Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Wicked. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Wicked. Show all posts

Wednesday, 31 December 2025

My Top 5 Best And Worst Films Of The Year 2025 Version


It's that time of year again where we look back on the year that's been and well since we have a little tradition over here. That being every single year I go through what were my personal best and worst films of the year and well this year there is a lot of strong competition for the best film of the year if you've been following the various versions of this post you'll know what the rules are but just to make it clear the rules are that the film has to have had a UK release date of 2025 and I have to have seen the film so enjoy.

WORST

5) Wolf Man 2025


For some odd reason Hollywood really liked to give us a bunch of bad horror remakes and sequels that's when they weren't giving us a bunch of bad horror films that are based off of popular characters. With this film being a good example of just how bland alot of the modern horror remakes are as to be blunt this films has nothing to do with the original film outside of the name and that's really it as the film is more focused on giving us a father and daughter drama then it is in giving us a well done werewolf film as there are large portions of the film where nothing happens which is something that would be fine if the makers of the film bothered to make it's characters good or even interesting for that matter but they didn't do that which is something tat does leave us with a bland a boring film that did have some good horror pedigree behind it and even then that goodwill wasn't enough to make the film good as the film failed at doing alot of the most basic things done well and while the film does try to do something new and different by focusing the film around a father and a daughter that's not what you want to see in a Wolf Man movie rather you want to see some good werewolf action something that can't be possible due to the fact that alot of the film is set at night with alot of the film being at best very hard to see which might be a good thing given just how boring that this film looks as this is a film that looks very visually dull to look at with the acting being slightly bit better then what it would it really should have been as by all rights this films acting should have been really bad and yet you can tell that this films actors are doing there best to turn in a good performance.

While this film might be bland and boring to look at the film does have some good looking werewolf effects. With the werewolf action in the films third act being not that bad either with this being due to the fact that the film does spend alot of time in building up tension and in making you feel for the person that's turning into a were wolf but none of that matters if the films characters are lackluster which is something that's sadly the case here as while the films does do a good job of building up tension the film should have gone the extra mile and made itself still entertaining to watch as then we the audience would have a reason to keep on watching the film in the first place and yet as things stand it would be understandable if people did check out of this film before the third act as the rest of the film is just that dull and boring to watch and with this film being a remake of a classic Universal monster one which granted isn't as well known as alot of the others Universal themselves should have put more effort into giving us a better remake and while getting the writer and director of The Invisible Man 2020 to fill those same roles for this film was a step in he right direction asking him to do the same thing with this film that he did with that film was never going to work as you can find different ways to tell the story of The Invisible Man as along as you keep the concept in it you can't really do that with this film as the core concept of the original film really is a key part of what made the original work so well in the first place and therefor this film really needed to be treated differently then what The Invisible Man 2020 was.

4)Star Trek: Section 31


For some strange reason even tho the casts of the last three Star Trek movies have been trying for years to get a fourth film made. Paramount instead chose to make a film spin off of a Star Trek that not alot of Star Trek fans actually like and while basing a film off of what is more then likely the most popular character to come from Star Trek: Discovery what doesn't make sense is to make a movie from that show when you have a perfectly good set of actors who have already starred in three Star Trek movies to begin with all of whom are begging Paramount Pictures to pick a script for the fourth film and get that fourth film made in the first place which they very easily could have done as they have alot of scripts for that fourth movie being worked on and yet they instead chose to make a made for TV movie based off of a show that caused alot of division amongst the Star Trek fanbase which makes no sense it would make sense if Star Trek: Discovery was popular enough to warrant a movie being made about but it was never that popular in the first place with it only just scrapping by and only just getting renewed alot of the time and while it's not needed to watch that show to understand this movie you should at least have a basic knowledge of the Emperor Philippa Georgiou character which even then really isn't all that needed to watch this film and to understand what's exactly going on in this film either.

To be frank this film felt like it was put together in five minuets as it's just this cheap and lazy looking of a film. With this film not really having that much working for it outside of the fact that it stars Michelle Yeoh and that's really it as there's really nothing about this film that makes it stand out and yet Paramount have spent YEARS trying to make a Star Trek 4 on the big screen whereas here it felt like that just said yes to the first script that they got and to this films credit it did start out life as a TV show and perhaps that's where it should have stayed as in a feature film format the film is all other the pace and a mess and yet if the film did stay as a show then it would have had the chance to further develop it's characters and it's story instead of just leaving them effectively as blank pieces of paper that are about as interesting as a blank of wood with it being made crystal clear that the people that are in charge of Star Trek have no interest in making shows that people actually like and are instead just throwing a bunch of ideas at the wall and seeing what sticks when if they listened to the fans they would tell them right away what it is they want to see in a new Star Trek film and TV show but that would actually mean showing respect to the fans and that's something that sadly modern Hollywood has forgotten as there more focused on blaming the fans for not going to see there bad movies and not watching there bad TV shows and yet the few times that Hollywood does listen we get gold like for example the redesign of Sonic in the 2020 film and now Hollywood is scared to ask the fans what they want for no good reason whatsoever.

3) I Know What You Did Last Summer 2025 AND Smurfs




That's right we actually have two films in the number three slot for the worst film of the year as there both equally bad in different ways. As while Smurfs put more thought and effort into letting you know that Rihanna was in the movie then in actually promoting the movie but had a decent plot for a little kids film I Know What You Did Last Summer 2025 whilst it did put more thought and effort into it's marketing took was already a blatant knock off of the Scream franchise and made a knock off of Scream 2022 except this film spat on the legacy of the last two theatrically released movies by turning one of the heroes into one the villains in a twist no one wanted all for no good reason whatsoever and while yes there are some good things to be found in both films like for example the animation in Smurfs was pretty decent and the kills in I Know What You Did Last Summer were pretty cool just because you have cool kills and good looking animation doesn't mean that you have a good film as you still need to have the basic things done well for the film to be good and that's sadly where both films fail and fail hard with both of this films even being really forgettable as well so much so that i'm willing to bet that alot of reading this post straight up forgot that both of these films came out this year and I can say that because I was one of them as that's how little of an impact that both of these films left on there audiences as there nothing more then generis trash that's not even trying to be something other then generic trash and when the makers of both of these films make is crystal clear to us the audience that there not even going to try and make a good film then they shouldn't be surprised when there film gets terrible reviews and flops at the box office.

