animate this film there usually better when there not just straight up copying somebody else's style but there zippy and zany animation does at times help to make the film alot more funnier then what it really had any right to be with the films backgrounds looking oddly simplistic for a direct to DVD movie so much so that you'd be forgiven for thinking that they were backgrounds from episodes of Batman: The Animated Series but there this films animation really does truly begin to shine is in the films action as the animation really does help to make the actin that's in this film really come alive and make it look like that each punch does hurt with this main being done through the characters facial expressions all of which do feel really on point in this film when by all rights the characters facial expressions could have been left unaltered and the animation would work just as well with even the animation team finding ways to have Batman show emotion through the use of his eyes in his mask which again worked really well to sell both the films comedy and the films action as well.


For some reason both this film and The Killing Joke both came out when Bruce Timm was trying to prove that Batman can be for adults as well as little kids. The issue is tho is that he already proved that back in the nineties with Batman: The Animated Series and where as that show told mature stories that had these very mature themes running through them and both The Killing Joke and this film the only things that was mature about them is the fact that characters hooked up with each other and that that they swore like sailors and that's it which is the more childish way to tell a mature as by all rights this film should have been a more adult tale telling the story of how hard it is for a criminal like Harley Quinn to even find work with her trying to go straight with there being one or two jokes thrown in there but the film instead chose to go the opposite way and instead have it so that Harley has already found a job which yes granted she's not that happy with as it is below her interms of her intelligence but there's nothing mature being said in this film as even Poison Ivy's scheme of trying to turn the human race into plants isn't saying anything mature as it instead feels like a scheme that she would come up with in a show that's aimed at kids whereas alot of scheme in Batman: The Animated Series had these more mature themes to them and while the only thing that was holding back The Killing Joke from being an actual mature take on Batman was THAT gross scene with Batgirl and Batman it was otherwise a really mature story where as here it felt like that the makers of the film forgot how to tell a mature story and instead just made a more mature kids film bottom line if you want a more mature Batman story watch the episode of Batman: The Animated Series called Heart Of Ice as that one twenty two minuet episode is more mature then this whole movie is.

This films co-writer Jim Krieg himself has said that he considers this film to be the strange red haired nephew to Batman: The Animated series. Which doesn't really make sense as not only do that show and this movie share the same two leading actors but the designs of all the characters are very similar to how they were in The New Batman Adventures as well with the only thing that separates that show from this film being the fact that the show was made for kids and that's really it with this film basically serving as the next episode of that show but at the same time tho this could also be because of the fact that the film was just using Bruce Timm's own art style and the fact that the show and this movie shared very similar looking character designs was just coincidental but if that is the case that Harley's fourth wall break when she mentions Nightwings mullet now makes no sense however this was to just be a nostalgia grab for the people that grew up watching that show then fair enough but at least have the courage to set it in the same continuity as it would have been more fun to see more of the world that we knew and loved thank to Batman: The Animated Series but thanks to the makers of this films own comments it does mean that this film both is and is not apart of that main series continuity which given that they have Harley dress up in her classic outfit throughout the whole film should be more then enough to make this part of the main series continuity however it does seem like Bruce Timm is ashamed of Batman: The Animated Series as he refuses to do anything related to Batman in that world despite the fact that there tons of stories in a feature film that could be told in that world.


While he is meant to be a main character in this film Floronic Man actually doesn't actually do all that much in the film. With him instead being more of a bodyguard to Poison Ivy and heck it's even hinted at that it's she that came up with there plan in this film with her being more a driving force when it comes to getting there plan down with Floronic Man only really doing something that's relevant to the plot when Harley in the most Harley way possible manages to convince Ivy not to go through with it as it could possibly mean that all of the human race could die if things are off by even a fraction but for alot of the time it's Ivy that's doing alot of the heavy lifting and for a plan that's this average really doesn't do her character any kind of favors as this films plan just feels like a waste of both characters as the plan really does hinge on Ivy acting out of the character as while she would want plants to rule the world she wouldn't want it at the expense of the human race as she would want herself to remain alive with Jason Woodrue coming more across as the typical high school bully type of character which fair enough does work well enough for his character but given that the two characters hated each other in Batman & Robin it does feel weird seeing them team up in this film and while there plan does work well with each others character it still doesn't change the fact that the plan as goofy as it is does work oddly well enough for this film as it is a goofy plan but it's also one that could have been alot more better then what it is in this film which to be fair having a more a goofy plan does work for this more goofy film but it would have worked even more f there scheme was a bit more well thought out.

