Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Scooby-Doo Where Are You!. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Scooby-Doo Where Are You!. Show all posts

Friday, 13 February 2026

Scooby-Doo, Where Are You! "Mine Your Own Business" Review


It feels like it's been forever since I last reviewed anything from Scooby-Doo Where Are You and that's because it has with the last review of this show being in early last year. Well as luck would have it I was in the mood for watching something from this franchise and so I thought why not hit two birds with one stone as it were and cover episode four of this truly iconic franchise and so then join me as I review the episode that quite literally tells you to mind your own busisness with the episode in question being called simply just "Mine Your Own Business" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when the gang get lost going to someplace and end up at an old mining town somewhere in the desert and after hearting stories of the town haunted decide to solve this mystery once and for all. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as the episodes plot is yes pretty thin with the set up being about as basic as you could expect it to be even for this show it is still something that does work for the show as the episode doesn't really put alot of focus on quite a few things and it's plot just so happens to be one of them and to be fair when the set up is this basic in the first place you don't really need that deep of a plot as all you need is the characters to go around doing there usual schtick and that's really it and that's what this episode does give us in spades and while yes it would have been nice if you the episode did give alot more focus to it's plot as we don't even get to find out where the gang are even going to in the first place this is something that isn't needed to make the episode all that enjoyable as this is still a pretty fun and enjoyable episode where it just so happens that the plot of the episode is one of the things that really doesn't get a whole lot of attention but on to it with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is voice acting legend Don Messick as Scooby-Doo , Hank and A Mouse and Scooby-Doo legend Casey Kasem as Shaggy Rogers and Miner Forty-Niner. Also starring in this episode is voice acting and Scooby-Doo legend Frank Welker as Fred Jones and A Vulture, Stefanianna Christopherson as Daphne Blake , Scooby-Doo legend Nicole Jaffe as Velma Dinkley and Hal Smith as Big Ben.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With the episodes actors doing a really good job in this episode for the most part as while the main series voice actors are as wonderful as you'd expect them to be where the episode does fall apart from an acting point of view as guest actor as Hal Smith does feel like that he's not even trying to turn in a good performance and while he does only have two scenes in the whole episode they are scenes that are let down by the quality of the acting in them yet when you compare the acting in those two scenes to the acting in the rest of the episode it's night and day with the best actor in the whole entire episode being Don Messick as he not only has to play his regular role of Scooby-Doo but also two one of characters one of which is a main character in the episode and he still has to make them sound completely different from each other and that is something that he does do with ease with it being helped by the fact that while he does does play the episodes villain near the start of the episode alot of the time Casey Kasem playing him with the acting that's in this very episode not really being helped by the fact that the script for this episode is just so bad as it gives nine of this episodes actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.


Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the greats that were currently over at Hanna-Barbera Productions. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well the in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good with the episode almost going out of it's way to create some really good atmosphere just with it's animation as the opening shot of the episode is just oozing with creepy atmosphere that right away puts us the audience on edge and was something that really wasn't expected in this episode with it being a more then welcome surprise as a result of that and while the episode does still have the typical Hannah-Barbera cheapness that all of there shows do have we do also get to see the characters have some really fluid movements to them all of which does make this episodes animation be alot more better then what it really should have been in the first place as this is an episode that really doesn't require alot of good animation as all you need is a basic old west background and your jobs halfway done already and yet the makers of this episode really did go overboard with giving us lots of shits in this episode that look really good and heck there's even a shot of Fred near the end of the episode that looks like it could have been ripped right out of a movie with the episode having alot of really impressive looking backgrounds to it which is something that does hit home the point that the makers of this episode really did put lot of thought and effort into this episodes animation as it's something that really does shine through in the final product. 