While there are alot of good thing to be found in both of these films there are sadly alot more negative things to be found in both of these films as well. Like for example the acting in both films whilst you can tell that the actors in both of those films are indeed trying there all just not right for there respective characters with even Rihanna continuing the tradition of singers that can't act being in a movie in a leading role with the thing that let Smurfs down the most was it's poor attempt at marketing as there was next to nothing interms of marketing done for that movie and while that wouldn't have stopped the film from being a bad film it would have helped to get a few more eyes on the film and thus earn a little bit more at the box office and yet there was nothing for it and therefor people didn't go to see it and while the I Know What You Did Last Summer movies have always been bad movies they've also been films that you can find some level of enjoyment out of and yet here in this film there was none of that as the twist ruins not only this film but also the other two theatrically released movies as well as they spit on the legacy of those films and yet if the makers of that film really wanted to be like Scream 2022 and have something be done to one of the legacy characters then why not just straight up copy it and have either Ray or Julie be killed off by the new killer as then your at least embracing the fact that your Scream knock off movie and are not afraid of that fact and heck even by doing that your not disrespecting what's came before it nor it's legacy characters and are then also telling us the audience that now any of the main cast of characters can now get killed off with Smurfs all the makers of that film needed to was include some funny jokes and actually market the film and that's it.

2) Snow White 2025


This film commits the biggest sin that alot of these live action Disney remakes seem to commit and that's by having the exact same plot as the original film say what you will about both The Jungle Book and 2016 and Alice In Wonderland 2010 but they at the very least had different plots to the original films or added enough things to there own plot that it makes them feel new and different again where as here nothing new is added to the plot of the film to make this films version of the plot interesting or even worth watchin for that matter with the films plot elements playing out the exact same way and in the exact same order which does make this film rather pointless not only to watch but also to make as well as why would you want to watch a lesser version of a story when you can just watch the better version of that exact same story as everything about this films plot is just the exact same as the plot of the original film which is something that does make you wonder why we the audience should pay to see this film when we can either load up Disney+ or put in our DVD or Blu-Ray of the original film and get the same plot only done because it was made by people that actually wanted to make a good film as it was clear from months before this film even came out that this film was going to be trainwreck and while the film is still as bad as you'd think that it was going to be alot of that isn't down to the films actors it's down to the films writers , directors and producers as they had the power from day one to make changes to the films script and demand that it be better but chose not to and yet none of them got the hate for this film bombing rather it was Rachel Zegler and Gal Gadot who don't get me wrong are bad in this film but there not the ones that should have been getting the hate for this film being as bad as it was in the first place.

While alot of the other films in this post have at least some qualities in them that make them worth watching. This film on the other hand has nothing that makes it worth watching as everything that's good about the film are things that could also be found in the 1937 original film with this film just being lazy and uncreative and yet Disney not only threw alot of money at this film so much so that the film was rumored o cost anyway around $300 million dollars but they also threw a boat load of marketing at it as well which is still a good thing but when your film costs alot of money to make and you have CGI that is enough to give people nightmares then it makes you wonder where all the money went to in this film as you don't get to see any of it on screen say what you will about the films that are number one or the ones that are joint third in this post but you at least see where the money went in those films here you don't see it as the film isn't pretty to look at Rachel Zegler despite her having a really good singing voice in her own right just look at the remake of West Side Story as proof of that is auto toned to the high heavens in this film with the film not being helped by all of the production troubles that plagued the film be they Peter Dinklage getting so upset that he himself wasn't cast in the movie that he got several actors all of whom are little people fired from the movie as he convinced Disney to instead remove the dwarfs as characters only for the for the fans to get upset about what Disney was doing and demand that they put back in only now there CGI as the film was pretty much done at this point to anything that Rachel Zegler has said online all of these things and more combine to make a film that is not going to be remembered anytime soon.

10 The Works Of Writer Harry Boxley


Really it was hard picking just one film to be the worst film of the year as alot of the really bad films that I saw this year whilst they were bad you could at least see the effort that went into making them. Where as with the films that are written by writer Harry Boxley you really can't. As out of the countless films that he's released this year alone i've managed to see and review EIGHT of them with his films ranging from Piglet , Hook , Fairest Of Them All , Wickedness and Mouseboat Massacre among many others and they are all really painfully bad and yet he has the gall to call himself an award winning writer and yet his turning in bad script after bad script it would be one thing if one of his films was bad as then you could argue that he was just having an off day and that he tried to make the story work but he just couldn't do it which would be fair enough plenty of people who have wrote good movies have also written the odd bad one as well but when a huge amount of the films that he wrote this year are bad and predictable movies then the problem clearly isn't the story of the film it's the person writing the script and heck his films are so bad that I now straight away know that i'm in for a bad movie the second that I see his name appear in the films credits or on the films IMDB page as he's just that bad of a writer with his films being so bad that it was hard to pick just one to be the worst film of the year so by default because there all equally bad and yet he's got at least four movie due out next year two of which are as of this writing being filmed and a further two are in post production so it does look like that we will be seeing more of him on next years list as well.

