Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Batwoman. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Batwoman. Show all posts

Tuesday, 13 January 2026

Batman: Mystery Of The Batwoman Film Review


When people think of animated Batman films there's always one film that people seem to forget about as it is seen as being the weakest one. Yet it's that very film that i'm going to be talking to you all about today as this is a film that I genuinely haven't seen before now and I wanted to check out and so then join me as I review the film that was the last film to be set in the DCAU until 2017's Batman And Harley Quinn with the film in question being called simply just "Batman: Mystery Of The Batwoman" enjoy.

The plot of this film is when a new hero arrives on the scene dressed like a bat Batman tries to work out who she is all the while trying to stop the latest scheme from The Penguin. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt that about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad as this is still a decent plot that would have made for a decent episode of the show and yet that's also the problem as this films plot doesn't make for a good Batman film plot as it just feels like an extended episode of Batman: The Animated Series and that's really it where as if you look at films like Batman: Mask Of The Phantasm and Batman & Mr. Freeze Sub Zero they all had plots that made them feel like movies and that could only work in movies where as this films plot could easily have been the plot to a two part episode of the show with this not really being helped by the fact that the films plot s weak at best as the film does pick up and drop it's plot alot of the time so much so that it does get hard to work out just what it is that this films plot is even meant to be in the first place and yet even so when this films plot does get something right it really does get it right like for example the romance between Bruce and Kathleen was really sweet and the idea of Batman having to figure just who this new person is is a good idea but the film does nothing with either idea to make them work as well as they perhaps could have done with the plot of this film being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Kevin Conroy as Bruce Wayne / Batman , Kyra Sedgwick as Batwoman and Héctor Elizondo as Bane. Also starring in this film is Kimberly Brooks as Kathleen "Kathy" Duquesne , Kelly Ripa as Dr. Roxanne "Rocky" Ballantine , Elisa Gabrielli as Detective Sonia Alcana , David Ogden Stiers as Penguin , Kevin Michael Richardson as Carlton Duquesne , John Vernon as Rupert Thorne , Efrem Zimbalist Jr. as Alfred Pennyworth , Eli Marienthal as Tim Drake / Robin , Tara Strong as Barbara Gordon , Bob Hastings as Commissioner James Gordon , Robert Costanzo as Detective Harvey Bullock and Tim Dang as Kevin.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With the actors that you expect a good performance from like for example Kevin Conroy giving us exactly that and while there acting isn't enough to save the film it is something that does show you that the makers of this film really did try there best to give us a good Batman film with the films guest actors more then holding there own when it comes to acting opposite the series main actors with the best actor in this film being of course Kevin Conroy as the man just simply IS Batman so much so that he's not playing a role at this point he's just being himself as he had been playing this character for close to decade at this point in time and while yes actors like Kevin Michael Richardson and David Ogden Stiers are still really good in this film with David Ogden Stiers making for a shockingly really good Penguin they just can't top what Kevin Conroy does with the character as he really is just that good as this character in any piece of Batman media with the acting that's in this very film not really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so bad as it gives none of this films actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.


Doing the animation for this film is the legends and the greats that really are currently over at DR Movie. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual animation that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good with the films animation being alot more better then that it really had any right to be as while the animation isn't as good as the animation from the show was you can still tell that there was some form of effort put into making this films animation look really good with all of the films characters having some really fluid movements to them and while the film does indeed borrow the character designs from The New Batman Adventures the film makes everything alot more brighter and alot more colorful which is the only real issue with the film from an animation standpoint as a Batman film should look dark and it should look gritty as that's the world that these characters live in this was something that Batman: The Animated Series understood and yet here in this film despite it being set in the same world as that show it feels completely different due to the fact that things are now made to be brighter when it would have worked so much more better if things were kept darker as that's what people want to see a Batman movie but to be fair tho this films animation really does come alive during it's action scenes and heck it could even be argued that the films animation helped to make the action be all the more better then what they already are due to the fact that we get some nice fluid animation during those scenes.


