Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Isekai Suicide Squad. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Isekai Suicide Squad. Show all posts

Friday, 23 August 2024

Suicide Squad Isekai TV Series SPOILER FILLED Review


Warner Bros Pictures. right now really loves anime with them just releasing the debut trailer for The Lord Of The Rings: The War Of The Rohirrim and Rick And Morty: The Anime. As such it would be really understandable if people just straight up forgot about or even didn't know about this show even being a thing let alone the fact that it's just aired it's tenth and final episode and as such you all just knew that I had to review the show the very chance that I had as i'd been watching each and every single dubbed episode of the show when it was being released and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FILLED review of the show that technically marks DC's third ever foray into the world of anime with the show in question being called simply just "Suicide Squad Isekai" enjoy.

The plot of this show is when Task Force X finds itself trapped in another world they have to find away back to there own world all whilst trying to stop a war between the various factions in this new and strange world. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad but at the same time tho this shows plot wasn't all that good either as while yes it does just give us a stereotypical isekai type of plot only with DC characters it really doesn't do all that much that's actually interesting with the characters that they have instead alot of the time Task Force X spend alot of time just exploring the world that there i n and not really trying to find a way home it's only in a few select episodes where the plot of the show actually becomes the main vocal point of the episode and it's those episodes that are some of the best episodes in the show with the plot of this show also being really rather entertaining and as well as as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this show is Karlii Hoch as Dr. Harleen Quinzel / Harley Quinn and Jovan Jackson as Floyd Lawton / Deadshot. Also starring in this show is Sean Patrick Judge as Christopher Smith / Peacemaker , Brandon Hearnsberger as Basil Karlo / Clayface , Andrew Love as Nanaue / King Shark , Jeremy Gee as Rick Flag Jr. , Jasmine Renee Thomas as Amanda Waller , Genevieve Simmons as Tatsu Yamashiro / Katana , Luci Christian as Princess Fione , Patricia Duran as Queen Aldora / The Undead Queen , John Gremillion as Cecil , Adam Noble as Otis Flannegan / Ratcatcher , Jade Kelly as Lich , Jay Hickman as The Thinker , Christina Kelly as Dr. June Moon / Enchantress , Cyrus Rodas as Hank , Chaney Moore as Arthur The Dragon and Scott Gibbs as The Joker.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad. Which was kind of unexpected as alot of this shows voice cast are a bunch of really unknown voice actors and as a result of that is the fact that it really would have been foolish to expect good or even great acting from this shows voice cast and while the performances in this show aren't that great as alot of the shows cast give the characters weird voices with the best example of this being Scott Gibbs as The Joker goes from a character that sounds creepy and scary in Batman: The Animated Series to a character that sounds a bit to campy for his good and it gets to the point where instead of being scared of the character your laughing at the character as his voice is just that bad with the acting that's in this very show not really being helped by the fact that the scripts for this show are really bad as none of them give the actors much to work with interms of what it is that there respective characters personalities which is something that really does effect the overall quality pf the acting that's in this very show.


Doing the animation for this show is the legends and the really greats that are currently over at Wit Studio. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty not that bad as it's quite clear that there is alot of love and effort thrown into the animation in this show but at the same time this shows animation isn't all that good either with it being made painfully obvious in alot of episodes where they cut corners as they don't show the characters faces nor do they show characters lips moving which is something that does have the add on effect of making the show as a whole look cheap and while yes it's not unusual for a show to cut corners here and there to save money for the bigger and more expensive looking episodes but even in this show in those bigger and more expensive episodes there still cutting corners to save money on the animation instead of just going all out but when this show does have some good looking animation in it it really is some really good looking animation.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!



The end of episode 10 does set up the possibility of a second season for this show but what it does is so dumb as it makes no sense. Since for strange reason The Joker has gained the ability to shape shift when at some point in the show he found himself in this world and has been going around as Katana which makes no sense as any version of The Joker doesn't really care for Harley as there in an abusive relationship and the only reason that he would want to rescue her is because it's something that benefits him or because he's bored and that's really it and he would never go and try to take over a new world as his whole thing is fighting Batman something which The Joker himself has said is something that he enjoys and heck even in The Lego Batman Movie he nearly destroyed the whole world just because Batman didn't say that he hated The Joker and yet for some strange reason this show thought it was a good hook to have the character appear in a tease for a potential second season which OK does make sense as he is a popular character and having him in the shows second season would bring more eyes to the show buy at the same time it's also something that needs to make sense for the character and not just be there for the sake of being there.