Now then his films has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and fourteen minuets and thirteen seconds. Which to be fair to this film is pretty much the exact running time that you'd expect this kind of film to have with this film even having the right amount of plot there cover that amount of running time however tho this film really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely tho as the plot of this film isn't that well developed and the plot moves at a really fast pace as well with the only thing that could gave helped this films plot out quite alot was if the fact that the film actually took the time that it really did need to fully develop it's plot instead of having things happen in the film that don't really effect the plot of the film as then the films plot would be allowed to be developed more and have alot more thought and effort put into it as well with this even effecting the films characters as well as none of them are given that much time to get across what there personality is meant to be apart from oddly enough Harley Quinn who comes across as bein the best written character in the film where as characters like Nightwing for example doesn't really get anything this is despite the fact that the character did appear in The New Batman Adventures and while it's understand as to why Batman didn't get all that much either as he's the most well known character in this film at the same time tho it still would have been nice if the film did showcase just what it is that made him a great character in the first place but for whatever reason the makers of this film thought that having more comedy was better then having actual character development but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho. 


So now then as this is an action film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With alot of this films action being alot more better then what you'd expect from a film that's abasically an action comedy where the film puts alot more focus on it's comedy aspect then it does it's action aspect but even so this films action is more better then what it should have been as by all rights this films action should have been really bad but for whatever reason the action in this film came out alot more better then what it should have been with the films best action being when Batman , Nightwing and Harley Quinn first attack Floronic Man and Poison Ivy as we get to see just what it is that all three heroes bring to the team and how they all act together in a fight which is something that will always be a cool thing to see but the film does also have another really good action scene as well with that being the fight between Harley and Nightwing as we get to see just how smart Harley is when it comes to being in a fight with her using her environment to her advantage which is something that does make her a more smarter character then what people really do give her credit for with this film having alot of really fun filled action scenes all of which really do come alive thanks to this films animation with this film being a perfect example of the animation actually helping the action come across as being alot more better then what it really should have been in it in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Overall this film is not alot of people seem to loo back on really fondly and for good reason as the film does gave alot of bad things in it but in saying that tho this film does have just as many good things working for it as well all of which do make this film a really fun film to watch in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official DC Movies fandom wiki page , the official Batman: The Animated Series fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very film that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very film with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Wednesday, 23 July 2025