Alot of the film that Harry Boxley wrote this year all have one thing in common that being that they all based off of beloved characters. Heck even Wickedness has a poster design and colour scheme that is designed to confuse people into buying that movie when they what they really wanted to buy was either Wicked or Wicked: For Good and yet he still gets to make these movies all of which are really bad and while granted on some of them you can tell that they trying there best to work with the small budget that these films do typically have with even Wickedness having some small amount of VFX in it but there all just bland scripts so much so that to call them generic horror movies would be a n insult to generic horror movies as then you can at least tell that there's some effort to make those films good and yet here there there's none of that in any of these films with it feeling like that he had about five minuets per film to write a script and so he just wrote the first thing that came to his mind and turned in what should have been his first draft of the script as it's final draft as there no way that he can turn in this level of a bad scripts and still be called an award winning writer now granted he might get called that when he has more then five minuets to turn in a script but when you have several films released in the same year all of which make it look like that your a really bad writer then you really do need to reconsider having that be the first thing that comes up on your Google bio as it just makes you look like a completely lazy person who doesn't know how to turn in a decent film script.

Best

5) Weapons


Just to be clear the entire best of lost was so hard to put together as really any film including this one could have right fully taken the top spot and as such some very tough choices had to be made so you won't be seeing Avatar: Fire And Ash in this post. With this films plot being just so good as it was actually something new , different and original which means that we the audience have no idea just where this films plot is even going because it's something that we really havn't seen done before now with the plot of this film being one that is perhaps the best plot for a newly released film this year regardless of it's a horror film or not because it is something that does keep you invested all throughout with it's slow burn approach which yes granted could be seen as being grating for some but here it does serve a purpose as it adds to the plot of the film by making us wonder just what is going to happen next and because of that we as an audience do get more of a chance to become invested in the films plot as simple as it is but in saying that tho the plot of this film could also be viewed as being unfocused as for alot of the time we don't really get to find out all that much about the kidnappings but at the same time tho it could be argued that that makes this films plot all the more scarier as now we have to use our imagination which could make thing all the more scarier then what they actually are as by all accounts this films plot should have been really bad and yet for one reason or another the makers of this film managed to pull it all together and make a film that is not only wholly original in concept but also one that does prove that people in Hollywood still do know how to make not only good films original films but also original films in general.

This film along with Good Boy and one more film that WILL be showing up in this post made it perfectly clear that this was a shockingly good year for horror films. As while yes we we did get alot of bad horror films as well those where very few and far between with the year instead giving us films like Weapons and Good Boy which have wholly original plots and ideas to them and guess what they both turned out to be really good as the makers of those films knew that they had to create something good in order for their film to land they way that they did with this film being a really good example of that as while it burrowed elements from other films like the idea of telling the film in chapters it also made those ideas feel fresh and new by ending each of them on a cliffhanger much like you would end a chapter in a book an while yes granted this film could be seen as being boring at times as not alot does happen to advance the films admittedly thin plot the film is more bothered in creating tension and keeping us in a tense place so that when something that's genuinely creepy does infact happen we feel it alot more and while the makers of this film could have spent more time on giving us memorable characters it really didn't have to do that as the reason we stayed watching this film wasn't for the characters it was for the mystery and while the mystery of why these kids ran away in the first place isn't built up all that well as it's really only in the films final chapter when we get anything surrounding the films mystery the film does do a good enough job of making us want to know more about what's actually happening with the film even having plenty of really good an unique kills to it as well all of which do work well in the film.

4) Superman AND The Fantastic Four: First Steps



This was also a fairly solid year for comic book movies with Marvel proving that the MCU isn't quite dead yet and Warner Bros launching it's DCU as well. With both The Fantastic Four: First Steps and Superman being really good films as they both managed to capture the tone and the spirit of what it was that made those characters so well be loved in the first place and while weather or not these films were that good depends on who you ask as the MCU lovers will say that First Steps is good and that Superman is a bad movie and some of the DCU fans will say it's the opposite that's true with the few remaining Zack Snyder fans hating on both movies the ones things for sure they both managed to prove that if you stick with what made the characters work so well in the comics then people will still love them in the movie as this is the best Superman movie that we've had for years now and this is the best Fantastic Four film ever and while yes granted both films do have alot of flaws to them no one is ever going to deney that but both films also have plenty of things going for them as well be it the CGI , the acting or the action there's plenty of things to like in both of these films but with this being said tho there are things that don't work in both films like for example the plot in Superman is a little bit on the weak side not so much that it becomes hard to tell just what the main plot of the film is even meant to be in the first place but it's enough for you to notice and with the fantastic four the films plot moves to fast for us us the audience to rally take any of it in so much so that by the time we have caught up with he film the film is good as well almost over.

While there are plenty of bad things to be found in both of this films both films are a case of there's more good to be found in both of them then bad. As you can tell right away that First Steps is going almost out of it's way t make sure that you know that this is a different universe to the mainline MCU something which is going to appease alot of people given he fact that in recent years the MCU has been sinking faster then the Titanic with this film fully embracing it's more sixties looking aesthetic as we get to see the characters both talk and act like people that are from that time period all whilst still being a film that's vert much in the MCU. With Superman we get to see the closest thing to what alot of people think Superman should be like and act like as for years now we've seen Superman be this depressing person and that's just now who Superman is as he's the kind of the character that does always look for the best in everyone and will always try to do the right thing no matter what the cost is and that's something that Zack Snyder didn't give us rather he instead chose to give us a Superman that's much like Batman and while being this depressing kind of character works for Batman as that's who he is it's not something that works for Superman and James Gunn did understand this and while that might make alot of the Zack Snyder fans unhappy it's also something that's true as if you want prove read alot of the classic Superman comics and then watch the classic Christopher Reeve Superman movie before watching this as this version of the character is pretty much how the Christopher Reeve version of Superman was.