To give this show some credit the Task Force X characters are really fun characters with alot of them acting exactly how you think that they would. Yet they would also change things up like for example Clayface is pretty much an anime fan who explains all the ins and outs of an isekai to the team which can be pretty funny at times and Harley later on in the show becomes a mother figure to the teams dragon which again does lead to some fun scenes but neither of them are things that play into the shows plot with Arthur The Dragon being there basically to fly Harley close enemies in action scenes and that's really it but that's the golden treatment compared to what the rest of the characters get as none of this shows characters are given anything interesting about them which would work for the comic book characters as then you could always chalk it up to the fact that they have literal decades worth of comics to get there personalities across but for the shows newer characters that's not an excuse and heck the shows newer characters even disappear from the show for episodes at time so much so that it would be understandable if you all forgot that those characters were even in this show in the first place and yet towards the shows end it's those characters that go on to play a much more bigger role in the show this is despite the fact that these characters disappear for huge chunks of the show.


The shows villain is The Undead Queen who is a character that can control armies of the dead which on paper does sound cool and it does lead to some really cool action sequences in episodes 6 and 10. However at the same time the show does nothing unique with that idea like for example since Clayface does technically die in a few episodes how cool would it have been if she was able to control and have him then have to struggle between killing this truly evil person or kill the people that he's grown to like over the course of the show and yet the show does none of that and infact they don't even have the events of episode six where a good few members of Task Force X appear dead infront of Harley in any meaningful way outside of one reference in episode 9 and that's really it and that's not really good enough as something like that should effect Harley as a character and make her want to do better but all it does is leave her the exact same character and heck even the shows main villain doesn't really appear until the end of episode 9 with her appearing in other episodes as a version of Queen Aldora which does technically mean that she's dead and that Princess Fione might now technically be the queen of this world and yet having her appear that late in the shows run really doesn't help the character as it means that the character really doesn't have the chance to get across what her end goal is nor does it give us the audience a reason to hate this character either as we've not had the time to get really get to know this character as a villain.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty four minuets and forty one seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstandard running time for this show to have and to this episodes credit it really does have more then enough plot to really cover that amount of running time and yet at the exact same time tho this episode really could have been longer as it has so much to wrap as this is a show that really doesn't need a season two and yet this show doesn't end with the team going back to our world which makes no sense as the whole point of the show has been about the team trying to get back to our world and that is something that really could have been covered in this episode and yet they don't do it and instead they chose to end the show on a pointless cliffhanger with The Joker with his scene just being there for the sake of being there and not because of the fact that adds anything to his character and while yes this episode does have a really good running time to it at the same time there are portions of this episode that do feel like filler like we don't need to see Peacemaker and King Shark fighting Killer Croc as that adds nothing to the episode and really could have been left on the cutting room floor but I really will admit that this episode and this show as a whole really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in his very show was in all honesty really good. With the action in this show being where the show gets to be the most fun as we get to see the team use the powers that they got when they entered this new world at various stages alot of which do lead to some really fun scenes like for example Harley can now make things bigger and Deadshot can now hit things miles away and things like that which is great as it's true to there characters and heck even in episode ten they all get a Sailor Moon esk transformation sequence which then leads to  really fun battle against an army of the undead and it;s that very action scene that's the best looking action in the whole series as it's something that's been built up for a few a episodes and due to the fact that the battle started in episode nine it really does feel epic and like there are actual stakes involved which is something that does add to the overall excitement of the action scene itself in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!