One of the more weaker aspects of this episode was it's mystery as while they don't outright tell you who Miner Forty-Niner really is. The episode does have a character that dresses almost exactly like him only without the beard and hat which is something that does make it pretty obvious as to who the villain of the episode is meant to be when the whole point of a mystery is to let us work it for ourselfs and not be ahead of the characters interms of what we know and if we the audience can piece together just from what one of the characters in the episode is wearing then there's no reason as to why Velma the smartest one in the group couldn't do the exact same thing as all that does is make her look dumb as she's not able to see the most obvious thing with this being something that very easily could have been changed just by having the real culprit wear different clothes to Miner-Forty Niner as then there would be some form of a mystery of us the audience to solve which is the whole point of the show in the first place and yet for one reason of another the makers of this show just didn't do that and heck they didn't even give us any clues as to who the culprit is or even why there doing what there doing in the first place which yes does boil to the person wanting to scare people away from the town so that they can buy the guest house with all of the money that they would have made from the oil but none of that is explained in the episode and is instead explained away when the gang tell one of the other characters who it is and why they were trying to scare people away in the first place and while the episode makes it crystal clear who the main villain is you won't get any answers from this review as I want you guys to work it for yourselves.

For one reason or another the makers of this episode just didn't seem to bother trying all that hard in this episode. As alot of things from the plot to the obvious reveal of the villain just feel underbaked granted if your a little kid then you might find the reveal of who the culprit is to be surprising but it's not something that's hard to miss as it's quite literally right there infront of you the whole time with the episodes being none the better either as the episode doesn't really take that full advantage of the fact that it's mostly set in on an old western town and while The New Scooby-Doo Movies would rectify this by having an episode with The Three Stooges that's a full blown western this episode does none of that and granted that was because of the fat that the town in this episode had been all but deserted for many years they still could gave done something with the western setting even if it's just having Scooby-Doo wear a cowboy hat for a joke it still would have been better then nothing as it does look like that this episode could have taken in a major city or in a hotel and nothing in regards to the plot would need to be changed and when it comes to the plot this episodes plot as wafer thin and enjoyable as it is is still something that could have done with having alot more thought and effort put into it but instead it felt like that the makers of this episode put alot more thought and effort into the episode animation then then they did the plot or the setting as both of those are things that would have been alot more better if they did have some love and care put into them.


Whilst this episode does have alot of bad things going for it one of them is not the fact that they do have Scooby being pretty brave in this episode. As it would have been very easy for the makers of this episode to keep him as being a coward throughout the whole episode but no they actually have him be a vital part of the plan to catch Miner-Forty Niner by having Scooby act as a train and just straight up run into him and while granted the original plan was to have Scooby scare him into a shed that was nearby it was the fact that Scooby wasn't shown panicking or doing anything nuts when he does crash into him and the pair of them are left dangling over an edge in the mines that makes him brave as that is something that would be something that he would have done but nope he just goes straight forward into him and while yes he might still have been feeling brave thanks to having not one but two Scooby Snacks earlier on in the episode which would be a fair point to make he doesn't know how deep the edge of the mine is and while of course we all know that they wont ever kill of Scooby it's the fact that they hinted that they could happen is something that does make this episode stand out in the first place but in saying this tho the episode doesn't really do anything interesting with Scooby outside of having him see Miner-Forty Niner a few times and that's really it when it would been more better to show him and Shaggy looking for and actually finding some clues as that really is something that would help the episode be all the more better then what it really already is in the first place and yet the fact that they don't does say that the makers of this episode didn't have anything interesting for Scooby to do in this episode.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty minuets and fifty four seconds. Which granted is pretty much the bogstandard running time for this show to have in the first place but this episode oddly feel constrained by it's running time as the episode doesn't have the time to give us any clues nor give us any other possible culprits with the episode having more then enough plot there to cover that amount of running time and yet in saying this tho the episode really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as the episode really doesn't take the time to fully develop it's plot in the first place as the episode is alot more focused on giving us a creepy looking episode then it is in giving us a more well thought out plot as the episode could have done both just by having scenes that develop the episodes plot like by having the gang actually explain where it was they were actually going in the first place which yes is a small thing but the small things go along away with the episode not even taking the time to fully develop it's characters which isn't that really big of a deal as the same thing is true with all of the episodes in this franchise with it not really effecting this episode as the episode does work fine without the characters getting any kind of character development and yet it still would have been nice if the episode did give the guest characters some form of character development as it would have made them be all the more memorable and yet as the episode is more focused on giving us a rather obvious villain then in giving the characters some form of character development but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really bad pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a comedy that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With the episode having some really funny jokes in it all of which does work as Scooby himself is a really likable character and having him do these goofy things or act in this goofy way is something that is perfectly on character for him with it also being something that does give the episode the moments of humor that it really did need as this is one that could be seen as being a really dark episode with the best joke in the whole entire episode being when Shaggy and Scooby are about to get chased by the villain as Shaggy gets his shirt stuck on a tree branch with him continuing to run away only for the pressure to get much with it then forcing both Scooby and Shaggy onto the tree outside which was a really funny joke with the episode having alot of really good jokes like Scooby mistaking a flour ridden Fred for ghost as an example as again that is something that Scooby-Doo would do and while it is a joke that kids would find funny it works just as well because of the fact that it is a really well written joke and one that both kids and adults can enjoy with the same thing being true for alot of the episodes jokes all of which are just so funny in the first place with the episode being more then worth watching just for the jokes and heck this episode has so many funny jokes that it was hard to say just what the best joke was in the episode as that's how funny that this episodes jokes really were in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall whilst yes this episode is a pretty weak episode in it's own right there is still plenty of fun to be had with this episode be it from the amount of jokes that the episode throws at you to the animation which does really do a good job of making the episode look really creepy but this episode is still a really weak episode in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score pf exactly a 7.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Amazon . Co . Uk the official Hanna-Barbera wiki and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Tuesday, 18 March 2025

