Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Wrestlemania. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Wrestlemania. Show all posts

Monday, 24 May 2021

Wrestlemania 2000 Review

 


Wrestling fans there's one event that we all look forward to each and every year and well with this years Wrestlemania over I thought that i'd take a trip down memory lane. I do have to say that i've been trying to find a copy of this particular Wrestlemania for some time and as look would have it I happend to find a copy of this particular Wrestlemania today and so you just know that I had to review this event and so join me as I review the WWE / WWF PPV event that is known as Wrestlemania 2000 but is actually called simply just "Wrestlemania" enjoy.

Now I didn't become a wrestling a few months after this event and as such i don' really know what the main storylines going into this event were / was. However they do a good job of letting you know what the main stories are going into this event and so as such you don't really have to gave seen any of the shows leading up to this event and you can just watch this even and get a really good idea as to what the stories are going into this event.


The set for this show is the first thing that I thought that this event did wrong since the set for this event is just so bland. Which isn't something that you'd want to see when your looking at a Wrestlemania set / stage since when you think of a Wrestlemania set / stage you think of something that's big and in a way outlandish which is sadly not the case with particular set / stage since the set / stage for this particular event is very minimalistic and it's just uninteresting to look at in my opinion.

There's just so much dead space when it comes to the set / stage used in this show since there's alot of room both at the top and at the side. Which could have been used to make the set / stage all the more interesting and hell they even could have gone with a theme for this particular Wrestlemania which they sadly don't do and so I gave to wonder the idea for this set / stage design even was and I have to wonder why there's so much dead space since it makes the set / stage design all the more lazy.


It was while watching this event that I was reminded of how good of a wrestler the late Joanie Laurer AKA Chyna actually was. Since she does put on a good match in this event which shouldn't come as a surprise since she's working with Too Cool and the three members of The Radicalz that we actually want to remember fondly and all of those guys can get good performances out of anybody and it honestly saddens me that it took us along time to convince the WWE and all of those in charge at the WWE along time in order to get Chyna / Joanie Laurer into the WWE Hall Of Fame.


Out of all of the matches that are featured on the match card for this event the one which has the most confusing set of rules is the Hardcore Championship Battle Royal match. Simply because even tho it's a battle royal match the wrestlers are allowed to fight outside of the ring and for some unknown reason you can only pin the champion in order to win the Hardcore Championship which doesn't make sense in the context of the match since when big bad Viscera wins the Hardcore Championship everyone try and fails to pin him and yet it would have made more sense to try and pin someone smaller and weaker like for example Crash Holly but I guess that that just makes far to much sense.

I do believe that many wrestling fans consider this WrestleMania to be one of if not the worst Wrestlemania of all time and if so I can quite frankly see why. Since there's nothing that really stands out about this particular Wrestlemania since there are alot of botches to be found all over this event and what makes matters worse is that the WWE choose angles where you can quite clearly see that the wrestlers aren't hitting each other and it honestly makes the WWE and the WWE superstars look like jokes which for a WWE branded PPV should never ever be the case in my opinion.


I would very much like to talk about the women's match of this show but honestly the only women's match that they have is just so bad thats it's not even worth talking about but i'm going to talk about it anyways. Honestly what would have made this womens even watchable would have been if it was a tag team match and both of the women which in this case Kat and Terri were teamed up with people who could actually wrestle since then the match would be watchable and not the mess that we actually ended up with.

Thus event has a total running time of three hours and twenty one minuets and thirty five seconds and I have to be honest this event doesn't feel that long at all. If anything this event felt like it was three hours long and not three hours and twenty one minuets and thirty five seconds long but with that said some matches could have been a bit shorter like for example the Triangle Ladder match and the Hardcore Championship Battle Royal match since both matches did start to drag on for me personally but I would fully understand it if someone didn't want either of those matches cut down or for that matter even trimmed down.


Now then boys and girls this is a wrestling show after all and that means that I have to discuss / talk about the actual wrestling that's featured / presented to us in this actual wrestling event and if i'm being honest apart from the women's the actual wrestling that was on display during this event wasn't that bad. Since there was a lot of really good moves being performed with next to no missed spots but as i've mentioned there was alot of botches which were very noticeable tho and that did bring down the overall quality of the wrestling for me personally and in my personal and very humble and in my very honest opinion anyways.