Believe it not this film was actually the last feature film to be set in the confides of the DCAU until 2017's Batman And Harley Quinn film. As while alot of this films actors did reprise there roles in other Batman related films and TV shows they were classed as being apart of the DCAU and that to me at least is astounding due to the fact that the DCAU had alot of really good shows all of which could have had there own movies and while yes we did get film length episodes from certain shows shows like Superman and both of the Justice League shows never got movies of their own and yet both shows were extremely popular and could have gotten a movie or two of there own but for one reason or another people at either Warner Bros or at DC decided to instead just give Batman feature length films which is still great as that character does have alot of room to tell good stories but at the same time when you look at the wider DCAU there was more potential there to tell these stories that perhaps could have been told within a single twenty two minuet episode all of which would have been really cool to see like imagine how good an animated Superman movie based on Superman: The Animated Series would have been if it had the animation quality of Batman: Mask Of The Phantasm or how good a Justice League movie would have been if it had a one hour and thirty minuet running time to tell this truly epic story that could only be told in a film just because Batman: The Animated Series was the most popular DCAU show doesn't mean that there wasn't other shows that could have worked really well if they had there own feature length film.

Lets talk about the villains of the film as it could be argued that the film has to many villains as you have Bane , Penguin and Rupert Thorne all as the films main villains. Yet then you also have Kathleen "Kathy" Duquesne , Dr. Roxanne "Rocky" Ballantine , Detective Sonia Alcana and Kathy's father Carlton Duquesne as all four of those characters act like villains at some point in the film and that is just far to many villains to have in a film that isn't even one hour and thirty minuets long and while yes you could argue that Kathy , Rocky and Sonia aren't true villains as there meant to be Batwoman and therefor doing good there are times where they do act like there meant to be villains and while Carlton is just trying to look after his daughter he's also a gangster that is in league with The Penguin whereas this film is one that would have worked just by having Bane and Penguin as villains as together they are more then strong enough to be the main villains of a direct to DVD animated movie with even Penguins plan of just trying to sell these weapons just so he can make money not really being something that you'd expect to be the main villain plot for a movie as there you do expect the villains to go bigger with there plans so why not have Penguins plan still be selling weapons to make money but then reveal that he's putting tat money towards a bigger scheme like taking over the world as that is the kind of plan that you'd expect to see in a movie where as here his plan feels like the plan he would come up with in an episode of the show as it's just that small scale of a plan with this no doubt being done because of the fact that the film has to many characters who you could argue are villains in he film when having fewer villains would have worked all the more better.


This film does of course have a mystery aspect that being who is Batwoman and well to be frank this films mystery isn't that good. As the film does outright tell you who all three of them are the second that Bruce starts to suspect them whereas it would have been more effective if we didn't know who they were again look at Mask Of The Phantasm we don't see who the Phantasm is out side of the costume heck we don't even know if there male or female we just know that there evil and Batman has to work out who they are with the flashback scenes being the only pieces of clues that we get to the fact that this new character is someone that Bruce Wayne might know where as here it felt like they were trying to do everything that that film did only more poorly as here we get told who Batwoman and we don't get any clues as to she might be so that us the audience can work it out for ourselves both of which are things that do make this films mystery be all the more weaker then what it already is in the first place this wouldn't be a bad thing of course were it not for the fact that the film is literally called Mystery Of The Batwoman and yet it does feel like that so little effort was put into the films mystery when that is the first thing that should have been given alot of love and attention with the thing that could have helped this films mystery being if only got to see Batwoman very briefly and have the characters are her act so unlike her as they have to fool not only us the audience but also Batman the worlds greatest detective as well and when you have the characters straight up introduce things that Batwoman herself uses it makes Batman all the more dumb for not working out something that us the audience have already worked out or ourselves.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and fourteen minuets and forty nine seconds. Which is pretty much the bog standard running time for these DCAU Batman movies to have but in saying this tho given just how many villains that this film has it is something that could have been with being at the very least one hour and thirty minuets with this film having just about the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time in the first place but tho this film really doesn't use it's running time all that wisely as the film doesn't take the time that it really should have done to fully develop it's plot with the film instead being alot more focused on giving us a forced romance between Bruce and Kathy then it in giving us a well thought out plot with there romance being very poorly handled due to the fact that the two characters don't compliment each other at all with the film no even taking the time to fully develop its characters either which is something that does make sense for characters like Batman for example where you could make the argument that they get there character development in the both the show and in the other movies but for the newly introduced characters they are characters that could have used the character development and yet because of the fact that the film is more focused on giving us a very poorly done mystery none of them can get it and infact we know just about the films new characters coming out of the film then we did coming into the film as that's just how poorly done that this films character development really is but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is an action film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With the action in this film being the best aspect of the film as you can tell right away that the makers of this film really did know how to craft some wonderful action scenes with the films animation really coming alive during any of this films action something which does make this film action seem to be all the ore better then what it already is in the first place with the best action scene in the whole entire film being the films third act fight on the boat as we get to all three women as Batwoman team up to help Batman take down both Bane and Penguin after Kathy herself is kidnapped by Bane something which does lead to a truly awsome fight that gives you all of the things that you'd want to see in a Batman fight scene as we get lots of explosions which do look good in the film and it will always be cool tom see other heroes teaming up with each other something which the entire third act of this films is built around and heck Batman does even get into a pretty impressive fight with Bane something which does make sense as realistically Bane is the only villain character that could beat Batman so having him and Bane go toe to toe with each other is something that does add an extra layer of tension to the scene as Batman could die with the film having alot of other really good action scenes in it as well all of which prove that there is a good film in here it's just bogged down by a badly done plot in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. 