3) Sinners


In Hollywood it's a very rare thing to find a film that is wholly original any more as alot of modern hollywood films are either remakes , sequels or prequels. As such it was something of a shock when this film came along and was not only an original film but was also a hit film to boot so much so it forced Hollywood into burying this film as it was getting so many rave reviews from critics and was making alot of money at the box office with it being very easy to see why as this is a film that is just so good to watch and while it's not hard to see that this film is a fully original idea as it does take some inspiration from From Dusk Till Dawn the film itself has enough original elements in it that it makes you wonder why Hollywood aren't producing more original films and why the people that are doing these fully original films are getting there films buried by the major studios so much so that you have to look really hard be it on DVD and Blu-Ray or on streaming websites to find fully original pieces of film as there just that hard to find and yet this film proved that original films can be hit films if you have the right creative making it but they won't do that as that will force Hollywood to be creative and to try new things and that's something that they are scared of doing as they'd rather just give us what we know we like and want then give us something that we don't know we like and want and while it's hard to say if this film is the best horror film of the year as both Good Boy and Weapons are also very strong contenders for that title what can be said is that this is a film that got alot of and deserved all of the praise that it got for being just that damn good of a film in the first place.

This film is one that is damned new perfect with it only really really being held back by a few things and that's it. With those being he fact that the film does take a good while to get going which is something that wouldn't be a bad thing where it not for the fact that the leading up to that the film has the characters do nothing that's all that important to the plot of the film and while this is done to set up the characters and the world that they live in there could have been a way to do that whilst still adding things to the plot of the film like for example we could have seen the Twins run into the people who would get turned into vampires early on in the film just to set up the fact that there could be some tension there between the two groups of people something which there would be anyway due to the time that this film does take place in in the first place with another thing being the fact that the film does spoil the twist of the film in it's trailers when this sis something that would have been best kept hidden from us the audience much like what Marvel sometimes does with there trailers as that is something that would have made the fact that is actually a vampire movie be all the more surprising as we the audience would have had the time to get to know and maybe even like these characters in the first place and now we have to see them take on creatures that aren't the easiest to defeat in the first place and while the film is still a really good film in it's film heck it's the best horror film to come out this year which is really saying something it's those little things that would have made it a great film to watch and also one that would have made it even more popular then what it already is in the first place.

2) Wicked: For Good


While it is shocking to see this film placed above Sinners what did it even tho there both really good films in their own right. Was the fact that this film had more of a lead up with it's story and the fact that it was telling one long story over the course of two films meant that the overall plot could have more room to breathe and yet whilst this film isn't an original film at all due to the fact that it's both a sequel film and as is based off of both a book and broadway stage production it is still a really good film in it's own right and granted it's not as good as the first film was as that film was like catching lightening in a bottle this is one that does really need to be seen on the big screen whereas with Sinners that's more of a film where you can watch it on your TV screen and still get the same expirence whereas with this film you need to see it on the biggest screen possible just so that you can belt out all of the films songs and just enjoy the film with other Wicked fans and while yes this films songs aren't as good as the first films songs were as those songs where more fun the songs in this film feel more moody in a way as there not trying to make you laugh like a song like "Popular" is for example rather there trying to tell you that the characters that you know and love from the first film are in a deeply serious situation that is quite literally life or death for them with the songs reflecting that change and growth with the characters therefor it would have felt out of place for there to be a more comedic song in this film when this is film that really doesn't demand it and while the fans took there love for this film over board with them confusing the continuity for these films with that of The Wizard Of Oz something which does show off how obsessive that these Wicked fans can be that doesn't change the fact that this film is one that is still a really good film in it's own right.

With this films plot being just as fun and as enjoyable as the plot for part one was with this films plot being alot more darker in tone when compared to that of the first film which is something that really does make alot of sense as the characters are now no longer teenagers with the fact that this films plot being more darker also serving as a good way of showing just how epic that this films plot is for the characters and while the plot of this film isn't that strong in the first place that's more due to the fact that the plot was cut into two and therefor of course the plot will come across as being weaker as while there is a natural cut off point for both films it does also make both films plots feel all the more weaker as a result of that but in saying that tho this is a story that really could only have been told in two parts as to do it any differently would risk doing more harm to the plot then good with this films plot being one that could possibly make alot of fans of both the stage adaptation and part one really happy as it does give you all of the things that you'd expect from this film from a plot point of view as both this film and its plot give you everything that you'd want to see in a film that's the second part of a two part film as it does tie up all of the characters plot arcs from the first film in ways that feel natural and true to there characters with the only thing that was keeping this film off of the number one spot being the fact that the songs in this film feel like they were written in a few minuets as they don't add all that much to the plot of the film aren't as well written as the songs from the first film were where as with the songs in the first film it felt like that more time and effort was put into them and that is something that really did show in the final product.

1) F1 / Frankenstein



When I tell you that it was hard to pick just what I thought that the best film of this year I really do mean it with there not even being that much in for both of these films. As both of them are damn near perfect films that do not only try to do something new and original with there characters be it by telling the same story story from two different points of view of view as was the case with Frankenstein or in the case of F1 it quite literally puts you in the drivers seat of an F1 car in a bunch of really tense scenes that work really well with both films being so good despite the fact that one of them is a made for streaming film that very easily could have been a film for a major studio and F1 kind of flew under the rader and really hasn't been talked about since it first came out this is despite the fact that it is a really good film in it's own right with both films having plots that are engaging and that make you want to know more about there characters and in the case of F1 makes you want to be an F1 driver as it does go into great detail about that world and what it takes to make as a driver for F1 and while it could be argued that that film is a bit on the long side as it's almost three hours long it does make up or that by giving us some well done driving scenes that was actually filmed during F1 races and with Frankenstein we get all of the typical flair and love that you expect from a film by Guillermo Del Toro with it being made clear as day that he does have a passion not just for the book that Frankenstein is based off of but also for The Monster himself and while that love for the character could be seen as being a bit typical for him as he does usually show alot of love for monsters it is something that does work for that film as in both the book and the film you are meant to care for The Monster.

