Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Wonder Woman. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Wonder Woman. Show all posts

Saturday, 1 March 2025

Wonder Woman 2009 Film Review


When people think of the films that Wonder Woman has been the solo star of nine times out of ten there going to be thinking about the Gal Gadot as those are the most popular films. Yet not alot of people realise or even remember for that fact that there was a solo Wonder Woman movie before Gal Gadot picked up the Lasso Of Truth with it being that movie that i'm going to be talking about today and so then join me as I review the film that has seemingly been forgotten about by alot of people with the film in question being called simply just "Wonder Woman" enjoy.

The plot of this film is when Ares escaping from his prison on Themyscira it's up Princess Diana to leave her home for the first time and with the help of a pilot named Steve Trevor stop the god of war before his plan to gain more power before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good with this films plot doing a good job of not telling it's story but also in giving us Wonder Woman's origin story as well as here it is something that is directly tied into the main plot instead of it being something that happens just because of the fact that the makers of the film felt like that they had to do it and yet while this films plot is rather suitably epic for a film it's also something that does feel undercooked and half baked as well as there are character arcs that not only come out of nowhere but when they do happen there not elaborated on nor ever mentioned ever again thus making them feel like something that would have been better served if they weren't in the film at all with even the forced romance between Diana and Steve feeling out of place in this film as well with the plot of this film also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Starring in this film is Keri Russell as Princess Diana /  Diana Prince / Wonder Woman and Nathan Fillion as Steve Trevor. Also starring in this film is Alfred Molina as Ares , Rosario Dawson as Artemis , Marg Helgenberger as Hera , Oliver Platt as Hades , Virginia Madsen as Hippolyta , Skye Arens as The Little Girl , John DiMaggio as Deimos and The Homeless Man , Julianne Grossman as Etta Candy , Vicki Lewis as Persephone , David McCallum as Zeus , Jason Miller as Thrax and The Gang Leader , Rick Overton as Slick and The President Of The United States (uncredited) , this films voice director Andrea Romano as President's Advisor , Tara Strong as Alexa and this films producer Bruce Timm as An Attacker.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. Which is something that is both shocking and yet also not all that shocking as well as it's shocking due to the fact that alot of this films actors aren't that well known at the very least from the point of view from the mainstream audience but yet at the same time it's not all that surprising as those of us who have followed the works of say Nathan Fillion and Tara Strong and Keri Russell to name but a few will know just how good that these actors are and not only are they really good in this film which is mostly due to the fact that Andrea Romano was a great voice director but it's also because of the fact that alot of this films actors are a bunch of really good actors in there own right and while people are only just now starting to see just how good Rosario Dawson is as an actor thanks to her role on The Mandalorian here she knocks it out of the park as Artemis with the same thing also being true for pretty much all of this films actors as well with this films acting really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so good that all this films actors really have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance really will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.


Doing the animation for this film is the legends and the greats that are currently over at Moi Animation Studio. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good with all of this films animation looking alot better then alot of other direct to DVD movies that are being released  today with that being due to the fact this film was made by people who are legends in the realm of animation and aren't just getting there start in the animation industry with it really being helped by the fact that all of the characters have these rather simplistic animation designs with the animation itself having a good dose of anime inspiration which was something that was also a common thing in alot of animation from 2009 and yet because of the fact that it's a movie we also get alot of really stunning scenery as well and while the animation in this film will never look like that it was meant to be a theatrically released feature length film it is something that does look a whole more better and well more thought out then what it really had any right to as by all rights this films animation should have looked really bad and yet the very fact that it doesn't and still holds up even almost twenty years later does go to show that DC put the right people in charge of creating there direct to DVD animated movie lineup. 


Not only is this film alot more gory then alot of the other direct to DVD DC animated films out there but it's also one of there more violent animated films as well. Simply due to the fact that we see not one but two characters gets there heads cut clean off during the course of the film but we also see quite alot of bleed as well and these are things that simply just wouldn't be done in this film if it was being made today as Warner Bros would either just straight up cancel the film all together or if they did release the film then it would "offend" people who don't like seeing mature things in something that is seen as being something that's for little kids and yet it's those exact things that help it stand apart from all of the other DC animated films out there as if this film did play it say and feature no blood and cut away just before we saw either Thrax or Ares get there heads cut off then it would make the film feel tame and like it's playing it to safe and yet by the very fact that this film has characters that are from a time where seeing people get there heads cut off was an every day thing and there for really wouldn't know all that better it would lose the film of everything that makes it stand out as even the fact that it's directed by a woman and starring a female superhero in the leading role are things that we can now see in other movies and TV shows and it would there for cause this film to blend in with all of the other films where as with those included it helps to make the film stand out as those things are things that you don't typically get to see in alot of animated movies or TV show for that matter either and yet here they both are in this film.