Scooby-Doo, Where Are You! "Hassle In The Castle" Review


It's been quite a while since I last covered anything from Scooby-Doo, Where Are You! which is such a shame as this sow is one that alot of us really did grow up watching. As such I thought that it was only about right that I put an end to this dry spell by reviewing the very next episode of the show with this episode being a really fun and creepy episode that really does bring the horror aspect of the show to the front and centre of the episode itself and so then join me as I review the episode that has alot of images from the shows intro in it with the episode in question being called simply just "Hassle In The Castle" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when the gang find themselves stranded on a mysterious island they find themselves being haunted by a ghost and have to solve the mystery of who this ghost is before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual episode that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt tat the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as thus episodes plot while it could be seen as being rather generic for this show it also was early enough in this shows run that it does get away with it as well with this episodes plot being a bit more horror focused then the rest of the sows plots had been up until this point in time which is something that does make this episodes plot more of a must watch for fans of supernatural horror films and yet still somehow being more kid friendly then what it really had any right to be but at the same time tho this episodes plot really isn't all that good as all it does is give you the bare bones of a plot and that's really it and while that might be par the course for this show it is something that is still an issue with the plot of this episode at it makes the plot of the episode as a whole come across as being really weak when that's simply not even close to being true at all with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Starring in this episode is voice acting legend Don Messick as Scooby-Doo , The Phantom , Bluestone The Great and The Police Officer. Also starring in this episode is Battle Of The Planets star Casey Kasem as Shaggy Rogers , voice acting royalty and legend Frank Welker as Fred Jones , Here Comes The Grump star Stefanianna Christopherson as Daphne Blake and The Trouble With Girls star Nicole Jaffe as Velma Dinkley.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good. Which is something that's not really all that surprising as all of this episodes actors are not only some really good voice actors in their own right but are so well known for voicing these characters that for many they simply are the voice of these characters and heck out of all of them only Frank Welker is still with the franchise to this very day and is still playing Fred Jones as well as that's just how good of a voice actor that he really is with the actors acting in this episode being just as good as you'd really want it to be with it being clear as day that there all getting alot more comfortable in their roles which is something that really does shine through in the final cut of the episode with the true stand out performer in this episode being Don Messick as he has to play several characters and make them all sound unique and distinct enough that your not going to get them confused with any other character and still put in a really good performance in this episode which is something that really does do really rather well in this episode with the acting that's in this episode really being helped by the fact that the script for this episode is just so good that all this episodes actors really have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very episode.

Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Hanna-Barbera Productions. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation thats actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty shockingly good with there not really being any animation errors in this episode and even more shockingly for a Hanna-Barbera project there was very few if any any repeating backgrounds with this episodes animation really making the creepy looking castle look gothic and quite creepy and while yes the characters do have there usual fluid animation when it comes to there walking they also get really fluid with the animation when Daphne falls down a trap a door which whilst it does look good it does also seem an odd place to put some really good animation but at the same time tho this episode does have one error that highlights just how cheap Hanna-Barbera really was as there is a room in this episodes main setting that despite being shown to match the color scheme of the whole castle in previous scenes for one brief shot with Scooby-Doo near the end of the episode it's shown to have these really garish pink walls and grey boards both of with nothing lighting it which is something that could have been fixed if the animators took another pass at that one simple and very easy to do shot but because of the fact that Hanna-Barbera was so cheap we do end up with alot of shots like this one in alot of there shows and movies as well.


As was mentioned at the very start of this review this episode does give us quite alot imagery from the shows opening intro. Be it Daphne walking away before a ghostly hand reaches out for her to the gang getting warned by The Phantom it's all in this one episode and it's all something that does make the episode worth watching if you were wondering where those scenes came from or even if you just someone who really loves Scooby-Doo as they are some great scenes and heck the the scene with gang getting a warning by The Phantom is so good that they makers of this episode chose to literally repeat the exact same scene which works for and against the episode as a whole it works for the episode as it does help to establish the fact that this character is meant to be a genuine threat to the gang but it against the episode for two reasons the first one being we just saw this exact same scene a few minuets ago and so of course we the audience are going to notice that it's really quite literally the exact same shot as before and secondly it makes Hanna-Barbera look even more cheap then what they already are as they could really could have fully animated a brand new scene to get across more of the fact that this character really is meant to be a threat to the gangs life with this having the added bonus of making the episode look better because of it and yet even really tho the fact that they repeated the scene really doesn't take away from the episode as a whole it still does add an air of cheapness to this episode as a whole as well.

There are some bad things about this episode tho like the fact that they don't really give The Phantom much in the way of personality. Heck we don't even get to find out why he's scaring people until right before the end credits start to role which again is pretty par the course for this show but the same time tho the other episodes usually have alot more supporting characters in them so you can kind of forgive them as there trying to make the mystery aspect of the episode as good as it could possibly be but here because of the fact that there are no supporting characters to make you wonder who it could be and heck we don't even get to meet who The Phantom is until he's unmasked and therefor the makers of this episode really should have put alot more effort into making The Phantom have more of a personality and while the episode does gets credit for at the vert least trying to make him creepy with the creepy looking castle and the fact that he's a ghost when you look at his costume however it doesn't make you scared of him it just makes you laugh at him as all it is is basically someone's bedding with eye holes and thats really it and while that might be great a Halloween costume for a Scooby-Doo villain where you can go and be a little bit more creepy and scary that's not enough and while granted this show is made for kids and so you can't really scare them all that much but at the same time tho kids love to be scared and therefor having a villain that looks a little bit more creepy would work really well in this episodes favor.


Oddly enough one of this episodes biggest weaknesses it's mystery aspect as they not only don't have anyone that you can say is a suspect in the episode but there's also no to build up with the gang realizing how The Phantom travels around the castle. With that part coming right at the end of the episode and it's right of nowhere almost as if it was more of an afterthought then something that the makers of this episode did intentionally while the episode does show the gang not only looking for but also finding clues they don't exactly set up for the main culprit of the episode is thus making it more of a surprise when they do the big reveal which is something that they do explain away in a way that does make some sort of sense for the episode but at the same time given the fact that a mystery does require suspects having the main villain be set up at the start of the episode outside of his Phantom disguise is something that would have made alot of sense even if he's just seen in the background somewhere and yet by not doing that there robbing us the audience of a chance to work it out for ourselves which does in turn make this mystery feel like the type of mystery that they'd put in a later Scooby-Doo movie rather then something that they would have done in an episode of the show as the movies don't typically set up who the main villain is either and yet the show would typically show of who the main villain is at the start of the episode which makes it all the more odd that they went and did it not only in this show as well but this early on in the shows run as it's something that doesn't really work not only for this show but for this franchise as a whole either.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty minuets and fifty seven seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstandard running time for this shoe to have and to this episodes credit this episode really does have the right amount of plot there to really over that amount of running time however tho due to the fact that this episode really doesn't have any suspects to it whatsoever this episode really can't use it's running time all that wisely as not only do we not get to see more of the castle which would have been great to see as it would have made the episode feel alot more creepier and bigger then what it actually is but they also don't flesh out the mystery aspect of the episode by giving us suspects which would then allow for us the audience the chance to work out for ourselfs who did and to work why they did it as well and yet because of the fact that the episode didn't bother to do any of that it means that they have to pull something out of nothing when it would have made alot more sense for there to be more suspects and heck they could even have kept the same motivation because the police officer at the end of the episode even states that the gold that this episodes criminal was after is also really sought after by other people and so it would have made perfect sense for there to be alot more people there at the castle during this episode then what we ultimately ended up seeing but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho. 