Overall its not that hard to see why alot people not only don't like but have also forgotten about this film as this film is easily the weakest of the Batman DCAU films with it being made clear as day that the makers of the film really had no idea what to do for the film and so they just threw stuff at the wall to see what sticks and because of that we ended up with a really average films because of it in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I used in this very review from IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very film that I used in this very review being the really great Google Images really simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very film with alot of them really being really better quality then what you'd really think of and all of the images are really of course up and really on Google Images really are also really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Friday, 12 April 2024

Batwoman TV Series "Pilot" Review


For some strange reason in the late 2010's and early 2020's Warner Bros thought that it was a good idea to produce live action shows that are in the world of Batman but not feature Batman in them at all. With the first one to come out being the show that i;m going to be talking about today as this show does also have the honor of being the only non Batman Batman show to also be set within the world of the Arrowverse and so then join me as I review the episode gives us a lame reason for not having Batman in it with the episode in question being called simply just "Pilot" enjoy.

The plot of this episode is when her ex-girlfriend goes missing Kate Kane returns to Gotham City to try ad find her and to try and find her missing long lost sister. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in al honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad but that's also the issue as the plot for this episode wasn't all that good ether with the plot of the episode being what can only be described as thin at best as while the plot does indeed get going right away it's also not a strong enough plot for the first episode of a new TV show as the plot of the episode just comes and goes whenever it wants and the characters spending alot of time not even advancing the plot of the episode with the plot of the episode also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this episode is Ruby Rose as Kate Kane / Batwoman , Rachel Skarsten as Alice and Meagan Tandy as Sophie Moore. Also starring in this episode is Nicole Kang as Mary Hamilton , Camrus Johnson as Luke Fox , Elizabeth Anweis as Catherine Hamilton-Kane , Dougray Scott as Jacob Kane , Greyston Holt as Tyler , Brendon Zub as Dodgson , Rachel Maddow as The Voice Of Vesper Fairchild , Chris Shields as Mayor Akins and Sandy Robson as Captain.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting thats actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. However the acting in this episode was all that good either which is kind of the thing for a show on The CW it is something that is still worth pointing out as bad acting will always be bad acting and alot of that does come down to the episodes director who quote clearly doesn't know how to get a good performance this is despite the actors in this episode turning in some good performances in other projects with the acting in this episode not really being helped by the fact that this episodes script just isn't all that good as it gives none of the episodes cast nothing to work with interms of what it is that there characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does effect the overall quality of the acting that's in this episode.


Doing the CGI for this episode is Encore VFX and the legends and the greats that are currently over at Splice. Now the interms of what I personally thought / felt abut the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual CGI that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty laughably bad. Even for a show on The CW this shows CGI in this episode really was really bad with them using an obviously CGI grappling hook for one scene when they could have done it practically and the shows projection was bad even for the small budget that all of the The CW shows have this episode had some laughably bad CGI in it and granted when you think of Batman you don't usually think of CGI which does make it all the odd that they decided to us CGI in this episode let alone CGI that looks really bad.