While it would be super easy to make Princess Diana a pretty bada*s character which is something that the film still does however they also oddly enough make her mother Queen Hippolyta just as bada*s as her daughter is. As Hippolyta not only straight up calls out Steve Trevor alot of the time which granted does come from a place of hatred towards all men but is still pretty awsome to see in alot of the films big battle scenes she's the one that's leading the charge even having a joke with Artemis as well with it even being her that cuts of the head of her own son not because of the fact that she hates him altho she most likely does but it's due to the fact that it was the only thing that she could have done to stop him from fighting and killing all of her own people with her even not only fighting Ares at the start of the film but also more then holding her own and keeping up with him as well and while she does kind of take a back seat in the films third act battle which does make alot of sense she still does manage to take a number of the undead as well all of which are things that do combine to make her a pretty bada*s of a character in this film and it's all things that were also oddly enough included in the 2017 Wonder Woman film as well which does make you wonder if the makers of that film watched this film and while her leadership does leave a little to be desired as she let her own hatred of man cloud her judgement and allow her people to cut themselves of from the world of man for many centauries when push does come to shove she is a really skilled fighter who is more then willing to what's right even if it hurts her as a person.


While alot of this film is indeed really good there are some things that do let it down like Ares for example. While granted he's done miles better in this film then he was in the 2017 film he's still not all that memorable of a villain which is something that does make sense as back in 2009 nobody in Hollywood be it Marvel or DC knew how t make a good movie villain and while that doesn't excuse the fact that he's not that memorable of a character in this film he is still done miles better in this film then in the 2017 film as he actually looks menacing in this film and while he doesn't really have a plan per se it could also be argued that that is in keeping with his character as all he wants to do is cause endless wars to feed his own power an ambition something that he does try to do in this film but at the same time tho it would have made all the more menacing if he did have an end goal in mind as that would then give us the audience a reason to want to boo him and to want to see Diana and Steve succeed out of the fact that they are are the heroes and he's the main villain and seeing him have to actually seduce people to get what he wants is an interesting aspects of his character but sadly like of things in this film it's one that's not really developed as well as it could have been and as a result of that is the fact that's something that does come across as being really underdeveloped when it is something that could have made the film alot more interesting by having him try to seduce either Steve or Diana and get either of them to join his cause.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and thirteen minuets and thirty nine seconds. Which is something that does both work for and against the film it works for the film in the fact that it's a really solid for this film to have and the fact that this film really does have more then enough there interms of plot to really cover that amount of running time but at the same time tho it also works again the film in the fact that it means that alot of the films ideas become undercooked and half baked because of the fact that this film has to rush along to the next plot point more often then not doing so without feeling earned and it means that scenes like the one with Persephone telling Hippolyta that while yes she did indeed save them from evil men she also robbed them of the chance to have children and to experience happiness of there own which whilst it is a great scene would have meant more if we we saw more of a build up to it and it's like that with alot of the characters own character arc like the fact that Artemis and Alexa don't really agree on the fact that Alexa would rather read books then fight only for Artemis to suddenly chose to read a book at the end of the movie again with no pay off and it's also the films villain that does suffer as well as he comes across as being not a very memorable character and all these are things that could have been fixed if the film did have just a slightly longer running time but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in al honesty I in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With this films action being where this film shines the best as not only is it where the animation truly does come alive making each and every blow not only look painful but leap of the screen as well but it's also where we get to some really creative fight scenes and some really cool looking visuals as well with the best fight in the whole entire being the entire third act fight as we get to see a really small Wonder Woman take on a giant sized Ares with her just hitting him in the face and him using all of hos godly powers to beat her up in ways that he wouldn't have been able to do centauries ago and as  result of the fact that we get to see Diana have to use her smarts as well as her brute strength and Lasso Of Truth just to keep up with him with there fight also being tied into the fact that Steve has to stop a missile from blowing up Themyscira and thus giving Ares more power and it's only when Steve blow up the missile that Ares sent to blow up Themyscira in the most comic book way possible with invisible missiles that only then is Diana finally able to beat Ares and when in the fact that the rest of the surviving Amazons have come to help be fighting Ares own undead army then it is something that really does make that third act fight a really good action set piece in it's own right in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall whilst the 2017 live action solo Wonder Woman might be more well known that doesn't mean that it was the first solo film for the character and it's not even the first solo live action film for the character as there was a TV movie in 70's that starred Cathy Lee Crosby that does technically have that honor with his film being the characters first solo animated feature film and one that is still a wonderful film even all of these years later in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then iive talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad thigs that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 7.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally sued un this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official DC Extended Universe fandom wiki page , the official DC Movies fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very film that I used in this very review being the really great the official DC Movies fandom wiki page really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very film with alot of them being better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on the official DC Movies fandom wiki page are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Tuesday, 8 August 2023