So now then as this is a comedy that really means that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. AS there some really funny moments to be found in this episode alot of which oddly enough do include Scooby-Doo himself with very few of them including quite literally anybody else in the gang which is something that does make sense as afterall the show is named after Scooby-Doo and it therefor does make sense that he would get alot of the episodes jokes with the best one being the joke where Scooby pretends to be ill just to avoid being bate for The Phantom which works not only because of the fact that it was set up earlier on in the episode where he tried a very similar tactic only this time it was avoid looking around a creepy looking room but also because of the fact that it does feel like it was in character for Scooby-Doo to do something like that and it's something that movies like Happy Halloween Scooby-Doo , Scooby-Doo . Scooby-Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed and Scooby-Doo! And Kiss: Rock And Roll Mystery forgot to do despite alot of them being good films and having there own funny moment with Scooby-Doo in them where as here alot of his jokes felt in character for him and because of that they all came across as being really funny jokes in there own right in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this episode was a decent but flawed episode as it doesn't really give the mystery part of the episode all that much attention when it's something that should have been getting more attention then what the actual comedy part of the episode was getting as people come to Scooby-Doo for the mystery and not the comedy in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and a such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself grand old score of exactly a 6.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all o the images hat I personally used in this very review from the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the really great the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 4 April 2024

Scooby-Doo, Where Are You! "A Clue For Scooby-Doo" Review


Scooby-Doo is just one of those franchises that will never ever stop going with it being rebooted and retooled every few years or so. However none of the other Scooby-Doo shows or movies that alot of us grew up with and love so much would really even be a thing were it not for the original series as it's that original show that really gave us all the things that we still really love about the show and a,bout the franchise to this very day and so then join me as I review the episode that introduces another classic Scooby-Doo villain with the episode in question being called simply just "A Clue For Scooby-Doo" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when the Mystery Inc gang see a ghost walking out of the sea during some time at the beach they take upon themselves to work out who this ghost really is and to solve the mystery of missing boats. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / resented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad as the plot of the episode was really interesting as even tho it just gives us the bare bones of a plot that's all you really need for a classic Scooby-Doo episode and that's something that this episode gives us in spades and while yes it would have been nice if you episode had a more stronger plot that's not really something that we crave from a classic episode of Scooby-Doo as all we want from this show is the characters acting how we know them to act and solving a good mystery with the plot of this episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is voice acting legend Don Messick as Scooby-Doo , Ebenezer Shark and A Mouse and Casey Kasem as Shaggy Rogers. Also starring in this film is voice acting and Scooby-Doo legend Frank Welker as Fred Jones , Stefanianna Christopherson as Daphne Blake , Nicole Jaffe as Velma Dinkley , Hal Smith as The Ghost of Captain Cutler and voice acting legend Jean Vander Pyl as Mrs. Cutler.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in al honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. With all of this episodes cast turning in some really good performances which was both really shocking and yet not all that shocking at the exact same time it's shocking in that this was only the second episode to air and about the third episode to be produced and as a result it would have been understandable if the cast didn't turn in that good of a performance as there still trying to find there characters but at the same time it's not all that surprising as this episodes cast is made up of bunch of really good voice actors with the acting in this episode really being helped by the fact that the script for this episode is just so good that all the cast have to do is just say the lines as they are written and good performance will come out of them naturally.