Overall yikes was this wrestlemania bad it was honestly laughable at how bad this particular wrestlemania was in my opinion since alot of the things that I found / took issue with in this event could have very easily have been fixed or altered oh well at least the next wrestlemania is one that alot of wrestling fans myself included say us the best wrestlemania of all time. Since i've talked about all of the good and all of the bad things that in this particular event this even gets a score of a 3.5 out of 10 from me and as for where I got all of the images that I used in this very review well I got all of the images that Iu used in this very review from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page and Google Images with my personal preferred website to use to get images this even or any wrestling even for that matter is the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page jst simply due to the fact that they have alot of images from a lot of different wrestling events up on the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page.











Saturday, 10 April 2021

WWE / WWF Wrestlemania 23 Review

 


Wrestling fans it's been about three months since we last spoke and well since i'm writing this review on the day of Wrestlemania 37 Night One it only makes sense that I review a Wrestlemania PPV event. However with there being so so so so so so so so so so many Wrestlemanias to choose from which one do i go with well since I only own of them on DVD (which yes I will be talking about later on in this review) it makes sense that I review that particular Wrestlemania and so join me boys and girls as I review the 2007 WWE / WWF PPV event that is called simply "Wrestlemania 23" enjoy.

Now unlike the other classic WWE / WWF PPV's that i've reviewed I really do feel that you need to watch the Raws , Smackdowns and the case of Wrestlemania 23 the ECWs and PPVs leading up to this show. Simply because there aren't that many video packages in this particular event and so there's no way that you can catch up with all of the then current storylines leading up to and as well going beyond this show without spending literally dozens of hours watching WWE / WWF and ECW from the year 2007. Which is both a good and a bad thing it's a good thing because it means that you get to watch some now classic wrestling but it's bad thing because if your like me then you don't have access to all of those episodes but I get why they didn't have alot of if any video packages during Wrestlemania 23 since Wrestlemania is seen is usually seen as the big finale for all of the current storylines but at the same time I would have loved to see video packages just because it makes following the then current storylines alot easier in my opinion but that's just what I think and that's just in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways.


I have to say that I really didn't like the set to Wrestlemania 23 since to me at least the set looked to busy and complicated. Which for me at least takes away from the entire PPV since for me personally / at least part of the fun of Wrestlemania is seeing how grand the set is for that particular Wrestlemania and so to see a Wrestlemania set that looks really busy and complicated is bad thing since a Wrestlemania set should be grand yet simple and that's not the feeling that I personally got from this set but that's just in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion.

Looking back on it now there's not one single thing that I liked about this Wrestlemania set which is a shame because I can usually find at least one thing that I liked about most Wrestlemania sets but I can't honestly think of a single thing that I personally liked / really liked about this particular Wrestlemania set. Each Wrestlemania set is meant to invoke something from the particular town that that years Wrestlemania is taking place in and yet I can't think of anything in the set for Wrestlemania 23 that invokes the town Wrestlemania 23 is taking place in but that's just what I think anyways and that's just in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways.


Now then boys and girls this particular Wrestlemania also features someone who is now extremely / very controversial and since I want this review to be focused strictly on the actual PPV event in question and not what I this person has done very recently I will not referring to this person by name nor will I be using any images of this person outside of the main poster for this particular Wrestlemania. I will say that the match that this person is involved in is a decent match but at the same time the ending of this match is so convoluted and the actual haircutting segment goes on for far two long in my opinion which is a shame apart from the ending the match itself is honestly pretty and as well the match in question is also very entertaining but there's so many run ins that it just takes you out of the match and brings the overall match quality down in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways.

Out of all the matches that are on this card perhaps the worst for me at least is Kane vs The Great Khali. Simply because this match features two very big men one of whom can barely wrestle (The Great Khali) and the other one can't move as much as he used to (Kane) as such I have to wonder who in the hell thought that it was a good idea to book these two guys in a wrestling because even on paper this is bad match and it's exactly as bad as you think that it's going to be and then some but that's just what I think anyways and that's just in my personal and very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways.