The fact that it was hard to chose just what this years best film of the year was is always meant to be a good thing. As it does mean that we had alot of really good films come out in the past year from the likes of Avatar: Fire And Ash to Thunderbolts and even some of the films that did make this list with the two chosen as being join first only being chosen because of the fact that they were a good example of just what it is that Hollywood can do when there really pushed as both films used more practical effects then CGI and both films show that Hollywood does know how to still be creative something that they've seem to have forgotten about and yet when they do give us a film that's filled with creativity and is actually good we get films like F1 and Frankenstein with that being something that always needs to be praised and why Frankenstein wasn't released by a major studio is something that no one well ever know as that is a film that could have made a ton of money for whichever studio chose to release it as it has alot of really bankable names in it and yet for some odd reason it got a very limited two week release before going straight to Netflix where it still got alot of really positive reviews from people that saw it and with F1 that film was a huge risk because of the fact that the sport of F1 isn't as well as say football is for example and therefor there was always the chance that people might not buy into a film surrounding it and yet not only did they go and see it they went and they told over people to go and see it as that's just how good that that film was with it being made clear as day that the makers of both of those films really knew what they were doing and set out to make a film that would not only please them but would also be really good in their own rights as well as that's just how good that both of those films are in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post from IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very post that I used in this very review being the really great IMP Awards . Com really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very post with alot of them being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on IMP Awards . Com are also all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.




























Tuesday, 31 December 2024

My Top 5 Worst AND My Top 5 Best Films Of The Year 2024 Edition


It's that time of the year once again everybody and since we have a tradition on this blog and that is that on the last day of the year I tell you what my own personal top 5 worst and top 5 best films of the year are. With it being oddly hard to decide what should even go in the best of category this year as there are so many films that were released this year that could all justifiably lay claim to being the best film of the year and as always if you don't see your favorite film on here then just assume that i've either not seen it or that it's in a number six with the rules still being the same I have to have seen the film in order to for it count and it has to have had a UK release date of 2024 enjoy.

WORST

5) Winnie The Pooh Blood And Honey 2  


Lets be real here nobody thought that the sequel to a film that was only made because some of the characters entered public domain was going to be any good. Even more so when you take into account that the first film was my worst film of the year last year and yet one year later here we are with a sequel film that not only improves upon everything that the original set out to do in every single way possible but actually improves upon them like the fact that for starters this film actually has a pretty big budget of around two hundred thousand pounds which means that the makers of this film could not only afford some pretty decent actors but could actually give the Pooh characters some actually decent costumes and masks something that the original film just couldn't afford to do and while yes this film does start to build up the Twisted Childhood Universe a bit as well it was still great to see a film making team that realised that the first film wasn't that good and actively set out to rectify that in the sequel and while yes there a few bad things in this film like the fact that the film retcons the first film into being a movie that's in this film and the fact that they made Pooh Christopher Robin's brother for no reason whatsoever it still doesn't change the fact that this film was a huge step up interms of quality from the previous film and it gives out hope that the rest of the films in this cinematic universe will be just as good as the ones that came before it.

While there have been a shockingly good amount of really good horror films released this year alot of people seem to not mention this one. As while yes it is still a fairly bad film in it's own right no one's dismissing that it is still alot more better then the film that came before as this film does actually have some decent acting with a more likable and more proactive Christopher Robin and it actually features Tigger in it as by the time that this film entered pre-production he entered the public domain and with a third film already in the development stages and a confirmed crossover film with all of the monsters from this universe it's save to say that this franchise isn't going anywhere any time soon and why should as even tho having good horror films is great we still need films that are just pure junk food for the brain and that's exactly what this film is and what this whole cinematic universe could be as it could be a cinematic universe where you don't need to think why things are the way that they are and you can just sit back laugh at what's going on on screen and just have fun with it even tho what your watching is still a really bad film and while public domain characters getting their own horror film is sadly becoming something of a thing now thanks to oddly enough the release of the first film when it's done right it can be something that's enjoyable as along as they don't take themselves two seriously actually have things going on in the film itself.

4) Mean Girls (2024)


This year seemed to be the year of the remake with both the original Mean Girls and The Crow both getting remakes of there very own and while the The Crow will be getting grouped up with a bunch of other films later on in this post. This one deserved it's own slot as it's not just bad but it's offensively bad like the makers of this film just made all of the wrong of the wrong choices when choosing to adapt the stage musical which from comments online wasn't even that popular of a show to begin with which does beg the question of why remake something when there clearly isn't an audience for it and the answer is so simple it's because of nostalgia for you see Paramount Pictures was hoping to capture some of the same success that Disney has had with there live action remakes only the original Mean Girls wasn't animated in the first place and because Disney uses people's nostalgia for those original films in the remakes trailers they become hit films and that was something that Paramount was hoping would work for this film as they bumped it up from being a streaming release of Paramount+ to getting a theatrical release and to be frank this is film that really should have stayed on Paramount+ as while yes it still would have gotten a ton of negative reviews for it the film wouldn't have lost them as much money as it did when it got released into theaters at the start of the year with the film now being mostly forgotten about by not only those at Paramount themselves but also those that actually went to watch the film when it was first released as well.

To give this film at the vert least some form of credit it does at the very least try to be creative in some of it's musical sequences but that's really it. As this film is just as bland and just as boring as lot of the other remakes that got released this year and heck even the cameo from original Mean Girls star Lindsey Lohan could't save the film and as such it really is a film that tried and failed to capitalize on people's nostalgia for the first film even brining back two actors to reprise there roles from the original film and heck it even had the same writer as the first film buy where as the first film felt like that it tapped into how teenage gurls actually talk and act like when there around each other this film instead felt like it was how a big time hollywood executive things teenage girls act and speak like when there around each other as this film just lost all of the edge that the first film was instead toned down for no reason other then to get more screenings fitted in when if the makers of the film bothered to actually make the film an actually good film in the first place then more people would have actually have gone to see the film anyways thus making Paramount Pictures some actual money which in the end was what the studio really wanted to do in the first place but because they thought that getting in more screenings instead of actually making the film better would work we instead end up with a film that's a complete and total waste that no person should ever go and see.