Overall this was a solid series but it's one that could have been alot better and actually did something interesting with it's legacy characters and give us new characters that we want to see more and that we want to like instead of having them just be there for the sake of being there and that's really it in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in his very show in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very show really earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies an gentlemen I personally got al of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official DC Database fandom wiki page , IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to really use to get the images from these very episodes that I really used in this very review being the really great Google Images simply just because of the fact that really due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are in this review really are all really from this very show and are really of course up and really on the really great Google Images are really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 27 June 2024

My SPOILER FREE First Impressions of The Suicide Squad Isekai TV Series


With the DCU about to start up in 2025 next year is going to be a big year for DC Comics however that doesn't mean that there still aren't some good stuff coming out this year. Take for example the very show that i;m about to talk about today as this is a show is going to fly under the radar for quite alot of people due to the fact that it's an anime but it's also a show that's really so strange and so out there that you really do have to do see in order to really believe that it's actually a thing and so then join me as I give you my SPOILER FREE first impressions of the show that sees a group villains magically transported to another world with the show in question being called simply just "Suicide Squad Isekai" enjoy.

The plot of this show is Task Force X are magically transported to another world where they are then taker prisoner only they have 72 hours to get back to there helicopter before the bombs in there necks exploaded. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty just as bonkers and just as insane as you'd expect from something that's involving Task Force X and yet at the exact same time the plot of this show really isn't strong enough to carry an entire ten episode series of a TV show as it's something that could have been covered in the shows first two episodes with the bigger plot being something more dangerous and something that only Task Force X can help with and yet be giving them a weak plot fort these first three episodes it doesn't start the best show of with it's best foot forward with the plot of this show show being really entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


This post is being based off of the dubbed version of the show which does have a draw back in the fact that there's no cast list for the dubbed cast anywhere online. With the only cast available being that for the Japanese cast of the show which is odd as this is show is being released with both the subbed and dubbed versions of the show being released and yet there's only one cast list available for the show with not even the shows own end credits saying who is playing who in the dubbed version but one thing is for sure we don't have either Tara Strong or Hynden Walch as Dr. Harleen Quinzel / Harley Quinn as the person that they did get to play her doesn't sound anything like either of them which does make sense but at the same time when there her two most recognisable voices in terms of modern day Harley Quinn then it would have made sense for the makers of this dub to at least reach out and see if they were interested in playing her in this show as all that's going to happen is that this new voice actress is going to compared to those two.

Now then interms of what I personally thought  felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in ll honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good with all of the shows cast members turning some really good performances. With all of the characters sounding good and having some really good sounding voices however with that being said there is one character that has a terrible sounding voice and that's The Joker who instead of sounding like a menacing villain who could be a legit scary scary now just sounds weird and off putting and not in the way that makes him scary rather it's in the way that makes him laughable and someone that you want to laugh at instead of someone that you want to run away from while the actor playing him turns in a decent performance there's no getting past the fact that the voice for the character is all kinds of wrong with the script for these episodes not really helping the cast for these episodes as the script for all of these episode is just so bad as it gives none of the cast members of these episodes absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there respective characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which so something that really doesn't help with the overall quality of the acting that's in these very episodes.


Doing the animation for these episodes is of course the legends and the greats that are currently over at Wit Studio. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good and was alot better then what it really had any right to be as when you think of an anime featuring the Suicide Squad you don't typically think of good looking animation and yet that's exactly what we got in all three of these episodes as the animation in all three of these episodes really a visual treat for the eyes to see as not only did all of the characters have alot of really nice looking fluid movements to them but all of the backgrounds for all three episodes looked really good as well with the animation also managing to make each of the episodes backgrounds feel unique and different and making each one of them standout from each other with the animation in all three episodes also being helped by the shows rather unique looking art style which looked fresh and different and not something that you'd expect to see in an anime at all.


As was to be expected they do introduce some new characters in these first three episodes with perhaps the best one being Fione. With the character being pretty much the princess of this new world that Task Force X fund themselves on and while the character doesn't really have that big of a role in these first three episodes it is quite clear that she will go onto have a least a small recurring role in the show with her acting as kind of like an ally to Task Force X with her willing to give them a chance to do whatever it is that they've got to do but at the same time tho just based off of these first three episodes there's not really alot to this character outside of the fact that she's princess type of character and that's really it and that's not enough to make her an interesting character but on the flip side of that is the fact that if she is a recurring character and not a major character then you don't really want her to be all that interesting of a character ahs she does have the potential to be all the more interesting then the shows main characters as even the shows main characters aren't that interesting either but that does kind of make of sense as there are seven other episodes to make these characters all the more interesting then what there make out to be in these first three episodes.