For some strange reason both this episode and Gotham Knights seem to think that what we want in a live action Batman TV show is for Batman to not only not appear in the show at the all but in the case of this episode have him act out of character when he does appear in the episode. As Batman would never ever leave Gotham let alone leave it undefended he would ask someone like Nightwing or Batgirl for example to defend Gotham while he's gone but nope in this episode he just disappears for no reason and while Gotham Knights does give a more understandable reason for the character not appearing in the show it still doesn't excuse the fact there trying to do a Batman TV show without Batman and in the case of this episode they have him act out of character as well as Batman would never work in the day he would only operate in the night so then that way people can't work out that he's Bruce Wayne and yet here in his appearance in this episode they have him trying to save Young Kate , Young Alice and there mother in broad daylight.

To this episodes credit it does try to do someone thing new with the episodes main villain by having be reveled to be the long lost sister of our main heroine. The issue is tho is that the show makes this reveal in the first episode when it would have been better of as something that was reveled in the first season finale of the show as by then we the audience would have had more of a chance to form a connection with these characters and want to see the hero succeed in bringing the villain down and it would therefor thus make it all the more shocking when it's reveled that the villain is also the same person that the hero has been trying to find for decades at this point in time and yet by doing it in the first episode we the audience are now ahead of what the characters know when we should be on a level playing field with them finding out these pieces of information at the same time as the characters are and not finding all of this stuff out before the characters are this just goes to show you that writer Caroline Dries has no idea how to write for these characters.


The episode and series villain Alice was a really interesting villain altho her constantly quoting Alice's Adventures In Wonderland did get very grating. As while it's fun at first and it makes her more of a quirky villain it's also something that gets old really fast and while she is rightfully insane and his an interesting backstory she doesn't have a plan in this episode which could be argued is the point as the character is meant to be a the very least partially insane think of her as like the female version of The Joker but at the same time tho even The Joker does have plans at times that match up with his goals and here since she's such a strong villain that could very easily push our main hero to her limits it makes all of the episodes other villains seem weak when infact it should be the other way with her instead being the final villain of this shows first season with her appearing only in select episodes in order to build up just how much of a threat that she really is instead of just having her appear in the shows first ever episode.

Now then this episode has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly forty two minuets and twenty three seconds. Which is pretty much the bogstanderd running time for these Arrowverse shows to have and to this episodes credit it really does make the most of this running time as given that this show does indeed take place in the Arrowverse it really doesn't need to spend alot of time setting up the world of the show but alot more time should have been spent on developing the shows main characters instead of just having them appear as being very note characters and the episode really should have spent alot more time in developing it's plot alot more as the episode really does have more then enough plot there to really cover that amount of running time and yet due to the fact that the episodes plot really does keep on coming and going it feels like it's a really underdeveloped plot as the shows plot does feel like it was really underdeveloped but I really will admit that this episode really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now the as this is an action show that means that I have to actually talk about the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode well then in all honesty I in al honesty personally thought / felt that the actual action that's actually featured / presented to us in this very episode was in all honesty not that bad. As we do get to see Kate in some really cool action scenes all of which give us the chance to see just how good of a fighter that she is and it gives us a chance to see all of the fighting that she's learned while she was a away from Gotham but at the same time tho alot of this episodes action just felt exactly the same with there being nothing new added to them to make them standout and feel unique and different which granted there's only so much that you can do when it's just two people punching each other but there still needs to be something new added in to make them feel unique , new and different in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this shows pilot episode was so much worse then the pilot for Supergirl as at the very least the pilot episode for Supergirl was a fun episode that respected not only Superman but also Supergirl as well where it's the opposite that's true for this episode as this episode wasn't all that fun to watch and it doesn't respect Batman nor does it respect the character of Batwoman as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked abut all of the good and as well as all of the bad thing that are in this very episode in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very episode really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 4.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from the official Batman , the official Arrowverse fandom wiki page and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get the images from this very episode that I used in this very review being the great the official Arrowverse fandom wiki page simply just due to the fact that really alot of if not really all of the images that are all really from this very episode and are really of course on the official Arrowverse fandom wiki page are really all fairly high in quality and as well as them all being really fairly freaking high in definition.