Batman "Eternal Youth" Review


It's been quite a while since anything from the classic Batman: The Animated Series was reviewed by yours truly. With the series spawning many great episodes alot of which went on to impact the Batman franchise as we know it to be today it was only a matter of time before we got to an episode that's not that great with the episode episode that i'm going to be talking to you all about today being one such an episode and so then join me as I review the episode that sees Alfred get in on the action with the episode in question called simply just "Eternal Youth" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when Alfred and a lady friend go to a spa hotel and the insistence of Bruce Wayne they come back and can't wait to go again and so it's up to Batman to find out what's actually going on at this spa and stop it before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad but that's also the problem as it's not all that good either with the episodes plot being one that's just average at best as no matter how you try describe it you can't make it sound interesting with the only interesting aspect of the episodes plot being the fact that Alfred gets involved in it and that's really it as the whole subplot about the missing millionaires feels wasted as it's not that well developed and while the plot is an interesting enough idea that it could make for a decent enough episode of the show it still needed a skilled hand to make a good plot and that's sadly what we didn't get here as almost everything about this episodes plot just doesn't work as it does feel like a weak plot with the whole plot of the episode really hinging on Alfred going to this spa with his lady friend which don't get me wrong is a great idea as having Alfred involved does add stakes to the episode but at the same time tho the episode doesn't do all that much with that idea with this episodes plot feeling like that there was a good plot in there trying to get out but for whatever reason it just couldn't with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Kevin Conroy as Bruce Wayne / Batman and Bob Hastings as Commissioner Gordon. Also starring in this episode is Efrem Zimbalist Jr. as Alfred Pennyworth , Animaniacs , Wakko's Wish and Plump Fiction star Julie Brown as Lily , The Little Mermaid star Paddi Edwards as Maggie Page , Diane Pershing as Poison Ivy , Lynne Marie Stewart as Violet and Sister Act star Carmen Zapata as Judge Vargas.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With the actors that you expect to give us a truly good performance from giving us exactly that the issues comes however from the fact that alot of this episodes guest cast feel lost and unsure of themselves at best and just straight up miscast at worst with the best example of this being Julie Brown who's character Lily is a henchwoman in this episode and yet she's given this very soft spoken very Californian type of voice that makes her sound more like a comic relief to the main hero then she does a sidekick to the main villain with the same thing also bein true Violet played by Lynne Marie Stewart which does make them feel like they were miscast in this episode and while Paddi Edwards can and has turned some really good performances in the here it feels like that she's struggling a little bit to turn in a good performance with it being clear as day that the here best actors in the whole entire episode are of course Kevin Conroy who is as always pitch perfect as both Bruce Wayne and Batman , Efrem Zimbalist Jr. who is just a joy to listen to in this episode and Diane Pershing who is wonderfully menacing as she always is as Poison Ivy with the acting that's in this episode no really being helped by the fact that this episodes script is just so bad as it gives none of this episode actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does help to hurt the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the really greats that currently over at Sunrise Inc.. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty the best part of this episode as that's just how good that this episodes animation was with the episode being filled to the brim with these really dark and borderline gothic looking backgrounds that really do suit this version of Batman and while the rest of the episode was really weak at best the one thing that did stand out because of how good that it was was the animation as you can tell right from the first frame that the makers of this episode but alot more thought and effort into making the episode look really good and giving us some really high quality looking animation which is something that really does shine through in the final cut of the episode and even tho the characters movements do look a little bit stilted and wooded at times when the movements look fluid they work really well with even the episodes animation going above and beyond in trying to hide the fact that the villain is so obviously Poison Ivy by having her front covered entirely in shadow leaving just enough for us the audience to work out who it is which is something that the makers of this episodes really didn't have to do as it's pretty obvious who the main villain of the episode is but at the same it does give us a really cool looking shot that works really well because of how well done that the animation in this episode really is.


Speaking of Poison Ivy whilst she does get a pretty cool looking opening shot she isn't really all that well used in this episode. With her scheme in this episode being the fact that she wants to get revenge on all of the millionaires that have done something wrong to the environment which really makes her seem more look the good guy then a straight up villain as while yes her motives are just it's how she goes about it that makes it evil as she first invites them to this spa under the promise of looking younger forever and then when they come back a second time she basically turns them into trees which does lead to some pretty creepy looking visuals and while the episode at the start does look like it's going to make it a big mystery who the main villain of the episode is going to be you can tell right away who it is and by the time we see the character in her disguise for the episode that whole mystery aspect of the episode is all but dropped which is something that does make alot of sense as this version of Poison Ivy does have a very recognizable look to her and so you'd be able to work out who it is the second that she appears on screen anyway and while the character does get alot of screen time in this episode it just feels like the makers of this episode are just going through the motions with her character as there's nothing really there to her character in this episode and while granted this episode an this show do treat the character alot more better then both the Harley Quinn animated series and Batman & Robin it feels like that they could have done something more interesting with her character in this episode as to be frank it kind of felt like that she was only added into the episode because the makers of this episode forgot to include an actual villain and so they just threw her into the episode late into the scriptwriting stage.