In what is a rather strange move is the fact that this show technically premiered in America before Japan. As the first three episodes of the show premiered on Max and Hulu both dubbed and subbed a week before episode one of the show is due to premier in Japan where the first three episodes will be releasing weekly this is something that really hasn't been done before now as usually when a new anime debuts it debuts in Japan first before heading over to America and yet while it does make sense for this show to premier in America first as these are after all American characters it still feels odd getting a brand new anime a week before the Japanese get it as they could have released the show at the exact same time so that no one can be spoiled and yet by releasing the show in American a whole week before the Japanese get it it means that the Japanese now have to avoid spoilers for three weeks before then having to avoid spoilers on a week to week basis as the Americans are getting each new episode a week before the Japanese will be getting it and while these are American characters and as a result the Americans should get the top priority as they are the franchise holders for these characters but there has to be a fairer way to do a release like this without making sure that spoilers get dropped online via something like X for example.


Without giving away what the alot of the jokes are in these first three episodes but it's safe to say that alot of the jokes in this show based off of these first three episodes aren't going to be that good. As alot of them just boil down to making references to other American products which is funny the first time that they do it as it's apart of this characters character to make a joke like that but when it's all of the jokes that are in these first three episodes then you really do have a problem as it makes all of these jokes feel repetitive and they get less and less funny the more chance that they do them and while the Suicide Squad characters have never really had that many funny jokes the one character that has always have some really funny jokes was the only character to get a laugh in these first three episodes and that was Harley Quinn and even then it's due to the fact that the writers of these first three episodes got alot of the characters down perfectly from a writing point of view and as a result of that is the fact that the characters that were funny back in the comics do also come across as being funny in these first three episodes as well.

Now then all three of these episodes has / had an exact grand total running time of no longer then twenty five minuets with all three episodes also having an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty four minuets and four seconds. Which is a solid running time for episodes two and three to have but episode one really did need to be longer as it had so much to set up both from a storyline perspective and from a world point of view as well and still tell a somewhat good story and that's not something that it can do with that running time and as a result of that is the fact that key things that should have been set up and should have been explained either aren't explained at all or if they are explained then it's not very well done as the episode just brushes over it instead of really giving the time and focus that it really needs and really does deserve this is isn't really an issue with the other two episodes as something does happen in either episode two or three which they don't explain but it's something that's important to the overall plot of the show and in that regard it makes sense not to explain that thing away but I will admit that all three of these episodes really do have some really good pacing to all of them tho. 


So now then as this an action show that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very show was in all honesty really good. With all of this shows action scenes looking really good and all of this shows main characters getting the chance to do alot of really cool looking things in all of the action scenes that are all of these three action with the action in these first three episodes also giving us the audience a chance to see what each of member of the team bring to the team which also makes the alot of the action scenes in all three episodes all the more exciting and this is helped by the fact that something happens to the team that makes the action feel different from something that you'd see in say one of the live action Suicide Squad movies for example as due to the fact that this is animation the action in all three of these episode being fun crazy and over the top and that is something makes the action in all of three of these episodes really fun to watch as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall while this show isn't as good as Batman Ninja was so far this show is of to a good start and it does have plenty of potential to be a really fun anime that people who love anime and comics can come together and watch and hopefully they'll both be able to enjoy this show as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in these episodes in this very post and since this is only my first impressions I won't be giving this show a rating however if this post does decently well and if you guys want me to check out another episode then I will do it and that post would then be a review of that episode and that episode only and not a review of the show as a whole.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post from the official DC Database fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to really use to get the images from these very episodes that I really used in this very post being the really great Google Images simply just because of the fact that really due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are in this post really are all really from these very episodes and are really of course up and really on the really great Google Images are really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.