Doing the animation for this episode is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Hanna-Barbera Productions. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty really good for the most part as this is still Hanna-Barbera Productions and there are still quite alot of animation errors to be found in this episode with the most striking one being that for one full scene Shaggy's hair goes from being brown to being blonde as this is was early on in the shows production this is forgivable however tho it's really something that really could have been fixed be it for DVD releases or Blu-Ray releases or even when the series was added to HBO Max but it wasn't it was just kept in and it's really that kind of animation error that really does bring down the overall quality of the animation in this episode.


What was truly shocking in this episode is that they actually made Scooby-Doo to be quite a bit braver then what he normally is. As in this episode he takes on the The Ghost Of Captain Cutler head on which is something that he would never do later on in the shows run and yet he does it here for no reason with this being something that does kind of make sense due to how early on in the shows run that this episode was being produced but at the same time it makes it all the more weird that they would suddenly change it with no rhyme or reason and yet at the exact same time tho it's also something that does make Scooby-Doo work as a hero as he's willing to take down the villain head on because the villain in this case is cashing down him and Shaggy all of which makes you wonder why this aspect was toned down at best or just straight up removed at worst as you very easily could have gotten some really cool moments out of it just look at the ending to the third act of Scooby-Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed for proof of that.

While this does make sense from one point of view the makers of this episode chose not to give both Fred and Daphne alot of screen time in this episode. Which again does make alt of sense as the makers of the show have gone on record as saying that they found those characters to be the most boring of the whole gang as there just very one note characters but at the same time tho it also doesn't work as they very easily could have used the extra screen time to fully develop there characters and make them more interesting and yet because of the fact that they were stuck in this mindset of having to very dull and boring characters that they didn't like that's all they ended up being when they really could have been so much more then that and heck even giving them more screen time in this episode could have added to the episodes plot as it could have given us more suspects which in turn would have made the mystery really all that more interesting and complex.


As an actual mystery this episode does fair a little bit better as the mystery aspect of the episode was really well handled. With there being more then enough clues for kids to work out who the culprit is the issue is tho is that they don't really give a good enough for the culprit to be doing what there doing as stealing boats as a form of revenge really doesn't make sense for who they have doing the crimes in the first place and it would have made alot of more sense for one of the other suspects to be the one doing the crimes if that was the motif that they were going to e sticking with but if not then they really should have given that character a better motif that makes alot more sense like maybe there's some money aboard one of the ships and they were hijacking the boats in order to keep the money for themselves that is something that would have worked for that character and doing something to keep the money is a classic Scooby-Doo motif that you can't really do wrong.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly twenty one minuets and four seconds. Which is a solid running time for this episode to have as the episode really does have more then enough there interms of plot to cover that amount of running time but at the exact same time tho if the episode was even just five or even ten minuets longer then it would have allowed for some character development between the Mystery Inc gang which would have helped not only the episode but the show as a whole in the long run as it would gave given us more of an insight as to who these characters are as people and not who they are as two dimensional cardboard cutouts and it would have given us the chance to fully work out the mystery for ourselves as more clues could be shown including Captain Cutler himself but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a comedy that meas that I have to actually talk about the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual comedy that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. As there are alot of funny moments that are in this very episode that whilst aren't laugh out loud funny but are at the very least cute funny with alot of those moments coming from Scooby-Doo himself like the scene where Shaggy and Scooby pretend to be a ships mast to get away from The Ghost Of Captain Cutler which whilst that isn't laugh loud funny it's a cute moment that does manages to get a laugh out people and that's the best way to describe the comedy in this episode as the jokes in this episode aren't always really going to be laugh loud funny but that they will always be cute moments that will get a laugh out of people in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Overall this was a really rather solid episode of the show that whilst not the show at it's best as you can quite clearly see the shows growing pains that is something that's to be expected this early into the shows run and you can quite clearly see all of the potential that this show and this franchise does have in it in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this review and as such that means that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 6.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episodes that I used in this very review being the really great and really legendary the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this episodes and are really of course on the official Scooby-Doo fandom wiki page are all really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.