3) Godzilla X Kong: The New Empire


When the sequel to Godzilla Vs Kong was first announced there was a lot of hype surrounding the film and even more so when it was announced that the same director would be returning for this film. However what we instead got was a film that if it came out even a month before the great Godzilla Minus One did would have been seen as being a really good film but because it wasn't it meant that people got to see what an actually good if not great Godzilla film could be like and so they were then left shocked and dismayed when this film came out and they saw that the film was nothing more then an average piece of fanfiction that felt right home on a streaming service then it did being a theatrically released movie as this film just felt like a lamer version of what a Godzilla film should have been and while yes the film does indeed get credit for brining back Mothra into the Monsterverse bringing back one good character doesn't make for a good movie as the film fails on all other accounts as the film is needlessly complicated and hard to to follow along with when a Godzilla film should be really simple and easy to follow along with all of the new characters are just bland at best which granted is also true for the Japanese Godzilla films and the characters that do come back from the previous film just felt wasted like they were only there because of the fact that they were inn the human cast of the previous film and not because of the fact that they actually added anything to the plot of this film.

Again the film does get some credit for having some decent looking CGI in it and of having some really decent looking action scenes in it as well but you still need a good story to wrap them all in. Which is sadly where this film starts to fall apart as the films plot can only best be described as being both forgettable and bland and boring at best with the films acting being virtually none existent as those actors that were good in the first film here just feel like that there sleepwalking through the whole entire film and heck we don't even get to see Godzilla and Kong on the screen together for a vast majority of this films running time with Kong being in the Hollow Earth for pretty much all of the films running time and Godzilla being up on Earth and for a film that relies on them being together and the audience wants to see them together for larger portion of the films running time the makers of this film really should have gotten the two of them together even if it's rivals alot more quicker then what they actually did do instead we spend alot of the films running time with a bunch of underdeveloped and bland human characters trying to convince the two of them to actually team with even the films villain who is quite literally just another Kong being a bland and boring when this franchise allows you to go to more fantastical places with your villains and yet the makers of this film chose not to do any of that and instead give us a character that is of the exact same species as Kong only dull and with no end goal in mind.

2) So Many Comic Book Movies To Name


From The Crow to Kraven: The Hunter it seems like that Hollywood seemed to really like giving us bad comic book movies. While yes Deadpool & Wolverine is a great movie it still doesn't change the fact that the overall majority of comic book movies that we got this year were just flat out bad and in the case of being Hellboy: The Crooked Man also being a bland and boring mess of a film that will be forgotten about quite shortly and heck even the sequel to one of the biggest films of 2019 Joker with Joker: Folie à Deux being an overly long mess of a film that only decided to be a musical because of the fact that it had Lady Gaga in it and that's really it and heck the film doesn't even take advantage of it being a musical with it just including songs that were already written and not creating anything new that could work or the plot of this film but none of that compares to legacy spitting mess that is The Crow if this movie was just a bad movie then fair enough but due to what happened during the production of the first movie this film actively spits on the legacy of Brandon Lee which really begs the question of should The Crow have even been remade in the first place and the answer is shockingly yes but only if the makers of the film could have done something new and different with the material and yet here all we got was a more angsty version of Twilight that had the budget of a badly done show that was airing on The CW.

Say what you will about Madame Web but the one thing that you can't accuse that film of being is boring. Which is sadly what alot of the really bad comic book movies where this year even Venom: The Last Dance which by all rights should have been anything but boring was still a dull film to watch and Kraven: The Hunter was so bad that's cause Sony to end there Sony's Spider-Man Universe because none of those films that got released this year made them any money and heck out of all the bad comic book movies that came out this year the only one that was entertaining just due to how bad it was was oddly enough Madame Web as at the very least then you could still laugh at how bad it was and laugh at how cringy the dialog and acting is where as with all of the other bad comic book movies that came out this year you can't even do that as there all just boring messes of films that really shouldn't have been made in the first place or if they were going to be made then they should have had more time put into the scriptwriting stage of the film as they all feel like that they all got the OK after the first draft of the script and they all feel like that those making the films never even read a comic book of the hero that there adapting with the same also being true for Hellboy: The Crooked Man and that film did have Hellboy's creator working on it as well as that's just how bad all of these movies really well and truly were.
1) The Mouse Trap


Speaking of bad films that just so happen to how public domain characters be the main villain of them they don't get much more worse then this film right here. As at the very least Winnie The Pooh: Blood And Honey and The Grinch horror film had at least something going on in them where as this film didn't have that going for it as this film was only made because of the fact that the Steamboat Willie version of Mickey Mouse and Steamboat Willie itself entered the public domain and that's really it with the whole entire mainly getting interest from people due to the fact that it has someone dressed as Mickey Mouse be the killer of the film but we got in the film was a film that was completely boring and lacked any form of a coherent plot with acting that's more suited to shall we say adult films and a film that has no cool kills in it whatsoever and with a year that was filled to the brim with good horror movies like for example Late Night With The Devil and In A Violent Nature it's sad to see an independent horror film be as bad as this one and what's worse is the fact that this even hints at the sequel by including a reference to Minnie Mouse and heck the film can't even decide on which set of characters that it even wants to focus on as just as soon as the main plot gets somewhat interesting it then cuts to the police interviewing one of the characters from the other plot with those scenes being set AFTER the main bulk of the film which makes the the main plot useless and the scenes with the police and the survivor aimless as well.