Wonder Woman 2011 TV Series Review

 


I think that it's fair to say that Wonder Woman is a pop culture icon and yet it would be hard to believe that she's only one successful live action TV show. Well we all know about that show but what you might not realise is that all the way back in 2011 there was an attempt to bring the character back to the small screen in a new live action show with only one episode filmed and produced and well then that episode never made it to air but it has been online for some years and so then join me as I review the only episode of this show that promised to bring Wonder Woman up to date for a more modern audience with the show in question being called simply just "Wonder Woman" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is Wonder Woman discovers that young men are dying after repeatedly taking a mysterious drug and so has to take down the one creating this drug before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad but that's also the issue as it's not all that good either instead the episodes plot is just OK at best and nothing really all the more then that in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Adrianne Palicki as Diana Prince / Diana Themyscira / Wonder Woman and Elizabeth Hurley as Veronica Cale. Also starring in this episode is Tracie Thoms as Etta Candy , Pedro Pascal as Ed Indelicato , Cary Elwes as Henry Detmer , Geoff Meed as McRaven , Michael Rose as Gregory Kogen , Alex Solowitz as Frick , B.J. Britt as Willis Parks , Joseph Gatt as John O'Quinn , Edward Herrmann as Senator Warren and Knight Rider 2008 star Justin Bruening as Steve Trevor.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. Granted it's not that good either but bearing in mind that this was only the pilot episode and the acting in pilot episodes typically isn't that good to begin with the fact that the acting in this episode is actually pretty good and was alt better then what it had any right to be and it's alot better then the acting in most DC shows on The CW.


Let's take a second to talk about this episodes main villain Veronica Cale who I believe was making her live action debut with this episode. To me this character just wasn't all that interesting with her coming across more as a high school bully instead of an actually threatening villain and she really isn't helped by the fact that the writing for this episode just isn't that good with her not really being given any real motivation for being evil other then her being greedy and that's really it and that's not enough to make her a good villain heck it doesn't even make her an OK villain as all if does is make her seem like a really bad and badly written villain.


Hollywood produces dozens of pilots every year and so it wasn't all that surprising that this show wasn't picked u. As it's a bad pilot altho with this pilot being leaked online it does make me want to see the cancelled The Powerpuff Girls live action pilot just so I can see for myself if it was a pilot but if the script for that pilot is anything to go by then we really aren't missing out but it does make me wonder if the finished pilot for the live action Powerpuff Girls was bad as they said it was as at least that one has a solid idea behind it and this pilot doesn't even have that going for it.

I will admit that there was alot of potential in this pilot but they would have to have done alot to fully realise that potential. Like dropping the idea of Diana having three separate identities which makes no sense and is just confusing especially as one of those identities is the owner of huge mega corporation and so anybody with half a brain cell would be able to work out that Diana Themyscira and Diana Prince are the exact same person which makes the whole having a secret identity to protect your loved ones a mute point and they would have to make Diana an actually likable person as well as in this pilot she's not really all that likable.  


I just touched n this but I feel that it's such a huge issue that I have to mention it again as the Diana that we got in this episode isn't really all that likable. Heck i'd go as far as to say that villain of this episode is more likable then the actual main hero with Diana coming across like a rich kid that knows that they won't get into trouble for doing anything and so just breaks the law every chance that they get heck which is understandably fine for the main villain but it's not something that works for the main hero as the hero is someone that we should inspire to be like and yet this version of Wonder Woman just doesn't do that at all.