Monday, 7 October 2019

Batwoman "Pilot" Review With SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


DC fans this has been quite the week for the company with not one but two movies out one animated and the other being Joker and the fact that both Supergirl and a new show have premiered just last night. While it would have been super easy for me to take a look at Supergirl since i've been watching the show on and of since it first started it's the new show that i'm going to be taking a look at and so here is my spoiler filled review of the pilot episode actually called pilot for Batwoman.

The plot of the episode is that military graduate and security agent Sophie Moore has been kidnapped by a new gang themed around Alice's Adventures In Wonderland and this brings back Kate Kane who tries to find the missing agent. I'm not going to go to deep into the actual plot of the episode here just because if I did i'd be here all day writing just that bit I will say that it did a good job of setting up certain characters and character arc's for the season but at the same time there's very little sense of where this season is going.


Technically reprising her role from the Elseworlds crossover is Ruby Rose as Kate Kane / Batwoman and she is joined by Ex Birds of Prey Star Rachel Skarsten as Alice , Meagan Tandy as Sophie Moore , Nicole Kang as Mary Hamilton , Camrus Johnson as Luke Fox , Elizabeth Anweis as Catherine Hamilton-Kane , Rachel Maddow as the voice of Vesper Fairchild , Dougray Scott as Jacob Kane and Brendon Zub as Chuck Dodgson.

I honestly didn't mind the acting in this episode I always say that you can't expect great acting from a pilot episode because all of the actors are trying to find there characters and it's true here. The acting isn't that good and the chemistry isn't quite there yet but that's to be expected from a pilot episode and just based of this episode alone I can see the acting and the chemistry getting better over the course of the season.

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


They spoil what could have been a really cool reveal at the end of the episode because they reveal that the season's main villain Alice is in fact Kate's presumed dead sister. To me that's a waste of a good reveal because we hardly know these characters so just imagine how much cooler it would have been if we got that reveal at say the end of episode twelve or thirteen when we've had much longer to get to really know the characters it would have made for a great holy s**t moment but here it just feels wasted.

Now if you'll recall in the Elseworlds crossover event we did meet Kate fully dressed as Batwoman and so this series does act as a prequel. However it's hard to say how far back we've gone because there's no indication what so ever of a time frame and the fact that it's basically a prequel means that we already know that Kate is going to come out on top by the end of the season and so there's no tension what so ever it's not the fault of the show runners but rather who made the call to have her appear in Elseworlds who's at fault.


Speaking of Alice I freaking loved her in this episode she's wonderfully insane and just out there she's everything the original book Alice was and then some. I honestly couldn't wait for her scenes to come up because I was having such a good time watching her and the fact that she quotes Alice's Adventures In Wonderland just really helped sell the whole wonderland gimmick to me and I can't wait to see more of her this season.

I've held of talking about this long enough but I just have to talk about this there was some controversy surrounding the show. The first of which had to do with the casting of lead actress Ruby Rose who is a lesbian but apparently she's not lesbian enough to play this openly gay character and that to me is just so freaking stupid because there's no such thing as being lesbian enough what does that even mean anyways someone please help me out.


The second bit of controversy comes from the fact that from the trailer this series seemed to be pushing an agenda and yeah I kind of agree the trailer did do that. However some of the cringyness from the trailer wasn't in this episode and so I don't really think that this series has an agenda what so ever however there is a certain line of dialog spoken in the trailer which is in this episode and it's the batsuit line I hated that line in the trailer and hate it in this episode the suit it perfect just the way it is giving it to a woman suddenly doesn't mean the suit has faults that's just bad and forced writing right there.

As to be expected there is going to be alot of action in this show and there is some in this very episode and I have to say that for a TV show the action wasn't that bad. Don't get me wrong it's not that good either but given that these shows always have a small budget it's a miracle that we get anything at all and I do feel that Batwoman shouldn't have fought Alice in the first episode that's something that should have been held of until later in the season like maybe the season finale or if your going to have them fight here have Batwoman only just win like make it a really close fight so then that way she has growing to do as a fighter.

SPOILERS END HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Overall in terms of pilot episodes this wasn't that bad in my opinion but there's alot of room to grow as for if i'll be checking this series out week to week i'll probably watch the first few episodes and then take it from there and since this is a pilot episode i'm not going to give it a rating since it's the start of a journey and not the whole thing and so i'll only review the whole show when it ends it's run and not it's first season.