While with the other films featured on this worst list there was at least something decent in them that at least somewhat redeemed them even just a little bit. With this film there really was none of that as there was nothing in this film that's even close to being good as while the of having Mickey Mouse be a slasher killer is a solid idea that could carry a film if done right in this film is that idea is let done by the bad script with both the idea and the acting being let down by the very bad directing and because of that there is nothing wroth while about this film so much so that i've known for months that nothing would be able to top this film as being the worst film of year and while some came close all of those films including Madame Web where at the very least entertaining to watch where as here there was nothing entertaining to be found in this film and heck even with Winnie The Pooh: Blood And Honey would could at the very least tell that the makers of that film wanted to make a good film but where held back by there very limited budget and yet they still managed to work around that and a create a film that's so bad that it's good again where as with this film all we ended up with was a film that it's quite clear as day that nobody wanted to make a good film and just wanted to make a cheap cash grab of a film and to there credit that's exactly what they went and did but don't be expecting a sequel for this film to be coming out any time soon.

Best

5) Deadpool & Wolverine


Even tho we did get quite alot of really painfully bad comic book movies out there this year there was one that was actually really good. With that film of course being Deadpool & Wolverine and what made this film so good aside from the face that it's really well written and well acted film is the fact that the makers of this film actually listened to what the fans wanted and have been saying that they wanted for years now and that's not only for Deadpool and Wolverine to team up but for Wolverine to also don his classic comic book costume and for years Fox have denied us both of those for one reason or another and yet the second that the X-Men have there film rights brought back to Marvel the first thing that they do with them in terms of the movies is have both of the things that we the fans have wanted for years happen and while yes granted this film could be viewed as being nothing more then fanservice but considering just how bad the MCU has been lately be it with there movies or with there Disney+ shows the fact that this movie managed to get as many people as it did watching and make as much money as it did proves that they did something right and while this film might not save the MCU it does prove that they do still know how to make good MCU movies when they really want to and because of that we ended up with this really painfully funny film that really is the best comic book film to be released this year.

While many people will hate this film or just straight up not think that it's not as good as other MCU movies out there. To them i'd like to say that the recent MCU have been bad at best with a couple of them even making my worst of list as well and yet this film managed to defy all expectations as this was not only the first R rated MCU film but it was also the very first R rated film to be released under the mainline Disney banner as well and yet they hold nothing back and go just far with that R rating as even the Fox movies did and some cases even further then what the Fox movies would have done as well with this film having some shockingly really good VFX and jokes that are painfully funny it's safe to say that not only Deadpool but also the X-Men are in save hands as Fox never really knew what to either property and yet when Marvel  got them back not only did we get this fantastic movie but we also got the fantastic X-Men '97 Disney+ show as well both of which make it pretty clear that for now at least both properties are in good hands and while that admittedly can change in the future what won't change is the fact that this is a really good movie that alot of people myself included either really like or really love and while this film does have it's bad sides as well with the plot being thin at best the plots to the Deadpool films where never those films strongest suits as those where the comedy and the action and it's in both of those aspects that this film really does excel in.

 4) A Whole Lot Of Horror Films


Much like with how there was so many bad comic book movies released this year there was really quite alot of really good horror movies released this year as well. From there likes of Late Night With The Devil to big studio films like Abigail this year was for the most part a really good year for horror films with there quite literally being something for everybody for if you didn't like the over the top gore of Terrifer 3 there MaXXXine or if you didn't like the supernatural aspect of Late Night With The Devil there was the really gory In A Violent Nature either way you were going to see something that made you feel something be it fear for watching a new film that's actually scary or excitement for seeing a new film that you actually like you felt something either way and that's what film is meant to do it's meant to make you feel something and that's something that is not only common with the rest of the films in this very post but also with all of the good horror films that came out this year even with the shockingly recent release of the remake of Nosferatu which proved that not only in the vampire sub-genre of horror alive and well but so is the idea of doing gothic horror films that can actually scare you as well as entertain and thrill you and while granted not alot of those films where big at the box office apart from Terrifier 3 which is the biggest independent horror film for quite a few years now low box office doesn't make for a bad film as none of these films are bad films there all really good horror films released in a year hat saw quite alot of really good horror released and scare people.

Out of all of the horror films that where released this year it really was hard to say which one was the best of the best. Simply because of the fact that I haven't seen them all but out of the ones that I personally did see i'd say that it's In A Violent Nature that was the best horror film released this year followed very closely by Late Night With The Devil simply because of the fact that the ideas behind both of them was so fresh and new that it helped breathed life into horror films as whole and it helped to make them both standout in sea of horror films as In A Violent Nature quite literally puts you into the shoes of the killer thus making us the audience both see and experience everything that the typical slasher villain sees and goes through as well and Late Night With The Devil had a unique concept to it as while the idea of doing a found footage film is really nothing new and could be seen as being quite tiresome the idea of putting in the format of "lost" seventies TV show talk show and have that weird finale really makes the concept seem fresh and new again as it makes you wonder what the host actually did when he thought that he was killing off his dead wife and that's something that horror films can do as they can make you think as well as both thrill and scare you at the same time and yet it's something that not alot of modern Hollywood horror films seem to do for some reason as films like Late Night With The Devil can prove that you can do both and still get a good movie out of what could have been seen as being a really tired and word out concept.

3) Super/Man: The Christopher Reeve Story


Much like how we seemed to get alot of really bad comic book movies this year we also seemed to oddly get alot of documentaries and biopic as well. With the best one of the bunch also being my this best film of the year simply because of the fact that it managed to capture just who Christopher Reeve was a person and capture the hope and the magic and that he himself brought not only to the role of Superman but to all of his roles as well with it being painfully clear as day that the makers of this film were huge fans of his work and wanted to make a film that would be represent him while Jim Henson: Idea man was made by the bigger company in this case Disney that doesn't mean that there was alot of love put behind the project as while Jim Henson: Idea Man is a really good film and one that any body who loves The Muppets really should watch this is film is the better of the two as you get all of the heart , humour and heroics that Christopher Reeve was known for in his life and hearing how he struggled with his injuries even right up to the end but he still kept on going proves that while not all superheroes wear capes he was truly a superhero , a super dad , super husband and most importantly then all of that he was also a super man as well all of which combine to give us a film that gives the most accurate look at the man who played the most famous hero of all time and who truly made us believe that a man can fly.