Now then this episode has / had ans exact grand total running time of exactly forty one minuets and forty one seconds. Which was a pretty solid running time for this episode but at the same time given that this is just the pilot episode they should have given this episode a much more longer running time just because of the fact that this episode has so much to set up and still tell a really good story and it really can't do that in that short amount of a running time and as such we get to find out nothing about Diana and her backstory nor do we get to find out about this world works and what the rules of this world even are but I will admit that this episode does have some really pretty solid pacing to it so there's that at least.


So now then as this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad for the most part. As the action that we can actually see does look really good and is filled to the brim with cool moments but at the same time this episodes action is also really hard to see due to the fact that there's a cut every couple of seconds which makes the action really confusing alot of the time in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall while this wasn't a bad pilot episode as there is alot of potential to be found in this episode it also isn't a good one either as this episode is just flat bad in alot of ways possible in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that means that this very episode and thus really the show as a whole really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 4.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official The Powerpuff Girls fandom wiki page , the official DC Movies fandom wiki page ,the official DC Extended Universe fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the really wonderful Google Images as since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us up and the great and wonderful on Google Images are all really fairly high in quality and as well as being all really fairly freaking high in definition.

Friday, 6 January 2023

Wonder Woman TV Series "The Feminum Mystique" Review

 


When people talk about strong female characters there's always one version of the Wonder Woman character that they never mention. Which is a shame because that's the version of the character that made the character as a whole popular with mainstream audiences and so then join me as I review the episode that saw a member of The Addams Family become a queen with the episode in question being called simply just "The Feminum Mystique" enjoy.

The plot of these episodes is Diana's sister comes to America looking to bring her sister home but when she's kidnapped and Paradise Island is attacked it's up to Wonder Woman  to save the day before it's far to late. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good with this episodes plot being movie quality good because it's that good of a plot in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Starring in these episodes is Lynda Carter as Diana Prince / Wonder Woman and Lyle Waggoner as Major Steve Trevor. Also starring in this episode is Richard Eastham as General Phil Blankenship , Beatrice Colen as Etta Candy , Debra Winger as Drusilla / Wonder Girl , John Saxon as Captain Radl , Carolyn Jones as The Queen , Charles Frank as Peter Knight , Paul Shenar as Lieutenant Wertz , Kurt Kreuger as Major Hemmschler , Curt Lowens as General Ulrich , Erica Hagen as Dalma , Pamela Shoop as Magda , Kurt Grayson as Harris , Jay Fenichel as Tommy , Brad Rearden as Joey and Rayford Barnes as Lt. Weil.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good. With these episodes cast members all turning in some really good performances and all of them making the script for these episodes seems alot better then what it actually is and that will always be a very good thing.



This episode is the shows first ever two part episode with the show very rarely if ever having two part episodes. If there was any episode that needed to be a two parter this one really wasn't it since you very easily could have condensed the storyline of both episodes into the one episode but the fact that it was a two parter means that the story could feel alot more epic then what the standard episode of the show could have done. 


Whilst the version of Wonder Girl that we get in this episode isn't the full creation of the character Drusilla is perhaps the most least known version of the character. Since when people think of Wonder Girl they rather rightfully think of Donner Troy but that doesn't mean that they should ignore this version of the character since Drusilla is naive but at the same time she's more then willing to do what's right even if it means that it will ultimately mean the end of her own life which does make her an oddly compelling character.

This episode does very sadly retcon it's first episode since in that episode it's established that Diana is an only child. Yet for some strange reason she's given a sister with no reason given as to this sudden change and while a small retcon like this isn't that bad the fact that it then leads to the N*zis finding out about Paradise Island the home of our hero the fact that this episode then made a retcon now seems like a big a issue since the enemies could now attack Wonder Woman's whenever they felt bored but sadly they don't do that but to this episodes credit the second part of this story does kind of explain why they don't attack paradise island.


I did notice what might be a mistake in this two parter since in the second part when Drusilla is about to deflect a bullet she puts her arm up way before a single bullet has even been shot. As such the commanding officer could have literally shot anywhere else around her to archive his goal this might be put down to the fact that Drusilla isn't a superhero like her sister but it is a very noticeable mistake and one that could have been fixed even n the day of filming the scene in question since all it does is make the overall show look pretty bad.