Even tho the show is named after him and he is the main character of the show Batman in this episode felt more like a side character. With him being relegated to what was basically the side plot of the episode with the episodes main character for it's first and second act being none other then Alfred himself which did make for a refreshing change of pace as you just know that if Bruce Wayne was the one going to this spa then he very quickly would have worked out that Poison Ivy was the one behind everything and plus making Alfred the main character foes add some stakes to the episode as now Bruce isn't just fighting to stop Ivy he's also fighting to keep his butler and friend alive and well with the only downside to this being the fact that the episode doesn't really take the time to develop Alfred or even Maggie Alfred's friend all that much as characters and while that's fine for Alfred as there are several other episodes with him in it it's not something that works for Maggie as while the episode still does keep it's high stakes regardless of if both characters get developed or not it does make it hard to tell just what there relationship is even meant to be as she treats him like he's her boyfriend and he treats her like there just good friends and really nothing more then that and that is something that could have been more defined if the makers of this episode spent the time that they really needed to in developing her as a character as that would then make us the audience be all the more shocked when they both get attacked and sprayed by Ivy's poison and start t turn into trees and while the shock of that happening is still it's more due to the fact that Alfred is a minor character in the show rather then both of them being that well developed in this episode.


To give this episode some credit it really does have some really creepy looking visuals to it as the image of Alfred being turned into a tree could be from a kids horror film as it's just that creepy. With it's imagery being one of a few things that the episode does have going for it with the other being the fact that the two plots do tie together in a way that whilst yes it is predictable thanks to the opening prolog it is still creative and filled to the brim with tension but at the same time tho this episode does make both Alfred and Bruce out to be pretty dumb as Bruce receives the tape for the spa at his house at random and doesn't even question it when that right there is a major warning sign and Alfred even tho he most likely has seen pictures of Poison Ivy before either on that Batcomputer or the TV or even in the newspaper doesn't put together that this strange doctor who's telling him that these thins that will apparently make him younger is all around the building and in all of the drinks and food at this hotel which again is a major warning sign and yet both characters shrug it off when in other and better episodes they'd be on high alert from that point on and which does make it feel like that this episodes writer Beth Bornstein really doesn't know how these characters would act in this same situation but in saying that showing Bruce Wayne run from the Batcave in full Batman suit to Alfred's room n broad daylight just because he thinks that his friend is in trouble does feel like something that the character would do so there is some resemblance of good characters in here you just need to sit through alot of bad stuff to get to it.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty two minuets and twenty one seconds. Which to be fair to this episode is a perfectly solid running time to have with it being perfectly in line with the running times of all of the other episodes of this show as well and while this episode does just about have the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time this episode really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as it's main plot isn't that well developed with the episode instead being more focused on showing us the relationship between Maggie and Alfred then it is in telling us a well thought out story and while seeing those together does make the episode more fun to watch it gets to the point where seeing them together actively takes away from the main plot of the episode as the episode isn't giving it's plot the time that it really does need to be well developed and thought out with it seeming like that the characters are just doing things at random alot of the time as very little of what the characters do actually ties into the main plot of the episode with as was mentioned the episodes characters not being that well developed either as all of the new characters are either very one note like Maggie or just forgettable like Lily and Violet and both of those things are issues that could have been solved with just one rewrite of the episodes script as then you could allow for the plot to be well more developed and you could also alo0ow for the characters to be more well developed and more memorable as well but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad, As even tho the episode only really has the one action scene in the whole entire episode it was one that was really well done with this being due to the fact that if Batman doesn't defeat Ivy this time around then Alfred will permanently be turned into a tree which yes is a little bit out there but given that this is a comic book show it is something that does work for the episode as it does make the stakes of the action in this episode all the more higher as it's not just Batman's life on the line now it's now also the life of someone that he's close to with the episodes best action of course being the only action scene in the episode and that's the third act fight better Ivy and her sidekicks as they take on Batman which works as now Batman has to try and find away of defeating three women at once all the while trying not to get sprayed by Ivy and turned into a tree himself which is something that does add an extra bit of tension to the episode as well but at the same time tho this episode could have used with a few more fight scenes just to better make the episode a bit more entertaining to watch as this episodes action scene while it is good doesn't really have all that much going on in it where as if you had a small and quick action scene with Alfred in it then it would have been pretty entertaining to see in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Overall inn a show that's filled to the brim with good and sometimes even great there was bound to be one or two episodes that just aren't that good with sadly this episode being that one episode as this is an episode that is better left forgotten and left to history as it's just that average of an episode in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all o the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as or where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Batman: The Animated Series fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great the official Batman: The Animated Series fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Batman: The Animated Series fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.