Not only is this Wrestlemania now official for having a rather controversial person involved but it's also known for having a now known murderer on it's it's card and I don't think that I need to say this person's name since his case is very well known in the wrestling world and I will say that even tho what this person did outside of the ring is terrible and unforgivable. How they wrestled not only in this match but in alot of to possibly even all of there matches was really good and heck i'd even say that this match is one of the better matches on this card even if there are not only a few lines of commentary which are now really uncomfortable (JBL says that the murderer in question is definitely going into the WWE Hall Of Fame) but there is also a move which with the benefit of hindsight is a rather uncomfortable move to watch this person performing in the ring and in not only this match but in any match in which they bust out this move but that's just what I think anyways and that's just in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways.

Now this is something that I noticed when I was watching this particular Wrestlemania for this very review but near the end of the opening match which is the eight man Money In The Bank Ladder Match for those that don't know but quite a few of the superstars that are taking part in that match just straight up disappear from the match. Granted they do give an in match explanation for wrestlers like Edge and Jeff Hardy but everyone else that disappears from this match gets no explanation whatsoever which in my opinion at least is just bad booking since you have a bunch of guys all of whom can wrestle and you get rid of them all with explanation given and that brings down the quality of the match but the match itself is honestly pretty decent with lots of cool moments but the disappearing superstars really does let this match down in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways.



Now i'm sure that the women's championship Lumberjill Match had a botched finished just because none of the wrestlers seemed prepared for that bridging pinfall to be the finish. Plus even for a divas era match this match was super short with the late Ashley Massaro getting in next to no offensive in on Malina at all which leads me to believe that this match was meant to go on for a little bit more / a little bit longer but I could be wrong tho but for the only women's match on the card for this particular Wrestlemania to be three minuets and thirteens seconds including entrances is a damn shame because we know that Malina can wrestle and form what I can remember Ashley Massaro could wrestle so why these two women won't given more time for their match I do not but the short time for this match really did hurt the match in my opinion but that's just what I think anyways and that's just in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways.

Now boys and girls this particular Wrestlemania had a very short running time with the total running time for this particular Wrestlemania being three hours and fort one minuets and eleven seconds. Which for a Wrestlemania is super freaking short and even tho i was forced to watch this particular Wrestlemania on my mobile phone because the DVD I have of this particular Wrestlemania wasn't working when I put it in both my Xbox One and in an ordinary DVD player the time for this PPV event still flew by and it made me wish that alot of the more recent Wrestlemania alot shorter since this particular Wrestlemania didn't try to fit every single WWE superstar and every single female WWE superstar on the card instead this particular Wrestlemania just stuck the matches that were announced for the show and that had some storyline behind them and that works on this particular Wrestlemania favour in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways.


For me one of the if not the best match on the card for this particular Wrestlemania is Batista vs The Undertaker with Shawn Michaels vs John Cena coming in at a very close second. For me personally what makes the Batista vs The Undertaker match stand out is the fact that both Batista and The Undertaker really sell any injuries that they sustain during this match and as well as the fact that the Batista vs The Undertaker is just super exciting with lots of really cool moments which help make the Batista vs The Undertaker match as a good as it is but that's just in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways.


Overall this particular Wrestlemania is a particularly good Wrestlemania but I would fully understand it if this particular Wrestlemania had it's fans tho. I've talked about both of the good and both of the bad things that are to be found in this particular Wrestlemania in this very review as such Wrestlemania 23 gets a 7 out of 10 from me , as for where I got the images that I used in this review well i got all of the images that I used in this very review from the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page and nowhere else and since I only went to the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page for the images that I did actually end up using in this very review I have no choice but to recommend that you guys the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page if you want to use images from any pro wrestling event or if you want to use any image of any particular pro wrestler and it helps that all of the images that are featured /used on the official Pro Wrestling fandom wiki page are fairly high quality and as well as being fairly high definition but that's just what I think anyways and that's just in my very humble and as well as being in my very honest opinion anyways.