Now these episodes has / had an exact grand total combined running time of exactly one hour and thirty minuets. Which is a great amount if running time for this story to last since even tho this story would have been told if it was just thew single episode the fact that this story was told over two episodes made it feel all the more the epic then just the typical of this show and alot of that is due to the fact that it had roughly a whole extra hour in order to tell it's story which really did help the story flow alot better as well.


So now then since this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in these very episodes was in all honesty really good. Even more so when you take into account that this show was made on a small budget and yet all of the action scenes in this episode whilst they are kind of campy are still really cool and impressive to look at in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this was a rather fun two part episode that was way more epic then what it really should have been and it's an episode that just goes to show you just how good this show was when it was it's best in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in these very episodes in this very review and as such that means that these very episodes earn themselves a grand total combined score of exactly a 7.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Wonder Woman fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website that I personally preferred to use to get the images that I personally used in this very review being the wonderful Google Images since all of the images that are currently up and and featured / presented to us on Google Images are all fairly high in quality and as well as being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Thursday, 7 May 2020

Wonder Woman Earth One Volume Two Review


Well then comic book fans I can't even remember the last time I reviewed a comic book it was that long ago but I thought to myself that since we have all this time of I might as well do one now. As luck would have it I also forgot about the sequel to Wonder Woman Earth One Volume One being out and so after being reminded of it I thought that this would make a good book to review and so here is my review of Wonder Woman Earth One Volume Two" enjoy.

The plot of the book is Diana gets I guess you could say brainwashed by someone all the meanwhile there is a threat coming not only for Paradise Island aka Themyscira but also from on the island itself. The first thing you should all know about this book is it's part 1 of a two part story and so nothing gets resolved in this book as for what I thought about the story tho it was honestly really good and that's the best thing that I can say about story.


The writer of the book is comic book legend Grant Morrison who's written a ton of books for DC as well as a Doctor Who comic book. I honestly didn't like the writing in this one to me it felt very child like like he was just putting Diana in situations that only a child would come up with and it just didn't work with the more adult tone of this series but when Grant does write something in the book that goes with the tone it works oddly well.

Returning from the previous book to do the artwork is Yanick Paquette who's mostly worked on books for DC but has also done a few X-Men books as well as other books for Marvel. I'll admit the only book i've seen from this artist is Wonder Woman Earth One Volume One and so I can't really say if his work is any good or not but I do feel that this book is a slight step down in quality in my opinion the artwork isn't bad by any means but it's also not as good as it perhaps could have been.


Yeah this book is pretty violent like way more violent then I was honestly expecting it to be but given the books more mature tone it's to be expected. The violence in my opinion works really well since it's used to tell a story or used to advance the story instead of being in there to shock you which is in my opinion a very good thing however the horror fan inside of me wanted to see more violence since what little we got was pretty freaking awesome.


There is one idea that I really liked in the book and that's a I guess you could say robotic version of Areas. That to me is just such a cool idea it's just a shame that we don't get to see it getting used in this book so i;m hoping that it gets used whenever volume three comes out. I also thought it was a good way to bring in one of Wonder Woman's classic foes since it would have been so easy just to have him show up but nope this way is actually pretty creative.

Now for the life of me I really couldn't tell you who the main villain of this book is since there's three villains and even then one of them becomes a good guy at the end of the book those being Maxwell Lord , Leon Zeiko (there's a reason why i'm not giving out his super villain name) and the sexy as hell Paula Von Gunther. All three of characters are villains in this story and all three of them are weak as hell since we don't get to find out anything about the characters nor do we get to see what there end goals are they are evil just for the sake of being evil and that makes them and thus Diana less interesting.


Now if you're like me and you've read the first volume then you'll know that this I guess you could say either series or mini-series gives a more sexy take on the character and by that I mean they show of more sexy images and she the character in more sexy angles. Well the same is true here heck I couldn't even show you one of the more sexier images since there was some nudity in there but all I can say is damn because they really like showing of Diana in this volume and I loved it not going to lie.


Now then this is an action book and so that means that we have to talk about the action that's in the comic book itself. There honestly isn't that much action in the book which I guess makes sense since this is the first part of a two part story and so it makes sense that alot of the action would be held of until the final book but what little action that there is in this book is honestly really well done in my opinion it's cool and exciting both of which you want in an action sequence I just wish that there was more of it.