While there are alot of really good things that can and have been said about this film in all of the review for this film. There are also some aspects that don't quite work out just as well like the fact that the film really doesn't include that many interviews with the people who knew him best those being friends , family and the people that he worked with with the film adding in comments and interviews from his fans which while that is expected in this film just doesn't work out all the well and it gets in the way of the films gut punch of an ending which whilst it is obvious what the ending of the film is going to be it's hearing how his kids acted and reacted when they found out there dad had died with all but one of his kids there at the hospital with him with the other son being on his way to the hospital before getting the call and being told basically not to bother going to the hospital as there father had just died that right there is a gut punch of ending because just picture not being able to say goodbye to your father one last time , picture not being able to see him one last time and picture not being able to just hold his hand one last time which yes might sound corny as all heck but it's also something that hits you right in the gut and because of that fantastic ending this film really does stay with you after you finish it as you realise that Chris never got to finish all of the things that he set out to do which is something that only adds to the emotional value of the films highly emotional ending.

2) The Wild Robot AND Wallace & Gromit: Vengeance Most Fowl



Yeah these next two slots where the hardest to fill out of this years best off list with the rest of the list also being really hard to fill out as by rights any one of the above mentioned films could have had the number 1 slot and it would make total sense. However just like there has to be a winner there also has to be a number 2 which in this case is a tie between what may be the best two animated films of the year and while I am somewhat cheating with Wallace & Gromit since that film doesn't get a worldwide release until the 3rd of January it did air over here in the UK on Christmas Day so it does count with both of this films just being great films not only with little kids around but also just by yourself as animation isn't just for kids it's for everyone and that's something that both of these film do very well as they both have moments that yes could be seen as being very childish and very childlike as well but then they both have themes and moments that little kids won't get quite yet but adults will do thus making them appear more adult then what they already are and in the case of The Wild Robot it also has a highly emotional ending that will bring even the most stone faced person to tears and Wallace & Gromit has alot of jokes that yes Americans won't get but British people and both of those work for both of those film as well with both of this films having some truly voice acting in them and being alot better then what they really should have been as well.

What you expect from Aardman but don't quite expect from Dreamworks as they're very hit and miss with there animation is for both of these films to have some truly fantastic animation to them both as well. With both of this film being a prime example of just how good both CGI animation and stop motion animation can be when it's done by people who care about there craft and who are willing to go the extra mile like the director of The Wild Robot to make the worlds that these films take place feel real and lived in whilst also understanding that both of these films do have a slight fantastical element to them both as well both of which works out really well for this film both of which makes both of these films two of the best animated films to come out this year and while that's not really a high bar to reach as there really weren't that many good animated films out this year it makes these two films all the more important to watch as it shows the Hollywood bosses that we want actually good animated films and don't want badly done sequels like Inside Out 2 which many people like but i'm not nor will I ever likely to be one of them as that film doesn't tell that good of a story with good or interesting characters where as both of these two films have good stories that are worth telling and in the case of Wallace & Gromit have characters have characters that are icons in there own right and in the case of both films have just some genuinely good and well written characters in there own right.

1) Wicked: Part 1


When I said that choosing the number one spot was hard I really did mean it as it was between this film , Vengeance Most Fowl and The Wild Robot. With the film only just pipping the other two to the post just because of the fact that it ha some really good songs to it other wise all three would have most likely have taken the number 1 spot and there would have been a case for that happening as well with the film being just so good and while I didn't get the chance to review the film due to health reasons at the time I did get the chance to go and see the film and I can say that is so worth watching not just for the musical numbered alone altho that is a big part of it but also for the story being told and the acting in it as well as it all just top notch and really well done while alot of people might have been worried or maybe perhaps even scoffed at the idea of this musical being split into two the makers of this film have proved that it was the right call as there was no way that you could tell this story in one film at the very least not without doing some serious damage to the films plot and cutting out some really great songs as such this is one of the very rare cases where splitting the film up into halves does actually make sense even if it means that the first part feels like an extended trailer for the second but either way if you haven't done already go and see this film and even if you have done go and see it as it's just that good of film.

It really hard to find that much negative to say about the fil as this film is just that good in all respects and while yes some parts of the film could have done better then others. Given that this is a two part film alot of the faults with the films plot could have been them setting up stuff that pays off in the second film or it could have been done that way in the stage production in which case there not really a fault of a film as there then a fault of the stage show if there's anything that really doesn't work it's the fact that the plot withy the animals being taken away really doesn't add anything to the plot of this film and rather it instead takes away from the plot of this film as ll it does is take you out of the film as it's just that dull and boring of a plot to see play but when the film does drop it the film oddly does get better again with characters that you actually like and enjoy as there just that fun to be around and while the film really doesn't have that many comedic moments in it when it does they can be really funny with all of the films songs being not really well done in the film but also really well done by all of those involved as well with it being really hard to say what the best song in the whole entire film really is as there all just that good with the film itself being worth seeing just for the songs alone as they really are just that damned good in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very post fr0m the official Horror Film fandom wiki page , Wikizilla , the official Disney fandom wiki page , the official DC Movies fandom wiki page , the official Dreamworks Animation fandom wiki page  , the official Wallace And Gromit fandom wiki page , the official Wicked fandom wiki page , IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from these very films that I used in this very post being the really great the official Disney fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from these very films with alot of them being better quality then what'd think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Disney fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.