Overall while I think that the first book is alot more enjoyable to read and is so far the best one in this series of volumes. That doesn't however mean that I don't like this book because far from it in fact there was a lot that I liked about the book alot of which i've mentioned in this very review it's just that there's alot more that I didn't like about the book which i've also covered in this review and so this volume gets a 5.5 out of 10 from me.











Thursday, 14 February 2019

Wonder Woman: The Lies Review


Wonder Woman fans instead of reviewing another movie I thought i'd do something a tad bit different and review a comic book. This arc was the first arc that actually got me into reading Wonder Woman comics and well I thought that since there's no new Wonder Woman media products out now would be the right time to take a look at it so here is my review of Wonder Woman: The Lies.

The plot of this story arc is a jungle god is kidnapping women which means it's up to Steve Trevor to stop him and Wonder Woman is going around wondering why she can't find her way home. In all honesty the plot of the arc is pretty straight forward since it's the first arc in a still ongoing series not all story threads are tied up which is also the problem since you could loose alot of readers before those threads are tied up so it would have been great and served the story well if they got talked about in this arc.


The issues that make up this story is Wonder Woman Rebirth and issues 1 ,3 ,5 ,7 ,9 and 11 altho it is debatable if issue 11 is apart of the story. I say that because on Amazon the description has every issue i've listed except issue 11 plus that issue barely has anything to do with the overall story and more acts as a prequel to the next story arc but I myself do consider it part of this story since it does kind of resolve Diana's plot and if you've seen that issue you'll know why I said it kind of does.

When this arc was first being released DC did something that they havn't done both before and I think since and that's start to story arc's at the exact same time. So in the above listed issues we have the lies and in the others there Wonder Woman: Year One which i've not read in a long time so I can't say if it's any good and I wouldn't read that storyline when it was first released since I was more interested in this one.


This story arc was written by Greg Rucka who has written so many comic books that if I was to name them all i'd be here all day just listing them all. In terms of what I thought about his writing in this story tho it's honestly pretty good i'll admit i'm not expert when it comes to judging others writing but here I got the feeling that the writer is really trying to make this storyline as good as it possibly could be.

The artwork is done by Liam Sharp who is currently doing the artwork for The Green Lantern and I have to say that I hope his art improves in that book. Since in this one it's not that good don't get me wrong it's still impressive but I feel like it could have been so much better. He could have put more energy into the drawings to make them feel more alive and less flat and uninteresting but if you like the art then more power to yeh.


This story lione also reintroduces us to Cheetah who here is Barbara Ann Minerva and is also a friend to Wonder Woman. I have to admit that making these two once enemies now friends is a really interesting angle and one that really could have been explored in this story line but they don't do anything with it it just gets brought up once or twice and that's it and that really is a shame because it would have made for a really interesting story.

I would talk about the action in the book but there honestly isn't that much and even when there is some it's not for long like it only lasts a few panels and that's it. For a Wonder Woman book that does actually make sense because the character is about spreading love at least in my opinion but also I do think that there should have been a few more action scenes just because it's not only what alot of readers are used to but it also would have been a great way to hook in new readers.


Overall this will confuse some new readers since they don't go into detail about Wonder Woman's backstory but it could interest them to go and find out more about the character. That said this is a very enjoyable read I had a good time reading it so this story arc gets a 7 out of 10.





Monday, 1 October 2018

Some Of My Favorite Comic Book Movies


Guys and girls it seems like forever that we have been getting comic book movies regardless if they were good or not and now it seems like there's one released every five minuets and since others have done something like this in the past i'm going to list of some of my favorite comic book movies so let's go and just to set some ground rules i'm only listing of films that got a wide theatrical release.

Batman 1966


I'm going to warn you all right now there might be alot of Batman in this post this film is featured here because it was one of the first Batman films I saw heck I even now own the DVD it also helps the chemistry between the late Adam West and Burt Ward is really great this version of the character is one that you cannot take seriously and I like that.

The Entire Blade Trilogy


You might as well include all three films here since all of them are pretty much the same but without this film comic book films wouldn't be taken as seriously today since back when the first Blade came out they were still seen as campy films this film stood up and told people that you can make a serious comic book movie and it can be successful.

Batman Begins


This film single handily saved the Batman film franchise is it perfect heck no but it's a good start to a great trilogy of films and it proved that Batman can survive on the big screen all he needs is the right creative team to make it so and Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer have proven themselves to be a great creative team.

Guardians Of The Galaxy


The best word I can use to describe this film is fun this film is fun from start to finish and part of that is due to the great writing from James Gunn and no i'm not going to mention the fact that he was fired by Disney for jokes that even he himself said were done in bad taste and was ashamed of. This film for me is one of if not the best film in the MCU and yes that means it's better then both Ant-Man and Ant-Man And The Wasp.

Wonder Woman


There are no words to describe how good this film is this film had such an uphill struggle it was being released after the dreadful Dawn Of Justice and it was being set in the still very shaky DCEU and so far this is the best film in that universe it is everything you want in a Wonder Woman movie and then some and i;m glad that the same people who worked on this movie are currently working on the sequel.

Logan


This film is to date one of the few superhero films that have made me cry the other one might be showing up on this list but if not just look at the title and you'll see why. Again like Wonder Woman this film had an uphill struggle because while the X-Men films have been fairly solid the Wolverine films have been pretty bad so imagine everyone's shock when this one comes out not only blows the other two out of the water but is also a fitting tribute to the character.

The Dark Knight


Going into this list I knew that there would be a few films that would have to be included and this is certainly one of them so you die hard fans can out down your touches and pitchforks. All I can say is believe the hype about this film because it really is good it's not the best representation of Batman ut there indeed my next DC entry has that title but it has a great story mixed in with great acting and action sequences.

The Avengers Franchise


Again this is one of those film that I knew would have to make an appearance on here and there really is nothing more I can say about the film that really hasn't been said it truly does earn all of the praise that it got and like the rest of you i'm not only excited for Captain Marvel but also for Avengers 4.

Batman: Mask of the Phantasm

 

This is to date the only Batman animated feature to get a theatrical release and it's also the film that best represents the character and honestly it's shocking that we are only now getting a blu-ray release for this film heck if I were to rank all of the films that have featured Batman this film would go right in at number 1.

Deadpool


I don't know about everyone else but I prefer this film over the second one which while not bad it didn't feel as fresh as this one was this film proved to people that an R rated comic book film could not only work but could also make a lot of money and like Mask Of The Phantasm this is the best representation of Deadpool as a character.

Superman 1978


This film right here is the best comic book movie ever made hands down not only did it get the character of Superman down perfectly it also proved to studios that comic book characters can indeed work on the big screen and while yes by today's standards the film might seem slower that doesn't make it a bad film because it takes it's time to develop it's characters and to develop it's story both of which are important when your making a film and yes this means it's better then The Dark Knight in my eyes.












Monday, 16 July 2018

Rating The DCEU Films From Worst To Best


DC fans there is something that we're just going to except and that's the fact that most films in the DCEU are bad but there are one or two good ones in there but they are few and far between and since i've seen every single entry into this franchise and own most on either DVD or Blu-ray (I refuse to buy Justice League until they release a more finished version) I thought that I will list the films from worst to best so let's get it on.

Justice League



Is this really shocking just everything about this film was handled very poorly this film should have been either two separate films or one two and a half hour film but due to the studio choosing to get more screenings rather then making a decent film we get a film that's just under two hours long and that means that alot of scenes get rushed and the film suffers because of it.

Suicide Squad


Honestly this was a tough choice since it was between this film and BVS and well when push came to shove the directors version of this film added nothing and fixed nothing and it's a waste of a cool concept and i'm sorry but this movie should have been rated 15 not 12a.

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice


Yes I do think this movie is better then Suicide Squad get over it but unlike with that film were the directors cut added nothing to the film the directors cut of this film actually fixed some of the problems that people had my issue is that Batman and Superman only fight for around five minuets when the whole film or at least the final act should have been them fighting.

Man of Steel


Out of all the films that feature Superman this is the best one it has an interesting storyline and it does present these iconic characters in mostly new and interesting ways but I have to say that Superman of all people shouldn't be dark and brooding he's meant to represent hope and how can he do that when he doesn't even know how to smile.

Wonder Woman


If you've done your math then you'd known that this film was coming up and it's honestly the best DCEU film to date because it got everything spot on yes it has a dodgy third act and fairly bad CGI in that third act but it has more going for it then it does against it this is the film that gave people hope that the DCEU could spawn great films that hope was very quickly dashed when Justice League arrived but still for one that one shining moment there was hope and that's what this character is all about.